Home arrow The Blogs arrow The Corridors of Power arrow A Ruler’s Latest Foibles

A Ruler’s Latest Foibles PDF Print
Sunday, 12 October 2008 11:38

Two recent news items tucked inconspicuously in the mainstream papers caught my attention.  One was a column by Shad Saleem Faruqi (“Test Case On Right To Sue Sultans,” The Star, August 20, 2008) on the precedent-setting Special Court trial in which the Yang Di Pertuan Besar of Negri Sembilan Tuanku Jaafar was being sued for non-payment of debts, and the other, an essentially palace social announcement of the same ruler going on leave and naming his son as Regent (“Tunku Naquiyuddin is Negri Regent,” The New Straits Times, September 30, 2008).

M. Bakri Musa

The two may be separate news items, but I see a disturbing connection, if not a pattern.

The proceedings of the Special Court, unlike that of the regular courts, are not open.  We have to wait for the judgment to be delivered to get the material facts of the case.

This much we do know from Shad’s column.  Standard Chartered Bank is suing the ruler over a debt of RM 3.24 M.  While that is quite a sum of money, it is considerably less that what the state has to fork out annually to maintain the royal household.  Further, that amount represents only a tiny fraction of the ruler’s non-royal or investment income, and an even tinier portion of his total assets, considering that the Negri royal household has considerable business interests.

On the “lack-of-tact” scale, that amount is only a fraction of former Sabah Chief Minister Osu Sukum’s weekend gambling debt in London.  I am heartened that our sultans in the peninsular have less extravagant and equally less vulgar taste than those newly-rich Bumiputras of Borneo.

Then there is the announcement of the ruler going on a two-month overseas holiday.  I do not know who will be responsible for the tab, but going by past experiences taxpayers will ultimately be left holding the bag.  Nonetheless there will still be considerable personal expenses for which the ruler would not be reimbursed from the state (at least I hope so!).

Stated another way, if the ruler had stayed in the country instead of going on an expensive foreign vacation, and diverted the money thus saved towards repayment of his debt, it would have made a considerable dent towards the principle.  He would also spare the state treasury a considerable sum, money that could be used to improve the lives of citizens.

Finally, on an administrative matter, the cost of empanelling the Special Court including the legal fees for both parties could easily exceed the amount of the loan.

In a trial over the recovery of a loan, unlike tort or criminal cases, there would be very little disagreement over the material facts.  Meaning, there will be no dispute over the fact that money was transferred from Chartered Bank to an entity in which the ruler has an interest, or is liable for.  And that sum of money has not been repaid.  If there had been any fraudulent transfer, it would be a criminal, not civil case.

The possible point of contest would be for the ruler to deny any liability for the loan.  The bank would of course contend otherwise, and that the ruler is either directly or vicariously liable for the loan.  I eagerly await the bank’s arguments as those transactional details would inevitably reveal the myriad commercial and other links of the royal household.

Mahathir’s Finest Legacy

One of Mahathir’s finest legacies is his amending the constitution in 1993 to remove the sultans’ absolute legal immunity.  With that, our sultans can now be sued over both civil and criminal matters relating to their personal conduct.

If not for that amendment, Standard Chartered would have to swallow its bad debts to the ruler, just like other lenders had pre-1993.  Of course the bank would not have made that loan then; its loan officers would not jeopardize their careers, unless of course the bank is one of those GLCs where normal prudent lending practices do not apply, especially when the beneficiaries are “big shots.”

The mistake the ruler made here is in borrowing from a “real” bank, a multinational outfit where its officers are true professionals who put their banking reputation ahead of the prestige of some Third World royal potentate.  There was a time however when these foreign banks were not above bribing local chieftains, but enlightened legislations back in their home country put an end to that.  Foreign especially Western bankers are now liable for criminal prosecution back home if they were to engage in such activities abroad.

It is to be noted that during pre-amendment times, local bankers and businessmen willingly extended credit to our sultans fully aware that these lenders would have no recourse should our sultans renege on their promises to repay.  Those lenders were not stupid; they considered those unpaid loans as part of the cost of doing business in the state.  Meaning, their other customers would have to bear those costs of unpaid royal loans.  Besides, those creditors now sport fancy royal titles; to them those are payments enough.  Those loans are nothing more than barely-concealed and very expensive royal bakshis (corruption).

As Shad noted in his column, the constitutional amendment is silent with regards to the fate of rulers during the trial or once the verdict is delivered.  If convicted on matters criminal, the ruler would have to vacate (abdicate) the throne unless pardoned by his brother rulers.

With matters civil, as with non-repayment of loans, the matter is less clear.  Regardless, it would be a great shame were the Council of Rulers to pardon the Negri ruler for a measly sum of RM 3M.  Surely the council would not risk besmirching its dignity by doing that.  Let us hope that their collective judgment is wiser.

The Negri ruler has shown little judgment in risking the dignity of his throne over such a small loan.  I do not expect that to change should the judgment be against him.  Thus expect even greater assault on the dignity of the throne.

Standard Chartered will undoubtedly pursue the matter vigorously, as well it should.  We could thus potentially see the ruler be subjected to bankruptcy proceedings.  He would not be the first member of the royal household to be so subjected, but he would be the first ruler.  That would be quite a legacy.

Absent a pardon, the country would face the specter of a bankrupt ruler sitting on the throne.  Even if the Council of Rulers were to grant a pardon, that would not erase the fact that the ruler was bankrupt, someone who reneged on his promise to repay his loan.

Malay sultans are more than just rulers; they are the head of Islam, Allah’s representative on earth.  During khutbas in all the mosques, the sultan is always mentioned and prayers offered for his longevity and wisdom in ruling.

One of the tenets of Islam is that we must be true to our words and contracts.  Non-repayment of loans is a breach of that.  Specifically in referring to loans, Muslims are advised to settle their debts before the end of Ramadan, so that on Hari Raya day we would start with a fresh slate, clear of debt.

Like Father, Like Son

This brings me to the second news item about the naming of the Regent.  This is standard procedure when the ruler is expected to be away for an extended period.

Negri Sembilan is unique in that the throne is not automatically passed on to the oldest son.  Instead the territorial chiefs, the Undangs, have the final say.  Tuanku Jaafar’s naming a regent does not mean that the person would automatically ascend to the throne.  However, there is the universal law of inertia, of things remaining where they are.  The aphorism, “possession being nine-tenth of the law” is a derivative of that observation.

I am wondering whether the naming of a Regent now is an attempt to benefit from this law of inertia.  I hope that the Undangs will exercise better judgment when selecting the successor to Tuanku Jaafar, and not be bound by the law of inertia.

The other consideration is that the ways and morals of a father inevitably would rub off onto his children.  Tuanku Jaafar’s children, including the one he named as regent, are all successful in their own careers.  Their individual net worth must be considerable.  I would have expected that at least one of them or they collectively would bail out their father.  That they did not reveal much about themselves.

At age 86, Tuanku Jaafar is not in the best of health.  It may well be that the Special Court’s judgment will be mute.  At which point the citizens of Negri Sembilan would have to await the judgment of the Undangs.

This is a time for our Undangs to remember why our ancestors in their wisdom chose to name the ruler of our state not sultan but “Yang Di Pertuan Besar.”  Literally it means, “The One We Make Big.”  The we refers to the people, as represented by our Undangs.

On a larger scale this is also the title we give the “King” of Malaysia, “Yang Di Pertuan Agong,” meaning, the one we make supreme.  Mahathir’s 1993 constitutional amendment gives substance to the meaning of the phrase “we make supreme.”  That amendment also made it possible for Standard Chartered to pursue its current suit against the Negri ruler.

Comments (33)Add Comment
written by cheekhiaw, October 12, 2008 12:05:58
Running away of a Yang Berpencuri Besar...

written by PAKRAK, October 12, 2008 12:08:13
It runs in the family. First it was the nephew, Tunku Imran who became a bankrupt. Then the son, now a regent, was involved in a land scam in Negeri with some Middle East syndicate. Now the ruler is unable to repay a loan to an International Bank for over RM3 million.
agree 145
written by The dragonheart, October 12, 2008 12:10:35
7-Eleven can pay
written by onnetline, October 12, 2008 12:29:05
Sheer embarrassment and wasting of tax payers money !
written by krising1, October 12, 2008 12:29:05
"......Council of Rulers to pardon the Negri ruler for a measly sum of RM 3M". Bakri Musa, how many people have measly RM 3 million to their name? Do you?
written by ahmadneil, October 12, 2008 12:31:53
Borrow from'Along'.
written by Uncorruptible, October 12, 2008 12:36:48
This is what happens in a sustained feudal mentality - a whole herd of royal WHITE ELEPHANTS in this 21st century !
Mahataik did too little, that also for his own interest only. He wanted to be the unchallengeable supremo.
Raja Petra unjustly detained under the ISA, what di the royals do about that? Nothing!
Leste majesty or not, it is time to put them all to pasture, and spend the vast amount of money saved for the Rakyat.
written by The dragonheart, October 12, 2008 13:26:03
Qur'anic Examples of Tyrannical Rulers

The Al-Qur'an denounces all powerful rulers such as Namrud, Fir'aun (Pharaoh), Hamaan and Qarun. Namrud is taghut - the transgressor who enslaves the servants of Allah as his serfs.

There is the pact or collaboration of three parties:

Fir'aun - he claims to be God, carries out tyranny and oppression throughout the land, enslaves the people

Hamaan - the cunning politician, experienced, having self interest, in the service of taghut, propping up and supporting Fir'aun and cheating the people, subjugating them.

Qarun - the capitalist or feudalist who takes opportunity from the unjust and oppressive laws, spending fortunes for the tyrannical leader in order to profit and amass more vast returns, bleeding and exploiting the toils of the people. The origin of Qarun was that he came from Prophet Musa's own clan who colluded with Fir'aun due to the love of worldly life and materialism.

The combination of taghut and Zulm results in the spread of mayhem and the destruction of the community, subjugating man by force and degradation.

The People:

Al Qur'an denounces the people or citizens who are obedient and loyal to their oppressive rulers. The people who remain under the tutelage of taghut are fully responsible and accountable because it is due to their attitude that brought forth these fir'auns and taghuts.

Al-Junud (the collaborators):

These are the armies and enforcers of the rule and order of the taghut. They use force, fear and repression to eliminate and subdue all opposition and dissidents of the tyrant.

READ: http://www.husammusa.com/artic...islam.html
written by atsanee, October 12, 2008 14:34:59
What exactly is the intention of this article?
Is it to restart the anti monarchy movement all over again.
It it in response to the royals being at odds with UMNO in recent events?

I can only guess.

But some assumptions here were too easily reached by the author.

Is it just possible that Tuanku YAM Pertuan is not as well heeled as it was assumed here?
Is it just possible that YAM doesn't in fact have the 3 mil that is required to settle with the Bank in question?
Not heard of Antah in a long while and if I am not wrong,they sold out and liquidated most of their business interests long ago.

Why are we being asked to assume the tax payer will end up paying for the debt and for the overseas trip?

While not a Royalist myself,I still sense this article is somewhat mischievous and has a very questionavle agenda.

Such articles does not bade well for Malaysia-today and may be be deemed lese majeste.
Just look at some of the comments posted and you will understand my fear that this is being used by UMNO troopers to discredit MT and RPK.
disagree 31
written by aryn, October 12, 2008 14:35:24
Thank God we have no sultan in Sabah. Even to pick the bills of the royal household is a pain considering many poor subjects is 'kais pagi makan pagi.....'

Can't they work and earn their living like the rest of us?
written by Sudahlah tu, October 12, 2008 14:45:43
tuan punya tanah yang tamak tidak akan menjadi pemilik yang berjaya....
manusia yang mengutamakan wang,harta benda,kuasa serta perempuan tidak akan dilepaskan daripada hukuman Allah.
written by Badrol, October 12, 2008 15:09:07
The non-royal sultans of Sabah and Sarawak ie. Musa Aman and Taib Mahmud are far worst than any Sultans you know. Their plundering are in the tens or hundreds of billion.
written by Kuku Burung, October 12, 2008 17:45:26
Not sure what is the intention of the article. But for sure our RPK ran into trouble with Negri royalties sometimes ago. His house was searched before for evidences against him on behalf of Negri royalties.
written by Loh, October 12, 2008 19:28:49
The court case is just to settle by the court whether the bank has the right to be repaid the said amount. Nothing more.

It is hardly the intention of TDM when he had the 1993 amendments. He did it for his own agenda, and only he knows better.

Since the departure of AAB, we can discern attempt of people trying to make TDM smell like roses, of yesterdays perhaps.
written by Msian 2, October 12, 2008 20:42:34
I remember very clearly as a teenager, my Dad was forced to "donate" a piece of land that then the regent(now Sultan)wanted. The land(5 acres) is still jungle green until today & I am in my 50's now. My dad was threatened with 'buang negri'. As far as I am concern, its a waste of resources to keep a herd of white elephant royalties. Look at the way the datukships are awarded. This says alot about royalty caliber.
written by ibabonma, October 12, 2008 21:13:21
UMNO jauh lagi Teruk. Tajudin Ramly borrowed 1.89 Bilion from Sime Bank to purchase Mas shares and it became a bad debt resulting in the closure of Sime Bank. Then RHB took over the debt! Then they closed RHB! Then Tajudin and/or Daim sold back the Mas shares at a premium and pocketed the money!!! What is that RM 3 million debt of Tuanku Jaafar compared to the 'goonatic' act of UMNO the PENYAMUN.
written by willove, October 12, 2008 23:05:06
Malaysia is probably the only country in the world that has more than one King, among them taking turns to be the King of the Kings. The cost of the nation to maintain the Royal families ultimately lies with the Rakyat.
However to be fair, it is also not their choice. If you are born as prince, you would not give up your privilege voluntarily too would you? Now, even if you do want to give up, would others agree too? No way.
It is only up to us the Rakyat to challenge the Monarchy system, but who is willing to take the lead? Not even DAP you see.
I have got to know Tengku Naquiyddin personaly somehow. It is true that he is doing well on his own. It is also true that he is fair in treating people. The fact that he is the Regent now is not adding any further benefits to what he has already achieve on his own.
If Tuanku Jaafar is due to pay his debt, then he must do it, no 2 ways about it.
Anything on the Monarchy system, it is up to us Rakyat ultimately.
written by merchant222, October 12, 2008 23:17:31
The rakyat should also sue MM, BN, and all the MB's for their 324 Billion in debt to the nation. Blood suckers, and still want to act like angels of the country.

It is high time you BN crooks go to HELL!
written by aeromaverick, October 13, 2008 01:32:46
We as Malaysians come as a package, and the royalty is there very much in that package.
Yes, we would eventually have bring the entire package upto a more democratic maturity, but for now, it is still our problem to solve as rakyat et la.
Hence, I think the only thing we can now hope for is wiser Royalty such as from Perak intervene for a mutually beneficial solution to both parties.
written by aeromaverick, October 13, 2008 01:34:38
We should also be more worried about the neo-colonists within our midst who are plundering us on a hourly basis!
Especially with the TDM planning to make a come back as if its not enough for him and us!!
written by Sean E, October 13, 2008 10:30:29
"Thank God we have no sultan in Sabah."

Dear Aryn, we do have a TYT, not a small sum to maintain yearly.
written by Blackgiring, October 13, 2008 12:05:33
...uncorruptible, yr comment is really like a brainless pariah!!!!!
written by zandi, October 13, 2008 17:03:39
Thank God we have no sultan in Sabah.

Ohh aryn...you forgot... but we have greedy people who lack conscience like Osu Sukam, which is worse becos commoners such as Osu (and as sbd earlier mentioned) Musa Aman and Taib Mahmub don't have to worry about any royalty reputation or their subjects to feel guilty about. For these Borneo homo sapiens apes, the sky is the limit! After these past/present CMs are finished with these Msian states in Borneo, Sabah & Swak and all its poor ppl can sink into South China Sea for all they care! Osu, Musa & Taib & others will be living like royalty elsewhere...
written by atsanee, October 13, 2008 18:39:46
The mentality of some of the bloggers here is really appalling,shallow and ficle.
People read about one Ruler being sued for failing to pay his debts and there are calls for the monarchy to be abolished.

The monarchy institution is one thing but the behaviour of individual Rulers is another and we should be matured enough to distinguish the two.

Not so long ago, there was a groundswell of support in Malaysiatoday for the royals in taking on the UMNO lords.It seems only members of the royalty were able to tick off Putrajaya.

And today,someone raises the issue of ONE ruler not paying his debts and there are calls to get rid of those white elephants.

When we think like this,we show we are ripe for the picking when UMNO propaganda comes around again to campaign against the royals.

We havbe to recognize,sad as it may sound, but the only hope of checking the Executive lies in the Royalty because in their ranks,there are one or two who are able and willing to voice their concerns on what the government has been doing to the rakyat.
written by malgal, October 13, 2008 23:06:45
swamped by titled personages with privileges heaped upon privileges. selamat datang ke malaysia.
written by densemy, October 14, 2008 12:37:10
My reading of this article is that the Royal Families should not be above the law, as rightly should be the case

The other suggestion is that the Council of Rulers should not be allowed to override a court decision ( presuming that one day Malaysia will have an independent judiciary)

You can also add the names of some of the Royals, the upholders of Islam, to the list of Islamic hypocrites
written by sydput, October 14, 2008 13:46:06
The ones that are above the law and the real rulers of the land are the UMNO politicians.They can lie, cheat, rape, murder, abscond on loans and the authorities can say and do nothing.
written by atsanee, October 14, 2008 15:40:50
Agree that Rulers are not above the Law.
But plse remember one thing...... they are the only people who are not appointed by the BN govt.
So lets encourage them to carry on and to be a voice for reason and justice.
Our hope lies in RPK and the likes of Tuanku Shariffuddin(Selangor)and Raja Nazrin Shah.

And people,Plse stop linking the nonsensical handouts of Datukships to the Sultans.
In every state,the Sultan has his allocation and the MB also has his allocation so to be fair,some of the blame must be directed at the leading politician at state level.
We not even mentioned states that dont have a Ruler like Malacca,Sabah/Sarawak and Penang.Shud see the datukship list from these places before we comment about Royalties and awards.
written by cheemengwong, October 14, 2008 23:30:55
TUN GHAFAR BABA also owes money to Tan Sri lau ban tin

http://www.thestar.com.my/news/story.asp?file=/2004/8/10/courts/8629734&sec=courts
written by onnetline, October 18, 2008 18:38:08
No one is above the law in any which case !

Pay up if found guilty or in default of agreement ........ like everybody else.
written by Bandit, October 19, 2008 14:19:50
Rulers are suppose to protect their subjects. In this case they can even protect one of their own against blatant injustice and misuse of power by a regime full with scumbags. RPK is being charged for saying "something" against Islam. I mean these so called rulers are supposed to be head of Islam....Allah's representatives on earth, shouldnt they be the one to decide if he has done what these clowns has accused him of....?

And what the hell is this stupid PDRM doing suing RPK in the first place for an article written against Najib? Shouldnt Najib be using his own money to defend the allegationst against him? Why are we paying those AG's fools to defend him......Rulers..isnt this a misue of public funds...Where do you rulers stand..? Should Malaysia do away with you since you cant stand up for your subjects...???