Home arrow The Blogs arrow From Around The Blogs arrow In defence of Utusan Malaysia

In defence of Utusan Malaysia PDF Print E-mail
Posted by Super Admin   
Monday, 13 October 2008 19:24

Tabung Azan for Utusan Malaysia. We live in interesting times, where those who complain about the mainstream media being muzzled by the authorities are also the ones who sue these media at the slightest provocation.

DAP's Teresa Kok has filed a RM30 million suit against Utusan Malaysia, the Bahasa Malaysia daily controlled by Umno, over the azan issue. Another DAP leader has also sued the same newspaper for RM10 million, despite the newspaper having published an apology for a mistake it did in a report affecting the politician.

One can argue that ordinary people and organisations sue newspapers all the time. But Ms Kok is not an ordinary person and the DAP is not an ordinary body. As a people's representative, we expect Ms Kok to fight for our basic freedoms, including assuring Malaysians of the all-important Press Freedom.

If Ms Kok and the DAP really believe in the freedom of, say, the
Rocket and Malaysia Today, they must also believe in the freedom of Utusan Malaysia.

When I was editor of
Business Times and The Malay Mail, I lost many nights' sleep over legal suits filed by disgruntled individuals and organisations. Many politicians were unhappy but none sued because we provided them with the right of reply. And we published without malice. The newspapers I led never sued anyone, either.

I hope politicians will not make it a habit to sue the media, old and new. I hope Theresa would find it fit to withdraw her suit against Utusan Malaysia.

READ MORE HERE: http://rockybru.com.my/2008/10/in-support-of-utusan-malaysia.html

Comments (90)Add Comment
written by miwaki, October 13, 2008 19:34:15
Yes,agree with author,we cannot sue the newspaper eventhough it is stink,talk cock and provide wrong information.After all everybody has freedom of speech and freedom to write nonsense.This is bolehland,everything also can do !
disagree 169
Votes: -132
written by educationist, October 13, 2008 19:37:04
By all accounts, Utusan has not apologised nor given Teresa Kok the right of reply.
She had been incarcerated under the ISA because of the said article.
Press freedom, yes , we still need tons of it here but we know who controls the MSM media here, don't we?
So, just because they are opposition leaders , they should be magnanimous and swallow hold all the lies published by the Utusan?
I say, go ahead , sue them for whateveryou feel you deserve!!
agree 310
Votes: +305
written by foresight, October 13, 2008 19:44:39
Suing for defamation is the right of anyone who has been slandered. Utusan can count themselves lucky that they are not in Singapore and the slandered party is not PAP otherwise, they will sue them for the worth of generations come.
agree 180
Votes: +177
written by Kuku Burung, October 13, 2008 19:45:45
I cannot agree with the line of argument in this article. What freedom of speech we are talking about? The Utusan article started with bad intention, without even bother to check the facts, and the tone of accusation was malicious, with an intention to create uneasiness among the people. The Cheras UMNO's support of Utusan is not worth a salt, as it was laced with racism and prejudices. I would urge Terisa Kok to go ahead to teach such irresponsible people a painful lesson.
agree 218
Votes: +216
written by Sabahfan, October 13, 2008 19:45:58
Thats the bloodiest load of CRAPPPP i ever heard. Pls dont insult our intelligence....

i call on all Malaysians apart form the diehard supporters of UMNO to boycot this UTUSAN and throw UMNO into hell.!!

Mr rockybru, please dont bullshit us about freedom of press... If there is such thing as freedom of press THEN EXPLAIN THESE..

1. why the shit is RPK under ISA? you believe in freedom of press, then go and demand RPK be released right now !! Fukk the trial... those are just pretenses under the malazutland

2. Go and preach to Mahathir on freedome of press. Now he got blogsite, but when he was PM, where was the freedom of press.

3. Yes DAP got the Rocket, but isnt it true that all of them apart from UTUSAN are always under threat of closure under printing presses acts for any reports???

4. If UTUSAN is opened to everyone to comment or its report are balanced and cover everyparties in Malaysia, then there would be no need for rocket or harakah or any other party based papers...
But we all know that UTUSAN is reserved for the UMNO malays.... and hence others are forced even if under threat to have their own newspapers.

5.. the most important point i wish to raise...

UTUSAN lies caused Teresa Kok to be arrested and given DOGs FOOD for seven days.. so where is the freedome of speech? If there is such thing, then Utusan should also publish KOKs reply, and if she was not arrested as the result, she would have been bodoh for suing the newspaper.

BUT AS IT IS, the 30 million lawsuit hardly do justice. YOUR utusan and YOUR UMNO should be sued until all of them BURNT IN HELL.!!

6 because UTUSAN can write anything seditious, sensitive, but nothing happens just like your MOMMMOK ahmad Ismail, while others gets arrested for writing in internet.... welll fukkkk your version of freedom of press.

ONLY talk about press freedom when the rascist UMNO learn the true meaning of the word.

chhhhheeeee UMNO malays NO shame at all....
agree 298
Votes: +296
written by biggun129, October 13, 2008 19:48:20
Did Utusan really enjoyed Press Freedom? Proof it in the court to avoid loosing the case to Teresa KOK!
Votes: +56
written by Raja Chulan, October 13, 2008 19:56:37
Rocky Bru is full of shit.

Rocky go find yourself a taxidermist.
agree 136
Votes: +134
written by ahmadneil, October 13, 2008 19:57:56
Utusan should be suspended.This toilet paper is the mouthpiece of the malay extremist.Go to where you belong,umno's toilet.
agree 128
Votes: +127
written by sinchew, October 13, 2008 19:58:42
It seems you defended on the wrong thing.
1. When you have freedom to write, you write with facts and supporting docs / proof, but when you do not have the facts or proof with you, I strongly agreed that be it traditional media or new media, all got to be sued. So, whether is jeffooi, roky or utusan, they all should be sue if they do not check the facts before they write.

Especially when this articles is causing people arrest under ISA and mototov being thrown at their home. They should be sued.

agree 110
Votes: +109
written by humanist, October 13, 2008 20:00:21
Tabing Azan ? That is weird, is it money for Utusan paper or money to replace the Mosque amplifier. If for the mosque to replace amplifier, I probably will donate, but for Utusan, nah.

If the suit did not come through (which is highly likely), do I get my money back ? Or where is the money going to ? That is an interesting question.

Also, I disagreed with politician simply suing newspaper, be it BN or DAP or Pas. But having read some of Utusan articles, I do view the paper written the content with the intend to stoke fire. Of course it achieved the end result, the politician in question also got some cocktail delivered to her house.

-Al
Votes: +72
written by DreamLady, October 13, 2008 20:01:57

Utusan, dah bankrupt ke? you are the running dog for the ruling party, why not ask Hantu toyol to pay all the court case expenses, after all you guys have done a lot of favor for toyol for covering up his misdeeds.

Or, approach OMNO bosses to pay for the damages!!!
Votes: +78
written by Dragon888, October 13, 2008 20:03:47
abung Azan for Utusan Malaysia, you bullshit artist. If newspapers don't print the truth but only hearsay, we have the right to sue. First of all, in a proper democratic country, political parties should not have business interests in the media. TV, radio snd newspaper should be public companies and should not have shareholders owning controlling interests in the cos. like in Australia. Here we have Star being controlled by MA and New Straits Time by Umno....What else ???
Votes: +54
written by box, October 13, 2008 20:04:46
Totally agree we should defend the freedom of the press. However, this does not mean the press can print lies. If they made a mistake, they should print an apology and retract their earlier statements. If this is done, then there is no need for the victim to continue pursue legal action. I believe Karpal should stop.

However, till now, Utusan Malaysia has not retracted their claims or applogized. Therefore, Theresa should continue to sue their butts off.
Votes: +69
written by Lembing, October 13, 2008 20:06:20
This rocky bru is ex-editor of business times and Malay Mail. Which string or connections did you used to become the editor of 2 papers???? Are you trying to lay foundations for more lucrative contracts or projects???
Votes: +62
written by DreamLady, October 13, 2008 20:06:55
...slightest provocation??? due to you biased and heartless reporting, you have landed Teressa kok in jail. YOU ARE A SCUMBAG!

You scare shit now, you are broke, it is due to your greed for accepting too much bribe from hantu toyol that you dah lupa daratan.

I wish you and your gang rot in HELL!!
Votes: +60
written by Ironside, October 13, 2008 20:15:35
They should be made to supply toilet paper to Malaysians for the next 2 years for free and stop reporting for 3 years.Otherwise ,sue the hell out of this Scumbags.
Votes: +31
written by kennyeu, October 13, 2008 20:16:11
those who complain about the mainstream media being muzzled by the authorities are also the ones who sue these media at the slightest provocation

We're not complaining about the mainstream media being MUZZLED, we're disgusted that the mainstream media is being MANIPULATED by the authorities. Don't you think it is an abuse of power to use the media to lie and trick the people into believing what you want them to believe even though it is untrue?
Votes: +53
written by budakindia, October 13, 2008 20:18:25
Because of Utusan, she was detained under ISA! Let's see how your opinion changes when you're wrongfully accused! smilies/angry.gif
Votes: +53
written by SamYap, October 13, 2008 20:19:51
Looks like a few previous Anti-UMNO-BN writers are turning. I wonder why. This latest article from Rocky Bru is most unexpected.

Don't be misled by his argument that the Opposition must uphold rights of press freedom and such as an example is not to sue Utusan. That is a very twisted, or should I say - a convoluted argument - based on the premise that press freedom means the press can publish both truths and FALSEHOODS and yet not be hedl accountable for anything.

Rocky Bru, you think you are smart, but hey we are not stupid either.

Since you were a newshound in your previous life, then you should understand the newsmedia's maxim: PUBLISH AND BE DAMNED.

It simply means that the newsmedia can publish anything they wish but they have to be responsible for it.

So if there is irresponsible reporting, scandalizing and tarnishing the image of someone, politician or not, the newsmedia must answer for it when the aggrieved party seeks legal redress.

Why should anyone lose any sleep? If they do lose sleep over it, I suspect they know they have done wrong. If they had done no wrong, why worry about justice?

Rocky, its either you are befuddled or you are in fact a closet UMNOnik.
Votes: +63
written by benjamin, October 13, 2008 20:31:02
Votes: +24
written by SeriousLy, October 13, 2008 20:32:12
Yes press freedom but this time Ms Kok went to jail for nothing that Utusan published and it's not true! Every Malaysian don't believe it yet Ms Kok went to jail! Malaysia today published it and all Malaysians with the brains believed it and RPK paid for it! Maybe Utusan should go to jail?
Votes: +47
written by kurangfaham, October 13, 2008 20:32:29
Saya sedang merancang untuk membuka kilang tisu tandas, saya juga ingin menamakan kilang saya sebagai :KILANG TISU TNDAS UTUSAN MALAYZIA: Apa macam bolehkah?
Votes: +30
written by panca, October 13, 2008 20:34:08
Rocky,

I agree with educationist!
Votes: +3
written by Aming, October 13, 2008 20:34:28
The true meaning of KETUANAN is inherently embodied in this episode.
Votes: +15
written by Sabahfan, October 13, 2008 20:34:45
rocky no bru, when you are reborn in the next world, expect a snout instead of a nose..

be a PIG.... oink poink oiiink...
Votes: +35
written by DreamLady, October 13, 2008 20:37:01
RockyBru, are you related to Dr. Bakri? Recently he changes the color of his skin to wolf's, and his article is beginning to spill shit over the MT website..

Now, you pulak, why not gang up with this Dr. to run the sewege company collecting shits from UMNO ?
Votes: +40
written by Food Thought, October 13, 2008 20:44:15
Funny article. When they sued the other side, this person stayed very quiet but when the other side sue them, this person suddenly pops out and defend them. Oh I forgot, so to be a good journalist do we need to be like a "lalang" ? Btw , I do remember MalaysiaKini and Malaysia Today got sued. Well, you don't have to go through sleepness night if what you've reported are based on facts and not fictioned ?
Votes: +42
written by Pangkis Pangazou, October 13, 2008 20:44:34
What a load of RUBBISH! Freedom of speech is one matter, while slanderous articles is a totally different matter altogether. By all means... have freedom of speech... but you must be prepared to defend what ever is written. You must be prepared to defend the "TRUTH" about whatever you have written. If you defame others by your articles... then be prepared for any consequences that arises because of what you have written. Be responsible. In this case Utusan is utterly irresponsible.
Votes: +35
written by Futurist, October 13, 2008 20:58:30
Sueing Utusan M'sia is a civil action by an individual for the comments by the paper. It is not to be equated to the act of the authorities of muzzling the press. By the way, the apology was not carried out by all the other papers. Many do not know about. Theresa Kok has every right to carry on with the suit, just as the UM had the right to what it published.
Votes: +38
written by KKchan, October 13, 2008 21:22:45
I think Rocky Bru has stirred up a hornet's nest. Freedom of free speech and the right to sue for defamation are two sides of the same coin. Without this right to sue, freedom of speech would be unadulterated anarchy. If you publish, be prepared to take the consequences. Utusan publishes, that's its right. Kok sues, that her right. Suing doesn't mean she is right or will win or that Utusan will lose. What irks most people is that papers like Utusan do not seem to be subject to the Ministry's oversight. Opposition papers are, even websites, like MT have been sued and pilloried by the authorities. A reprimand of utusan by the Ministry would have been like balm to the sores. But then we can't UMNO to reprimand UMNO.
Votes: +33
written by thor, October 13, 2008 21:28:34
Freedom of speech does not entail malicious intend or being a political tool to pull the wool over people's eyes creating racial/religious tensions so those WOLVES can continue their ways. Remember, only GOD is GREAT so DO NOT CAUSE MISCHIEFS.

GOD SAVE OUR PEOPLE FROM THE WOLVES
Votes: +14
written by renoir, October 13, 2008 21:30:57
Recently Din Merican talked about someone who's laying the groundwork to re-enter some UMNO media organizations, ostensibly to become a chief editor or something. Seems like quite a number of people are following suit. Unfortunately for Rocky, if that's his intention he has done a poor job: his "defense" is about as convincing as a persuasive composition written by a retarded middle school student under the present defective education system. I suggest a more suitable job for this guy - try burgher frying on a Ramli stall.

Votes: +36
written by BeraniTakut, October 13, 2008 21:32:59
You have some gall tp patronize the public, Encik Rocky. Especially in your transparently syncophantic blog.
Of course we’re for freedom of the press, but Ms Kok also has, as a citizen, the right to seek redress, via our admittedly dubious court system, beyond a shabby, partently insincere ‘apology’.
Whatever your double-speak it is her right to make a statement against what was clearly (except to a stooge with his hands out for whatever trickle-down ‘reward’ from above) a politically-motivated character assassination - clearly a malicious falsehood from the ruling party machinery.
She has the right to push with her suit. In malicious falsehood the claimant must prove: the words are false; the words were published maliciously; and, special damage has flowed from their publication (unless the publication falls within certain criteria) Note: the words need not be defamatory. They must be false.
The so-called ‘apology’ proved this. She is not being vindictive or trivial, Encik Bru. She was jailed and, on release, physically threatened. Utusan’s work was no less than a Hate Crime. Don’t be disingenuous, Encik Rocky - you must know that the 30 million is really about making as big a statement as possible.
The press is free to bark but surely not to cow viable, vital political rivals of it’s Master.

Votes: +26
written by JUST, October 13, 2008 21:33:25
"You assist an evil system by obeying its orders and decrees.
An evil system never deserves such allegiance.
Allegiance to it means collaboration with the evil.
A man of principles will resist an evil system with his whole soul.
Non-collaboration with evil is a sacred duty!

It may be long before the law of love will be recognized in
this beautiful country. The machinery of evil administration
stands in-between and hides the loving hearts of the Nation!"

Votes: +13
written by Daryl, October 13, 2008 21:40:27
Freedom of speech for a MSM. Yes off course but they must be based on evidence to back it up. Utusan Malaysia haven't show any eveidence that it is a true "story". To base on a statement by someone that haven't show hard eveidence is a freedom of speech but a reckless one. Not apologizing and threaten the party that was reported is gangsterism.

Rocky Bru I think you have one too many of what I don't know or maybe something under table as well.. Freedom of speech is important but you might end up like "KKK" if your claim are baseless.
Votes: +19
written by SiHangChai, October 13, 2008 21:46:30
Sue this racist newspaper! The fact is Utusan never apologises but continue to publish sensitive issue to provoke confrontation and to victimise non-Malay, and this includes the original native of bumiputra. We don't need such newspaper, and you cant blame for other vernacular papers to attack back those idiots who write in Utusan.
Votes: +23
written by smeagrooo, October 13, 2008 21:48:30
hey Cocky Bru

u totally blew it big time with ur stupid writings. just becos Kali resigned doesnt mean u can tok kok and hope to get back into umno's good books.

u r a total waste!

THUMBS DOWN TO COCKY BRU!
Votes: +37
written by smeagrooo, October 13, 2008 21:53:33
cocky bru

we wont blame u if u want to write for a living and we wont blame u if u r a stinking traitor to the nation. afterall, semua pun mahu kekayaan dan pompuan.

U HV LOST MY RESPECT....for now i will read ur postings with a pinch of salt. U hv ulterior motives in ur postings.

May u think wisely and choose the right path.

We are no FOOLs!
Votes: +34
written by JUST, October 13, 2008 22:02:04
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=rFYPns34PlE
Votes: +0
written by Xerxes, October 13, 2008 22:02:51
I am all for press freedom. As long as they are publishing facts or at least the due diligence had been done to verify them before publishing the article. Press freedom does not confer the right to slander.

More so in this case where the columnist had himself said:

"..Dalam suasana negara yang dipenuhi dengan isu sensitif perkauman sekarang, tulisan ini hanyalah sebagai satu ingatan kepada kita semua, terutamanya umat Islam."

He realised the sensitive nature of what he was about to write and yet he did not make the effort to call the respective mosques to verify the facts of the case nor did he call Teresa and gave her the right of reply.

And even after the mosques had clarified the issue, both the columnist and the paper did not even have the decency to apologise after they had caused Teresa to be arrested and spend a week under the ISA - putting them on the same plane as that racist from Penang who called the Chinese "pendatangs" and caused the Sin Chew journalist to be arrested under the ISA.
Votes: +20
written by anban, October 13, 2008 22:03:31
What stupid atricle is this. Sorry bru but your logic sucks:

1) You can have all mainstream newspaper controlled by ruling goverment but opposition papers are not allowed to be published daily and some are restricted to members only

2) You can have newspaper like Suara Keadilan and TheSun given show cause letter for so call abuse of power but Utusan as usual is "protected" by all that although they keep posting seditious and racist article.

3) You can put a person who being accused in ISA but you let go those who make wild accusation which turn out to be false.

4) You get a reporter from a chinese newspaper caught in ISA for reporting the truth and you are telling me not to take action to those who purposely trying to incite racial and religious hatred.

We all know what Utusan is to the goverment, the earlier the newspaper is sued and declared bankrupt, the better.
Votes: +31
written by cheekhiaw, October 13, 2008 22:12:25
Just a thief telling others how to live a thief's life...

Votes: +16
written by IbnAbdHalim, October 13, 2008 22:12:25
So, does it mean that a person can fabricate allegations and slander another and that person must take it in the name of press freedom? If the paper claims press freedom for slanderous articles so can the said person claim his/her rights to sue the said paper. If I were Teresa I'll slam a RM100m rather than RM30m.
Votes: +21
written by otoole77, October 13, 2008 22:25:33
very surprisingly this article came from rocky.... very disappointed with 2head snake !
Votes: +25
written by BennyG, October 13, 2008 22:26:25
Weird, it come from Rocky bru. It doesn't take much to sell out.

Freedom of speech from Utusan on false information managed to stir the extremist enough to throw Molotov cocktails.

Freedom of speech from RPK on qualified "rumours" landed RPK in Kamunting.

I hope that you would resign as Protem President of the National Alliance of Bloggers (All-Blogs) because you believe that freedom of speech is good even though it is based on lies.
Votes: +25
written by cheekhiaw, October 13, 2008 22:27:12
People,

Thieves, liars and murderers live by different rules - it is not in their culture to sue others, for obvious reasons.

Votes: +12
written by Jit Dharma, October 13, 2008 22:32:19
Wow Brother Sabahfan, a beautifully written and lucid reply to Brother Rocky's
misguided attempt at fair play.Defending Utusan is a little like defending Osama bin Laden's right to a fair trial. Very hard to sympathise.
Death to ALL tyrants. Have a nice day.
Votes: +13
written by lamakawan, October 13, 2008 22:33:39
Utusan can print anything it likes. It is immune to ISA and sedition acts etc. Simply because its management says to point fingers at Utusan is same as poiting fingers at UMNO. How narrow minded are these dogs from UMNO !!! Why must they say such stupid things to anger themselves? Will they UMNO people be injured if Utusan is torn to pieces? That is how they created hatred among themselves.
Votes: +16
written by islandjoe, October 13, 2008 22:35:11
You can't be serious?? A newspaper must report the truth. Media freedom is about the press being able to report the truth OR give qualified opinions without being suppressed. The article in question was neither truthful, and if it was someone's opinion, it was not portrayed as such.

It reported a lie without the due diligence in finding out the truth we would expect from a national newspaper. At best, this is gross negligence especially when they knew the consequences of such an article. Sue them?? WHY NOT?? Who will give Teresa Kok her days back? Have they even issued an apology? NO! So, no alternative but to sue them. Maybe that will teach those morons at the Utusan. Part of the settlement should be the forced renaming of the paper to "HUGGIES" as they both contain the same thing - excretion.

This is not about press freedom, but about a newspaper owned by the regime and being used as a tool of the regime to spin lies into fact. THIS IS NOT PRESS FREEDOM. 1st step of this is to BAN ALL POLITICAL PARTIES FROM OWNING MSM, and to BREAK UP ANY MONOPOLIES IN THE MSM. They are fortunate that their masters are in power so they are immune from criminal charges.

Votes: +19
written by FFT, October 13, 2008 22:42:16
Don't confuse the right to sue for defamation with the censoring of news media and the arrest and persecution of those who provide alternative viewpoints.

Unless, of course, you don't have any faith in the integrity of the judiciary?

Sheesh, sometimes having one's head shoved so far up Mahathir's arse may not bode well for one's ability to have a sensible viewpoint.
Votes: +10
written by Thinker, October 13, 2008 22:42:42
Freedom of speech to most people is the freedom to give and receive information and ideas (opinions), not to propagate falsehoods. If a mistake has been made, then an unreserved apology should be given.

In this case, Utusan propagated a story that led to Theresa being incarcerated. Instead of withdrawing their article and issuing an apology, they acted belligerently and refused to do so. Theresa has all the right in the world to sue them to clear her name and to force them to apologise and seek compensation for her hardship if she believes that the story was false.

To compare Utusan and the Rocket just highlights your stupidity. One is a newspaper which can be bought by or sold to anyone (and seemingly write anything they want), while the other is a newsletter which can only be sold to DAP members and not the general public. If you think that the Rocket has written any falsehoods, then I would suggest you demand that they withdraw their article or initiate civil action against them.

I don't think anyone's against the government's action to charge RPK if he was writing slanderous articles. However, what we are against is the use of ISA on him and the charges of sedition, which basically doesn't even need the prosecution to prove that the articles were false, they just need to prove that the articles incite hatred towards the government. The articles could be true and it wouldn't matter one bit in convicting him.

Compare this to Theresa suing Utusan. Theresa is suing them for libel and in doing so, she needs to prove that what Utusan has written is false. To try to draw parallels between RPK and Utusan is plain rubbish.
written by FFT, October 13, 2008 22:49:51
On the flipside, it looks like Rocky is liberally applying the KY to facilitate his smooth insertion into Najib's inner circle for media matters....are we seeing the next Kalimullah in the making?
Votes: +21
written by smeagrooo, October 13, 2008 23:01:35
cocky blur,

hv u got ur head checked lately? anyone can write crap. anymore job openings? i too can write crap if umno pays me good enough.

sign me up!
written by MalaysianFirst, October 13, 2008 23:10:19

No need to say so much.
Votes: +15
written by malgal, October 13, 2008 23:33:40
Unlike Theresa Kok, our politicians who are purportedly slandered by some bloggers are not in the sue-ing mode, preferring silence. Different strokes for different folks?
Votes: +4
written by Fido, October 13, 2008 23:44:30
Mencabar utusan = Mencabar melayu

so with the same logic, can we say that

Mencabar Harakah = Mencabar Islam ??

what a flawed, perverse logic some people have. Its so true, UMNO is no longer relevant.
Votes: +7
written by DreamLady, October 14, 2008 00:05:54

Rocky Bro is eyeing with earnest, and his mouth is drooling, the delicious pieces of pie displayed outside najib's backdoor............

he whispers softly to himself,'forget about pkr, pete, these people could not offer me anything yummy to my taste-bud, I would definitely go for the pie regardless the consequence...'

What morality? I do not have a vocabulary with the word ! don't bother me anymore, I want to enjoy my pie !!!
Votes: +8
written by johntyc, October 14, 2008 00:13:42
Walaueh! Those who 'fitnah' others also being defended!
written by Sinewy, October 14, 2008 00:18:12
Press freedom does not equate to freedom to tell lie about someone, especially for a national newpapers like Utusan. As an established MSM, they must have a basic code of ethic to deal with the news they are going to publish, whether they are facts or heresays. To publish something based on lies, Utusan's ethic stinks and obviouosly they are a propoganda tool for its political master. So it is logical that the political master would like to defend Utusan but this is politics, nothing to do with the so-called defence of the race and religion, which again trying to create racist issue in this move. When will UMNO learn?
Votes: +2
written by Sagaladoola, October 14, 2008 00:21:03
My opinion : Revocation of the suit should only be done if Utusan publishes a formal public apology on its front page.

Why Teresa should sue?

I think Malaysians know who control the media, and it is certainly not DAP, PAS or PKR. So, if there is any truth that the media is controlled, they may write something biased (inconclusive) against the enemies of the controller and this may be very disadvantageous in a lopsided "war" against DAP, PAS, PKR and we all know how widespread traditional media is.

Why we can't equate media with bloggers?
1) Majority bloggers are not controlled by a single party or entity
2) Blogs are not as widespread as traditional media. Traditional media can thrive in suburban or village areas whereas the penetration of blogs in this area may be exceedingly low.

The subjects above only apply if the traditional media is controlled by a single party.

However, if the media is not controlled and free to write and allow Teresa to explain herself to dismiss any form of biased propaganda, then only the suit should be revoked.

No double standards.

http://sagaladoola.blogspot.com
written by Sagaladoola, October 14, 2008 00:33:03
3) Blogs allow politicians to explain themselves over the net. Does traditional media allow that if they are controlled?

On the previous statements, I'd say Utusan should only offer a public apology if they are reporting a fake news.

I am not optimistic
written by Msian 2, October 14, 2008 00:34:45
Stay the course Teresa. Utusan have not apologise as well as U cannot publish malicious news to stirr racial disharmony. These guys in Utusan are traitors. Infact the govt should have severely reprimanded such journalism. Such unjournalistic values by Utusan must be checked. I am sure Teresa is going to donate the money from this lawsuit to some very meaningful purposes.
written by Taufique, October 14, 2008 00:40:10
Seeing the title got me agitated. Screw utusan. I want to sue them as well for the mental anguish they caused me when they bastard Zaini (or whatever his f*cking name is) so called journalist based his article on a blog post by a f*cking toyol called khir.

What a way to end the night by seeing this sort of a title. Sorry Mr Rocky, I cant agree with you. You had your headaches. Now its their turn to have theirs, after causing so much pain on others. Teresa Kok spent time in ISA, not bastard of a journalist who baselessly wrote the article right? Now U want to defend that sort of journalism? Uncorroborated bullshit blogpost from a pig headed toyol batu api.

Please lah!
Votes: +11
written by Sagaladoola, October 14, 2008 00:46:25
I am quite skeptical about Rocky these days.

Anyway, I have just read this article :
http://www.darnmalaysia.com/20...om-to-you/
written by goforahike, October 14, 2008 00:59:23
How would u feel when u are unjustly arrested, thrown into the slammer for ISA and accused of something that is simply not of your doing. The criminals get of scotch free despite witnesses verifying that the YB Ms Kok did not do incite any racial slurs. Where is the justice? Don't insult our intelligence on the freedom of the press.....it's more like writing to oppress! And if the crap that Utusan churns out can be considered professional, responsible press, Rocky, u must be really desperate to take up the vacancy left by Kali. Teresa has the right to sue, it is infringement of basic freedom....RM30 million is fodder to these scumbags....should have asked for RM300 million especially now need bodyguards to ensure safety not only for herself but her family as well. Demand as much as u can can and donate it to charity.....afterall it's all the rakyat's money! Way to go gal.......
Votes: +6
written by onnetline, October 14, 2008 01:20:29
Miwaki,

Get lost, UMNO cyber trooper !
written by onnetline, October 14, 2008 01:22:06
Get lost too, rockybru !
written by WandererAUS, October 14, 2008 01:56:01

For an experienced and senior journalist, Rockybru can still produce such a crap...only reflexes his inability to grasp the rule of law. Freedom of press has its limitation especially publishing untruth. This is definitely unacceptable.
Utusan Malaysia is propaganda machine for UMNO, if they published false and twisted accusations on anyone, they deserve to be sued. They should be made to face the music without mercy.
Votes: +9
written by arazak, October 14, 2008 02:07:21
Finally, He showed his true color. I've heard through the grapevine he is an UMNO sposored blogger. Now it is clear as the blue sky.

By the way. . ., Utusan should not have named it "Tabung Azan", rather it should be named "Tabung Menegakan Fitnah".

For those who donated their money to this fund, they will be answerable to their Creator for supporting liars.
written by doggone, October 14, 2008 03:17:06

Maybe Rocky might like to enlighten us as to the kind of inducement that make him a turncoat?

Most of us could still remember another renegade, Sang Kelamkabut, or something like that who also betrayed The Cause.

written by StevenO, October 14, 2008 04:59:29

It's people like you that gave journalist a bad name. If you can't sleep because of something you wrote, then stop lying, okay?

Mr. Rocky Bruuuu....Now you have proven that you are among the equals like Saiful. Yak....you are so full of shit!!

Votes: +9
written by Ngui, October 14, 2008 07:06:14
These UMNO guys. When it suits them, they will say all the right things i.e. press freedom lah, democracy lah, .............when it is not they will say malay right, malay pride, religion, race lah etc.......like kids lah
written by letsbefair, October 14, 2008 08:25:29
I suspect Rocky made a pact with the devil! By this article he made the lawsuit against him may be removed or nothing will happen to him.
Votes: +5
written by allmenarebrothers, October 14, 2008 08:53:17
A Newspaper run by mad men, psychopaths, brain-damaged blokes, mental asylum inmates,supremacist racists. All suffering from mental dementia.
Pui..Pui....Pui....
written by khongja, October 14, 2008 10:33:28
This guy rocky is nothing but a racist . Peroid!!
Votes: +5
written by JohnQ, October 14, 2008 10:53:03
If that is the case, there is no case for RPK then, Rockyblue ?
written by DontPlayGod, October 14, 2008 11:16:49
We can't be too hard on Rocky, after all he originated from the NST, another UMNO-owned paper. So its normal for him to defend another UMNO-owned paper that goes out and out to fight for "ketuanan", racist supremacy, and race discrimination based on the master race principle.

Our UMNO goons are not aware that the UN outlaws any race discrimination, or racism of any nature. Maybe its time Malaysia withdraws its membership from UN as it does not believe in race equality, and equal rights. Its rather sad even our 1st class Oxfart does not believe in this principle and he is fighting to be the leader of Malaysia.

Rocky's star will not shine for a long time amongst M-T readers. He has brought himself down to the level of UMNO racists and ultras.
written by onnetline, October 14, 2008 11:24:22
Rockybru,

What do you really understand about the morals or social obligations of honest reporting ??

Clearly shows that you are no reporter and know nothing about such values !

BTW, we know that Miwaki is kissing up your ' S ' too.
written by Taiping60, October 14, 2008 11:36:18
Lets not confuse the issue. It got nothing to do with whether the person is ordinary, politician, royal family or any body.

It is the issue of wrong reporting. Yes, the press should be free to report but the press must be responsible. In this case, it is clear that Khir Toyo was wrong and Utusan got the facts wrong. It is natural for them to apologise to Teresa Kok which they did not.

So I think Teresa has all the right to sue them. Otherwise the press freedom will have another meaning i.e. free to print lies as well. Those who come in support of Utusan or setting up fund to help Utusan or attempt to make this case racial must be living in Siberia.

Just read the facts. Utusan made a mistake and they should apologise to Teresa Kok. It is up to whether Teresa wants to accept the apology. Sometime a wrong cannot simply be resolved through an apology. The is a price for mistake so this will encourage people to be more careful in future.

As for Khir Toyo, SHAME on you. I cannot believe he can still get nomination for the UNMO youth. What on earth are these people thinking?

As for Teresa. Understand what you have gone through. Sometime it is good to be magnaninous. If Utusan apologise. forgive them and lets not drag the case. As for Toyo, he has to do more as he is the main culprit and the real racist.
written by dassky2000, October 14, 2008 12:10:45
Hmmmmmm, wait a minit. Some years ago, some published a cartoon of Prophet muhamad... This person was suspended although the news publishing house apologised, it also faced the same.

Now, this defamation is another type scenario. Racial tension. Creating a racial disharmony which later ends in bloodshed of many is warrent for dentention in ISA.

How these people don't apologies and don't get arrested. Apa newspapaer company ini anak emas BN kah?
written by bknight, October 14, 2008 12:16:18
Utusan wrote about the problem with azan and as a result Teresa get ISAed, even when she issue a public statement denying such attempt, what did utusan did ?? did they further verify their source?? and if found untrue did they take necessary steps to ensure that the person who suffers from their writings is not punished in such a cruel ways??

if they did and clarify , i dont think there is even a reason for the action taken...but instead..they kept quiet and let this ISA thing falls on her...

as a results of what they published, teresa was taken away from her family and home.. and i thought newspaper has a moral obligation to write what is true and correct? if they can simply write..then i can write and publish any statement that can be taken as true...

please..spare me this thought that we shouldn't sue the newspaper..where is the accountability of news reporter then ??

if we have been wronged, that's the only way to make it right...otherwise we will always be shortchanged.. who will compensate teresa for the time she spent in ISA for nothing??????

i gave you another example, a friend of mine who joined an international land banking company was dismissed without and due appraisal, and i have suggested to her to ask the company to prove if her performance is below expectations, but they couldn't..all they say is we have prove..but never once shown it to her..

they finally still go on to dismissed her, we took the case to IR..during this time many of my friends and even my family says that it is foolish bring this to court...it waste of money and time and it will affect her next job...

but i told her, we should go and file because we know it is all lies..during that time, she doesnt have a job, lost of income, felt pressured because of other financial obligations she has to fulfilled.. but we still go ahead and file the case and won it, during this process, IR found there is no case for dismissal and order the company to compensate her.

my point here is.. saying something without prove and accussing someone of something will have impact on that person's life..and if it is proven not true, who will compensate that person ?? so is that person's right to bring this to the legal system..

and i say..Teresa should sue!

written by bknight, October 14, 2008 12:23:28
and i say, if you being an former editor and felt sleepless because of all the lawsuit being filed against your agency, then you should also understand that the person that file the suit against your agency might be feeling pressured and sleepless perhaps their life is also impacted..

so i say think before you write anything, remember pen is always mightier than the sword.

written by archie, October 14, 2008 13:05:41
If Utusan believes it's right and has the law on its side, why should Rocky worry about the law suit filed by Teresa Kok?
written by Lyon, October 14, 2008 13:42:20
Its strange, the loud mouth from Penang is not a 'pure' Malay and the person who initiated the fund is also not a 'pure' Malay. I hope someone can find out the agenda of these 'purer that pure'. Another of these retired fellows, will play a bigger & direct role (just like LKY in S'pore) if the transition of power takes place as planned.

What happens, when one lodges a false report to the police and the report turns out to be false. Does'nt the person get charged in court ?. Here, we have 'politicians who have lost power' trying to instigate the masses and this is abetted by an irresponsible daily. TK was held under the ISA for no wrong done, she was wronged by the daily and she deservingly has taken the right action. In fact she requested the daily to render her an apology within a specified time, did they ?

Cheers
written by oneofthesedays, October 14, 2008 14:48:32

Folks, he is showing his true colors more and more... time to ignore this mahatirist tool.
written by FFT, October 14, 2008 15:56:54
written by archie, October 14, 2008 13:05:41
If Utusan believes it's right and has the law on its side, why should Rocky worry about the law suit filed by Teresa Kok?

Because Rocky is worried his soon-to-be employers may not be able to fund his promised salary if Teresa wins.
written by 1351, October 14, 2008 17:12:02
Very astute fft.

The lines are shifting with in-coming crew, new team setting editorial line and rocky(might I add Kadir Jasin) postulating themselves at the behest of Najib.

Let him have his day for that dawn won't last too long when Pakatan Rakyat sees the light of day to once again build this land of plenty.

Votes: +1
written by V1ru5, October 14, 2008 17:41:55
if Utusan had issued an apology to ms Teresa, then the issue should be put to rest. Yes, freedom of speech should apply to all and not just a select few. However, since Utusan did not retract their article and that article caused Teresa to be held under ISA, the damage is done and Ms Teresa is within her rights to sue to damages.
written by Sabahfan, October 14, 2008 20:56:34
TRUE FREEDOM OF PRESS IS...

THE FREEDOM TO REPORT FACTS AND TRUTHS....

NOT LIES AS PER UTUSAN AND UMNO AND ALL THEIR SHITTY DICTATORIAL LEADERS..!!!

written by Taufique, October 15, 2008 01:36:46
Hey Rocky, care to comment on the continual attack on Teresa Kok? Read that little cerpen by your Utusan mothrfu*ker friends?

Maybe you were put in a die die situation to spew such crap in an article, maybe these pansy folks threatened to cut off your balls or something. Whatever it may be,
you just lost that much respect from me and my buddies.

Peace.