Home arrow The Blogs arrow News/Commentaries arrow Core Islamic values the key

Core Islamic values the key PDF Print
Friday, 10 October 2008 11:26

KUALA LUMPUR: The basic Islamic values of justice, piety and compassion hold the key to resolving difficult issues relating to conversion, places of worship and inter-marriage, the prime minister said.

Datuk Seri Abdullah Ahmad Badawi said the hard work of understanding and living peacefully with other peoples and cultures was particularly relevant in Malaysia.

He said a research institution such as the International Institute of Advanced Islamic Studies (IAIS), which he launched yesterday, would play a leading role in initiating novel approaches towards solving contemporary problems faced by the ummah.

In his speech to launch the IAIS at the National Institute of Public Administration (Intan) building yesterday, Abdullah said he hoped to receive immediate counsel on controversial issues that needed solutions.

These included conversions and complications that arose when couples of different faiths dissolved their marriage, he said.

Abdullah added that he did not want such issues to continue to plague the multi-ethnic and multi-religious society of Malaysia.

"I hope to get views from other stakeholders as well, before engaging with agencies responsible for Islamic administration, to find solutions that will prevent controversies similar to those that have surfaced over the last few years."

Abdullah said the best Islamic scholars would be based at the institute to dedicate themselves to research that would enrich and contribute to the Islamic intellectual tradition. He also expressed hope that IAIS would reduce the confusion about Islam Hadhari.

"I still feel that Islam Hadhari has been misunderstood by many, especially the academics."

He said that IAIS would be most effective through collaborative efforts, working closely with the government, private sector and non-governmental organisations.

"In particular, these efforts would deepen our understanding of the principles of Islam Hadhari and allow for more practical applications in areas such as government policy and execution.

"If the ummah wants to reclaim its role as a civilisational force for good, then we must begin by correcting the errors of knowledge that plague the Muslim intellectual and spiritual spheres.

"Only then can Muslims begin to return to their rightful place as the ummatan wasataa -- people of the middle path."

Abdullah said he would like to see Islam Hadhari as a struggle to find the path of moderation among universal ideals that tend to be taken for granted.

"If governments and societies abide closely by the principles of Islam Hadhari, we will find ourselves well on that righteous path."

He said the dismal state of the ummah could be traced to the persistent tendency among Muslims to be obsessed over minor sectarian issues and lose sight of the greater themes that unite them.

"This leads us into error and confusion and results in conflict, eventually leading to disunity among the ummah and the inevitable decline and fall of Muslim civilisation."

- nst

written by ahmadneil, October 10, 2008 11:33:31
Show us your Islamic values,Syed the Anaconda.
written by michael chick, October 10, 2008 11:41:15
written by densemy, October 10, 2008 11:54:01
Another Islamic wank fest opened by Mr Hypocrisy
written by alpha100, October 10, 2008 11:56:27
Islam Hadhari? Without it we christian can use "Allah"! So what moderation u talking about?
written by Old Man, October 10, 2008 11:57:05
AAB, you can bring your Islam Hadhari into your retirement and into your grave! The sooner, the better!
written by DreamLady, October 10, 2008 11:57:55
Badawi, do not mention anything about core Islamic value, because you are not qualified to do.

The fundemental value of Islamic teaching is the purest: JUSTICE FOR ALL regardless of race or religions.

You have failed in the area badly, on top of it, you have committed the gravest sin on earth by inflicting satanic ISA LAW you robbed the victims' families of the husbands, of their fathers and their parents.
written by Tompios, October 10, 2008 12:04:13
"core islamic value is the key" of what? is the key for all people? dare you to apply islamic value to other! islamic value is for moslem alone. islamic value is really suitable and applicable for moslem. nothing more nothing less.

so, you non-moslem, do not complain if you give yourself to islam. do not try to cross non-islamic laws with islamic law. you will be a laughing sources of people around the world. see what happened to hamid the ISA phuker! two worlds! but still admit himself as a truest fighter for islam. great shame.
written by cheekhiaw, October 10, 2008 12:31:52
Pak Lah,

Do core Islamic values require one to stop a thief, liar and murderer from becoming the leader of an Islamic country?
written by lynn, October 10, 2008 13:10:25
We shld pass a law in this country making it a serious offence for any politician or any individual to exploit religion the way some of these guys have & got away with this despicable acts.

Either you are a govt servant and do your job well or get out. Keep religion out of politics and govt. It's a lethal mix!
written by A MI, October 10, 2008 17:32:14
Real exemplary behavior of "core Islamic values aint Sleepy for you to imprison innocent people without trial?
written by Futurist, October 10, 2008 17:52:44
Good and just common practices are enough to link the people towards harmony. No need for Islam Hadhari.
written by ahmadneil, October 10, 2008 19:43:34
Where is that mentally retarded Rentap?
written by Limang, October 10, 2008 20:21:55
Another one of his double-tongue and false speeches that preaches one thing but meant the opposite. If you look at the way he talks, he doesn't seem to know what he is reading or saying, and clearly does not mean it.

What a loser and useless bum! How on earth did become our PM? We the rakyat ust insist that in future when PR takes over the Federal government, PM must be elected by the people like is done in the US, not appointed by the biggest party.
written by Fart Fart Wah, October 11, 2008 01:26:26
CORE VALUES???WHEN HAS ISLAM SHOWN COMPASION AND MERCY????

RELEASE RPK..AND THE OTHER DETAINEES....HAS MERCY EVER EXISTED IN ISLAM???
KILL THE KAFIRS FOR THE RELIGION AS IN JIHAD???..AND YOU ARE PROMISED HEAVEN..AND 72 VIRGINS??? CAN SOMEONE EXPLAIN THIS TO ME???