Home arrow The Blogs arrow From Around The Blogs arrow Petaling Jaya says no to ISA

Petaling Jaya says no to ISA PDF Print E-mail
Monday, 13 October 2008 08:10

I got to the PJ Club just before 7.30pm. Had agreed to meet Bernard and Gan there.

Bumped into these lovely people at the club.

Dinesh, at the extreme right, came all the way

No, we will not go back to the days when we feared!

Never again!

And we all agreed that we’ll keep coming back every Sunday, at 8pm, to Padang Jalan Timur, bringing along more people each time, until all detainees are free and the ISA is no more.

This coming Sunday, get ready to join and sing along as we sing songs of freedom and liberation.

For other reports on the PJ anti-ISA vigil last night, go HERE , HERE and HERE.

I’m going to leave you with the photos I took but before that, I just want to ask if it was just me, or did the rest of you also feel love in the air at the Jalan Timur padang at PJ last night?

SEE PHOTOS HERE: http://harismibrahim.wordpress.com/

Comments (6)Add Comment
written by ahmadneil, October 13, 2008 08:17:17
Kuching,sarawak says no to ISA ans YES to Free RPK.I notice posters spring up around Kuching city when I pass by.Viva,RPK have finally arrive in Kuching.
written by raybeam, October 13, 2008 08:24:39
The recent revelations made by both Nadaswaren and Terence Fernandez of the sun newspaper with regards to the corrupt practices going on at the tourism ministry is most troubling and shocking to say the least. I would not be surprised that this is only the tip of the iceberg and that a lot of wheeling and dealing is going around in other ministries. It is most unfortunate that in spite of the numerous scandals that have been exposed by these 2 brave journalists from the sun newspaper, everything seems to have been swept under the carpet, and what's more, to add insult to injury, none of the top officials in government have been brought to book for abuse of power. I think that it is appropriate for me at this juncture to remind the mca that if it is serious about reforming the barisan government, then it should take stern action against one of its top officials, namely, chew mei fun if she is found to be implicated in the tourism ministry saga, for 10,000 ringgit at the public's expense and having a chauffeur driven car is just not on. I would even go as far as to suggest that she be barred from participating in the forthcoming party elections to send her a clear message that abuse of power and corruption in any form will not be tolerated. At the same time, may I strongly urge Malaysiakini to start investigations on the tourism ministry scandal without delay so that the perpetrators of these crimes can be exposed and be made to answer for abusing the trust that have been given to them by the rakyat.

I also read with horror, an article that is doing the rounds over cyber space, with regards to the exchange of text messages between Najib Razak and lawyer shafee abdullah pertaining to the altuntaya murder mystery. Finally, may I caution all right thinking Malaysians not to rejoice at prime minister Badawi's exit from the top post of the land as I am quite certain that he is going to have the last laugh at all of us, for I am sure he knows only too well what is in store for us in the future when najib assumes power. Furthermore, it has been speculated that ex premier mahathir will become najib's top adviser which certainly spells disaster for all Malaysians. How can all law abiding citizens allow such a person as najib to be our next prime minister when he has been tainted and linked to several scandals. May I take this golden opportunity to remind all Malaysians who seek justice to remember our beloved hero, Rajah Petra who is now languishing in jail for exposing the corrupt practices of this very despotic regime. I am glad to inform all readers of Malaysiakini that despite the fact that I'm a blind inividual, I made a point to attend a candlelight vigil last night to try and pressure the evil government to release RPK without delay and unconditionally, for he is certainly the voice and conscience of the nation and we should be proud of the sacrifices that he is making for all of us with the hope that we can have better leaders in the not too distant future.

yours sincerely,

Alfred Ho..
written by AKIKO, October 13, 2008 09:31:15
As soon as PM Abdullah Badawi announces that he will not be standing for re-election in the Umno Presidential Elections, his son-in-law and PM wannabe Khairy Jamaluddin appears to be outpaced all of the sudden by former PM Mahathir Mohamed's son Mukhriz Mahathir for the leadership of Umno Youth. It is crystal here that the cunning Mahathir wants Mukhriz to be the PM in the near future but just needs 'yes man' Najib Razak to warm the PM's chair for his son. What we are going to have here is another lame duck PM in Najib Razak who will be 'remote controlled' by Mahathir. If Najib becomes PM, the country will end up as in this following Article I read in http://margeemar.blogspot.com
written by sydput, October 13, 2008 10:46:33
Now picture getting clear. It was najib behind the arrest under ISA of RPK and theresa Kuok. The target was RPK and kuok a diversion.
Najib bypassed Syed Hamid, using his police buddies, just like anwar's sodomy II, and Altantunya murder investigation.
Badawi should have dismantled the 30% delgates quota to participate in Umno president election. With this quota in place, who in the right mind would not nominate najib for presidency, as even if those who protested nominated another candidate and failed to get the 30% are signing their own death warrant.
written by Alice, October 13, 2008 12:40:28
Great job keep the Vigils going on a regular basis and soon the crowd will definitely grow. start the awareness campaign
written by Jit Dharma, October 13, 2008 21:53:25
Has anyone noticed how this event has been overlooked by the propaganda papers?
Not a word in the Star, which is full of UMNO this and UMNO that.As if anyone gives a monkeys.You have to hand it to them. They,or should I say the MCA, will never learn.They WILL pay.
Death to ALL tyrants. Have a nice day.