Home arrow The Blogs arrow News/Commentaries arrow Najib under pressure, again

Najib under pressure, again PDF Print E-mail
Posted by kasee   
Sunday, 12 October 2008 08:49
(The Malaysian Insider) Raja Petra Kamarudin is behind bars but his campaign to link Deputy Prime Minister Datuk Seri Najib Tun Razak with the murder of Mongolian model Altantuya Shariibuu intensified today – with a startling allegation.

His website, Malaysia Today, carried a report detailing what it alleged was an exchange of text messages between Najib and Shafee Abdullah, the prominent lawyer who represented Abdul Razak Baginda before he was charged with abetting two police officers in the murder of the model.

These SMSes – if true – raise some questions over the handling of the case and suggest that Najib took a strong interest in the investigation from the beginning.

The SMS exchange, which went on from Nov 8 to Dec 2, 2006, is likely to become great fodder for the Opposition when Parliament sits again on Monday. More so now that Najib is a cusp away from becoming the president of Umno and the prime minister of Malaysia.

In one SMS, Najib allegedly tells the lawyer that Razak Baginda – his advisor – “will face a tentative charge but all is not lost.”'

Malaysia Today said that this message raises some questions about Najib's role in the case. “Why did he mention ‘tentative’ charge and that ‘all is not lost’ for RB (Razak Baginda)? How would Najib know this before Razak was charged?  These are important questions which will have ramifications, not just on this case but far beyond,” a posting on the website said.

Datuk Seri Anwar Ibrahim and the Opposition have tried to link Najib and his wife, Datin Seri Rosmah Mansor, with the murder since it happened in October 2006.

Najib has furiously denied any involvement with the case, and has even sworn in a mosque that he did not know the woman. His wife has also sought recourse in the courts to clear her name.

Their nemesis has been Raja Petra. He published many reports and commentaries alleging a cover-up in the investigation of the murder. He was detained under the Internal Security Act for allegedly publishing articles which were blasphemous.

Comments (38)Add Comment
written by fergie, October 12, 2008 09:04:55
There is no smoke without a fire. We all know RPK has lots of guts but I'm pretty sure is if he didn't have some solid evidence even RPK would not have the guts to challenge the DPM (future PM??) with such allegations. In time, the truth will out! I hope it will be soon .. RPK will be a national hero!
agree 240
Votes: +239
written by captmarco ramius, October 12, 2008 09:05:06
Dear Brothers & Sisters of Malaysia Today & Makkal Sakthi,

All the law abiding souls,
Please contribute to the cause of flushing this piece of shit down the toilet.
Please come forward with whatever dirt you can come on this corrupt pee.am in waiting.Each and everyone of us have to do something (no matter how small or insignificant it is), from being RAPED further.....

Arise Dear Brothers & Sisters of Malaysia Today & Makkal Sakthi...
Our time is now...or never...
agree 137
Votes: +135
written by malsia1206, October 12, 2008 09:05:13
Altantunya's spirit is getting restless. There comes a time when all those implicated in her murder shall meet to face divine justice. Because the Malaysian mortal justice leaves much room for the powerful and corrupt to get away from their heinous crime. And they shall burn in Hell.
Votes: +106
written by sedan, October 12, 2008 09:22:36
Nothing is going to happen. Najib is slated to become PM, and I want to see how many brave people will keep posting comments in here....unless Anwar becomes prime minister.

Congratulations Malaysia - You guys fell for an old trick in attacking Badawi relentlessly. Those Mahathir morons (i.e. Rocky Bru, Kadir Jasin etc) hand indeed joined hands with "progressive elements" like Tricia Yeoh, Michael Yeoh and Ramon Navaratnam who, I believe have not uttered one word against the submarine and defence kickbacks and other wanton abuses of power.

Remember, it was Tricia Yeoh who was perhaps the first to tip off Malaysia Today (and the foreign media) about the arrest of Abdul Razak Baginda, the scapegoat who will have to be released as he was not the culprit.

Now, you will have to deal with Najib and Mukhriz. Think tankers like Michael and Tricia Yeoh had the real opportunity here to provide a publicity platform for more progressive elements within Umno like Tengku Razaleigh, but all they gave us was a wild goose chase a la Khairy (in concert with the Perdana gang).

But why should they promote a genuine political intelligentsia when they themselves were mostly Mahathir-era appointees to be gatekeepers at think tanks, to protect Mahathir's wealth, and to facilitate the ascendancy of the likes of Mukhriz.

Rocky and co may resume their trashy editorial policies at NST one day for the local folks while Tricia Yeoh gets to be the gatekeeper for all foreign analysis over Malaysia.

A profitable deal indeed. BTW, is Michael Yeoh's PhD a fraud?

Votes: +83
written by sedan, October 12, 2008 09:33:25
In fact, I am wondering how many of you will remember Raja Petra Kamaruddin a year or two down the line as he rots in Kamunting, if the Najib-Muhyuddin-Mukhriz axis assumes power, and Anwar is thrown into oblivion or Kamunting as well.

I am wondering too just how many will switch to praising these people (Najib and Mukhriz) in public, just as they praised Mahathir non-stop when the media was severely censored.

There is already a significant drop in the number of comments posted at MT. So much for freedom, so much for bravery.

Actually, so much for COWARDICE! You only fought for the Perdana boys, and they WILL roll back the freedom of space Malaysia Today provided for the interests of "national security."

Votes: +61
written by michael chick, October 12, 2008 09:37:20
http://i287.photobucket.com/al...lerina.jpg
Votes: +3
written by supplier, October 12, 2008 09:44:33
Many police reports had made against C4 and wife. No actions taken by AG and the police. There are still a lot of unanswered questions

Votes: +62
written by CPY, October 12, 2008 09:46:49
Najib oh Najib nampaknya tak jadi PM,
Macam mana nak jadi PM,
Ku Li cabar saya,
Altantunya punya pasal!
Votes: +42
written by ahmadneil, October 12, 2008 09:50:07
MT is censoring Michael Chick,the cut and paste king.Why!
Votes: +31
written by ahmadneil, October 12, 2008 09:51:14
It's RPK who is censoring MT not Michael Chick.
Votes: +5
written by biggun129, October 12, 2008 09:54:02
So far Najib have not lost anything, but instead sitting inside Our Bank calculating the balance of our money, and the first payment he issued out is the purchase of Eurocopter's Heli, everything is pre-arranged, he needs money to upgrade his image,and it costs Billion, change of the Head of ruling regime is not reform,an extra payment for Malaysian just for his personal gain, the Malaysian should have look at the North, where Mr.Samak of Thaksin, do not even gain access to his Premier's Office even though it is heavily guarded, and had to flee by climbing over the Iron fence, look how other implemented their Reform to this kind of rubbish. We, Malaysian, must be the Clone of RPK, let us all surrender at Kamunting Camp, and see wheather the present ruling regime can feed us for how long!
Votes: +40
written by macaufan, October 12, 2008 09:57:07
Ya ! intensify Najis-Mongolia isu to d nation til Najis fall ! if not m'sia will fall !
Votes: +40
written by ahmadneil, October 12, 2008 09:59:29
The making of Najis into what he is today fall directly on all malaysian.He and umno should be stopped at the very moment he wave that rusty keris,promising to bath it with chinese blood.The chinese MCA kept quiet ,so today they will see this 'Idi Amin' promising to carry on what Racist mahathir have left behind.When a man shows his dirty habits, he must be stopped.Well,be prepare, for the worst is yet to come.
Votes: +39
written by atsanee, October 12, 2008 10:00:02
Now that AAB has been forced to pasture and NTR is set on course to take over,let the fun begin.
Revelation will come after revelation and MT and other free sites are going to be used by anti Najib camps like crazy and they are going to record hits like never before.
Free entertainment from now up to UMNO Elections in March people !!
Votes: +19
written by avj, October 12, 2008 10:00:22
Hound the Pink Lips till he goes berserk,and runs amok.
Votes: +19
written by Jana, October 12, 2008 10:05:21
The rise of Najis is the rise Mahathrism. Change of Govt must take place at all cost or otherwise it will bring further ruin upon the country. The future generation will blame for us the damage. RPK would not risk his LIFE for nothing. Racialist UMNO will go let power without bringing chaos. Be ware. Their blood has been poisoned with power. The only way out is to nail them in the coffin.
Votes: +29
written by michael chick, October 12, 2008 10:16:56
AhmadNeil, it's not MT's fault. Somehow, my Photobucket bandwidth has exceeded. I think too many people are doing a direct link to the images. Just hang on. I'll get it up online again somehow. The internet conncections are just simply too slow here in Cambodia. Even a direct click to the link is not working. Any photobucket experts out there can help with this problem?
written by ahmadneil, October 12, 2008 10:28:04
Thanks Michael Chick for I need you to speed up.Otherwise it will be boring weekend.I'm in Vientine,Laos,your neighbour.My award for you still stands.
Votes: +20
written by biggun129, October 12, 2008 11:03:00
I told you before,Mr.Michael Chick, dont you ever Chicken out, your bridge is burning, you know the consequence if you are with us, dont u ever dare to be another "Crook Bala" missing in action, everybody is waiting for u, if you cannot do it, just cross the border,Mae Sai, the small border town of Thailand.
Votes: +8
written by coolandy, October 12, 2008 11:03:59
I hope the keris will not be sowed in chinese blood. A cornered animal can do a lot of damage fighting for its survival.
Votes: +13
written by justice, October 12, 2008 11:24:33
michael chick, October 12, 2008 10:16:56
AhmadNeil, it's not MT's fault. Somehow, my Photobucket bandwidth has exceeded.

Michael Chick, I suggest that you open another Photobucket account and upload your photos there. Keep monitoring your monthly bandwidth usage (click the account options button). Free accounts are only allowed up to 25 GB per month, so if one account has almost reached the limit (say 80%), then switch to use another account. The usage will reset to 0% after 1 month.

Keep up the your good art work! We must nail down Najis!! smilies/wink.gif
Votes: +31
written by Daryl, October 12, 2008 12:23:26
I know is not funny but I am really suprise that people still react to BN's response and things they do. They are bunch of "lanun" in power just like the Sudanense pirates and one day they will fall hopefully soon. If not Malaysia can just throw up their hands and give these "lanun" all the money.
Votes: +7
written by Kunta Kinte, October 12, 2008 14:22:33
Dear Sedan,
While I agree to a great part of your thoughts, I strongly disagree when you say
There is already a significant drop in the number of comments posted at MT. So much for freedom, so much for bravery.
Whilst there may be a significant drop in comments, it does not reflect directly to the number of readers. Many a time, we are just so frustrated by what is going on. Tired of this government living in denial. Nevertheless, I can assure you, MT readers are committed and will show their bravery when the time is right.
Votes: +26
written by anakwatanKL, October 12, 2008 15:32:10
Interesting new information emerging. Then I do think they have just put the messenger, RPK away.

The English and Americans will say, "Don't shoot the messenger." RPK has said before that the information he writes are based on the conversations that he had with other sources. I do think these fellas are just looking for fall guys to divert attention away from themselves.

All Malaysians prayer esp those bloggers here, are not in vain. As God works in mysterious ways, these people fail to realise that the truth will have a way of cropping up eventually esp. when it comes to taking a life forcefully. This is not something to hide. The wrongdoer needs to repent and redeem for the wrongdoing.

Man......I pray that Almighty/God lays his hands on Altunya's wrongdoer so that her family has a closure. No child whatever s/he is deserves to have their life taken away just like that. The dad took the trouble to travel to Malaysia and seek justice for his child.
Votes: +15
written by Tok Din, October 12, 2008 16:30:38
Don't you think the Police has a duty to investigate now that these SMS messages are being leaked? If true, these messages point directly at our DPM and his interference with administration of justice.

Since the PM in waiting is implicated in the case and there is now evidence emerging, shouldn't the Parliament be looking into this. We cannot have a PM implcated with a murder. If so, he has lost his moral authority to lead and his premiership will surely be disastrous.
Votes: +15
written by malgal, October 12, 2008 18:34:18
Pa lah promises to accomplish his mission of reforms, one of which is clean up the juidiciary. Well then ?
Votes: +6
written by michael chick, October 12, 2008 20:24:01
Dear Justice. Thanx for the tip. I've started another new account. Also, I've hit the trial Pro Button for free. Which means 10Gb... FOC. Photobucket just shot me this free offer.

In the meantime, you and FFT have not been doing your rounds.

AhmadNeil, the closest I will get to you this trip, would be Angkor Watt. However, I was in Hanoi last month. I'll be in Bangkok when it cools down a bit. I do not exactly have a "Death Wish".
written by michael chick, October 12, 2008 20:31:20
written by ibabonma, October 12, 2008 20:42:22
michael chick, erase that underwear and see how Najis's. May be he is wearing a samy's copper ring, made in India!
Votes: +9
written by ahmadneil, October 12, 2008 20:51:14
Michael Chick,it was worth the wait.I hope that balancing act fails and down he goes into that mighty river.We might never see him again.Mick,are we getting more ?
Votes: +11
written by michael chick, October 12, 2008 20:53:19
Dear Ibabonma, Are you NUTS??? You want all of us to go blind ????
Entire Malaysia would have to go on mc tomorrow for severe eye-strain!!!
Trying too hard to to look for Najib's toothpick smilies/grin.gif
Votes: +12
written by cillipepper, October 12, 2008 21:09:56
YB DSAI & Pakatan Rakyat,
Fodders for you to replace Najib & BN from the scene forever.
But watch your steps and be very careful as failure is not an option
for a better Malaysian for ALL!
Votes: +4
written by defendermalaysia, October 12, 2008 21:48:26
The laws of Malaysia must be the same and should apply to everyone. Remember last time DSAI was charge with abuse of power. Similary now Najib should be charge of abuse of power and interfere with the police investigation of Razak Baginda. I hope next week in the parliment, DSAI should bring up this case of abuse of power by Najib and let hear what he is going to say.
Keep up the pressure DSAI.
Votes: +9
written by supplier, October 12, 2008 21:57:05
Make a police report and see if any action taken.

IGP :find no evidences linking to C4
AG :since police say no evidence so NO CASE
Votes: +4
written by willove, October 12, 2008 22:23:50
Sedan,
Your observation is true, I agree.
I do notice that the comments (although not too many less than previous) have not been in proportion to the increasing number of readers of MT, also the votes to the comments have reduced tremendously, and this is alarming.
Yes, one may say that by commenting on MT won't get you anywhere, but by not even commenting or voting gets us even further off. This is the channel for all of us to express ourselves as the Rakyat of Malaysia. Voicing out in MT is voicing out for our future, as those who are politically linked (including Ministers) are also visiting MT.
Not to neglect too is MT is an open space for all to comment, meaning there is also a possibility that people that are hired by BN could also be here to mislead actual public view.
Wake up guys, MT is our space to fight for what's right for us, what RPK has been fighting for all this while.
Comment and Vote. It is your right. It is significant. It is our voice. It is our future.
Votes: +10
written by merchant222, October 12, 2008 23:05:53
Najis should be investigated, but the polis Malay-dia is behind him, bodek kaki mesti beri support kuat-kuat.

BN is irrelevant, get it? Mr. Najis? Mr. Shafee should also be put in ISA for he is a threat to national security.
written by cillipepper, October 13, 2008 06:56:03
Bros & Sis,
Intensify the pressure on Najib & Co!
Votes: +2
written by Jit Dharma, October 13, 2008 20:49:47
Okay you gutless serfs, here's your chance to show what you are made of.
Apparently these future punches or blows are being telegraphed to us so that
you will prove what a useless bunch of talkers you are and run screaming like
makcik's for the hills when the shit finally goes down.Let's do what we can to resist and make every day of Najiyuddin's tenure a living hell.
Death to ALL tyrants. Have a nice day.
Votes: +1

World Futures  Afghanistan is where Nato and the US are killing civilians indiscriminately. Is there a need to protest against such killings? Are YOU not concerned and don't you think you might be next?

Wellness Industry Is Booming!  Learn how you too can own a low capital home-based business to generate extra supplemental stream of income by using internet for these challenging economic times. You may earn RM1K up to RM10K a month working only 5-10hrs/week. Full system provided.

Home Based Business  Earn extra income $5000-$10,000 monthly, 24 hours a day. Just working part/full time from the comfort of your home. Legitimate business, have a most powerful product in the world. Register for FREE first to save your position in this powerful system.