Home arrow The Blogs arrow News/Commentaries arrow No reforms as long as Dr M is around, says Zaid

No reforms as long as Dr M is around, says Zaid PDF Print
Saturday, 11 October 2008 19:18

By SHAILA KOSHY, The Star

KUALA LUMPUR: Datuk Seri Najib Tun Razak will not be able to institute any crucial reform as Prime Minister as long as Tun Dr Mahathir Mohamad is around, claimed former de facto Law Minister Datuk Zaid Ibrahim.

"The 2004 election manifesto is history,” said Zaid who had been appointed minister specifically to work on Prime Minister Datuk Seri Abdullah Ahmad Badawi’s promise to reform in stitutions of government, improve accountability and transparency, and strengthen the Rule of Law and independence of the Judiciary.

“Najib is smart and articulate but to change the course of Umno, he has to be brave and why would he take such a risk.

“Second, even if he wanted to, he would not be able to do it with Dr Mahathir around,” he said.

Asked whether that was because he thought Dr Mahathir was powerful or had a strong influence on Najib, Zaid - who resigned from the Cabinet recently after journalist Tan Hoon Cheng, Member of Parliament Teresa Kok and news portal editor Raja Petra Kamarudin were arrested under the Internal Security Act - said:

“He (Dr Mahathir) has a large group of friends, otherwise the Prime Minister (Abdullah) would not have been ‘thrown out’ just like he wanted.”

“Mahathirism was all control, control, control. He has a strong influence on the top Umno leaders who had to choose between doing his bidding or facing his wrath.

“So many in Umno are bound to the old, making it difficult to abandon old values and principles.

“Especially when if you allow for more democracy, you lose some control.

“I don’t see it (major reforms) happening but I hope that Najib will prove me wrong, for himself and for the country’s sake.”

On his recent comment that Najib has never talked of reforms, when asked why a deputy prime minister would need to do so when the agenda is set by the Prime Minister, he replied: “Yes, but after the Prime Minister talks, shouldn’t the deputy strengthen it with his own comments?”

Comments (25)Add Comment
written by ahmadneil, October 11, 2008 19:26:55
Racist mahathir is pulling strings to his advantage.Najis is just his puppet.22 years of dictatorship will continue.
written by avj, October 11, 2008 19:39:10
Zaid, we appreciate your words and actions. The nation at this moment in time calls on people with any ability who can contribute to come forward, to make sure that this monster TDM can never again rape and plunder this nation.God help us all if that ever happens.
written by malsia1206, October 11, 2008 20:29:44
Datuk Zaid, you got it right on exactly. And wathch your step. MM would not hesistate to get those dubious charges thrown at you for sodomy,and all those ISA bull. MM's politics reign supreme in this adopted country of his and Najib would be no better than his puppet on a shoestring. The Malaysian rakyat is going to see and witness firsthand accout of "The Return Of MM In Malaysia", Episode 2. Makes more interesting readup than the Mummy sequel.
written by IbnAbdHalim, October 11, 2008 21:46:31
Just like I said before...all ills that Malaysia is facing now is in fact started by Mahathir. Pak Lah just carried out the plans laid by Mahathir with slight modifications, to his benefit.
written by onnetline, October 11, 2008 22:06:02
This corrupted, racist bustard from Kedah needs to be active to prevent his previous misdeeds being ' declassified ' by any new government.

It's that simple !
written by Limang, October 11, 2008 22:12:57
Look, Zaid, I hope you will have a chance to read my mail.

Let me first say, you are wrong in this instance. It is not this old goat call Mahathir who prevents reforms. Yes, he was the source of all the evils Malaysia is going through today. But he can't do any more damage. WHY? Becos he is gone and no longer in power.

Remember, he is just another humna like you and me, but now on the edge of paradise. But what he has done in 22 years of his evil tenure is to create a huge, greedy, racist and uncontrollable MONSTER CALLED UMNO!

As long as this monster is allowed to rule this country, then Malaysia will go down the drain, if it is not there already.

But you and individuals like me have the responsibility of getting rid of this monster.

So ignore this old Tun goat, and do what you can to right the wrongs done by your race against the other races and this country. You can start by leaving UMNO and joining PR. Then, remember the foundation you want to set up to get all the races together to live to respect each other, live in peace and help each other succeed? Are you doing something about this?

It would be insensitive of me to tell you what to do, but given your wealth, connection, resources, individual capacity, dreams, energy, you can do a lot more - things that can really help contribute to a new mindset, a new generation of Malaysians, a new vision for the youths, and to a better Malaysia!

Remember, one sincere and determined soul can do what one thousand evil men fail to achieve!
written by asiseesit, October 11, 2008 22:53:38
He may still be around but it's not impossible for reform to be effective. This fight can't be fought by just one individual no matter how influential or powerful he is.

Personally, I don't think Najib is up to it. Like you said, I too hope I'm wrong. As long as he tries to do it within UMNO, he will face great difficulties from all sides. What with the mentality of the grass roots and the principles they hold on to so dearly.

I can only conclude that external forces will play a part in it but with a price knowing the many acts or bills in place to deter such ambitions.
written by bantee, October 11, 2008 23:20:58
M or No M, don't discount Najib. He's a true product of BN and the last half of his carrier was under M.

Najib may turn out to be no different than his mentor.
written by Fart Fart Wah, October 12, 2008 00:08:28
Bangkai bernyawa...

dimana ada bangkai matamak disana ada burung vulture..

kini bangkai ini akan bermula membusukkan semenanjung Malaysia..dan bau nya akan

membawa anjing anjing yang lain seperti memburu anjing betina...

anjing ini akan bermula menyalak..macam macam....
written by Sabahfan, October 12, 2008 00:23:56
DICTATOR DICTATOR C4 = KILLING FIELD DOUBLE DICTATOR
written by Sabahfan, October 12, 2008 00:25:21
I meant...Dictator plus Dictator plus C4 = worse dictator than POL POT

remember that Malaysians... and take action
written by Lembing, October 12, 2008 03:55:33
As published in the MM, the greatest and the most mighty RACIS_, CORRUP_, CRUE_, EVI_ SWINDLE_, MULTIPLE HEADS SNAK_ said:-
"Sincerely elect incorruptible leaders and do not to let your decision be influenced by bribes. That’s the advice to Umno divisional delegates "

THAT means they are NO one qualified to be elected as leader in the current UMMNNNO party.
written by Dragon888, October 12, 2008 08:35:24
TDM does not realise that his days are numbered and will be buried very soon like all humans. But his misdeeds will last forever and will live through history. He should just settle down and start doing something good for his fellow countrymen and the nation. Only God and he will know his virtues. Najib also should clear himself by our Court over his involvement in the Mongolian woman's murder before he is allowed to take over. Buddhists believe in KARMA....
written by Bigjoe99, October 12, 2008 09:40:58
If this is true. its pretty pathetic. The man is no longer in the party. Holds no official position. Even if he has infleunce on some corporates and the civil servant, that NO reform can be had is pretty pathetic. THERE SO MANY TO DO!!!

The danger of Najib is not there is no reform but it won't be significant. The man is all about lying and cheating and you will see him do the same. Put it this way, he could create enough havoc within UMNO to convince them to reform. It would not be beyond him to actually get let Indian-Malay relations go so badly he will use it as an excuse to reform UMNO... The man is Machiavellian in Dr. M tradition, he is a patriot to himself first and not his own race...
written by adan, October 12, 2008 09:45:09
DATUK ZAID,'no reforms as long as long as Dr.M is around.'

ONE MAY ADD TO 'NO REFORMS' , A FEW MORE LIKE... 'NO RACIAL HARMONY' NO TRUTH ,NO JUSTICE' AND 'NO FREEDOM AND NO DEMOCRACY''NO PEACE' FOR THE PEOPLE AND THE COUNTRY.
written by ROBERTNGTG, October 12, 2008 09:50:08
Datuk Seri Najib Tun Razak will not be able to institute any crucial reform as Prime Minister as long as Tun Dr Mahathir Mohamad is around, claimed former de facto Law Minister Datuk Zaid Ibrahim

AND THE REASON WHY THE M*M*K DICTATOR IS ABLE TO WIELD SO MUCH CLOUT EVEN THOUGH
HE IS OUTSIDE AMENO/GOMEN?? ITS BECAUSE HE HAS A THICK FILE ON ALL THE FILTH
AND SHIT BAGGAGE ON ALL THE AMENO WARLORDS. HE IS NOW SQUEEZING NAJIS' B*LLS TO ENSURE HIS SON BECOMES THE YOUTH CHIEF. HE HAS ALREADY FLATTENED AAB'S B*LLS.
written by ahmadneil, October 12, 2008 10:05:42
So today they will see this 'Idi Amin' promising to carry on what Racist mahathir have left behind.
written by Bigjoe99, October 12, 2008 10:08:29
Check out the nomination for UMNO Youth head. Mukhriz is way ahead.. OK KJ is crap but the fact Mukhriz is so way ahead shows Dr. M influence is quite real unfortunately....
written by atsanee, October 12, 2008 10:13:48
Sad to say,but I also dont believe a spineless leader will reform anything, especially when reform and democracy and civil liberty and justice are not in the interest of his mentors,advisors.
Be prepared grim times.
written by the saint, October 12, 2008 10:31:49
When Najib becomes PM, Mahathir will be De Facto PM and Rosmah will be De Facto Finance Minister ! A great recipe for disaster !
written by onnetline, October 12, 2008 11:20:18
The whole Barisan Najis government are just a bunch of corrupted shitheads ever since that carTUN Mahatahi came into power and polluted the country's administration system.

This carTUN is actually a physically sick man whose desperately vocal today and would kiss and lick Najis's ass if need be ......... to prevent Pakatan Rakyat taking over to uncover his previous ' corrupted actions '.

It's that simple !
written by KKchan, October 12, 2008 11:31:12
I think it is easy to pin the blame on TDM for the woeful state UMNO is in. It could well have been a coincidence of objectives. TDM wanted AAB out (who is not without support) and the UMNO warlords wanted to retain their privileges (NEP). For Zaid to be correct, we have to accept that TDM had never left the party, nevr retired as PM and has tentacles all over UMNO. For me it is UMNO that is the problem for Malaysia. TDM is just a distraction, albeit a powerful one. He gave cover for the ambitious in UMNO who who not have dared criticised AAB openly.
written by Milo, October 12, 2008 11:46:50
Good people like Zaid cannot survive in UMNO. The simple outcome of this reality is you will not have enough good people who have the influence and courage to move any serious change within UMNO. ....and along with that will be the situation in BN. That's why the BN has to go. With the opposition taking over, there is a platform for good people to rise up...and it is good people who will make changes. This is where the future of Malaysia's hope really lies!
written by joeawk, October 12, 2008 18:00:15
Wonder the botcott of Ahmad Ismail's business has any useful effect on the barua.

If so, please identify all the devils'businessesnd circulated them among all Malaysians and let us all boycott them and see if it help our cause.

We should not be putting money into their pocket and allow to use the money against our common interest.
written by Kalam Kabut, October 12, 2008 18:48:20
Mahathirism means racist, control, deprive non-malays rakyat, keep MIC president happy, keep MCA president happy, quota system, make his sons director of all companies in Msia and make gentleman agreement!!! Ignore this penjual roti jepun!!!