written by justice, October 12, 2008 16:59:05
disagree 17
agree 615
Votes: +598
written by asiseesit, October 12, 2008 17:02:53
at a project tender interview.

Tenderer 1

Interviewer: Your bid is 3 million. How do you justify your tender sum?

Korean tenderer: 1 million for labour, 1 million for materials and 1 million for expenses and a little profit.

Interview: Ok. Thank you. Next!

Tenderer 2

Interviewer: Your bid is 6 million. How do you justify your tender sum?

Japanese tenderer: 2 million for labour, 2 million for materials and 2 million for expenses and a little profit.

Interviewer: Ok. Thank you. Next!

Tenderer 3

Interviewer: Your bid is 9 million. This is way above everyone else. How do you justify your tender sum?

Malaysian tenderer: 3 million for YOU, 3 million for ME, and we get the Koreans to do it for 3 million.

agree 632
Votes: +624
written by krising1, October 12, 2008 17:06:18
Pak Lah and Khairy released SMSes to screw Najib. Najib releases letters to screw Pak Lah. Let us see if this matter comes up in Parliament tomorrow!
agree 387
Votes: +379
written by ahmadneil, October 12, 2008 17:08:21
Take all you want but you can NEVER take it to eternity for we come empty handed and we leave this world empty handed as well.
agree 187
Votes: +187
written by doggone, October 12, 2008 17:25:20
It's tits(pun intended)for tats! A 'NO HOLDS BARRED' of the M2day kind among those holding high office in UMNO. Now who says there don't read MT?
agree 127
Votes: +124
written by arazak, October 12, 2008 17:39:04

Eurocopter quotation - RM2.317 Billion Ringgit
Kelowna Quotation - RM1.452 Billion Ringgit
-----------------------
Difference in price = RM865 Million ringgit

Yet the UMNO regime government instructed to issue Letter of intent to Eurocopter.
The thing is the bigger the quotation the bigger "the commission" (read kickbacks). With the "sukhoi", "scorpane" and now "Eurocopter" commissions, in no time, Najis will be the richest PM Malaysia will ever have (probably in the world!)
agree 178
Votes: +175
written by Enforcer, October 12, 2008 17:44:58
That's why after all these years some will even 'sell' their m****** or w***** for all the easy $! Let's wait and see more XPOSE coming our way!
Votes: +74
written by educationist, October 12, 2008 17:45:20
It's KABOOM! KABOOM! KABOOM!
Hopefully it's loud enough for the new minister of Defence, hey! isn't he our PM to hear as well!!
No elaborations required, the letters are self explanatory - a difference of 1.419 billion ringgit in offer price is no small amount by anyone's account except those with self-interests involved.
Don't hide behind the OSA or whatever, just come clean on this one.
Votes: +79
written by Dongra Dude, October 12, 2008 17:52:53
This is astonishing. Both of them changed their Ministry appointments in order to enjoy the kickbacks. Najis the father of all coruption. My fellow Malaysian at this time of our sufferings, these two goons need to be kicked out and to face the public on their accountable in using public money. BPR why are you silent. You only wait for the master to give order. Are you all in the payroll of these corrupted leaders or are you all true Public Servents. You BPR stinks.
Votes: +107
written by Fairminded, October 12, 2008 17:54:52
Now we know why bodowi exchanged portfolio with najib. Being the minister of defence he can choose the tender. Perhaps it is some sort of carrot for him to hand over the leadership to najib.
Votes: +59
written by Dragon888, October 12, 2008 18:00:53
So sorry, I don't understand Berhasa...Can someone please translate those letters above...

cc , from Sydney
Votes: +38
written by aryn, October 12, 2008 18:04:44
Mak datuk! Beli helicopter harga ratus million ringgit tapi tak nak ujipandu?

Ikut suka hati nak beli? What about those reconstructed submarine made in france. Ada duit yet want to buy reconstructed submarine? Now eurocopter?

Tuan penasihat, 25 percent!
Votes: +61
written by ahmadneil, October 12, 2008 18:05:15
More leak in the coming days.Stay tune.The fourth floor boys are starting to release all the dirty work of Najis .
Votes: +92
written by johntyc, October 12, 2008 18:16:08
The Eurocopter EC-725 is better than the Kazan MI-172 in almost every aspect. That's a fact!

However, with the current deficit economy of Malaysia, it is truly unwise to spend so much on weapon. Why the need for such sophisticated weapon? Are we going for war or something? Just some plain utility aircraft enough lah! We don't have hardcore terrorist in Malaysia (in fact, I don't think we have any, except for those accused by the government and currently detained under ISA). Our relation with other countries especially within Asean fairly good too.

So, why spend 2.3 billion Ringgit when you can choose to spend 1.4 billion Ringgit cheaper? Unless on the 2.3 billion Ringgit deal, 'someone' being offered 'under the table'! smilies/angry.gif
Votes: +97
written by Ironside, October 12, 2008 18:18:47
Di ucapkan Selamat berjuang kepada wira wira negara.Hidup Malaysia
Votes: +16
written by jokerman, October 12, 2008 18:19:39
Strange...shouldn't there be a reference number for the letter in the first place? There is a date but no reference number...very strange...
disagree 46
Votes: -27
written by Legion, October 12, 2008 18:29:07
Why pay RM 1.452 billion for outdated Mil Mi 8 helicopters? The Mil Mi 8 helicopters were designed in the 1960s, and are almost the same age as our Nuri helicopters.

I rather pay RM 2 billion plus for Cougars or Blackhawks in terms of survivability in crashes, aircraft capabilities and future mod-compatibilities. Investing RM 1.452 billion in outdated aircraft that can crash as easily as a Nuri and with a higher maintenance cost per aircraft is not worth the money. It is the same as telling the US to maintain their F-14s.

Votes: +21
written by kc kua, October 12, 2008 18:30:48
Najib "Oh, this is a mistake by Mindef, don't worry, we will retify it"

So this might be the reason later given.

BPR "Sure, we definately will look into this matter if somebody lodge a report to us"

BPR Reason

Bank Negara "No comment, please. We yet to get the full information on this matter"

Bank Negara, buat tak tahu

So, at the end of the moral of the story....Play ping pong with the Rakyat.
Votes: +70
written by forrestcat, October 12, 2008 18:34:51
hello johntc,

don't u know that our Nuris have falling from the sky too often and probably killed more MAF soldiers than the communists.

The Nuri replacement programme has been held back for too many years since the 90's that we should have have had the new helis flying already.

Right nowm we only have letter of intent to Eurocopter.But with flip flop Badawi and Najib, this project may be cancelled just like Lekiu batch 2 frigates which were splashed across headlines several months ago due to 'insuffiecient funds'.With current economic crisis, it's possible, but pray the EC-725 goes through. And it's 2-4 years before we actually see them flying. Till then, MAF relies on its 20 or so ageing Nuris.

Regarding the letter above, it is a joke, a desperate plea by Bumi crony. MAF have strictly stated that they do not want the Mi-17. It's old technology.Of course India and China have hundreds but these countries operate them in hundreds to cover their large countries,plus they also operate other types of helis.Mi-17 is used as transports roles in China and India . Right now, MAF need small quantity(ONLY 12!!) of helis for utility and CSAR and we need the best helis and EC-725 is one of them.Plus, MAF will also use them in various tasks in the future including carrying Rosmah's big hair and her shopping around. Right now, the Cougar is desirable than the Mi-17 no matter how cheap the Mi-17 is.
Votes: +12
written by cillipepper, October 12, 2008 18:54:25
YB DSAI & PR Leaders,
This is robbery under broad daylight under our noses.
Please do something.
Do it very careful & very fast.
On the double our warriors!
Votes: +43
written by sonofmalaysia, October 12, 2008 18:58:16
Dragon888,

this is main point of the letter:

This company Mentari Service ( local agent for Kelowna Flightcraft Limited, manufacturer for Kazan Helicopter) is writing to C4 to complain about Bodowi making untrueful announcement that evaluation has been complete, the fact was physical evaluation have not even started, no test flight was done on Eurocopter yet. Bodowi already announced the governemnt had issued a Letter of intent. The Letter of Intent was issued 2 days before C4 moved to Finance ministry, and it was signed by middle rannking officer , it should have been at least a deputy chief sectratary.

The difference between the Eurocoptor and the other tender is 1.419 Billion RM, and the KAzan manufacturer or its representative has not even been contacted at all with regard to the tender.
----

Hope this is useful to give you the gist of the letter.

Votes: +49
written by sonofmalaysia, October 12, 2008 19:10:54
The Eurocopter works out to be RM193 a piece.

The price of a Boeing 737-600 is /USD50 million.

A helicopter more expensive than a Jetliner ??
Votes: +45
written by Dragon888, October 12, 2008 19:20:50
sonofmalaysia,
Terima kasi... Looks like everyone in BN is corrupt to the core.. Even Mr.Nice, Bodowi..
Where did he learn this from ? from the Oxford B.S. ?. I suppose, he plan to get his last pension so that he can pay for his luxurious yacht. BN must go. Bloody country is bled dried. There is nothing left for you....
Votes: +44
written by taishan, October 12, 2008 19:21:20
USD50 million a piece. That's the price of fighter jets not helicopters.
For comparison MHS buying two similar crafts, Super PUMA helicopters - RM50M a piece, a little inflated but close.
The Eurocopter is probably ten times the actual.
And one wouldn't sent 175 million ringgit crafts out for search and research - only for war.
Maybe they will claim typo error.

Votes: +23
written by HHKim, October 12, 2008 19:35:07
First of all, let me as a Malaysian thanks to MT for raising this issue and excellent job for publishing the letters.

Calling on the Auditor General,BPR, Finance Ministry and Datuk Anwar plus Lim Kit Siang:

We need to raise this matter in the parliament as to why Malaysia need to purchase these helicopters when our country is at the financial crunch?? Detail reviews and approval process must be enhanced and not let again the powerful people to suck our Malaysian coffers. If there is evidence of foul play and unethical conduct, send them for court trial irrespective if he is the PM or DPM of the country. This should be the standard SOP for our nation.

Is Malaysia prepares for war?? With who?? Where are the threats?? We should be spending our money to improve the raayat's quality of life and especially in educational aspects. We can't even afford to have proper transport systems and Penang has no money from Federal governmengt to move on the coastal ring roads and the bridge!!

Corruption after corruption and yet this is happening again in the country. It is absurd and ridiculous to the highest level!!

Therefore, all parties including the PR must take vehement measures to raise all objections against this unethical deals by the defence ministry.

Come on guys, our country is not rich enough to go for any so called Modern Warfare with any neighbouring country. We are still living in the 50's. Let's get real and be realistic for once.
Votes: +74
written by ibabonma, October 12, 2008 19:41:29
A perompak is a LANUN by another name. And, he is our future PM. Are Malaysian that stupid?
Votes: +31
written by ibabonma, October 12, 2008 19:48:08
Somehow I suspect it was an agreement between Bodohwi and Najis (LANUN-LANUN Malaysia) to agree on a golden handshake for the departure of an out-going PM.
Votes: +35
written by johntyc, October 12, 2008 20:12:25
Legion, October 12, 2008 18:29:07
You mention survivability in crashes. How many time you hear someone survive helicopter crash? And the 12 MI-172 tender cost less than 900 million, not 1.4 billion. Yes, there are lots of Nuri crashes as well as MI-17's. But there are thousands of them in service. The EC-725, how to truly know that they are reliable? There are only 14 of them in service worldwide. For your info, Blackhawk crash a lot too.

forrestcat, October 12, 2008 18:34:51
I agree the Nuris must be replace ASAP.
Yes, MI-17 is old tech, but doesn't mean it's unreliable. With only 14 EC-725, how you know it's reliable (sorry for repeat)?
MI-17 also can modi into CSAR.
EC-725, about 190 million Ringgit a piece = ABSURD!
Votes: +29
written by sonofmalaysia, October 12, 2008 20:14:11
How can our Agong and the Sultans still sit idly by and let our country burns ! and being laughing stock of the world ?

Don't we Malaysian have any pride and honour ?

Can the future Agong, PM or any governemnt leaders face the world and deal with world affairs and international relation with dignity and credibility ?

If the highest goverment officers are seen to be involved in all these sordid scandals, how would the common people of Malaysians citizens be viewed by foreigners ? Our credibility, honesty, integrity and capability will be viewed in high suspicion, who will put money in our country, who will give us any decent works or responsibility ??!!

We Malaysians are screwed beyond belief !!

CAn our last bastion of honour and integrity , the Royalty still sit idly by and seeing our homeland going up in flame and being dragged into deep sewer?

What honour is there being a Head of such a country ??

Votes: +86
written by seethinkact, October 12, 2008 20:27:31
Kaboomm!!

Actually this letter to DPM Najib is a complaint against Najib himself by a sore loser regarding how the decision to appoint the winner was arrived at. At about the time a change of ministerial portfolio took place, the tender was at a stage which was still far from reaching a decision. Physical testing of the choppers had yet to take place but since due to sudden political developments in the country, a change of portfolios took place between PM and DPM.

The complainant implores that an influential group at the Defense ministry, in not wanting to lose out on the deal because of the sudden change in portfolio, had rushed through the signing of the LOI against procedure just two (2) days before Najib was to move over to the Finance Ministry.

This unprecedented and strange rushed move had taken the other bidders by complete surprise and they believe that Najib could be behind this move and wants the PM, who just took over the Ministry to investigate.

Kaboomm!! Having big ears might not be good enough guys... Lets watch the fun.
Votes: +49
written by sabade, October 12, 2008 20:49:00
India scraps $600 million helicopter deal

NEW DELHI, Dec 6: The Indian government scrapped on Thursday a 600-million-dollar deal to buy 197 military helicopters after allegations of corruption in the bidding process.

“The government has decided to cancel the RFP (request for proposal) for 197 helicopters for the army. A fresh RFP will be issued soon,” defence ministry spokesman Sitanshu Kar said....
Votes: +32
written by darrelwan, October 12, 2008 21:06:10
Black Hawk Down!
Votes: +5
written by Kyle, October 12, 2008 21:16:15
CAn our last bastion of honour and integrity , the Royalty still sit idly by and seeing our homeland going up in flame and being dragged into deep sewer?

What honour is there being a Head of such a country ??

sonofmalaysia, I totally agree with your sentiment !
written by PublicStranger, October 12, 2008 21:18:56
Kapt (B) Zahar Hashim; i hope you wont be the second 'mongolian'. Usually our up coming PM (Najis) will execute anyone that disturb him when he purchase anything army equipment. E.g Altanthuya for Submarine. Please run away Kapt otherwise you will be his next target. Please run. Remember along wit your family. He is crueal... he attack anyone relates to you.
Votes: +41
written by Daryl, October 12, 2008 21:53:09
I am not suprise at all but will be suprise when come March this evil and greedy fellow become our PM with so much(cannot count how many bad things) controversial. But, if Malaysian let him become PM I should not be suprise because we have been taking it from the behind for more than 50 years. So, I guess rakyat is saying well if you cannot fight it might as well enjoy it from the behind. Rakyat bring out your KB lube and enjoy it.
Votes: +21
written by arifmr, October 12, 2008 22:07:28
Reading article like this would remind me why I keep crawling back to MT; without RPK, it sting the same. BRAVO..
Votes: +24
written by chiongguo, October 12, 2008 22:15:33
Krising1 wrote :

Pak Lah and Khairy released SMSes to screw Najib. Najib releases letters to screw Pak Lah. Let us see if this matter comes up in Parliament tomorrow!

One of the things I notice quite often was how people get the information all messed up. People don't read carefully and are impatient to finish reading or perhaps haven't even finished reading before firing off a comment.

The fact of the matter was that the LOI was sent 2 days before Najib handed over the portfolio to Badawi. It seems he was eager to seal the deal before he stepped down and Badawi could not reverse the decision without incurring substantial losses.

It was quite clear from this revelation that the deal was sealed even before the tender process. Perhaps the French government having a big stake in eurocopter decided to leverage(nice way of saying "squeeze najib's balls") on what they knew about the visa for Altantuya. It would not be a surprise also that the french secret service had some nice photos of them together.

The deal stinks.

Votes: +55
written by buaya, October 12, 2008 22:20:51
This is getting worst all the time, especially during this difficult times.
Dollah and Najis cronies must be ISA at once!
Votes: +26
written by citizenmy, October 12, 2008 22:48:51
It will be interesting to see what Anwar can do about this. With such a clear proof, if Anwar cannot block the purchase, 916 is just a laughing matter.
Votes: +12
written by sonofmalaysia, October 12, 2008 22:57:57
The Eurocopter EC725 cost Malaysia RM 193 million, about USD 55 millions !

The advanced Attack helicopter Apache cost USD50 million (CAAT figures) .

EC725 is only a transport helicoptor.

A smaller version EC635 (capacity 8 troops vs. 19 for EC725) cost only USD4.2 millions, it is 4.2 million vs 55 milliom USD !!

Some UMNO lanun is ripping off Malaysians again.

written by sonofmalaysia, October 12, 2008 23:05:51
Correction for my above posting above:
the troop capacity for EC725 is 28, not 19.

But the price is still unusually high!!
written by thor, October 12, 2008 23:27:51
Does this mean Pink Lips is Frenchie agent? Treason??? Is it concidental that Weaving relative in Frenchie's capital??
Votes: +6
written by thor, October 12, 2008 23:28:42
smilies/wink.gifOops missed out the word Kris b4 waving
Votes: +0
written by aeromaverick, October 13, 2008 00:30:29
The best platform for the Nuri replacement is the Sikorsky S92, with an average list price of approximately $45 million, all in (meaning weaponery and other support equipments). S92 more over is battle proven in a variety of theatres, unlike the Cougars. As for the Russian platforms, it is of an outdated design, but purpose built, with a lot of action under its belt. These choppers are sturdy machines built to take a lot of hits and still survive. Please do not belief a lot of stuff hollywood dish out regarding Russian machineries.
Another thing about the Cougar is the fact that generally, these machines were built on a European legacy design that takes it roots from European theatre, not very global in its outlook, which includes technology, user philosophy and maintainability.
The good thing about S92 is the fact that cost of operation post acquisition is cheap compared to both the Cougar and the Mil aircrafts. As for Cougar, the spares are prohibitively expensive while the Mil equipments are also expensive as well as long lead time, which forces users to stock a higher level of spares compared to any other platform.
Countries like India and China buy Russsian equipments for the following reasons,
1. They buy in large numbers.
2. They have over the years perfected the art of reproduceability, under license ofcourse, most of these aircrafts, including language conversions for all technical, operational and maintenance manuals.
Votes: +15
written by aeromaverick, October 13, 2008 00:37:48
By the way, the US companies are not allowed to incurr any campaign related unaccounted expenses compared to the European companies. The French are quite famous for that. UK based companies used to get Tax Breaks for such expenses, but I am not sure for the French. Even the UK, I am not completely sure about it now. If the UK has changed that situation, probably why some of their major companies decided to become a US company eventually.
Now all this will give you an idea which nation we would like to procure defence capital equipments right? smilies/smiley.gif smilies/smiley.gif smilies/smiley.gif smilies/smiley.gif smilies/smiley.gif smilies/smiley.gif
On another note, in spite of us having a detailed plan for Off Set programme for all such defence capital procurement, rumour has it that Eurocopter is least interested in the supposed Off Set for the up coming procurement. Even if there is some Off Set programme, there seems to be no information available as such at the moment.
Votes: +9
written by aeromaverick, October 13, 2008 00:40:22
All said and done, British Aerospace has had one of the best Off Set programme ever in Malaysia in the early 1990s. Companies like SME Aerospace, SME Aviation all took its birth from this Off Set programme. The main beneficiaries were the Rakyat itself. Because, atleast two generations of Aerospace Engineers were trained from these organisations. Unfortunately, the government's privatisation programme eventually skewed the growth of these companies.
Votes: +6
written by sabade, October 13, 2008 00:40:33
A Letter Of Intent(LOI) is not legally binding for purchase. Once the contract negotiation is completed and the Government agrees to all technical and commercial terms with the manufacturer, where it can also be inclusive of a physical evaluation, a Letter of Award(LOA) is then issued. A LOA becomes binding for the Government to purchase. So it is not too late to change if required.
Votes: +11
written by The Hammer, October 13, 2008 01:10:33
Are any those flying coffin (NURI) still in use? Get this Naji and his wife to go for a joy ride in this obsolete machines! He can "play" pilot!
Votes: +8
written by aeromaverick, October 13, 2008 01:12:15
I would also like to highlight the following points on this matter,
1. The decision to proceed with the Eurocopter procurement should have been made a long time before Paklah took over the MINDEF.
2. This means all the "Tech Evaluation" & "Commercial Evaluation" has to be completed.
3. MOF has to "buy into" the shortlisted supplier's product.
4. In fact there is always a serving officer seconded to MOF for such processes and gives the relevant technical explanations to the concerned officers in MOF so as to make sure they make an educated decision on the related procurement.
5. All this take time to sort out, with even fast paced procurement taking up to almost 12 to 18 months to reach a LOI or LOA level.
6. Rumours has it that in this case, MOF was not entirely convinced on the Cougar choice, way before the announcement was made in the first place.
7. There were sections of the user groups who were quite happy with the Cougar platform.
8. Operationally ofcourse, it can go any direction eventually.
Votes: +4
written by Jit Dharma, October 13, 2008 11:59:27
Najib ( Mahathir/Mukhriz) will say," Don't get excited, we make money, we are
the Kings,you just eat , shit, ****, pay your taxes and die, you ****ing serf".
Votes: +3
written by Wudan, October 13, 2008 13:52:45
On 10 October, I read this at ‘pemudabesut.blogspot.com’

Belum sempat keperitan hati keluarga mangsa-mangsa Helikopter Nuri diubati, kronisme dan nepotisme Najib-Rosmah terserlah dengan penggantian Nuri dengan Eurocopter, meskipun ia merupakan model paling mahal sejauh 25% dan tidak diuji medan perang. Mengapa Najib sewaktu menjadi Menteri Pertahanan sekian lama enggan memeterai perjanjian untuk Sikorsky Blackhawk yang jauh lebih murah dan mempunyai rekod cemerlang di zon-zon perang?

Jawapannya datang dalam bentuk seorang adik bernama Nazim Razak yang muncul berkecimpung dalam isu-isu pertahanan negara sungguhpun merupakan seorang arkitek. Dengan rangkaian luasnya dengan pencipta-pencipta Eurocopter, Nazimlah sebenarnya yang menandatangani perjanjian Eurocopter sekaligus meraih komisen besar sewaktu rakyat Malaysia sibuk memikirkan kos sara hidup yang kian meningkat.

Yang cukup membimbangkan kita, sebenarnya bukan Najib yang berkomplot langsung dengan adiknya Nazim dalam hal Eurocopter ini. Tetapi isterinya Rosmah, yang berkelakuan seperti wanita sihir atau "witch" dalam cerita kanak-kanak Inggeris! Rosmah cukup bijak; wanita durjana ini menghabiskan wang yang diberi Nazim, untuk bersuka ria di London.

Yesterday I read this at MT.

Kami difahamkan bahawa proses penilaian belum selesai tetapi dengan secara tiba-tiba arahan diberi oleh pihak tertentu supaya Letter of Intent dikeluarkan kepada Eurocopter. LOI tersebut ditandatangani oleh seorang pegawai paras menengah di Kementerian Pertahanan dan bertarikh 15 September 2008 iaitu dua hari sebelum YAB Dato Seri berpindah dari Kementerian Pertahanan dan Kementerian Kewangan.

And this morning BERNAMA had this “Najib Must Keep Cronies And Family Members At Bay, Says Mahathir”.

Hmmmmm? After all it is just an LOI. Anytime can revoke one.
written by ATSaari, October 13, 2008 14:16:27
What are the BPR waiting for? It is clear that a copy of the letter was made to BPR with a request of investigation into the matter.
Or will it be another selective investigation and the VIPs will be scots free.

Corruption seems to be the main hindrance for development, peace and harmony in this country and this were practice freely amongst the people of the high office.
written by aryn, October 13, 2008 15:42:28
This is what happen when those who buy military equipments for our Army know nothing about such weapons, whether it's good for our country, the military and whether its reliable in time of war.

Take a look at how Singapore built their military defences and how they prepare themselves in case of eventualities.

In our case, those making arms purchases for our military are idiots who only think about how much money they can get out of this deal. Security, reliability and cost saving is not their priority.

Votes: +7
written by ATSaari, October 13, 2008 17:25:22
Kapt. (B) Dato' Zahar Hashim, an UMNO supporter are working hand in hand with AAB and KJ to incriminate Najib. AAB wont let Najib take the post for free. BPR may be taking action against Najib, even to arrest him and charged in court for corruption. With the impending UMNO election coming just around the corner, Najib would not be able to stand and by default of no other challenger for that position, AAB will be again appointed as President for another term. This looks likely the possible scenario, more so that KJ are not able to convincingly gather enough support to nominate him for the UMNO Youth and even if he managed to scrap through, he will likely lose to Mukhkriz sudden search in popularity.
Abdullah AHmad Badawi is not a man that we can take his word for!
written by Malaysiaku, October 13, 2008 17:45:40
Only the corrupted and stupid will want a corrupted arse* to be PM.
Votes: +2
written by Raymond, October 13, 2008 18:42:21
First, all tenders are corrupted. Military purchases of these quantum should be country to country negotiations with no local middleman. The fact is the helicopters costs only half that amount the rest from all the tenders are pockets lousy UMNO shitheads. They are all from the same shithole called UMNO, it;s just which fraction do they now belong to.
written by Australian Malaysian, October 13, 2008 20:02:44
Semboyan Telah Berbunyi, Menuju Medan Bakti....untuk PKR, DSAI & RPK!!!!!

This is only the tip of the iceberg...just remember how the Titanic sank! smilies/grin.gif
written by Australian Malaysian, October 13, 2008 20:04:22
WHAT THE F&%# !
written by Legion, October 13, 2008 21:03:02
Everyone, read this:- http://www.defenseindustrydail...00m-03418/

Colombia orders 15 refurbished UH60 Blackhawk helicopters for USD225 million (RM765m at RM3.4 = USD1).

Refurbished helicopters works the same (maybe slightly less) and immediately we can have an advanced helicopter fleet to fight Singapore and Brunei.
written by Legion, October 13, 2008 21:09:40
Better we buy the Pave Lows that the USA are retiring now. Better performance all rounder, can evade radar as well. Can modify to transform into the Transformer robots as well.
Votes: +1
written by alfchuah, October 14, 2008 06:00:06
Najis is the official sales representative of all companies and countries in selling overpriced equipments to Malaysia. And because we Malaysian are stupid, the Najis business is flourishing like never before.
Votes: -2
written by JJFoo, October 14, 2008 07:54:32
Absolute power corrupt absolutely.
written by timmy, October 14, 2008 10:47:21
Pak Lah may appear to be the loser and admitted that he lost. But the events for the past few days were telling us a different story.

Yesterday Pak Lah reminded the public about the Altantuya case by asking the public ignoring the case.

Who has the power to ask Maxis to reveal the content of the sms of certain phone numbers? Were the numbers appeared really belong to the 2 VIPs?

The Eurocopter letter was sent by Mentari to Najib. This letter was CC-ed to 6 others including Abdullah.
The letter seemed to imply there's an abuse of power by Abdullah, and Mentari was complaining all its irregularities to Najib, the Finance Minister instead of Pak Lah. Out of the 7 receivers, who benefit most by revealing this letter?

Who decides to let Malaysia-Today re-runs and use it as a tool against someone? If I am right, Pete will be released soon to be used as a tool by someone that appeared to have lost to fight someone that appeared to have won.

This drama is better than any American drama series to date.
written by twg19492008, October 14, 2008 13:02:23
It's disgusting ..this state of affairs that is happening

If the facts have been substantiated, r there no one out there in Parliament to QUESTION is validity n verification...?

Allah bless Malaysia

haji muhammad bin abdullah @ tan wah guan

written by ahmadneil, October 14, 2008 14:04:06
The new military shopping list initiated by Najis is to purchase 20 Tomohawk missiles,25 Cobra helicopeters,15 M1 Abraham Tanks,30 units of Hammer vehicles,30 unmanned spy plane,200 tons of new type C4,30 units of F15 fighter jets,2 units of Hoovercraft and 15 thousand M16 rifles.'The military built up must continue and we will pay the 308 billion using oil palm', says Najis.Sources says that the commission amounting to 2 billion is one of the highest paid by US military contractors.With this purchase,malaysia will be the most advance country after Israel but it will drain our country dry and the debt will soar to 500 billion.
written by megabigblur, October 15, 2008 10:36:47
We are not at war or about to go to war with any other country. Right now, there's only one threat to our national security we need a military to take care of and that is PIRACY.

How does Malaysia deal with piracy? By sending a fancy French submarine that costs millions of ringgit and a foreign translator's life? Nope...by rolling over and paying a huge ransom to Somali terrorists.
written by mob1900, October 15, 2008 16:54:53

"What a girl to do nowadays? We need all the pleasures of life(yours) can offers!"
smilies/wink.gif
Votes: +14
written by Jampi, October 15, 2008 20:45:51
written by TwilightYears, October 15, 2008 22:13:22
I have been involved in govt tender, and believe me, to ikan billis like me, even a 50K purchase required tender and evaluation committee assessing the product. A few million ringgit tender would require the evaluation representative to go , even if overseas, to have a close scrutiny of the product or equipment.

What I do not understand is the nature of this purchase that cost billions and yet no one follow the strict procedures set up by the financial order. I am shocked and saddened.

I pray to the Almighty to please open the eyes of the supposed "holy" and spiritual PM and give him the strength and the fortitude to dig up all these corrupt practice. Show us that you are as true a Muslim as RPK. Show us, the poor people, that you care for truth and justice. And above all, show it to the Almighty that you care more to please HIM than to please corrupted Minister.

La hawla wa la quwata illah billah.
Votes: +7
written by Tornado, October 16, 2008 09:22:32
Why pay RM 1.452 billion for outdated Mil Mi 8 helicopters? The Mil Mi 8 helicopters were designed in the 1960s, and are almost the same age as our Nuri helicopters

Legion,

EC 725 Cougar (2000) developed from combination of AS332 SuperPuma (197smilies/cool.gif and AS 532 Cougar (1977) while Mi-171/172 developed from Mi-8 (1961). The question about how old always become priority but doesn't means it's important.

To make a choice in procure a military asset, the others factor also should be taken such as;

1. Performance (Historic & Current),
2. Role & Operator
3. After sales/during operating services (Part, maintenance, restoration & upgrading)
4. Price & Economy situation.

For me, Mi-172 are suitable candidate replacing S-61N Nuri. With about 12,000 unit has been use, good performance with various Airforces, Aircorps & organisation (Our Firefighter operate some), Multirole (Transport/Utility/CSAR/Attack/Cargo) & cheaper giving Mi-172 all advantage to our RMAF.

Yes, it's true EC 725 Cougar are new product and better technology but with the same price, we could brought about 30 unit Mi-172 plus technology upgrade. We have done this ways before to our BAE Hawk, MiG 29N, PT-91M, NGPV & Su-30MKM. If EC 725 Cougar are better, why France just operate 14 unit and the only operator in the world?
Votes: +2
written by Tornado, October 16, 2008 09:24:25
Share your opinion/info related to defense organisation to me..

http://asiandeftech.blogspot.com/
written by ROBERTNGTG, October 23, 2008 08:56:05
Eurocopter!?

OI EZAM!!! WHERE ARE U??? HIBERNATING?? OR HAS YR SHELFLIFE IN AMENO
EXPIRED??? WHY SO QUIET??? CARE TO COMMENT??? SAY LAH, ITS ALL
VERY CLEAN, ABOVE BOARD AND IN FULL COMPLIANCE WITH ALL RULES OF LAW.
written by rpremkumar2u, October 25, 2008 05:50:34
An exercise such as this in its entirety, has to fulfil the norms. When the new government takes over, these documents are going to be revisited. What then? The expose would be really an eye and mind opener. What if the expose reaches an unprecendented level? Its easier today for governments to establish the transparency with which these transactions were deemed to have taken place. I wont be surprised it'll make headlines everywhere. It seems to me that there is a desparate move to enrich political aspirants of a similar feather. Power corrupts and absolute power tends to corrupt absolutely.