Home arrow The Blogs arrow From Around The Blogs arrow DO WE NEED A STRONG GOVERNMENT

DO WE NEED A STRONG GOVERNMENT PDF Print E-mail
Posted by Super Admin   
Monday, 13 October 2008 19:58

1. In a previous article I said that a multiracial country needs a strong Government.

2. A weak Government would not be able to deal with the quarrelling between the races, which is the natural tendency of most multiracial societies. Indeed in some multiracial countries violence and fighting are common. Witness the countries around us.

3. For the slightest reason the races would be at each other's throats. One incident was the reaction in some countries because of the currency crisis.

4. Even religious differences can lead to conflict and violence. We see this in Northern Ireland, Lebanon, India, Indonesia and elsewhere. It is important to remember that in Malaysia racial differences are associated with religious differences. We are already seeing incidents involving religious differences.

5. We now have a weak Government and clearly it is incapable of dealing with the tendency towards conflicts because of race and religion. Because of its weakness it commands little respect and even the weakest parties would thumb its collective noses at the Government. The Government apparently has no idea how to handle these problems. We see it apologising only to have it's apologies rejected.

6. The worst part is to find its apologies causing anger among the race for whom it is apologising. It has managed to displease everyone; to please no one.

7. Admittedly even a powerful Government, if it is incompetent and badly led would not manage to govern a multiracial country well. We see this happening with the present Government. In 2004 the people gave it almost unlimited power. But it was not able to use the power well and the people decided to reduce drastically its power. Now we see it floundering about, unable to deal with the sensitivities of a multiracial country.

8. The BN was a 14-party coalition of big and small parties. Because it was powerful the component parties did not challenge it. They know if they left the coalition they would be unable to exert any pressure on anyone.

9. Even if they join the opposition they would not be able to reduce the coalition's two-third majority enough to bring it down. For that reason none of the component parties would want to leave the coalition.

10. On the other hand a coalition of two parties would be very weak. This is because the bigger party need the smaller partner in order to achieve majority to form the Government.

11. Such a Government would be unstable as the smaller party could always threaten to leave and thus bring down the Government. On the other hand the smaller party can join the opposition giving it the majority to form a new Government.

12. The reason the BN was able to create political stability before was because it could not be threatened by any one of its component parties. If any one left the Coalition would not collapse. The party quitting would be out in the wilderness.

13. Presently because the Government coalition is weak every little party can thumb its nose at the Government. The Coalition Government could not afford to lose any component party's support. It is also not in a position to discipline its component parties.

14. The weak Government lives in fear of being toppled by its components switching side to support the opposition. That is why we see such silly things as sending members of Parliament to a foreign country ostensibly to study agriculture.

15. What does it mean to a multiracial country to have weak Government? The Government would not be able to concentrate on governing because it has to deal with continuous threats by its components of different races.

16. The stability of the country would be undermined. This would be bad for the economy. We are seeing today investors pulling out their money by the billions from the stock market; we are seeing little investment either by locals or foreign investors.

17. The trade balance is in our favour not because of anything smart done by this weak Government, but because the prices of oil, palm oil and rubber on the world market are very high (although now the prices are declining).

18. Generally the economy is bad, as bad as the race politics that we are seeing. The people are the ones to pay the price. They are suffering from high prices with no compensating increase in income.

19. We have had strong Governments for almost 50 years. When we gained independence few gave us any chance. They foresaw racial clashes and political instability.

20. But they are wrong. With strong Governments in place, the bickering between races was reduced. The country was stabilised and with that the economy grew. The objective of becoming a developed country by 2020 seems possible.

21. Now with this weak Government, with incompetent leadership the country is not developing as fast as it used to.

22. In a single ethnic country it does not matter if the Government is weak because it will not have to deal with the heavy pressure of racial conflicts even if the Government is less competent.

23. My observation of Malaysian politics over the last 50 years has convinced that a powerful Government lead by competent leaders is necessary for multi-racial Malaysia.

http://test.chedet.com/che_det/2008/10/do-we-need-a-strong-government.html

written by educationist, October 13, 2008 20:16:55
That we need a strong government will not find many objections.
But it is not for the reasons listed by Dr M.
Part of the rot in the system stems from his strong government and how he used it to subjugate the judiciary to his wishes.
The arrogance of power of the UMNOputras from his terms in office made them treat all the other mosquito parties in the BN with disdain; but, then there are only too many wagging dogs in those parties willing to lap up the leftovers given to them.
Don't pretend that racial unity is better under your reign.
It is not!!
Votes: +27
written by jeagerlange, October 13, 2008 20:17:28
The present Umno led government is not only weak but is a useless one. It becomes worst as a result of your constant venomous attacks. (Thanks). The government cannot be strong just because you use ISA etc. Your 23 years regime is not a strong government but a tyrant. You created fear in the peoples' minds and constantly caused racial tension so that you had stronger grip on the peoples' throats. You successfully practised "divide and rule" policy and imported a lot of your gang into Umno until the true Malays becomes a minority voice in the party. You created religious tension amongst different races and you were just smiling. A strong government must be loved by the people for the good deeds it has done FOR the people. You wasted all our precious and God given resources. Let Pakatan shows you what a true Government is!!
Votes: +32
written by ahmadneil, October 13, 2008 20:19:03
We don't need a corrupted government,that's for sure.A strong gov't is a must but not dictatorial.But with Najis as mahathir's puppet,I don't see this happening.
Votes: +28
written by matahati, October 13, 2008 20:19:25
A powerful Government lead by competent leaders is necessary for any Country ... not just a multi-racial country. Indonesia, Thailand, Korea .... are not really multi-racial countries .... and also in trouble when the government is not powerful.
Votes: +10
written by LILIN, October 13, 2008 20:37:29
http://www.worldfutures.info/E...-dead.html

Why does Wall Street has to re-invent itself? If does not do so...capitalism risk collapse and the liberal democrat leader in UK said...this will help a rise in extremism!!!
Votes: +4
written by Old Man, October 13, 2008 20:40:13
While religion is sacred, politics is dirty. Every right thinking politician knows it's wrong to mix religion with politics but yet they continue to do it for their personal interests. Racial and religious politics is the root cause of all problems around the world today. RESPECT for each other is the key to peace and harmony.
Votes: +10
written by Dominic, October 13, 2008 20:44:24
It all boiled down to a goverment that is clean and caring. When the people have enough to spend,enjoy good life,affluent,well educated,good medical attention etc etc,you think you and me would have time to prick quarrel. Here in Malaysia,the people`s welfare take a third stage,not even a second stage. First,the politicians make their own take first,follow with their families and cronies. Whats left for the people like you and me are peanuts. A rich nation like us should be the envy of all other countries especially where Malaysians are known for their kindness and hosipitality. What had happened in this present predicament is the corrupted and ineffective goverment that stretch over 50years. Dont blame the people,blame it on the goverment !!!
Votes: +11
written by Kathy, October 13, 2008 20:44:53
Strong yes, authoritarian no!
written by taxi90, October 13, 2008 20:47:47
Why is Mahathir blabbing so much? If he had not left before the 2004 election, the tsunami would have happened in 2004 - people voted against BN because they were so sick of UMNO. They thought Badawi could reform UMNO so he was given a landslide victory which was recalled in 2008. Since Najib did not so much whimper about reformation, the same shit is about to hit him in the next election. But nevermind - when Najib gets trashed in 2013, Mahathir will come out with yet another excuse. What a prick.
written by diff2view, October 13, 2008 21:29:32
The degree of strong leadership makes the different when it comes to managing the country. I believe Pakatan rakyat leaders have the said quality. smilies/grin.gif
Votes: +7
written by Jit Dharma, October 13, 2008 21:33:31
Dear Tun Slave Master Fuhrer, I've never agreed with your two cent analysis of the state of our nation or your one cent arguments for a strong government.
Mostly because, let's face it, you and your lackeys OWN the media and because of
this they have decided to spin your pathetic abilities into the myth of the
Great Third World leader. Maybe in the, hopefully, not too distant future someone with more considerable analytical abilities than me will do a thorough and insightful analysis of your negligible talents.Till then I only have to say that, at face value, the strong leadership you recommend means YOU or LIKE YOU, or that you have to break a few eggs to make an omelette etc. Co-incidently it
is also the same argument that your cousin Adolf made all those years ago, ahh...cousin Adolf you love the way he dealt with the Jews. What a Scientific
Racist, what a man. Anyway just a short note to let you know that I hate you,
and would like you to rot in hell.
Death to ALL tyrants. Have a nice day.
Votes: +6
written by Loh, October 13, 2008 21:37:04
///The BN was a 14-party coalition of big and small parties. Because it was powerful the component parties did not challenge it. They know if they left the coalition they would be unable to exert any pressure on anyone.///---TDM

The main party has more than 50% share, just like the largest shareholder of the company which call the shots. The minority shareholders just sit in the board to collect whatever crumbs left for them. In the case of BN, the remaining 13 parties are paid off to remain silence or to enjoy themselves in their own sphere of influence. TDM thinks only in terms of how to maximize profit in running a nation just like a commercial firm exacting maximum benefits for the most powerful shareholder. The idea of national service serving the nation has never entered the mind of the writer. That was why TDM mentioned that he would migrate if Anwar becomes the PM. In fact all the politicians, particularly from UMNO took politics as a means of enriching themselves so that their descendents would not need to work for living for generations to come. They think nothing about changing the mindset of the people into evil thoughts which the religion they profess to practice would forbid. That is why the country is going to the dogs.
Votes: +5
written by Loh, October 13, 2008 21:40:02
///But nevermind - when Najib gets trashed in 2013, Mahathir will come out with yet another excuse.///--taxi90

Five years for people in the eighties is like five decades. Things will change too much for TDM, if he is still around then.
Votes: +0
written by Loh, October 13, 2008 21:56:07
A strong government is one which knows how to provide a decent environment for all the citizens to pursue happiness, and to ensure the people live in peace without resorting to draconian rules to avoid conflicts through non-contact. It is a weak government which depends on ISA, sedition act and printing act to make sure that the subjects act dumb, deaf and blind, so that the government can remain in power forever. The huge majority of government MPs shows only that the government has the number to bully through parliamentary dictatorship. It is because of the weak government which is unable to debate and prove to the citizens that the policies and implementation thereof could have no better alternative that it needs the number to push through whatever programmes the government wants.

A bully feels safe with number, and he has no concept about what strength means.
written by raybeam, October 13, 2008 22:27:56

The recent revelations made by both Nadaswaren and Terence Fernandez of the sun newspaper with regards to the corrupt practices going on at the tourism ministry is most troubling and shocking to say the least. I would not be surprised that this is only the tip of the iceberg and that a lot of wheeling and dealing is going around in other ministries. It is most unfortunate that in spite of the numerous scandals that have been exposed by these 2 brave journalists from the sun newspaper, everything seems to have been swept under the carpet, and what's more, to add insult to injury, none of the top officials in government have been brought to book for abuse of power. I think that it is appropriate for me at this juncture to remind the mca that if it is serious about reforming the barisan government, then it should take stern action against one of its top officials, namely, chew mei fun if she is found to be implicated in the tourism ministry saga, for 10,000 ringgit at the public's expense and having a chauffeur driven car is just not on. I would even go as far as to suggest that she be barred from participating in the forthcoming party elections to send her a clear message that abuse of power and corruption in any form will not be tolerated. At the same time, may I strongly urge Malaysiakini to start investigations on the tourism ministry scandal without delay so that the perpetrators of these crimes can be exposed and be made to answer for abusing the trust that have been given to them by the rakyat.

I also read with horror, an article that is doing the rounds over cyber space, with regards to the exchange of text messages between Najib Razak and lawyer shafee abdullah pertaining to the altuntaya murder mystery. Finally, may I caution all right thinking Malaysians not to rejoice at prime minister Badawi's exit from the top post of the land as I am quite certain that he is going to have the last laugh at all of us, for I am sure he knows only too well what is in store for us in the future when najib assumes power. Furthermore, it has been speculated that ex premier mahathir will become najib's top adviser which certainly spells disaster for all Malaysians. How can all law abiding citizens allow such a person as najib to be our next prime minister when he has been tainted and linked to several scandals. May I take this golden opportunity to remind all Malaysians who seek justice to remember our beloved hero, Rajah Petra who is now languishing in jail for exposing the corrupt practices of this very despotic regime. I am glad to inform all readers of Malaysiakini that despite the fact that I'm a blind inividual, I made it a point to attend a candlelight vigil last night to try and pressure the evil government to release RPK without delay and unconditionally, for he is certainly the voice and conscience of the nation and we should be proud of the sacrifices that he is making for all of us with the hope that we can have better leaders in the not too distant future.

yours sincerely,

Alfred Ho..
Votes: +8
written by FFT, October 13, 2008 23:09:44
Read his words carefully...this fake Malay, descendent of Kerala, is going to ignite a racial riot.

He should be arrested under the ISA immediately.
Votes: +9
written by malgal, October 13, 2008 23:24:57
Simplistic ideals that wont stimulate the deeper brain cells. But that's also the official paper. What about the rampant greasing of palms, the `bunga mas' tributes, the i rub-your-back and vice versa actions that have soldered the system?
written by magickriver, October 13, 2008 23:42:07
Mahathir's definitions of "strong" and "weak" are every bit as crude as his way of thinking. To him, a "strong" government means an authoritarian, bullying, intimidating force exactly how he managed to hold on to power for 22 years, creating an illusion of consensus by blacking out all dissent. To Mahathir, UNITY = UNANIMITY. So long as you say, "Yes, sir, no, sir, three bags full, sir" you rise up the political hierarchy. The moment you disagree - as Anwar Ibrahim did when he was finance & deputy prime minister - it's off with your head. Abdullah Badawi inherited a CORRUPT, ARROGANT & INEFFICIENT government machinery and was quickly seduced by the luxurious trappings of political power - just as many of our Royals are content to live apathetic lives of aloof & extravagant decadence, minding their own business(es) and living literally like kings off their generous allowances. The fact that Badawi was intimidated by Musa Hassan & Gang and was therefore unable to implement the sensible recommendations of the Royal Commission on Police Misconduct shows how little say the career bureaucrat PM actually had with the day-to-day operations of managing a country. Can we blame Badawi for succumbing to the lure of lucre (not so much for himself, of course, but for his son & son-in-law) and turning himself into a Nero, fiddling with useless megaprojects while the national economy went soggy? And what did Badawi do after the Royal Commission on the Lingam video submitted its findings?
NOTHING... apart from allowing the MSM to name the five individuals who ought to be further investigated and charged with serious offences or at least gross abuse of power... and then publicly chiding them for "leaking" the report.

Now, my definition of a STRONG government is one that is mature, responsive, self-confident and genuinely concerned about the long-term well-being of all citizens. Maturity & self-confidence are the qualities that enable a genuinely strong leader to accept brickbats & bouquets with calm, smiling equanimity - weighing the pros & cons of each policy decision & making necessary adjustments when public feedback is received. A strong leader is quick to apologize for minor errors and ready to voluntarily step down when major errors are committed.

A strong leader believes in the beauty of diversity and appreciates differences of perspective, seeing it in a holistic context, just as an experienced conductor instinctively grasps the complex nuances of the score and knows how to bring out the best from each individual musician in the orchestra.

Above all, a strong leader is ever ready to lend an attentive ear and a helping hand to those who are "weak" - rather than ride roughshod over them. Because a strong leader would have the wisdom to know that a chain is only as strong as its weakest link - and that even the tiniest component of a complex system contributes immensely to the synergetic functioning of the whole.

Votes: +12
written by Daryl, October 13, 2008 23:51:38
Yes we need a strong government but not the type Dr. M envision or what he implemented for 22 years. Government will be strong if their actions are just and clear to the rakyat. They will be strong if they don't have anyone to hide. They will be strong if they quite using PDRM and judiciary like their tools to suppress others. They will be strong if they don't take tax money like their own but build projects base on needs and what is best... Do I need to go on further or they just don't get it...
Votes: +7
written by samson, October 14, 2008 00:18:02
Of course,we need a strong govt but how can we when Mahathir himself threatened
Najib that he would expose his dirty linen if DPM didn't challenge Badawi in the UMNO polls.So what is this dirty linen our PM designate carries? Please elaborate as the rakyat will want to know.
Votes: +2
written by willove, October 14, 2008 01:15:09
DO WE NEED A STRONG GOVERNMENT? Answer is, YES, we do.
Do we still need BN? Answer is, NO we don't.

I know I know, there are arguments against PR taking over. Mainly the following:
1. DSAI has not been very clean himself while he was a Minister;
2. DSAI has a racist record during his tenure as the Education Minister;
3. The 3 major parties in PR do not share a similar ideology;
4. PR has got no administrative experience in running the country;
5. It is immoral to take over by luring defectors over;
Blah...blah...blah...mostly based on assumptions and analytical reviews and opinions.

On the other hand, the UMNO led BN:
1. Proven racist
2. Proven corruption
3. Proven record of mismanagement of nation's wealth;
4. Proven that murderers & rapists can get away if they are top UMNO ppl;
5. Willing to use ISA, OSA and whatever act to shut ppl up;
All above appears to be proven facts, need I say more?

So guys, enough is enough. Out you go UMNO, out you go BN!
Votes: +6
written by JackWang, October 14, 2008 02:26:31
How would one define a "strong" govt? In any western democracy, a 30 seat majority would constitute a strong govt. It is not necessary to have a 2/3 majority. In fact, I would say that no future govt of Malaysia should be accorded a 2/3 majority so that any amendments to our constitution would require support from the opposition.
Having said, it would also require our political parties to rise above partisan politics and vote for what is right for the general populace. In this respect, I think we still have some way to go.

Cheers.
written by Loh, October 14, 2008 10:45:17
///Mahathir himself threatened
Najib that he would expose his dirty linen if DPM didn't challenge Badawi in the UMNO polls.///--Samson

Should be grateful for information on when the statment was made.
Did TDM say that the 'black' would be used only once? If not, then TDM will have his signature as PM written in Najib's name the moment Najib is known as PM.
written by Loh, October 14, 2008 11:03:14
///We cannot give too much power to the PM and president of Umno because he can abuse it. I have been saying he should have a panel of advisers, one each for the PM and Umno president to ensure he doesn't go off on a tangent. That way it would be difficult for the Prime Minister to favour his family. The panel should not be appointed by him, maybe Mubarak (the association of former Barisan Nasional MPs and assemblymen), can play a role. If asked, I would be willing to serve for free.///--http://www.asiaone.com/News/AsiaOne+News/Malaysia/Story/A1Story20081012-93152.html

The question posed by TDM; "DO WE NEED A STRONG GOVERNMENT?" expected only one answer. TDM is indispensable, whatever the government. TDM considers himself the only person in the world fit to hold the position of PM. If not, he will be the adviser, like the British Adviser to the Sultans in the past.

written by Taiping60, October 14, 2008 12:01:14
What is the definitation of a strong government?

If one talk about a strong government without making any changes to our present system, then strong government mean the government having more than two third of the parlimentary seats. Wait a minute, is that what we have been enjoying all these years. On the surface, it appears the so call strong government is good but in reality it lead to abuse of power and corruption.

So in due respect I disagree with the thinking. I believe the best form of government is for the government to do the right things right and the government which is elected by the majority. In our present scenario, BN enjoy the majority in the last election. Therefore they should be running the country. But why isnt so. Is it because of Badawi is weak. I do not thing Badawi is weak because of his personality but more so on the system. Badawi was never elected by the majority of Malaysian. He was elected his party comprises of thousand plus delegates. That does not represent malaysia. Even for that matter, he was not elected. The UMNO election system prevented anyone from chanllenging him. This was introduced by Tun Mahathir and he too see the disadvantage when he is on the other side. Now Badawi face the same music. So for immediate step UMNO should aboish the undemoncratic system that give advantage to incumbents.

UMNO should consider direct voting and for the same Malaysia should consider direct voting of the PM. Just like the case of President Bush where he won by very thin majority. But that does not matter as his mandate was never question even his popularity has drop significantly. Nobody raise the question of Bush having to resign and pass the baton to someone else. What was raise in the currect US political scene is that people should avoid making the same mistake to vote the republicans.

In US the President does not have absolute power. They have the President, the congress, the senate and the judiciary system. The president can appoint top government officers but they have to be endorsed by senate committee. President cannot simply fire any top government officers and this give accountability and responsibilitu to these top government officers.

I am not suggesting that we follow US. We follow what is good for us. But dont go back and give either BN or Pakatan two third majority just to make them strong. if the is no check and balance, be it BN or Pakatan it will eventually lead to abuse of power and corruption.

So Malaysians, we should push for major reform even for our election. For those new leader, do have the courage to reform even if could result in your party loosing election. You job is to do the right thing for Malaysia and Malaysians. Put the country above you.

Get rid of all corrupted leaders.
Get rid of all racist leaders.
Move on a Malaysian.
Do the right thing right.
Do not be afraid to compete.
Believe me, if we do all that we will prevail.
written by cruzeiro, October 14, 2008 17:51:14
What you speak of Tun isn't exactly democracy - you speak of a "benevolent dictatorship" that dictates terms to the subservient people it professes to serve.
What you don't seem to advocate is a govt that is strong on principles of justice and rule of law. Nor do you advocate strong institutions of state that provide alternatives to the politicians who rape the land.
Even pirates can set up strong governments, so as to impose their will upon others with scant regard for intellect, truth and justice. For this, all you need are unreasoning automatons who'd would shudder at the thought of questioning the decision of the “leadership”.
That I presume, might characterise what you advocate in a “strong government”.

A strong government does not stifle voices of democracy.
True strength, dear Tun, comes from intellectual prowess and excellence- not the barrel of a gun. A strong government is one that's secure in its national ideology/ agenda, and is able to tolerate dissent, debate ideas and open to change and progress. It wouldn't propagate a siege mindset nor resort to threats - open or subtle.
It would not resort to punishing voters who exercise their democratic rights, does not “steal” elections, or punish “opposition” ruled states. It doesn't resort to gerrymandering either. It would graciously relinquish power should it lose in elections and is confident that the nation as a whole wouldn't suffer.

A strong and ethical government dissociates itself from excessive involvement in business interests, lest it breeds corruption and greed. It is paramount that it has a pool of intellectuals who can guide a state through challenges of the future, as opposed to the current crop of Umno leadership. While you admit that “a powerful Government, if it is incompetent and badly led would not manage to govern a multiracial country well”, you deny the fact that it is the bigotry, religious chauvinism and racism which the Umno/ BN regime practices, is what creates the need for a “strong government” you seek. Nothing else.

Dear Tun,
Your line of reasoning is deeply flawed, dear Sir.
What we need isn't a "strong government", but "Good Governance" - and it isn't about race or religion.
It's about an electorate having options to governments.
It's about good education in humanities. It's about building trust, and not suspicion, fear of dispossession or a siege mentality among an insecure electorate.

It's about confidence building, dear Sir - not fear mongering, or stifling dissent.
==========================================
Strong Government, or Good Governance?
http://cruzinthots.blogspot.co...nance.html

World Futures  Afghanistan is where Nato and the US are killing civilians indiscriminately. Is there a need to protest against such killings? Are YOU not concerned and don't you think you might be next?

Wellness Industry Is Booming!  Learn how you too can own a low capital home-based business to generate extra supplemental stream of income by using internet for these challenging economic times. You may earn RM1K up to RM10K a month working only 5-10hrs/week. Full system provided.

Home Based Business  Earn extra income $5000-$10,000 monthly, 24 hours a day. Just working part/full time from the comfort of your home. Legitimate business, have a most powerful product in the world. Register for FREE first to save your position in this powerful system.