Home arrow The Blogs arrow News/Commentaries arrow Zaid: Mahathir is back in power with Najib

Zaid: Mahathir is back in power with Najib PDF Print
Saturday, 11 October 2008 10:11
By Leslie Lau, Consultant Editor

KUALA LUMPUR, Oct 11 — Former de facto Law Minister Datuk Zaid Ibrahim says Datuk Seri Najib Razak’s impending rise to become Umno president and Prime Minister marks the return of “Mahathirism”.

Tun Dr Mahathir Mohamad, he said, will become Malaysia’s “de facto PM”, standing behind Najib.

He said the fall of Prime Minister Datuk Seri Abdullah Ahmad Badawi is a result of Dr Mahathir prevailing.

Zaid, who resigned recently from Abdullah's Cabinet in protest against the use of the Internal Security Act, said he did not expect Najib to continue Abdullah's reform agenda once he takes over.

"Legal and constitutional reforms make you less powerful, more accountable and less able to use the privileges of power.

"Why would someone trained and schooled by Dr Mahathir introduce reforms. Have you heard Najib speak of reforms?” he told The Malaysian Insider.

Zaid said he expects Najib's administration to be more authoritarian with more controls and restrictions compared to that of Abdullah's.

Abdullah, he said, believed in reforms, but "he did not have the stomach" to push through the changes needed.

During the interview he also responded to allegations made against him by Dr Mahathir on the latter's blog recently.

In his chedet.com blog, Dr Mahathir accused Zaid of being in Perth, Australia during the March general election, and for helping the Pas candidate win the Kota Baru constituency against the Barisan Nasional.

Dr Mahathir also criticised Zaid's move as minister to have the government institute ex-gratia payments to the judges who were sacked as a result of the 1988 judicial crisis.

Said Zaid in response: "He says I helped the Pas candidate, but the fact is Pas was going to win no matter what because of the anti-BN mood.

"He has conveniently forgotten that he actively asked the people to vote against BN to teach Abdullah a lesson."

Zaid added that Dr Mahathir would never be able to accept why ex-gratia payments were made to the judges because it reflects badly on his legacy as Prime Minister.

He said Dr Mahathir would never understand the need for reforms because, to him, "more authoritarianism is better”.

The former minister said Malaysia's political and economic uncertainties today is a result of Dr Mahathir.

He also blamed Dr Mahathir for Umno's unpopularity and lack of proper leadership.

"The truth is we have had no proper election since 1987," he said in reference to the year in which Dr Mahathir defeated Tengku Razaleigh Hamzah by a wafer-thin majority to retain the Umno presidency.

Soon after that election, Umno was declared illegal in a court case which led eventually to the 1988 judicial crisis and the sacking of judges involved in the case.

Under Dr Mahathir, the Societies Act was also subsequently amended disallowing judicial review of any political party decision.

"After the Societies Act was amended the president of Umno could do anything.

"You have destroyed the fabric of our lives as a democracy. Have you not done enough?''

Zaid said Malaysia faced an uncertain and more authoritarian future when Najib takes over.

"You had 23 years of Dr Mahathir, so let's say Najib lasts for 10 years as PM with Mahathir behind him. That means a total of 33 years under Dr Mahathir."

Comments (60)Add Comment
written by IbnAbdHalim, October 11, 2008 10:17:00
I agree 100%. With Najib around Malaysians will suffer further.
agree 297
written by avj, October 11, 2008 10:24:31
TDM has alway been in charge since the day UMNO was declared an ilegal party by the High Court,and with the formation of UMNO Bahru, it became TDM's party.Only he can call the shorts,no two ways about that.
agree 114
written by Bigjoe99, October 11, 2008 10:27:44
Well, Najib will try but he is no Dr. M and today is different world. I seriously think even if Dr. M were back in power that he could NOT walk away from some reform.

That is precisely wrong with Najib, he has no mass popular personal capital to tap on. Once he loses a few by elections especially in Sabah and Sarawak, the walls will start to close on him...
written by Tlau, October 11, 2008 10:29:04
One ex PM, another PM in waiting, both heavily tainted with dark shits and dirts, scratching each others back and pulling each others balls.
written by me_in, October 11, 2008 10:29:14
I cannot agree more than Zaid. Mahathir told Abdullah to shut up. In fact he should be the one to shut up. He is no more the Prime Minster or the President of UMNO.

MAHATHIR ,PLEASE SHUT UP... IT STINKS. we WE HAVE ENOUGH OF YOU FOR 22 YEARS.
agree 169
written by kislean, October 11, 2008 10:29:16
Don't worry Datuk Zaid, at the most najib will last until the next GE (that is IF he wins the presidency) and secondly and hopefully (God Willing), the former PM will breath his last before najib could take over.
written by onnetline, October 11, 2008 10:33:29
Why does Mahathir calls Najib a COWARD and decides to back him again ??

This ex-DICKtator is definitely up to something very fishy or bad, I'm sure !
written by cheekhiaw, October 11, 2008 10:34:09
The father of all thieves, liars and murderers back with the first cousin of all thieves, liars and murderers...

written by ROBERTNGTG, October 11, 2008 10:37:17
"He has conveniently forgotten that he actively asked the people to vote against BN to teach Abdullah a lesson."
Zaid added that Dr Mahathir would never be able to accept why ex-gratia payments were made to the judges because it reflects badly on his legacy as Prime Minister.

WAY TO GO ZAID. SCREW THE MFKR M*M*K. FOR SURE THIS SENILE GOAT HAS SOME STINKING SHIT ON NAJIS AND NOW IS HOLDING HIS B*LLS. YOU ARE DAMN RIGHT THIS DICTATOR IS BACK IN THE DRIVER'S SEAT TIL HIS SON TAKES OVER. WE LOOK FORWARD TO THE DAY WHEN THE DICTATOR SCREW NAJIS FOR ALL HE IS WORTH.
written by ahmadneil, October 11, 2008 10:37:23
Zaid,Racist mahathir is having Parkinson Disease, so he never remember what he say seconds ago.Pity him,he didn't know what he is talking about.He only knows how to pull his puppet's strings.
written by Malaysiaputra, October 11, 2008 10:39:16
=====

Yes, I remember what Mahathir has said and also many many more, all these shows that Mahathir is a double headed snake. He scheme to get his way and when he does he is happy, if not he will go on with his crusade of degrading his victim.

Does Mahathir think that without him Malaysia is finished ?. Is he going to live forever ?.
written by ahmadneil, October 11, 2008 10:39:54
I'm truly sorry for all malaysian becos they are back to zero again after suffering under the dictatorship of Racist mahathir for 22 years.
written by loosecannon, October 11, 2008 10:49:45
Najib is not his own man. On his right he has Mahathir and on his left he has Rosmah to contend with. Either way we are all buggered.
written by Engineer, October 11, 2008 10:50:27
We should not be too worried cos of the very fact he is an old man.
written by JJ Kuyong, October 11, 2008 10:52:42
Who to blame the Project IC in Sabah?...How about the VK Lingam Case proceeding?.
written by ahmadneil, October 11, 2008 11:00:36
Under Racist mahathir's orders,Najis will commence Operation Lalang 3.To prevent this from happening,throw these crooks out NOW.
written by JUST, October 11, 2008 11:03:14
"You assist an evil system by obeying its orders and decrees.
An evil system never deserves such allegiance.
Allegiance to it means collaboration with the evil.
A man of principles will resist an evil system with his whole soul.
Non-collaboration with evil is a sacred duty!

It may be long before the law of love will be recognized in
this beautiful country. The machinery of evil administration
stands in-between and hides the loving hearts of the Nation!"

written by MNor, October 11, 2008 11:16:55
Itulah, till today me and my family never rejoined UMNO; it is not UMNO but UBNO and the members are all dumbo with no b**ls smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif
written by atsanee, October 11, 2008 11:17:35
YB Zaid,correct x 3.

So what you going to do about it ?

I see UMNO digging in because they got the 'best'combination right now(Najib/Muhideen) to overcome any vote of no confidence in the next session. With Muhideen clearly in Najib's camp,all opposition will crumble.

I see the show being run by DTM and Rosmah with active support from Syed Hamid Albar.

This regime is likely to incur the anger of the right thinking rakyat further and we must go for the jugular at the next GE.

And what about you,YB Zaid?

Are you like DTM who said Najib was a coward and not fit to run the country and now does a U turn and applauds the fact that he will take over in 5 month's time?

Will you wait to be offered some goodies by Najib or will you,as you shud,cut all ties with UMNO and start to actively campaign against the ISA,against racial politics and all the things UMNO stands for?

You pinned your hopes on AAB and now he is gone,obviously there is no more hope in those remaining.

SO WHAT ARE YOU WAITING FOR?
written by Highway16, October 11, 2008 11:19:32
Nah!, it won't be a total of 33 years of Mahathirism.

It will be 23 years of Mahathir and 10 years of Mahathir as opposition leader!
written by asiseesit, October 11, 2008 11:21:33
Mahathir's strategy is very clear cut. Benefit the really poor because it made up the majority of votes and support. Keep the rich and powerful busy with projects.

Najib just launched the low cost housing scheme, remember?
written by the saint, October 11, 2008 11:31:43
Even the devil doesn't want TDM in hell. Too scared that TDM will take over, because TDM is more evil than the devil himself. Now you know why ?
written by CheGUvera, October 11, 2008 12:06:03
So, Ezam..wat you gonna do now? Join PKR with you 6 boxes again..or mayb 10boxes now. Heavy carring all your boxes here n there eh?!..
written by biggun129, October 11, 2008 12:11:50
Zaid Ibrahim should find a platform to voice up all this? Join PR or try to be a trainees like us with RPK, or create somethings to join RPK in session court or Kamunting Camp, then only Malaysian respect u ?Do it professionally like RPK,and you will be rewarded professionally!!!
written by biggun129, October 11, 2008 12:17:49
Welcome home,TDM to UMNO, we the followers Of RPK is waiting, its now or never, and this time you will know who is the Giant Killer?
written by clarity, October 11, 2008 12:21:12
TDM won't be around for ten years. His heart won't last that long. He has had two by pass and it is not possible to do a third. Obviously he wants to help his son but the more he gets involved, the faster his heart willstop. And this is what every mortal must go through in life. Even TDM cannot influence that!
written by non conformist, October 11, 2008 12:32:56
With Najis as PM,
Malaysia will be turned into a najis-pool.
written by tengkolok, October 11, 2008 12:33:22
BigMomma will never let that MamaKutty run the show. She'll be the boss!
written by Bloodhound, October 11, 2008 12:59:39
There is still one final solution for the country.

If Tengku Razaleigh loses the fight for the UMNO's presidency, Anwar and Datuk Zaid should persuade him to cross over. I am quite sure that Pak Lah's and Tengku Razaleigh's (if he doesn't win the presidency) supporters will be sidelined and they would gladly accept friendly gestures from Pakatan Rakyat.

Let's get the facts right - it's either Najib with more years of Mahathirism OR PR.....an opportunity for more freedom and unity! The choice is always yours!

written by shangrilapeace, October 11, 2008 13:04:47
With Najib he has a home run.
With Anwar he is a daily visitor to the Duta Courts.
He is done if Anwar is in.
That fear made him going for broke.
God is great.
written by mikewang, October 11, 2008 13:05:57
Tun gets to keep his millions now unless he forgets where he has kept them. smilies/smiley.gif

---------------
----------------
written by slash n burn, October 11, 2008 13:10:17
All I wanted for Christmas is the death of evil mamak Kerala.
written by Jit Dharma, October 11, 2008 13:24:03
If all he can offer is more of the same, then he'll be digging his own grave.
We will go at him with everything we got and destroy him...no need for pessimism
when the tide is on our side. We got five states, next time we'll get them all,
are you with us Brother Zaid???
written by netmiser88, October 11, 2008 13:32:30
Birds of feathers will flock together!

Continue to rape and plunder!

Shall we put them out to the pasture and let them rot for ETERNITY????
written by lynn, October 11, 2008 13:53:52
Mr Zaid Ibrahim,

we agree with you 100% - in fact, a lot of former supporters of this Indian muslim are now against him. Some people realised, with his hooked nose & twisted down-turned lips, he is cunning & manipulating. He wants his son to take over though the son doesn't seem to be very bright. You can't grow brains or commons sense. Either you have it or you don't.

This country is so pitiful n pathetic - perpetually run by crooks & corrupt men.

We will never get out of this rotten situation even in GE13 because amongst us, there are some 50% of useless humans who vote in to support a corrupt regime. These people don't understand that if bodohland can eradicate corruption successfully, it means a higher standard of life for these pathetic idiots and their families.
written by mucking fuddled, October 11, 2008 14:55:32
kera kerala a/l kutty,
i would sure love to use big momma's knickers to wipe that smirk off your two-face....
are you not aware that every time you speak these days, it makes all of us feel like throwing up with revulsion....
those who are still blind to your deceit are slowly but surely dwindling...don't get carried away !
written by Tok Din, October 11, 2008 14:57:13
Unless there is an stronger political force to bring about change, we are doomed. Who can trust BN and Mahathir any more. We have murderer and crooks in power to trash the country in broad day light. We are doomed.
written by Kopi37, October 11, 2008 14:58:09
A man with so many baggage of dirty linens coming up to be a PM, the rakyat must inevitably get ready to be grilled and be downtrodden to the grave sooner than expected! With PR in the logjam, we all can merely pray hard to the Almighty Lord that we will be salvaged via the divine retribution served on the utterly brutal, fiendish, cunning and immoral characters that we all know of! Like the father like the son, the Almighty would have taken him away at his brevity of life from us who will suffer no more !
God has His voice to be heard, an admonition sufficient to forewarn those sinful and evil characters, that, the day of reckoning will be at his doorway should he continues to do all the evils and misdeeds that invites curses and condemns from the suffering rakyat! ......................
written by MAMR, October 11, 2008 15:07:28
My opinion TDM REQUIRED present DPM TO BE PM BECAUSE OF CERTAIN PROJECTS AWARDED TO HIS CRONY HAD SUFFERED COST OVERRUN IN BILLIONS OF RMs BUT STILL FAILED TO BE DELIVERED UNTIL TODAY.THE WORST THING IS ANOTHER BILLIONS OF RMs HAD BEEN INJECTED INTO THE PROJECT BUT STILL NOT YET DELIVERED. I strongly BELIEVE if DSAI were to pressure , present PM will buckle and MAY FORM ROYAL INVESTIGATION TO GET TO THE ROOT OF THE PROBLEM because we are talking of BILLIONS OF RMs of MONEY BELONGING TO RAKYAT.
written by doggone, October 11, 2008 15:16:29
written by EYFF, October 11, 2008 15:23:57
Before "retiring" Mahathir set up an "inner cabinet" of his henchmen that were suppose to run the Country by default and under his supreme command!

AAB and the cabinet would be just puppets and are to take order from the inner group.

However AAB did not kowtow to them and set up his own group of advisers (The Fourth Floor???)and try to do what is best for the Country!

Mahathir then tried his best to undermine AAB and replace him with his plan B, Najib, with all sort of lies, propagandas and dirty tricks using the Psychic Unit.

Apparently he appear to be successful but his scheme may blow up in his face and expose to all Malaysian what a corrupted and evil man he is the "Father of Malaysian Corruption"! Thereby will be his legacy! smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif smilies/cry.gif smilies/cry.gif
written by Kunta Kinte, October 11, 2008 15:25:59
Well written Zaid. Sounds more like reality. We will soon foresee the act of using the ISA becoming more effective to silence people. ISA is deemed to be abused further with the combination of Mahathir & Najib.
written by SamYap, October 11, 2008 15:37:45
Dr.DOOM IS BACK!

EXPECT HIS RETURN WILL BE ONE FULL OF VENGEANCE AND FURY! WE WILL HAVE TO BE MORE VIGILANT!
written by KKchan, October 11, 2008 15:42:10
Yes, Zaid. I agree with Astanee. What are you waiting for? It was during TDM's time that the NEP was abused and misused. Resign from UMNO as a matter of principle. Or are you still loyal to it because you were a beneficiary of the NEP to its full tilt?
written by temanmu, October 11, 2008 16:00:55
It will be "Barisan Najis" soon!

written by No nonsense, October 11, 2008 16:19:03
The title Double-headed snake does not fit him at all cause he is a hydra( a snake with many heads, you cut off one, two will take its place). He is cunning and sly. Amno will have more trouble with him around. He is not much better than Bird awi saying one thing today doing another the next. How come Amno can come up with such people God knows.These days Amno leaders are good at that. Malaysians must see all these fellows go one way or another. Anwar please give them your best shot get rid of them.
written by elmo world, October 11, 2008 16:26:12
Mahathitism = RACISM

this proud pakcik tot that without him M'sia would be finished...

BUT,

he will be another racist to finish Malaysia & Malaysians!!

GOD , pls save us

written by HamChak, October 11, 2008 16:32:46
I salute you la Zaid.
But becareful, that Botak may ISA you lorr.
Lets spit on Mahathirism (Racism to the core).
written by denkoh, October 11, 2008 16:36:21
Ladies and Gentlemen,

PM should be Anwar Ibrahim (he's got a vision)
DPM should be Zaid Ibrahim (he will make sure constitutional rights are protected)
Finance Minister should be Abdul Khalid Ibrahim (there is no hanky panky in him)

in conclusion, they are politicians with integrity smilies/smiley.gif

God Bless Malaysia
written by denkoh, October 11, 2008 16:37:37
I think anak ibrahim more reliable than anak kuty smilies/cheesy.gif
written by ahmadneil, October 11, 2008 17:25:01
This statement have nothing to do with the above persons mention.
Those who wants to rule us like Idi Amin,Saddam Hussien,Hitler etc will have testicle cancer.
written by StevenO, October 11, 2008 18:17:21
Mamak Kutty thinks he have not done enough damage to the Country.

Desperately need to come out of retirement to show his good friend Robert Mugabe a trick or two on how to milk the contry dry!!!
written by adan, October 11, 2008 18:19:42
AGREED DATUK ZAID .DR.M.HAS WORKED VERY HARD ( BY SCHEMING AND PLOTTING) SINCE HE RETIRED AS PM TO MAKE A COMEBACK AS PM BY PROXY. IT DID NOT WORK OUT WITH AAB SO HE HAD TO BE REPLACED. THEN HE TRIED WITH KU LI... THAT WAS NOT WORKING OUT., NOW HE IS BANKING ON 'INCOMPETENT' NAJIB (AND MYUDDIN )TO RETURN TO POWER TO COMPLETE HIS MISSION TO SAFEGUARD HIS LEGACY AND OBSCENCE WEALTH AND IN THE PROCESS DESTROY ALL THAT IS DEAR TO THE PEACE-LOVING MALYSIANS.
written by StevenO, October 11, 2008 18:23:21
[bMa*makKutty trying to outshine Robert Mugabe in running down the country!!
written by AsamLaksa, October 11, 2008 18:53:52
I do not get it why there are people supporting Najib for PM. It's this anything better than AAB mentality which will get Msia nowhere.

You want a PM, you should severely criticise the candidate be it Najib, Ku Li, AAB, DSAI, Muhyiddin, etc.. You want someone who will be good and able to stand up to criticisms. You have to look at their agendas and past performances.

What has Najib done so far and what has be promised to do? Can anyone enlighten me on his great achievements for Msia? I'm not talking about his alleged disposal side business and stud status.

It appears that UMNO has run out of credible leaders. Well, that's what you get when going up the slippery UMNO ladder is a matter of patronage and not about abilities. The last UMNO leader that had great potential even though I didn't like him back then and still not a fan of him is DSAI. I support his views, not the person.

In all honesty, I believed DSAI was a radical pro-Ketuanan Malay and Islamist leader when he was in UMNO. Well, I view all UMNO leaders that way and have not seen anything significant to change my views. Saying this, I view PAS differently ever since Nik Aziz came to power in Kelantan. If the hardline party PAS can change my views, what does it show of the purported moderate stand of UMNO?

Anyway back to Najib, his previous boss would not endorse him for the top post even though he has been in senior posts far longer than AAB, the most obvious candidate, has the pedigree and has massive support within UMNO. Instead TDM endorsed AAB to the top post knowing full well that AAB did not have the experience or the pedigree. Thus what does this say about Najib? Does TDM know something we don't? There's not even an open contest between the two. Is it to fulfil the RAHMAN? You make your minds up.
written by Fart Fart Wah, October 11, 2008 20:46:43
BANGKAI BERNYAWA....SUDAH MULA BERCAKAP!!!!

THE TALKING MAYAT WILL NOW BE CELEBRATING...WITH HIS SON

HERE COMES ANOTHER REIGN OF THE MTAMAKISM...
written by yy88, October 11, 2008 21:38:13
This MAMAK DOG will die a happy man but full of sins cos' he got to pull a puppetNjis as he wishes but keep accumulating his despiscable sins till he die.
Rosmah would swear sword with him to command the strings.
GOD will make sure he is just a slim line away from his dream.
written by atsanee, October 12, 2008 15:13:57
YB Zaid,
Lots of us moderate reform minded Malaysians have had enough of those in the corridors of power.

Even AAB sensed the severe shortage of brain power in his politicians when he opted to rope you and Amirsham in.

We are placing our hopes on PKR and DSAI not because we particularly like DSAI,
but because we we have common views and a common enemy.

Actually,we dont trust DSAI a little bit.

He comes on as very ambitious, not that committed to delivering on his promises,he may not be trully a man for all races as he claims and besides,
he went through the UMNO mill.
Surely, you dont get to the second top post without being one of them.
But,let's face it, he is the best we have got.

Besides this, his days on this side of the high barb wire fences are probably coming to a close.

Dato Zaid Ibrahim, Can we plead with you to come out join hands with the likes of RPK and Marina,Teresa Kok, Lim GE,Dato Dr Asri(former Mufti of Perlis) and form the next generation of Pakatan Rakyat leaders ?

Only then will we join up as fee paying members of PKR.
written by BORN FREE, October 13, 2008 09:57:09
Dont worry Zaid, the next PM wont be Najis, it will be DSAI.
We are all waiting for the change to happen, we dont not want
to be rule by a PM, whose name is tainted and a puppet of Chedet !