Home arrow The Blogs arrow News/Commentaries arrow No-confidence motion not on

No-confidence motion not on PDF Print
Monday, 13 October 2008 15:21
(The Malaysian Insider) Contrary to expectations, opposition leader Datuk Seri Anwar Ibrahim today indicated that he is not going to move for a motion of no-confidence against the prime minister.

“For now, our focus is on the Budget,” he told reporters in a press conference during a lunchtime break at Parliament.

He also asked for an adjournment to debate the Budget as the minister in charge of the finance portfolio and other relevant government officials were absent during the session and therefore were unable to provide much-needed answers.

He also said that there was no point in debating an outdated Budget as it was presented over a month ago and called on the new finance minister to revise the facts and data.

The Permatang Pauh MP lashed out at Datuk Seri Najib Razak, calling him irresponsible and arrogant for failing to show up for the debate.

He added, rather snidely, that the latter’s failure was because he was too busy approving mega projects and getting involved in economic scandals such as the latest controversy over the purchase of the Euro-copter.

“In the present economic crisis, we have to handle this well. We have to work together to save the country,” Anwar said.

He hoped that Najib will show up for the continuation of the debate after lunch.

“Otherwise... he is sending a message that he is not serious and responsible," he added, referring to Najib.

Comments (30)Add Comment
written by Proud_2b_Malaysian, October 13, 2008 15:28:38
Show the world the truth about the validity and workability of the 2009 Budget and demonstrate who really knows economics and budgets really well. Perhaps at that time, a no-confidence vote can be taken based on an inability to run the government rather than a power grabbing perception.

Anwar must show that the opposition is much better at running the country than Najib and BN. That will pave the way for the next steps.

http://proud2bmalaysian.******...esnt-care/
written by Kunta Kinte, October 13, 2008 15:35:09
Unbelievable...it was already made known that Opposition leader is going to debate the budget and the finance minister so conveniently decides to stay away. And this man is going to lead the country. Wake-up people!
written by biggun129, October 13, 2008 15:36:19
Najib is waiting for the arrival of the Helicopter to pick him up,He is sitting right infront of the Vault of Bank Negara, his money is more important than the saliva of DSAI,remember, Rosmah is waiting at home to go to Bollywood and pick up Shah Rukh and shop around London before returning to Malacca.
written by Rundukon, October 13, 2008 15:40:14
If DSAI can show the world that the budget is 'outdated', its as good as passing a no confidence vote against the government.

All the BN's MPs must be crazy, dumb half past six wits if they supported the budget as presented by Mr Abdullah.
written by biggun129, October 13, 2008 15:49:56
Najib is upgrading the budget,forget about the 'outdated',This is going to be Najis'Shit' budget, no more AAB's budget,be prepared, the Currency Note of Malaysia will change into Banana Note during the Japanese Pre-occupation day, environmental free,before you use, it turn into dust.No value!!!
written by PASOK, October 13, 2008 15:55:28

Najib is just plain scared to face Anwar in Parliament
written by willove, October 13, 2008 15:57:41
There you go, this man has proven himself to be so consistent again, running away from Debate.
So what's new? He's been running away from the Mogolian woman, from challenging Dollah, from the submarine deal, from arms theft, from National Service deaths,...etc.
He is indeed living up to his trademark!
Want to know why he is who he is today?
To let you guys in on a little open secret, his real job is a cake cutter. He is a professional at cutting economic cakes to the various UMNO warlords so they get a piece what what they don't deserve. He has been doing this since young and can be considered as one of the most experienced in this industry.
Now you know why he is up there, so close to being the No.1 man of Malaysia.
Question is, will he get there?
I will bet you to my last dollah, oops dollar, that he won't.
I really don't care if I win my bet or not, you guys should too.
Let's just pray PR will take over and end this idiotic joke of the century.
written by ahmadneil, October 13, 2008 16:03:51
Anwar,he have no ball to show up and after all he is not interested in this outdated budget. What is more important to him now is to reinforce his position and get ready to plunder the country's wealth after getting the recipe from his mentor,Racist mahathir.In fact he is already the PM and AAB is just the caretaker called the lame duck.
written by beijing, October 13, 2008 16:14:09
excuses and excuses by both party
written by ahmadneil, October 13, 2008 16:15:30
Najis is busy writing a new military shopping list and top on the list are,nuclear submarine,spy satellite,M1 Abraham Tanks,Cobra Helicopters,Hammer Vehicles,Unmanned Spy plane etc. This list, estimated to cost a whopping sum of US$308 billion ,if successful will make malaysia one of the most powerful and well armed country after Israel.Also,high on his priority will be to sent a female malay astronaut to the moon at the request of his wife to show that ladies are equally as capable as male.
written by lamakawan, October 13, 2008 16:22:14
What sort of finance minister is this Najib? The whole world is in financial turmoil, and he is suppose to debate on the federal budget, and he is playing truant from the parliament debate.
written by Kathy, October 13, 2008 16:22:33
How irresponsible of the finance minister not to show up for the budget debate. BN is behaving as though the economy is not going through the crisis that the rest of the world is experiencing. I can only adduce two conclusions from this:
1. Malaysia is on a different planet.
2. We can sleep soundly because our economy is doing very well.

This is a time for both the Opposition and the Govt. to work together for the country, as is happening in the US and the UK. Anwar appears to be the more responsible of the two leaders.
written by ahmadneil, October 13, 2008 16:26:00
To make up for time wasted while waiting for AAB to resign,Najis is asking his planning ministry to speed up the building of a memorial for Altantuya costing 60 million ringgit.This memorial is a tribute to Altantuya for helping malaysia to successfully negotiate the submarine deal.She die while performing her duty for malaysia and we should accord her the highest gratitude for been a true 'girlfriend' of malaysia.This project is expected to be completed in March next year,the same day as the swearing in of Malaysia 6th PM,a date that will forever be remember by all malaysian.
written by magickriver, October 13, 2008 16:27:49
Najib, do us all a big favor, change your name to Nojob.
written by cheekhiaw, October 13, 2008 17:02:03
Anwar,

People where got time to meet you on the country's budget. People are busy trying to meet their own thieves' budget...

written by Kathy, October 13, 2008 18:09:07
And Najib wants the rakyat to respect him (ref. an article a day or two ago)? He doesn't even have any respect for his office of Finance Minister. Or is he too afraid to look across the aisle at Anwar? I watched Anwar at the afternoon session of Parliament today, and he looks every inch a leader.
written by Liberace, October 13, 2008 18:13:12
DSAI, somewhere along that long and winding road to the PM's office, you lost me. Too many twists and turns and not enough results, not even mini steps forward.
written by MalaysianFirst, October 13, 2008 18:19:57
I'm glad we're all on the same page. Make no mistake, the Budget debate is a serious matter where we will discuss how to sustain our economic growth, what is our debt to GDP ratio, is it climbing or is it falling, what kind of tax relief measures are planned to stimulate the economy and how this will impact on the revenue to GDP ratio, what is the degree of government as a percentage of GDP, is it increasing or declining? All these and more are of great concern to the man on the street and to companies.

But alas, our man is busy sending sms.......
written by MalaysianFirst, October 13, 2008 18:22:20

I said, "what is the degree of government as a percentage of GDP..."
Sorry, it should read, "what is the degree of government spending as a percentage of GDP..."
written by Dongra Dude, October 13, 2008 18:32:31
Change the name from Nojob to Blowjob As he has Pinky mouth. AAB is to be blame as well as he is the one who choose these shit to take over as the Finance Minister. He dare not face DSAI to answer on Eurocopter issue. Najis will send his Deputy Nor Mohammad to answe in Parlimen.
written by Mee Udang, October 13, 2008 18:49:38
Giv them a chinese name:
Nojob = KONG KET KUAT
Flip Flop = CHO REE KUAT

Both also coward!!! One of them Kong Ket Kuat then pakai C4. The other Cho Ree Kuat then run away!! Both of them are SON OF LAR REE KUAT....
written by A MI, October 13, 2008 19:12:22
got scared of the leaked smses kot.
worry not AAB believes you smilies/grin.gif
Innocence is based on Imam Islam Hadari, what a joke.
written by Sunnysoul5, October 13, 2008 19:24:14
If the Minister fails to turn up during questioning time, it is only natural to pass a vote of no confidence on him. Otherwise, other ministers will do the same, and the nation will become a laughing stock of the world.

It is about leadership and accountability.

It is dangerous to have an irresponsible national leader, more so if the person is tainted with many baggages.

It is a good time to initiate a motion.
written by Futurist, October 13, 2008 20:10:10
Not attending Parliament does not negate the fact that you do not have to answer to the MPs. Probably all the goons are busy looking after their backs, having to get nominated for the upcoming AGM.
written by panca, October 13, 2008 20:28:46
Najib is not in Parliament because he is somewhere balancing the accounts from the 'windfall'.

No knowledge of accounts and economics but well versed in commissions.
written by budakindia, October 13, 2008 20:30:13
They think they could belittle and treat us like little kids! Boycott! Don't go to any open houses organized by these ministers! Let them die! Let Utusan die! smilies/angry.gif
written by DreamLady, October 13, 2008 20:45:25
Indraputra, please, give due respect to Anwar, he is not a brand-new school leaver who is naive and ignorant. Anwar is a competent chess player, ready to take on the mother of Evil, MAHATHIR !!
written by mikewang, October 13, 2008 21:26:10
Yes, focus on the budget.

A defeat of a fiscal bill is, without exception in a west minister model, taken as the government losing the confidence to rule.
written by Desolated Malaysian, October 14, 2008 01:35:19
Am I fed-up with DSAI's empty promises? It doesn't matter anymore. Because I am still typing this comment from the comfort of my home.

Fact to the matter is that DSAI has truly let RPK down. RPK bet to his last dime so that DSAI can win. But now DSAI has chosen to leave RPK suffer alone in Kamunting.

Politicians will be poiliticians. All with their empty promises. I am sure DSAI knows that he doesn't have the number all along. He was just playing the the mind games with the MPs. But in this game, he has to sacrifice a piece of his pawn. Unfortunately this pawn is our beloved RPK.

Marina, I wished there is something else I can do to confort you at this juncture. But Pete has bet wrongly this time.