Home arrow The Blogs arrow News/Commentaries arrow Nice guys finish last

Nice guys finish last PDF Print
Sunday, 12 October 2008 12:39

ONE of Malaysia's most well-known and often controversial media bosses has fired a broadside at Umno and Malaysian politics.

Datuk Seri Kalimullah Hassan, deputy chairman of the New Straits Times Press, had recently tendered his resignation.

He is known to be close to Prime Minister Abdullah Badawi.

In an editorial published in the New Straits Times yesterday, he said that in Malaysian politics, being a nice guy means ending up last.

Mr Kalimullah took swipes at Umno heavyweights, including International Trade and Industry Minister Muhyiddin Yassin and former Prime Minister Mahathir Mohamad.

He said Mr Abdullah learnt a hard lesson in loyalty.

'In Umno, loyalty to the leader has one important caveat and that caveat is 'as long as you are powerful'.

'For as long as he (Mr Abdullah) was powerful, the Umno ranks, especially those in the supreme council, would bend over backwards to be seen as loyal.

'But the moment the chips were down, they would abandon the sinking ship and run to where they saw the power shifting.' Mr Kalimullah said.

He accused Mr Muhyiddin of doing this to Mr Abdullah, who he said trusted him.

Said Mr Kalimullah: 'Muhyiddin was among the first to call for his resignation. When Muhyiddin saw that the supreme council seemed to be backing Abdullah for the so-called transition programme, which would see him in office until June 2010, Muhyiddin backed off in deference to the party and his 'loyalty' to the party.'

He said when Umno lost the Permatang Pauh by-election in August, Mr Muhyiddin again saw an opportunity and 'expressed no confidence in his Prime Minister', the man who had appointed him to his post.

Treachery

'To the ordinary man with ordinary assumptions of what loyalty means, what happened to Abdullah would be seen as treachery. But in his world, it's called realpolitik,' he said.

Mr Kalimullah said the Prime Minister's position became untenable after he made some wrong decisions and after he could not fulfil the promises he made to Malaysians.

'He took responsibility for it. Yet, all those who had backed him previously conveniently slunk away, allowing all the blame to be heaped on one man - Abdullah,' he wrote.

He also poured scorn on Dr Mahathir.

He said the former PM had not been 'charitable' to many people except for his family and close friends.

'When he was not attacking the United States, Margaret Thatcher, the West, the Zionists and the Jews, George Soros, Singapore and currency speculators, it was his own Umno members, the Malays 'who forget easily' (Melayu mudah lupa), non-governmental organisations and the judiciary.'

He said Dr Mahathir made numerous unsubstantiated and slanderous allegations against Mr Abdullah and his family.

'Even Abdullah's late wife, Datin Seri Endon Mahmood, was not spared Dr Mahathir's sharp tongue,' he said.

Mr Kalimullah is the first of a series of executives in Umno- and government-linked companies who are likely to be leaving in the next few months because of changes in Umno's leadership, reported Malaysian Insider.

He joined the group in 2003 as its group editor-in-chief before relinquishing that post in 2006 to become deputy chairman.

Dr Mahathir made Mr Kalimullah a constant target of his attacks, claiming the newspaper had been used to silence him and other critics of Mr Abdullah.

According to the Malaysian Insider, other Umno leaders had also been upset with Mr Kalimullah for allowing the newspaper to break certain stories like the Royal Commission of Inquiry's findings on the V K Lingam video.

- The Electric New Paper

Comments (30)Add Comment
written by Engineer, October 12, 2008 12:52:22
The contrary is true BAD GUYS FINISH FIRST IN ARM NO.

written by ibabonma, October 12, 2008 12:57:16
Don't blame anyone. Everyone should be leaving. Its just like the Malay saying, Rumah kata pergi, Kubur kata mari...an indicator UMNO cannot last the distance...it will drop dead soon. In short, UMNO is going to die!
written by truthbespoken, October 12, 2008 12:59:40
UMNO members are always mercenary. When it comes to their own interest, it will come before party's interest. When it's between UMNO's interest and the nation's interest, UMNO's interest will comes first!

These are Mahathir's teachings. That's why the country is now feeling the bad effects of such selfish motivation by the long-time trouble-maker.
written by malsia1206, October 12, 2008 13:18:13
Nothing new or revealing. Is this not what UMNO is all about? Power? Corruption? Abuses? Not only in UMNO. The whole Barisan stinks. Malaysians do not vote Pakatan for nothing.
written by biggun129, October 12, 2008 13:19:35
The ship 'Hang BN' is sinking, AAB is still onboard until March,2009, he needs the 'Rakyat' to carry the Ship, his recents suggestion of inviting other malaysian to join BN, and not UMNO shows that there is no hope in UMNO!!!
written by macaufan, October 12, 2008 13:31:20
Kalimurah,
u got d NSTP job due to 'know who' not ur 'know how' !
sin ur 'know who' karam, u follow je lah....
written by onnetline, October 12, 2008 13:53:58
Kalimullah,

Don't see that you've contributed any thing positive to society or any honest principles of journalism reporting either.

We already know what BN-UMNO and the likes of you is all about, ok ?

So, don't bore the public with your speech, please !
written by krising1, October 12, 2008 14:21:26
Ah nice subject! Loyalty. The fellow with the two Mats to his name said that he is the suitable candidate for #2 as he never stabbed his boss in the back. That is true as long as you discount the episode where he ran away with his boss' daughter.

Datuk Wong says that the # 2 man must have a solid reputation like our present # 2. That is also true if you discount the fact that he stabbed his boss in the back. If you discount the fact that he interferes with the administration of justice if hie friends are involved.

Anyway Mr. Kalimullah, we have no objections. Take on any UMNOputra you want. We welcome that. Also tell Khairy that his boast that he is his own man is just that. A boast. Now he will know that his star shone only as long as his FIL was a shining star.
written by sonofmalaysia, October 12, 2008 14:42:46
the strength of UMNO was built up by MAhahypocrite/Mahacrook by deception, by suppresion of information, by ISA , by draconian laws, and by all sort of dirty means and inhumane cruelty. It was never based on any merit or good deeds or genuinely benefitial policies.

Once the tool of deception, the supression of information fails, largely due to the arrival Internet, UMNO collapse like being hit by avalanche !! It is a matter of time UMNO will die a certain death !! All decent Malaysians who love this country must do his/ her part to hasten the process to bury the evil organisation and to get rid of all the thieves and lanuns nurtured by MAhahcrook, in order to save our homeland from unreparable further demage !

MAhahypocrite was evil and cunning, he appoint somebody in the hope that people will cover up his misdeed and his treachory against the Rakyat and nation and to shoulder the blame.

written by omarkhayyam, October 12, 2008 15:49:33
Kali u have made enough to retire 7 generations. wat difference does it make if u resign now ? we know ur links we know where u made d bucks
written by allmenarebrothers, October 12, 2008 16:07:45
Dear KH
There is no honour among thieves isn't?.........ops I mean most politicians too in Malaysia.
So there is no surprise over how MooHeeDeen behaved & many others in ARM-NO too.
All of them would even sell their grandmothers for money, position & power!
Don't you agree? I will again ask you the same question the next time I meet with. Do remember & I promise you I will confront you with this poser.
written by kywl1981, October 12, 2008 16:26:14
wah...this Datuk Seri Kalimullah Hassan first day involved in malaysian politics is it? why all of a sudden this kind of outburst?
written by mikewang, October 12, 2008 17:23:35
Nice guy ?
Nice guy doesn't survive in Malaysian politics.

You are all snakes and rats in the same pot.
written by malgal, October 12, 2008 18:15:41
Does this mean you are also slinking away? You mentioned `sinking ship', are you in the same boat?
written by tokioRain, October 12, 2008 18:21:19
Kalimullah, if your time is up, it is up bro. Temanlah kawan PM kamu bersara, enjoy the fruits of your unholy labor and may you rot in hell.
written by fireduck, October 12, 2008 18:30:44
Mr Kalimullah is the first of a series of executives in Umno- and government-linked companies who are likely to be leaving in the next few months because of changes in Umno's leadership, reported Malaysian Insider.

All I can say is 'good riddance to rotten rubbish'. After all, these buggers are the same ones who have no principles and would do anything to apple-polish their benefactors. Once these benefactors are out of favor, they feel threatened, and become the first ones to resign.

Otherwise, why should they resign if their work principles / professionalism are uncompromised, and if they had performed their duties without favor nor fear?
written by kkselvam, October 12, 2008 19:37:10
Who cares if you leave and we the rakyat don't need to know for what reason you are leaving your position.
One things that we know is you are as useless as those damn UMNO morons! Say whatever you like but we simply don't CARE! Understand?
Free RPK!!
written by bexe, October 12, 2008 19:49:13
It is impossible to feel sorry for Pak Lah
The people gave him an overwhelming mandate and he failed miserably.And who suffered? The people of Malaysia. The country has gone backwards!
His downfall is his own doing. Do not look for Judases.
I am in fact angry at Pak Lah for the deterioration of the country's finances, abuse of power, corruption, lack of foresight, dereliction of duties, inability to command power within his own Party thus allowing what tenamount to be a mutiny.He could not muster ONE win. He dug his own grave and sadly ours as well. If he has any decency left he would call for a new election to settle this untenable period of rudderless government. At this time of total economic catastrophe, we need strong, inmaginative, visionary and capable leadership, THIS VERY INSTANT. - not something 6 months away!!!
written by Malaysiaputra, October 12, 2008 21:00:54
According to the Malaysian Insider, other Umno leaders had also been upset with Mr Kalimullah for allowing the newspaper to break certain stories like the Royal Commission of Inquiry's findings on the V K Lingam video.

=====

Hmmmmmm, the Umno leaders are unhappy because their crookedness have been exposed.
written by apasalahku, October 12, 2008 21:34:15
ok now where did he plagiarise this article from?
written by Rozlan, October 12, 2008 22:24:46
'In Umno, loyalty to the leader has one important caveat and that caveat is 'as long as you are powerful'.

'For as long as he (Mr Abdullah) was powerful, the Umno ranks, especially those in the supreme council, would bend over backwards to be seen as loyal.

'But the moment the chips were down, they would abandon the sinking ship and run to where they saw the power shifting.' Mr Kalimullah said.

Serve you right...Takkan tak tau kot selama ni...Kuasa tak selama lamanya kekal ditangan....Ini fakta kehidupan..Tapi org UMNO selalu lupa...Mereka ingat mereka menongkat langit selama lamanya..

written by arifmr, October 12, 2008 22:59:51
sigh.. nst will have another stinker (wonder who?)
written by netmiser88, October 12, 2008 23:54:47
I have no problem with Indians professing Islam as their religion but when those who demanded to be called MALAYS are the ones who gets my blood boiling and any shred of respect for them just disappeared from my radar!
written by Sagaladoola, October 13, 2008 01:31:00
Kalimullah...

Never in my mind that I consider you a nice guy.

Good riddance...
written by aeromaverick, October 13, 2008 01:50:40
It takes a crook to take on another crook. I do not think the elements of a regime that ruled for 22 years could have been taken apart without such elements as Kalimullah, KJ and his 4th floor gang!
In anycase, did all of you miss the incoming chaps who I think will be the worst that we the Malaysian public would have seen in many years.
There is a time coming up in the not so distant future when we would wish for these very chaps come back because atleast they allowed us this much of freedom and allowed probably one the most free democratic expression on 8/3. smilies/smiley.gif
written by aeromaverick, October 13, 2008 01:54:43
Well, that is unless PR and DSAI takes on the challenge and succeed to take over by all available democratic means of course, including horse trading of MPs!
Even then, we need to depend on enough Malay MPs to move on to PR, which I belief is the problem at the moment.
Hence, we should be really worried about the incoming chaps now, while praying and supporting the PR team to reach the right formula with MPs switching sides for the betterment of the nation and its people, rather than for their own benefits!!! smilies/angry.gif
written by goman2k3, October 13, 2008 04:44:43
UMNO is not a political party, it is a group of un-islamic muslim trying to be a real muslim and is a bunch of corrupted malays trying to be politicians. They have no principles or political ideology other than money politics. Muslim ask yourself, praying 5 times a day but millions of ringgit are used to buy votes. Isn't this haram? It is haram in islam. If you want to use money politics then don't involve religion cos' the 2 are mutually exclusive.
If UMNO has ideology and principles they would have questioned their leaders like the former law minister and respected their leaders once they retired and not throw them into Tong Sampah or kiss their ass when they were in power. After 50 years they never learn or progress but rakyat is getting smarter and most malays know that UMNO is no longer the solution for them, their children and grand children. PKR is for now and future and RPK. See the 3 similar letters, the star has aligned and we will have a new BANGSA MALAYSIA. Hidup Hidup Bangsa Malaysia!!
written by Malay Ultraman, October 13, 2008 08:05:52
Mahathir shared the best joke of century..

Hindu's God with Islamic Clergy!! ha ha ha ha..

During Capital Avenue scandal, Kalimullah also shared the Funniest JOke of all. He gave millions shares to KJ as a kick start ha ha ha ha
written by AstralQueen, October 13, 2008 09:19:41
I grew up with my parents keeping mum about the dirt in politics (because they don't want to be accused of being non patriots...) and when people kissed ass about UMNO and BN they would just nod their heads and go along with it, even though in their hearts they thought differently. In school, Mahatir was... well, like God, almost. People revered him to a point where if someone were to eveb beep out a criticism, they would be seen as evil and be called JAHANAM and so on.

Soooo now that things are clear and that I have reached the age of reason... it's heart wrenching to know that our country has been so long gripped by corruption.
written by coolandy, October 13, 2008 09:29:54
Kalimullah,

You are indeed very NICE, as nice as a good roll of toilet paper. With AAB in power, even the shite you wiped smelled like perfume to you. Now that there is no more favorable ass to wipe, you will be flushed down the toilet.

You are a shame and disgrace to the human race. Quit now, don't wait till December. Go, please go and hide where the sun don't shine.