Home arrow The Blogs arrow The Corridors of Power arrow Wise Decision And A Class Act

Wise Decision And A Class Act PDF Print E-mail
Posted by Super Admin   
Saturday, 11 October 2008 01:55

Prime Minister Abdullah's decision to resign is wise.  That decision is good for him, his party, and most of all, for our nation.  I am certain it was not easy for him to reach that decision but in the end he did it, "guided by my conscience" and placing "the interests of the nation above all else."

THE CORRIODRS OF POWER

M. Bakri Musa

I applaud him, especially considering the intense last minute pleas by his many well-meaning supporters.  It was a decision that was not expected by many, yours truly included.  This is one instance where I am only too happy to acknowledge my misjudgment of the man.

Abdullah's plaintive admission, "I know I've not been doing well; it's time for someone else to take over," must come only after the most difficult introspection.  To admit to one's limitations is never easy, especially for a leader, as there are always supplicants and subordinates who are only too willing to filter the harsh reality.  Some leaders never get it at all.  Saddam Hussein went to the gallows still believing that he was Allah's gift to the Arabs.

I applaud Abdullah's wise decision for another important reason.  I never underestimate the potential multiplier effect of a single good decision.  Properly seized upon, it will lead to many other positive consequences.  Already judging from his resignation statement, Abdullah is now all the more committed to reforming the anti-corruption agency and the process of judicial appointments, among others.

Freed of the burden of his political future, and fully aware that these last few months could well determine his legacy, Abdullah will hopefully be more focused.

Dignified Statement

Abdullah ready set a standard of sorts in the dignified manner in which he announced his stepping down.  He made sure that his cabinet colleagues and fellow leaders in the Barisan Nasional coalition hear of his decision first, in private, and directly from him.

When he made his statement, it was a formal affair, surrounded by his cabinet colleagues and fellow UMNO leaders.  He also read from a prepared text; this was not the occasion to ad lib.  His tone was proper; his body language and emotions displayed appropriate.  He did not blame anyone, nor did he express regret.  There was no hint of personal disappointment or a sense of being betrayed.  Abdullah gave proper due to the serious occasion.

As well he should.  The country has been good to him; he had the privilege of serving the highest office in the land, granted only to a lucky few.

The content of his announcement may have surprised many, but not its timing.  There was no unexpected statement that would shock the audience and move them to public hysteria.  Nor was there uncontrolled sobbing of his supporters, as the embarrassing public spectacle that accompanied Mahathir's first announcement of his retirement.

When there are no public tears, then the question whether those displays of emotions are genuine does not arise.  As we now know from subsequent events, those earlier hysterical displays of affection as shown by the likes of Rafidah Aziz during Mahathir's announcement of his retirement were a fraud.  Those histrionics were more for public consumption rather than genuine expressions from the heart.

In his resignation statement, Abdullah wisely avoided anointing his successor.  He expressed only the hope that Najib would take over, and reemphasized that point in case it was missed.  This was not a lukewarm endorsement for Najib or an attempt at getting even with him, rather Abdullah's correct reading of our constitution.

The leadership of our land has to be earned.  It is not your private heirloom to be passed on to a member of the next generation who strikes your fancy.  Abdullah is correct in reminding everyone that Najib first has to win UMNO's presidency.

Abdullah showed great wisdom, besides not being presumptuous, in not even hinting who Najib should pick as his deputy should he win UMNO's presidency.

Abdullah's Five Goals

To his credit Abdullah articulated five goals he wished to accomplish in the remaining few months of his tenure.  I would be satisfied if he could accomplish two, or at most three.  Apart from strengthening the Anti-Corruption Agency and setting up the Judicial Appointment Commission, Malaysians would be satisfied if he were to establish an effective social safety net.

Those three objectives are not mutually exclusive.  On the contrary, they are closely related.  If we have a judicial system that has the respect and confidence of the people, that would go a long way towards reducing corruption.  And by eradicating corruption, then we would have enough resources to devote to helping the needy.  We have currently wonderful programs for the poor, at least they are on paper, but because of endemic corruption and abusive political patronage, those programs suffer through considerable leakages.

There is one major reform, supported by many in UMNO, that Abdullah could initiate.  That is, remove the current onerous burden placed on challengers to senior party leaders.  Instead, relax the rules such that anyone with the minimal number of nominations by individuals, not divisions, could compete.  When no candidate could secure a majority vote, then have a run-off election between the top two vote getters.

Abdullah's calls for a convention of his Barisan coalition parties "to improve inter-racial and inter-religious relations."  I respectfully suggest a more modest and readily achievable goal:  focus on improving UMNO.  Leave the coalition alone.  A clean, strong and effective UMNO will mean an equally clean, strong and effective Barisan.

Such a simple and easily implemented reform initiative would effectively dent the corrosive powers of the party's warlords that have created the cesspool of money politics.  By removing this onerous nominating barrier, the divisional meetings currently underway this month would become mute, at least as far as nominating candidates are concerned.  Perhaps then those meetings could become more meaningful with members using these opportunities to discuss substantive policy matters instead of trying to create camps around personalities.  That would also elevate the deliberative levels of those meetings to the benefit of the members and UMNO.

Only by opening up the nominating process and encouraging as wide a field of candidates as possible, could UMNO attract and produce its own Barack Obama.  All Malaysians, not just UMNO members, would then benefit.

Those four objectives, three for the nation and one for UMNO, are well within Abdullah's reach.  Focus on them, and Abdullah would be able to redeem his leadership.  That would be a legacy worth striving for.

Comments (40)Add Comment
written by Badaksumbu, October 11, 2008 02:07:11
Ya, sound alright. But the next phrase is Najib the Pime Minister

Najib may be no better than Abdullah, his recent statement, “Your respect us first, not we you” 

Najib was referring to the visit of Hindraf members to PM’s house during the Hari Raya. 

I asked a few friends before leaving the mosque today after my Friday prayer. Five out of five said they are just as scared as me. Because I told them I am damned sacred. 

Why? This is not the way I know how a government should work under what I knew of democratic system of government. Which simply means, governed by the people for the people. 

We might be facing an iron fist much worse than the hidden fist baling batu kind that Abdullah has. 

Let me say just what I feel. I know a fighter has to fight for the thing he is entitled to. If it is well within the law in democratic system, they couldn’t be treated as doing illegal. 

Ours, constitution is supreme no one else, unlike British is the Parliament and USA constitution works like ours. 

Our constitution is the safeguard, it has no relevancy in saying, and it’s not our budaya, that’s not our norm. One, it is dangerous to include budaya in the country’s law. Talking about one’s budaya when we are made up so many ethnics, second, our earlier leaders perhaps were far sighted than those we have today. That is why cultural is not included in the country’s constitution. 

But the real budaya should be is upholding justice and fairness for everyone. 

What recourse is available to the affected Hindarf’s family members when all doors are shut? I see Hindraf has the legitimate right, what would happen if it were UMNO members. If this were how the government deals with its citizens now, I would imagine the near future would be about the same if not worse. Next time could be other groups. 

Najib can stand in front of the international audience saying our government is democratic government, but every one of us should allow our mind to ponder around, look at the scale how democratic is our democratic. 

The statement by our future PM above is not the language that we familiar today, if it was not even in the past, wonder what’s in the store for the future. 

I can’t help but thinking, how to divert our country from shamble boleh to proud boleh.

Take a look at this; I am echoing what Barrack Obama says,” Change will not come if we wait for some other person or some other time. We are the ones we've been waiting for. We are the change that we seek.

Kadayan Journal
agree 124
Votes: +120
written by Spear Bing, October 11, 2008 02:15:49
Dear Dr. Bakri Musa,

You seem to be justifying the perpetuation of ethnic-based political parties such as UMNO, MCA and MIC. Do you think in this post-modern era of globalization, racial politics can play its functional role in bringing about racial integration by continuing to raise the culture of fear that is so glaringly evident in the UMNO politics?
Votes: +43
written by Spear Bing, October 11, 2008 02:24:32
Also don't forget what Najib had done in the past in raising the spectre of 'keris bathed in Chinese blood' . Could any one recall he did to the original franchiser of Kentucky Fried Chicken? There were many incidents what he did in the past, together with his cronies - sucking all the Havanna cigars and wining and dining until past early in the morning in the 5 star hotel.

Every one of us would like to move on and move forward, but somehow this memory flashes do make us shiver and fear to think what kind of person this PM-in-waiting is like, now with this great power he wields.
Votes: +70
written by zul4kulim, October 11, 2008 02:36:52
Paklah has to bury hadahri for good as najib is more islam glokal..http://1426.blogspot.com/2008/...elaka.html
Votes: +4
written by david28xxx, October 11, 2008 03:00:51
AAB doesn't has time for reform lar,he will be very busy erasing those evidence ACA might be needed,Campaign for his SIL,speed up the deal with eurocopter,sleeping and etc.BTW,those warlords remained will do their best to stop him from accomplishing the 5 goals he mentioned if he really mean it.
Votes: +8
written by SamYap, October 11, 2008 03:22:02
This piece of writing by M Bakri Musa has cheapened the hallowed space of Corridors of Power. Do you remember what RPK used to write under this column? Compare his articles to this piece of polishing UMNO's balls.

Bakri, I think you are a closet UMNOnik. If you are, just come out and say it aloud, don't play hide and seek, ok?
Votes: +50
written by atsanee, October 11, 2008 04:38:57
Bakri,
Who are you kidding?
The whole event was orchestrated by UMNO so what do you expect?

Pak Lah was Pak Lah till he became the PM and that was why he had his visions about a new Malaysia,a reformed judiciary and PDRM,Civil Service,a freer press and so on.

But these went against interests of entrenched interest groups,the chief of which was UMNO,that they set about frustrating AAB's every moves and his role was made even more untenable with the Election results in March and in Kepala Batas.

AAB did not resign.there was no two ways about it,he was kicked out by the very people he was supposed to lead.

Now they got someone who is more to their liking to replace him.
A President who is willing go along with whatever the Party dictates,even if it means championing Malay supremacy/ketuanan Melayu,even if it means invoking the ISA as and when the need arises so that there is not a person left to challenge its position,even if the keris has to be brought out of its sheath at more frequent intervals,even if it means a big YES to cronyism,nepotism and corruption,even if it means TDM is back in the driving seat.

UMNO is in good hands alright.

Well done UMNO,you are on top again and soon enough,the component parties will come grovelling again like old times.
Votes: +45
written by Kathy, October 11, 2008 05:22:14
I won't exactly call his decision to resign a class act. He was probably made an offer he couldn't refuse!
Votes: +24
written by alfchuah, October 11, 2008 05:35:17
I totally agree with SamYap and atsanee. What kind of article is this? No one said it better than SamYap - polishing UMNO's balls. No one wants to be bald - Bodohwi has been kicked out of office, he didn't resign willingly. Who would - when you have millions of dollar filing your overseas bank account? Rather than being thrown off the chair officially, he's saving his face by announcing his so-called resignation.

Oh please, with 2 elections in his belt he had so much time to reform - which of his reform programs were successful? And you think he can achieve the 5 goals in the next few months? A goal per month? He is proposing for a change, a change that will disadvantage the UMNO clan. He is losing power - anything he proposes in the Parliament will not be endorsed.

Musa Bakri please wake up and gargle with some mouth wash before you taint anymore of this space. I'm very close to calling you a disgrace.
Votes: +48
written by cahaya, October 11, 2008 07:16:07
To his credit Abdullah articulated five goals he wished to accomplish in the remaining few months of his tenure. I would be satisfied if he could accomplish two, or at most three. . .

Pak Lah may be wiser than we think! By promising to carry out his reform pledges (in the remaining months before he retires), he will put tremendous pressure on the next PM (whoever that is) to continue and complete whatever he leaves unfinished.

Pak Lah himself could accomplish one or more on his list: setting up a Judicial Appointments Commission, strengthening the Anti-Corruption Agency, setting up the Special Complaint Commission, abolishing the ISA, allowing all ISA detainees either legal defence or freedom. But whatever he has no time to do, the next PM will be expected to do.

In the end, Malaysia could see the reforms Pak Lah had promised (in his first term). Then Pak Lah will receive praise for those reforms. And one day Malaysians will thank Pak Lah for dreaming (about reforms)!
Votes: +6
written by JUST, October 11, 2008 07:26:11
"You assist an evil system by obeying its orders and decrees.
An evil system never deserves such allegiance.
Allegiance to it means collaboration with the evil.
A man of principles will resist an evil system with his whole soul.
Non-collaboration with evil is a sacred duty!

It may be long before the law of love will be recognized in
this beautiful country. The machinery of evil administration
stands in-between and hides the loving hearts of the Nation!"

Votes: +5
written by JUST, October 11, 2008 07:33:10
Reform? You can dream on! For another 50 years......
Votes: +10
written by DreamLady, October 11, 2008 07:52:55
Dr. Bakri, I notice there is a change in your tone, in regards of your concern for Malaysians as a whole. Where is the ISA issue you emphasized so much about in your last article? and badawi's rampant usage of the Satanic law? where is the passionate tone you have set ? Come on, be realistic, for the last 5 years, he stirs up so much shit, do you expect the rakyat to believe that he can do wonders within 5 months before finally he leaves office..

Get real, Dr. do not be swayed by emotions just because Badawi has finally made his own decision for the first time in his office.
Votes: +32
written by cillipepper, October 11, 2008 08:45:35
M Bakri Musa,
BN means Beban Negara.
You can bodek them till the cows come home.
I am the least interested.
YB DSAI and his Barisan Rakyat Government will remove the Beban Negara for a better Malaysia!
Votes: +19
written by sorosapril, October 11, 2008 08:52:45
the way i look at it, AAB was played out by his own deputy, all the while he thought his deputy was loyal to him, why was Muhyidin making so much noise after the by-election and Najib just kept quiet, could it be Najib was the one who asked Muhyidin to do so.

Just look at the speed Muhyidin announcing his intention for No. 2 and his show of loyalty to Najib.

Poor AAB, does not know once again his backside was sodomised.
Votes: +16
written by A MI, October 11, 2008 09:18:42
well I have seen this before..HENTAM HENTAM HENTAM then bodek to be invited to join ruling party.
Votes: +13
written by Liberace, October 11, 2008 09:23:04
Is this Badawi we're talking about? This dignified, wise man? Bakri, don't make him a saint. That job is already taken by our main stream media.
Votes: +16
written by prabalat, October 11, 2008 09:32:22
the government is adamant of their own interpretation of what the peoples wants and articles like this encourages them further.v can't claim the present government is inefficient when there r still people willing to accepts this.
Votes: +6
written by biggun129, October 11, 2008 10:33:45
The "FINAL" FIVE Penalty goals by AAB? Can we entrusted him to have all the balls in the goal? He was given chances to be a Professional Player but he screwed up and the Malaysian team became a loser, and now his subsitute, Malaysia is out of Premier League!!!
Votes: +3
written by onnetline, October 11, 2008 10:44:02
Pak Lah should have reforms put well in place before this critical announcement, which could be delayed and rejected indirectly by this carTUN from Kedah a.k.a. Najis's mentor or baby sitter.

This decision is indeed a poor one by this instance !
written by chiongguo, October 11, 2008 10:47:21
Whatever you could say about what Bakri said one could not deny that Badawi did it his own way. No ochestration, no clever rhetorics, no tugging at emotional string, no guilt tripping. All done in a very dignified way.

PM Badawi could perhaps be described as a person in the right place at the right time 5 years ago. Five years hence he was a person in the wrong place at the wrong time. He may be the shortest reigning PM in malaysia todate but he will be bested very soon when Najib do become the PM of Malaysia.

Votes: +1
written by ahvoon, October 11, 2008 10:59:27
March is still a long way from now. Mr flip Flop sleepy head may have other ideas up his sleeves. or at least his SIL might
written by temenggong, October 11, 2008 11:47:43
Mahathir jailed politicians and corrupted the laws. But Badawi is the one who jailed human rights activists.

Bakri's applause may be premature.
Votes: +13
written by clarity, October 11, 2008 12:50:53
The only reform we are getting is the change of weapons from the keris to C4. This time to ensure greater damage to the non malays.
written by Kampong, October 11, 2008 13:04:24
Bakri Musa writes a lot of cute articles, but wanting in substance upon real inspection. Sometimes he sounds too much like a UMNO apologist, and is as out of touch with the Malaysia's reality as those UMNOputeras, who are destined to the garbage bin of history. If we ever again accept another UMNO man to helm this great country of ours, it would be shame on us!!!!

Makes me miss RPK the more.
Votes: +17
written by kennyeu, October 11, 2008 13:49:45
I totally agree with everyone who has admonished Bakri Musa for this article. For me, I could not make myself finish reading the piece and that's a far cry from RPK's articles which I could never get enough of. This writing just seems irrelevant and I walked away with no more knowledge than I started.

RPK was always relevant. He wrote about things which speak directly to the hearts of the readers whilst at the same time enriching our knowledge and thinking.

Makes me miss RPK the more too.
Votes: +21
written by joeawk, October 11, 2008 17:51:15
Bakri must be a very happt man, now that Pak Lah has been kicked out.

Bakri appeared to have much about Pak Lah to grind all this time. I shall wait on his pieces about Najib or perhaps he will find reasons to stop writing thru MT.

As incompetent as Pak Lah may be, at least, he is a good amn to me. As for Najib, all malaysians are aware of what he stands for. Even his ringmen knows what he is, a bad, bad, bad man, definitely NOT, NOT worthy of malaysia's pmship.
Votes: +10
written by educationist, October 11, 2008 17:56:55
Wise decision - if he had resigned immediately after the March 8th and not forced to do so by his own UMNOputra warlords.
Yet the reforms he promised to pursue now, hopefully with greater zeal, is also close to the hearts of all Malaysians who want a more civil and democractic nation.
If he succeed as Dr Bakri says, just 3 of the 5, it will enable him to leave a legacy that he can be proud of, despite been forced out of office.
written by MalaysianFirst, October 11, 2008 19:31:33
Any politician or politicial party whose primary ideal is to vigourously, fiercelessly, and selflessly champion the advancement of our country and equality among its citizens is a REAL Malaysian and should likewise receive the maximum support vigourously, fiercelessly, and selflessly among REAL Malaysians.

In sickness or in health, in poverty or in wealth, in peace or in war, we should be ONE. Not ONE and the rest. There should be no conditions whatsoever. Anyone who does not believe in that, is a FAKE.

Even if he is the Prime Minister.
written by lynn, October 11, 2008 21:00:46
Dr Bakri,

You sounded like you accepted Najib as the next PM. That's terrible.
We rather have Badawi warming the seat until Anwar takes over.
Please, after 50 yrs, if there has never been any desire for reforms,
why would AAB or Najib carry out reforms now? Have one or both gone mad and stupid?

Reforms means long term jail time for all corrupt ministers!!!
Votes: +7
written by Lembing Tajam, October 11, 2008 22:08:53
Dr.Bakri,
Please not Najib and AAB.They will be history soon.Are you not twoard the UMNOist way of acting and thingking?All this are another political drama stage by UMNO in Bolehland.
written by malgal, October 11, 2008 23:18:08
A last spurt before the curtain call. Now pa lah has to accelerate his lofty reforms in months. If the mission could not yet be accomplished in the time frame, what then? An extended tenure?
Votes: +0
written by neos, October 12, 2008 00:30:49
Dr Bakri,

This one single article was enough to change my perception about you. I have used to read your articles atleast since 3 years ago, on and off. Hurm, Bak kata pepatah nila setitik rosak susu sebelanga (Nila= you above article, Susu= your previous articles)

Yes, we all miss our RPK so much !!!
Votes: +14
written by cekikdarah, October 12, 2008 09:32:50
May we see better days ahead.

And may we have RPK back as part of the check-and-balance on the new administration.

CekikDarah.com
http://www.cekikdarah.com/medi...n-wtf.html
written by legallybotak, October 12, 2008 12:00:11
Can he achieve this in 6 months if he could not do it in 5 years? The last time the pantry was bare after 12 months, will history repeats itself?
written by DontPlayGod, October 16, 2008 18:21:20
Sorry if I don't show any confidence in AAB accomplishing anything till end March next year. I have been following his rule from 2003, and if during the last 5 years he has not come up with a single reform, but instead have only shown lip service to even his own promises, then my bet he will just let the next 6 months slip by quietly, and then its 'bye, 'bye.
Votes: +0
written by DontPlayGod, October 18, 2008 21:32:43
If Najib becomes the President of UMNO and PM of Malaysia, it only goes to confirm one thing,and that is, racism, discrimination and ketuanan pays off for UMNO politicians and ultra's. Which means, Zaid, you don't fit into UMNO at all, unless you also subscribe to UMNO's ketuanan, racism, and discrimination.
Votes: +2
written by EUGTAN, October 20, 2008 09:54:22
The whole world is facing great challenges which only a country with leaders of integrity and ability can overcome. We have seen in Indoenesia, Thailand, the Phillippines and others gettign rid of corrupt leaders. Even in China, the vice mayor has been given a suspended death sentence for receiving bribes of US$1 million (a paltry sum compared to what the UMNOputras have plundered). So Malaysia is going backwards with its new leaders. Imagine what the foreign ambassadors are writing in their dispatches. Imagine the Malyisan diplomats having their eyes on the carpet when they meet their foreign counterparts knowing they represent a corrupt regime with a tainted PM and DPM.
Mahathir is pulling strings not at the back but upfront. The new leadership will not enter Mount Putrjaya wtih their heads held high. They will enter the gilded marble halls knowing that they are puppets of a master who is not even a member of their party. Where's the self respect?
written by astina, October 21, 2008 15:33:04
Still think that the PMship has to be decided by the masses instead of umNO members only.

PMship is not the personal heirloom of umNO to pass it from one thief to another flip flop and then to another scandal ridden puke !!
written by faridw, October 24, 2008 09:22:00
The Social Contract was relevant when it was first drawn up because there were so many people whose loyalties at that time could not really be established. After 50 years of nation-building by our sons and daughters born in this country, each contributing his sweat or his money, proving their loyalties in the process, it is time to relook at the Social Contract. Our children have contributed their share to nation-building and it is not fair to them to accept a contract that places some citizens as second class compared to another citizen. No contract is perpetual and must be reviewed as to its relevancy after a certain period. Those who claim that the social contract is written in stone are those who are not forward, positive thinkers but those who only feel secure by burying their heads in the sand or, like a frog, feels secure only under a coconut shell while the storm is raging in the whole world outside. The world has changed under globalization and this social contract is one of the factors making Malaysia falling back into the ranks of countries permanently grouped as Third World countries.

World Futures  Afghanistan is where Nato and the US are killing civilians indiscriminately. Is there a need to protest against such killings? Are YOU not concerned and don't you think you might be next?

Wellness Industry Is Booming!  Learn how you too can own a low capital home-based business to generate extra supplemental stream of income by using internet for these challenging economic times. You may earn RM1K up to RM10K a month working only 5-10hrs/week. Full system provided.

Home Based Business  Earn extra income $5000-$10,000 monthly, 24 hours a day. Just working part/full time from the comfort of your home. Legitimate business, have a most powerful product in the world. Register for FREE first to save your position in this powerful system.