Home arrow The Blogs arrow Guest Columnists arrow Hindraf demonised: Polishing the devil’s horns

Hindraf demonised: Polishing the devil’s horns PDF Print
Sunday, 12 October 2008 12:34

By Helen Ang

An alert should go out to embassies in Kuala Lumpur cautioning foreign nationals. The updated travel advisory:

(1) Open houses in Malaysia are possibly illegal,
(2) If a tourist should saunter into the premises, he may be guilty of trespassing,
(3) A tour group could be banned by Malaysian authorities for unbecoming behaviour, such as all its members wearing uniform attire,
(4) Cops on duty at open houses will confiscate a greeting card and such other contraband, as well as
(5) Summon to police headquarters for questioning if someone attended open house but rejected refreshments, did not shake hands with the VIP host and failed to extend festive wishes.

Meanwhile, locals are expected to behave in exchange for free lunch at the Putra World Trade Centre. The Star reported Tourism Minister Azalina Othman warning that some Malaysians at open houses give a poor reflection of the country’s image to tourists. “If you are here as a guest, then behave as one. Parliament will convene on Oct 13. They can do so (submit their memorandum) then,” she said.

Azalina was referring to Hindraf supporters but Hindraf legal advisor N. Surendran has countered there was no memorandum delivered. Memo or no, Prime Minister Abdullah Ahmad Badawi, his deputy Najib Razak and Home Minister Syed Hamid Albar still complained the Indians were ‘kurang ajar’ (untutored), ‘biadab’ (unmannered) and ‘tak beradab’ (uncivilised).

The badmouthing is a clear example of one group, Umnoputeras, demonising another group of fellow citizens. Visitors should also be aware that they cannot believe all they read in Tourism Malaysia brochures about the country’s ‘racial harmony’, and in the mainstream media (MSM) about BN’s successful formula of ‘national unity’.

Yes sir, Umno sir

Deputy Home Minister Wan Ahmad Farid Wan Salleh has intimated that there are many options on action against Hindraf for causing – I’m borrowing the following description from the Star’s headline – a ‘commotion at the government’s Raya open house’, and otherwise being ‘aggressive’, ‘unruly’, ‘provocative’ etc, etc, as alleged by some Malay associations. Home Ministry secretary-general Abdul Aziz Mohd Yusof is looking into banning Hindraf. Information Minister Ahmad Shabery Cheek called on all political parties to condemn the incident.

What did Hindraf do that was so bad to make Umno big shots so angry?

A six-year-old girl wished to give the PM a teddy bear and Raya card. She is the daughter of Hindraf chairman P. Waythamoorthy and brought the bear in a basket along with some flowers. She had wanted to give roses too last year to Abdullah, who refused to receive her on Valentine’s Day.

This is a little girl who has been separated from daddy for almost one year now as Moorthy is likely to be ISA-ed if he ventures to step foot on Malaysian soil. This is the small child who must be wondering whatever her Uncle Kumar did wrong that caused the authorities to lock him up, under ISA.

And this is the gist of Abdullah’s complaint: “The rest (of their words), which I heard very clearly, was, ‘Abolish the ISA! Free the Hindraf! Abolish the ISA! Free the Hindraf!’ That’s all they wanted to tell me. This is not the spirit of Hari Raya, where you wish (Selamat) Hari Raya, are happy and have fun and socialise.”

How does an unwelcome guest answer when quizzed by police on why he fails to socialise and display the requisite joyfulness at the PM’s party? Lawyer Haris Ibrahim who blogs ‘The People’s Parliament’ wrote that he and his Hartal ISA group (wearing solidarity-with-RPK T-shirts) were ushered by police to a holding room and segregated.

People’s Parliament last November launched a ‘Hartal MSM’ campaign in the wake of newspapers disinforming on Bersih and demonising Hindraf. MSM has not changed its slant against the Indians. The Star article on the alleged commotion during Raya carried the byline of four reporters. If a whole quartet covered the story, surely one of them could have obtained Hindraf’s clarification that the movement did not present any memo. But no.

Instead, the popular rag – which incongruously dubs itself ‘the People’s Paper – preferred to give airing to VIPs as per its usual practice of cue journalism. The Star report had quoted Azalina and also Unity, Culture, Arts and Heritage Minister Mohd Shafie Apdal admonishing, “Hindraf members should have known their limits and not turn up at an open house ‘like this’.”

Star’s article had Shafie going: “There are platforms for you to make your submission. This is not the proper way of doing things. I mean, it’s a Raya do. Today is Hari Raya, it’s got nothing to do with memorandums.”

The spirit of Raya

The Star, a publication under the control of MCA, is big on ‘the proper way of doing things’. It has been full of how the Chinese communal party always used ‘proper channels’ and engaged in ‘internal discussions’ with BN (though not quite admitting that the outcome of any discussion is MCA invariably kowtowing to Umno).

But not only did that particular Star article omit Hindraf’s clarification that there was no memo, it also failed to mention that Indians throughout the past year had made many attempts to convey the community’s grievances to the powers-that-be and were ignored. So the ‘the proper way of doing things’ gets nothing done.

The paper similarly neglected to publish that unlike MCA Cabinet ministers who engage in closed door sessions where they ultimately accede to ‘the BN consensus’ (read, again kowtowing to Umno) Hindraf pleaded they had no other opportunities to approach the PM except at the open house.

BN’s idea of propriety and legality is ‘do as I say, not do as I do’. Abdullah, who often preaches Hadhari, sermonised on religious tolerance around Merdeka last year when at the same time, Hindu temples were tumbling down around him. His big ears did not hear government bulldozers destroying the houses of worship.

To the PM, the spirit of Raya is that everyone must be happy, have fun and socialise, unlike the Hindraf crowd creating “a lot of unhappiness to a lot of people who were around” at his PWTC, possibly illegal, gathering.

Since I’m not Muslim, it’s hardly in my place to contradict the Grand Imam of Hadhari. I’ll just note that when I balik kampung to Penang, I saw many billboards put up by the Pakatan state government bearing its Ramadan message of ‘Amar makruf, nahi mungkar’ (Do good, abhor evil and sin).

Does amar makruf not accommodate compassion for a discriminated community, and courtesy to women and children who were in the Hindraf delegation?

Umno and its collaborators instigating Malays to view Hindraf as bogeyman threatening Malay rights is amar makruf? Malaysiakini reported Surendran as saying Hindraf has become the victim of a harsh campaign to incite hatred against the movement and Indians.

Moorthy and many others in Hindraf agree, and have filed police reports but may have to wait for investigations to be completed first on insulting (Case 1) egg and (Case 2) PWTC food which the bloggers and Hindraf refused to touch.

We’ve often lamented ‘between the devil and the deep blue sea’ to signify BN, the devil we know, and the uncharted waters of the Opposition. A few months ago, Justice Ian Chin described Dr Mahathir Mohamed as “a devil incarnate” and Dr M hitting back at the judge, gestured with his hands at a pair on imaginary horns on his head.

Although the Malay word ‘ampu bodek’ has infinitely more oomph, the English translation ‘polishing apples’ largely characterises MSM coverage of domestic politics and BN politicians, First Families and their in-laws. But a metaphor of polishing the devil’s horns is a more apt on the nature of our mass media’s collusion with the establishment in demonising Hindraf.

- Centre for Policy Initiatives

Comments (25)Add Comment
written by Engineer, October 12, 2008 12:54:41
There will no longer be OPEN HOUSE any more in this country.

It will be PARTIAL OPEN HOUSE.
written by Debbie, October 12, 2008 12:58:48
you definitely made my sunday a good one............I laughed aloud with my friends down under.

As for RPK, Hindraf n the other detainees....our spirit and prayers are with you.

written by avj, October 12, 2008 13:00:43
A sore loser always needs a wipping boy.He will look for the most vulnerable and most easy to bully among the lot to carry out his vile intentions.It will work not any more, Hindarf has the backing of all right thinking and freedom loving Malaysians.
written by ahmadneil, October 12, 2008 13:14:30
ISA you if you attend.
written by Contradictions, October 12, 2008 13:21:30
I'm actually glad that the 'pretenders' make the comments as they did for it continues to prove their arrogance, hypocrisy, racialist stance etc and of course, provide fodder for thought, otherwise Helen wouldn't have much to write about. People have short memories and we really, really need them to continue to remind us that UMNO will never ever gonna change and to isolate the other insignificant component parties from the people. Thanks AAB, NR, Azalina and the rest; you're doing a good job here....not as ministers though (sic).
written by jeya, October 12, 2008 13:22:09
Good People of MT & Ms.Ang! Recently certain persons {very very very powerful}
have gone gagagagah over HINDRAF {Hindu Rights Action Force}.

Hindraf is simply a group of persons who grouped themselves together to highlight various breaches that had/have/continue against a certain segment of Malaysian Society.

Under the provisions of the Rules of The High Court, 1980
– Order 15 Rule 12:
“Where numerous persons have the same interest in any proceedings the proceedings maybe begun by any one or more persons representing all ….”

In the matter of Lim Kit Siang vs UEM , the Federal Court made it clear that this representative must have three {3} elements:
a] The Representative must have his or her rights being effected
b] The Representative must be elected by all of the persons effected
c] The Representative is protected from Damages or Costs unless the Court so orders.

Therefore the Representative Action Group can form an adhoc committee and proceed with its “actions”. The Group cannot be “banned”.

The proper route was for Hindraf to have filed at least one {1} action in the High Court of Malaya along this basis & the protection of the High Court of Malaya could have been afforded.

For what its worth Hindraf if simply not just a Hindu entity – it is a consciousness , a movement and action team{ A-Team}.
Ghandi did it, Martin Luther King did it, Cory Aquino did it ,the Boxer Rebellion did it & has been going on for ages.

There is not perfect movement , no perfect leadersip – simply because this is a Peoples Movement against abuse,deprivation,discrimination & violence against the Rakyaat.

The Powers that be ,please be warned !Greater Persons have fallen to the MAKHAL SAKTIthrough out the ages!Read the writing on the wall, the message of all the Rakyaat!Enough is Enough!
jeyapalantsmahesan.********.com.
written by budakindia, October 12, 2008 13:22:47
Told you not to attend any open houses! Boycott lar! smilies/grin.gif
written by HHKim, October 12, 2008 13:24:13
If one was to carefully review the status of Malaysian Indians, then one would agree that Hindraf was doing the right thing for the entire community, though it should have done by MIC in BN.

From here, all Malaysians should look at Hindraf as fighting for the cause of part of Malaysians, not for Malaysian Indians. Why?? It is the task and responsibility of our PM and DPM to look into all the plights of all races. But this is being overlooked, thus resulting the Hindraf highlighting these issues facing by the community.

In fact, I tend to think Hindraf was doing a noble job for being courageous, bold and factual in raising the issues at the risks of being ISA-ed. True enough, five of them already detained under ISA. I will leave it to all Malaysians to ponder if these leaders are being fair to be detained??

If open house cannot be opened, the for goodness sake, don't organize any open house. Remember, these visits by the Hindraf carry a message - that they are being victimized and as PM or DPM or cabinet ministers, we need to do something for the people. People will love you more if you are sensitive to their needs and predicament. Any further drastic actions by the authority, will only serve to create more hatred by the masses.And that is not healthy for the nation.
written by krising1, October 12, 2008 14:37:41
Bravo Ms Ang. Actually the UMNOputras have lost the plot. They are just looking for excuses to say that Malay rights, culture or religion is being challenged. And then they hope the Malays, who have deserted them, will start backing them. So not wishing PM Selamat Hari Raya is threatening Malay culture.

But if you are like Shah Rukh Khan and appear on Astro wishing Malaysians SALAMAt Hari Raya, you can get a Datukshiip!

They have poor RPK in Kamunting when it has been proved in court that RPK has no control over what is posted on MT. So how did the police prove that RPK posted the article which insulted Islam. And how can they accuse him of insulting Islam when many Malays have said that they are not insulted. So many Malays have signed petition seeking RPK's release. Is there a special category of Muslims who have been insulted.

The UMNOputras are in their last days. I think we have an exciting week ahead. Our #2 with a solid reputation has not taken an oath yet that he is not the one who sent the SMS. He might have to take an oath this week.

Najib has underestimated Pak Lah and Khairy. They have the potential and ammunition to damage him. This is just the first shot!
written by The Hammer, October 12, 2008 14:46:40
Next time if anyone not happy with BN&gang, attend their open house especially UMMo, eat and drink to the maximun and then place your hand in your mouth to VOMIT out eveything! Splash it all over the place. And then annouce "bad food" . Every one will leave immediately to the nearesr toilet or clinic!
Hell, I hope someone will do it especially at the Yamhead HM AliBaba open house!
written by gorshan, October 12, 2008 16:23:25
theres another shoe polisher Borneo Post columnist named Paul Sir who has just devilify the Hindraf movement. i see to the day whether this columnist ever dares or not to talk about ISAing non terrorist political opponents or the rightness of RPK detention under ISA in his column.
written by NRR, October 12, 2008 17:34:02
Sorry Arifmr, your 2 cents worth on open house does not jive. All religions have been having open houses from time immemorial. Initially meant for relatives, then expanded to friends and other visitors brought in by relatives and friends. All Malaysians have been having open houses as far back as I can remember and that is more than 60 years. Politicians having open houses is a recent phenomenon.
written by Dongra Dude, October 12, 2008 17:40:22
Next Hari Raya,Malaysian Tourism Minister will have her Hari Raya open house at her favoured penthouse. Paqtrons on special invitation only. Lesabians and Nympo's are welcomed. No males especally Hidraf are forbidden. But Shahruk Khan is exempted because he promotes Malaysia through his Film. You stinks as Tourism Minister.
written by dassky2000, October 12, 2008 19:45:11
The BN UMNO government is a complete joke. Remember one time the Government wanted absolute ban over screening of Hindi movies on T.V.

They were afraid that the malays may divert they malay lifestyle and culture towards the more flavoured Indian lifestyles. They lost their own confidence in them?

When there are so many Malaysian patriots in our country, these idiots can confer a title on an actor who was an insult once when performing on stage in Penang or the capital city some years ago. How fast these idiots can forget incidents like this.

Soon they will be giving out title to monkeys and mouse deers should they stay in power.

written by Joe, October 12, 2008 20:14:19
Arifmr,

U trying to tell us open house never existed until Malays came into the world and started it? Halo, u joking ah? You trying to take ownership of a general asian concept and call it your own?

95% of everything Malay is borrowed! Either Arabic, Chinese or Indian. From your Kuih Cek Rose to you Kain Pelekat. So please... keep the 2 cents. We dont need the small change.

Oh and regarding Hindraf's actions? I dont agree to them going and making a scene (I wasnt there, but thats what being reported). Tho I'd be quick to dismiss it seeing that its a politicians house, and they are a pressure group. They were doing their job of applying pressure. Something MIC neglected to do all this while.

So if you think what Hindraf did is not acceptable, well placing beef dishes on the eating table where an invited Hindu guest is present is also not acceptable. Tho u dont hear the Hindus complaining.. do you?

written by arifmr, October 12, 2008 21:30:30
NRR & Joe,

I do not wish to start an argument nor my intention to provoke; which side of the fence I'm sitting is clearly stated between the lines of my posting.

The posting is a mere reflection of an opinion of a common malays on the street (to be precise, the liberals that I mingle and met during open house); and I posted the sample of their reflection here in MT for the benefits of the reader.

The liberals, some of them even voting for DAP in the last election; something unthinkable some 2-3 years ago; you've to remember that they're all the product of "sekolah kebangsaan new curriculum" aka "BTN curriculum".

It's important for us to understand each other; by first knowing what "I" & "U" think about certain issues. Being ignorant is a trade of people in the other side of the fence; and I do not wish to go in that direction.

You may not agree and even despise certain ideas; but we must not fail to acknowledge and to accept that people with ideas we did not agree and despise very often is not unlike us..
written by supplier, October 12, 2008 21:34:57
Firstly, who paid for the open house? Isn't it paid by tax payers money.

If that is the case, the people are the host.

written by arifmr, October 12, 2008 22:11:05
supplier,

On that ground; you did have a point.. BRAVO
written by Sagaladoola, October 13, 2008 01:00:04
Hi arifmr,

I believe Hindraf did not do anything to embarass the PM. If you think they did, perhaps it would be advisable for you to tell us how.

They wanted to submit a greeting card only I believe and some calls for some figures under ISA to be released.

I do not understand how that could be embarassing? Please tell me if there is something I do not know.
written by nocrid, October 13, 2008 02:59:20
arifmr,

I don't see DSAI got embarrassed when hindraf member visit his open house. Why leader dimwits felt embarrassed?

The Chinese reason this with "Badan dia orang ada tahi, sebab tu dia malu".

Open house came from Malay custom,...wow have to wiki about that and tell all my friends ler...Thanks for the lesson.
written by adan, October 13, 2008 08:55:03
THW CHOICE OF WORDS-'kurang ajar'' biadab''tak beradab'- ARE A CLEAR INDICATION OF HOW THE 'BIG BROTHERS ' HAVE THIS TENDENCY TO DEMEAN AND DEVALUE THE STATUS AND POSITION OF THEIR COALITION 'PARTNERS',IN PARTICULAR A MINORITY PARTNER. IT IS TRAGIC THAT THE MIC LEADERS WITHOUT ANY DIGNITY,HONOUR OR SELF-RESPECT( FOR TEHMSELVES OR FOR THE COMMUNITY THEY PRETEND TO REPRESENT) ARE EVER WILLING TO LET OTHERS HUMILILATE,DISGRACE THEM AND EVER READY TO ACCEPT THE ROLE OF SERVANTS AS LONG AS THE CORRUPTED LEADERS ARE GIVEN A SHARE OF THE LOOT AND GIVEN' PROTECTION'FROM THE LAW. THE ORDIANARY MEMBERS SHOULD DEMAND THAT MIC ' GET OUT OF BN' BEFORE THE PRESENT STATUS AS 'SERVANT' IS FURTHER DOWN-GRADED TO THAT OF 'SLAVE'
written by asguard, October 13, 2008 09:14:49
Today whatever they say is right and tomorrow is another different story (UMNO)
written by Bornean, October 13, 2008 09:38:27
arifmr,

The open house concept that you explained is a politician's open house, not the ordinary man's.

The average ordinary man does not open his house to just about anyone. He invites relatives,friends, colleagues and business partners and he knows them. Sometimes friends of friends tag along too. People of all religions in Malaysia do that. That's because we are Malaysians and we know no other way to celebrate with our friends and neigbours. That's about it.

So, don't go about glorifying something that is not!

When politicians open their houses, there is definitely a hidden agenda!