'You respect us first Najib, not we you' PDF Print
Friday, 10 October 2008 11:24

'It is appalling that a public figure like Najib should ask the people of Malaysia to ‘respect' politicians, when they are the ones who are the servants of the people.'

On Hindraf-bashing 'politically motivated'

Sree Sudheesh: Najib Abdul Razak has urged Malaysians to respect leaders ‘...as rude behaviour targeted at those in power could lead to economic losses and national instability'.

This is an obvious reference to some Hindraf supporters' decision not to greet the PM, his deputy and his cabinet ministers during the Hari Raya Open House at PWTC. Maybe Najib is already looking forward to his time as the most powerful man in Malaysia and envisaging adoring, doting followers kissing his hand as he walks by imperiously, as if often the case in our country.

It is appalling that a public figure like Najib should ask the people of Malaysia to ‘respect' politicians, when they are the ones who are the servants of the people. Their duty is to serve the rakyat, to take care of the people's concerns and to ensure this country develops and fulfils its inherent potential.

And yet we have people like Najib who seem to forget that the only reason they are in those chairs today is because of us. Malaysians respect and honour the royalty, our Agong and the Malay Rulers.

We do not have to bend over and kiss the feet of corrupt politicians who are often implicated in scandals, corruption and even murder cases.

The signs from Najib, who is on the brink of becoming the country's next PM, are ominous. Here is a person who is more concerned about the people being subservient to him than in honestly and sincerely serving the people, the rakyat.

Dear PM-to-be, please change your attitude now or you will face even more opposition from the rakyat than your predecessor ever dreamed of.

Please be a servant of the people, worthy of the honour of the chair of PM - the highest servant in Malaysia.

- Malaysiakini

Comments (70)Add Comment
written by michael chick, October 10, 2008 11:30:09
agree 220
written by ahmadneil, October 10, 2008 11:30:47
We will show you who to respect who,during the next election.
agree 265
written by RichPoon, October 10, 2008 11:31:53
respect should be earned and given! i respect people like nelson mendela and gandhi who went into publice service to SERVE not be served!
agree 211
written by Bigjoe99, October 10, 2008 11:32:37
The man is just testing his messages to see what will fly or not. The idea is to see what reaction he will get and go from there...
written by ChrisLim, October 10, 2008 11:35:48
It is very clear that Najib is nothing better compared to Paklah. Instead of betterment, he will screw up more the economy. Just listen to what he said about the purchase of Indonedia bank. Cann't imagine we can let this kind of suck head become our leader. I support HINDRAF as this people must repect the rakyat and not the different way. We need to see how much we the rakyat had CONTRIBUTED and how much this so called leaders had PROFITED from us.
agree 116
written by SamYap, October 10, 2008 11:36:09
Looks like its a sign of things to come.

Why should anyone respect any politician? Does he (Najib) not know that respect must be earned?

And why should disrespect for any politician lead to economic losses and instability?

President Bill Clinton had his moment of national embarassment when he had to answer for the blowjob he received form the sweet lips of Monica Lewinsky. Was there any instability? Was the American economy affected? On the contrary, it was during Clinton's watch that the American economy was booming!

British PM, Tony Blair was dragged thorugh mud and blood over his decision to go war in Iraq, it even had the suicide drama and yet Britain had one of its finest economic moments this decade.

Hello, Najib...this is the new millenium and the rakyat are not stupid. You look like a fool instead, BEGGING for respect, cheh! smilies/angry.gif
agree 163
written by zarin, October 10, 2008 11:42:08
PM-to-be........... wonder whether he understand what this article is all about
written by Zapper, October 10, 2008 11:43:17
This kind of attitude is so pervalent among government leaders. They think that they are God and cannot be wrong.
written by mymastermind79, October 10, 2008 11:44:16
these bastards doesn't realize that they are paid by the peoples money for their salary. These ******* should actually bend down to greet people for still putting them on power not the other way round. Najib is just a servant not a KIGN! look at the way he speak yesterday, he behaves like an uncivilized bastard. Looks like his heading for a war with his war collection. Damn *******!
written by yteo2, October 10, 2008 11:44:27
Mahatir - Greedy Despot
Badawi - Lazy Despot
Najib - Greedy, Power-hungry, Lying, Murderous Despot

No way I am voting for Najib, No way am I voting for BN!

If Najib thinks that the people should submit to the rule of the government, I say WAY WRONG!

The philosophy of government was formed to serve the people, to better the lives of the people it serves, to give people security and to make sure the people live in a harmonious and safe society.

The government was not formed to encourage race based politics, embezzle the people's hard-earned tax money, lock innocent citizens when they feel threatened, and treat the people it serves as idiots.

Najib, DO NOT TREAT ME LIKE A DOG! I am human and I have my rights! And I will exercise my RIGHT to make sure you don't come into power!
agree 122
written by Old Man, October 10, 2008 11:44:47
Respect must be earned and not forced. If someone were to show me a Keris to demand respect, I would say, "Go ahead, you can kill me! Everybody has to die sooner or later but with dignity!"
I repect people like Sir RPK, Tunku Aziz and Zaid Ibrahim.
Got it?
agree 121
written by Delima25, October 10, 2008 11:46:20
To that "Man Of Questionable Innocence " I will like to remind that respect is earned, not demanded for. If I have doubts about a person's character, I am definitely not going to respect him/her. I will be being polite if I don't spit on his photograph.
For a person who is evading the natural law of justice in so many cases, it is highly unlikely that people will ever treat him with respect. If he can go through the normal process of law ( with withnesses in one piece and other witnesses not missing) and he is found to be innocent, then all Malaysias owe him a big apology for the extreme fitnah. However if his way of clearing his name is by using the might of the government, can we blame every Ali, Ah Kau & Aru for judging him to be guilty.
However please do not be worried that we have no respect for you. Ultimately it is my fervent hope that we can pay our last respect to you.
written by rayfire, October 10, 2008 11:50:46
This man does not earn my respect!
To make it worse, he made a hate speech moments before offering himself as UMNO President candidate!
He called on Hindraf and RPK supporters as "orang biadap" and "kita akan ajar orang-orang sebegini"!
No point having blog that says 1Malaysia when it is not in your heart LIAR!
You will NOT have my respect!
Comprende?
written by Kunta Kinte, October 10, 2008 11:53:19
When this culture is practiced for years, we too cannot expect a sudden change. These ignorant leaders are just not going to wake-up when the alarm rings. They expect to be treated like royalty. However, we will put the final nail in the coffin at the next general election.Meanwhile, keep the flame burning.
written by densemy, October 10, 2008 11:58:08
As I've always said, "Malaysians have no idea of what respect really means"

Here is proof positive
written by Mik, October 10, 2008 12:07:08
sounds like begging.
written by cheekhiaw, October 10, 2008 12:11:15
'You respect us first Najib, not we you'

People, you'w be lucky if that thief, liar and murderer does not blow you away first. With C4 on your house too...

written by alpha100, October 10, 2008 12:15:31
Very sad! Leaders begging for respect! Obviously they perceive that they are not being respected by rakyat! Their perception is right! So what they doing about it? Just blaming rakyat for not respecting them! And begging for respect? Very sad situation? With eyes but cannot see! With ears but cannot hear!
written by mucking fuddled, October 10, 2008 12:25:49
this is the sad fact, elite and lineage umno malays thinks they own the country...
if anyone had seen his address, it has 'ketuanan' written all over his speech....
from grassroots to civil servants to leaders they had been accustomed to think the rakyat owes them a living where as in reality should be the other way round.....
grassroots umno malays,when are you gonna wake up from your slumbers?
when are you gonna realise that your leaders are using you to personaly enrich themselves...?
written by Jit Dharma, October 10, 2008 12:30:10
We need to or we MUST...the statements againts Hindraf are meant to send a tremor of fear through the country, but we only feel more contempt for these
idiots and their toadies the MSM and MIC, MCA etc...
written by Little Sparrow, October 10, 2008 12:32:58
Wah, wah belum jadi PM sudah garang!This D***head still doesn't understand the meaning of 'respect'. Why don't he start from within his own party and tick off that 'fler' from Bukit Bendera for being biadap, kurang ajar and menghina other races??? Aiyah, PM in-waiting (wonder if it will at all materialise...) you are no better off than that sleepy head. Earn your respect for God's sake!!!
written by Sunnysoul5, October 10, 2008 12:38:18
In the next 5 months, there may have a lot of unexpected events happening.

Maybe NTR may make it to the PM position in March 2009. However, DSAI is still insisting that he has the number to form the new government. It is winners take all for this race to the finishing line.

It is interesting to watch who shall have the clinical finish to claim the trophy.

Who knows ABB lawmakers may join force with DSAI, along with other disgruntled ministers and MP's. The battle line has not been clearly drawn as yet, so it is too early to say who shall be crowned.

ABB may still hold the key to start the final countdown. Nobody will fight a battle lying down for sure.

written by HHKim, October 10, 2008 12:57:25
Let me drive this message to all political leaders include Najib:

" Respect Is ERANED, NOT Commanded"!!

How can we Malaysians respect non-competent and non-performing and corrupt political leaders in the country??

You must be out of your mind then!!
written by charli88, October 10, 2008 12:58:30
People with evil souls always say the wrong words and do the wrong things. Keep doing it. Keep sh^^^t the Rakyat. Syabas to UMNO/BN. So you can bury yourself faster. The only day UMNO/BN will reform and change is when they become the opposition in Parliment. Only then Malaysia will be reborn again.
written by KweN, October 10, 2008 12:59:00
Oh my goodness! A perverted old murderer wants us, innocent young and hardworking people to respect him! Is this a joke? tell me it is! =D
written by lynn, October 10, 2008 13:02:39
gawd, this guy najib is so unbelievable.

Look at RPK, did he ask us to respect him? He need not ASK to be respected.

But we naturally love, respect & support RPK 100%. Actions speak louder than words.

Najib, you are not even 1% of RPK, you are not even eligible to smell RPK's fart!

People, can you all pls stop referring to these flers as YB, or elite, or dato seri, or tan sri. just addressed them by names, is sufficient. No need to scrape and bow & behave like a peasant to all these govt servants. Remember, all these b**tards, they are merely civil servants, not VVIP, as some idiots like to refer them as.

The only VVIP and superior human among us is RPK - he is so above all of us & the whole cabinet combined!

written by Msian 2, October 10, 2008 13:23:40
Arrogance & low class mentality. If not for his dad, he would not be a VIP. What has he done for M'sia the last 30 years. The very precious foundation of unity in the country is not there -- only knows how to champion for the rights of VIP's & when he does say something for his own race, its lip service to buy support. Thereafter he forgets but steadfastly fatten the bank accounts of himself & his cronies. The country is better off without him being the PM. Looks like we have more painful years to pay for putting a sub standard layman to do a PM's job.
written by wood, October 10, 2008 13:25:02
So pitiful indeed , having to ask the rakyat to respect the politicians !!!!

People like RPK, Datuk Zaid and Tunku Aziz need not ask. People and the rakyat already will respect them !
written by z3_demarco, October 10, 2008 13:50:57
I believe its time to bring them down. But we need international help as well especially from the mongolian government. We need them to obtain informations from the France airport on the arrival of razak baginda, atlantuya, najib on the day they arrived. Who are their contact person in france, who was involved in the submarine deal. And which hotel did they stayed and dined, the camera shots and everything. No point asking the malaysian government to do that. Only these evidence can bring them down. Plus locate the useless PI Bala in British of Isles. We need foreign help, whoever knew any politicians from mongolia or contacts to Atlantuya family. We can seek their help and fast.
written by NRR, October 10, 2008 13:53:55
The statements and action against HINDRAF are akin to 'killing a fly with a sledge hammer'. We can see what our future is going to be with the new regime in power, especially the laughing stock of aspiring politicians for the second highest post. PM says he was not happy with the behavior of of some of the visitors to his open house. See what happened, every two bit politicians came up with their advise on how to do away with HINDRAF. Citizens are not stupid and do not fall for the stupid remarks by all those wanting to appear supportive of the ruling party. It is a laughable what some of these so called supporters want the govt to do against HINDRAF.
written by bigben, October 10, 2008 14:06:15
Hahaha. These UMNO morons, they kick your ass, lock your families up without just cause and they say you must be nice and respect them. What a joker this Najis is.
written by Ahjamal, October 10, 2008 14:13:49
Only stupid MCA MIC PBS will respect you. For 2008 onwards I am not paying any income tax not until Najib returns all the corrupted money back to the nation. This is my term of respect to him also goes to the Rosuah auction all the heavy stuff that our money was used.
written by mykantree, October 10, 2008 14:17:01
With such an attitude, and self belief that the people's respect is a given, this country will be in for more turbulent times, once this Najib ascent the highest public office of this country.It clearly shows that UMNO's culture of supremacy, self impotence and immotality, has not moderated an iota.

The rakyat must, for there are no alternative, wake up to this and sent them to where they should be, the dustbin of history, not later than the next GE.I for one, have lost complete hope that UMNO/BN can be the answer to this country's future.
written by Angela Ooi, October 10, 2008 14:21:24
Najis, get it through your thick head, respect is not a 'give', you HAVE to earn it. You respect others and the respect will automatically return to you.
Currently you are treating us with disdain and I certainly didnt want to shake your 'dirtied' hands. It is utterly disgraceful comment coming from a "leader" but then again, you ARE disgraceful and will be a 'put down' for our country.
written by JackWang, October 10, 2008 14:24:48
I have heard this many times. Even if you do not respect the person, at least respect the position. Lawyers will tell you even if they do not like the judge who is presiding their case, they have to respect the position of the judge.

Najib is wrong to ask the people to respect politicians. After all, not all politicians are MPs or ministers. What we need to do is to respect the positions these MPs hold. Like it or not, we have a govt, whether or not we had voted for this govt during the election. We cannot be going round the world and telling everyone that the present govt is not my govt. We can certainly criticise the govt if we do not like their policies. LGE put it correctly when he went to meet AAB after he was sworn in as CM of Penang. He acknowledged that AAB is his PM and he is going to meet his PM.

Govts must be changed only through the ballot box, not through other means. In 1998, when there were talks about foreign interference into Malaysian politics due in part to the financial crisis, I remembered LKS mentioning that the govt of Malaysia must be determined by the people of Malaysia, not foreigners.

As we go through the present events, let's continue to state our displeasure on the ISA and the incarceration of citizens under the ISA but remember that we do have an elected govt in place.

Cheers.
written by mikefonz, October 10, 2008 14:24:55
I saw Nabib on NTV7 and he look so arrogant when he was speaking on the incident calling ppl biadap. Look like we are going to be in hell with him taking over as PM. To me he's definately not the right choice to lead our Goverment. He's a hypocrite.
written by Counterpointer, October 10, 2008 14:29:31
Any leader AND public servant who does not see it fit to clear his name, no matter how small the alleged wrongdoing is, but instead only swears on his his holy book that he is innocent is definitely no leader deserving respect.

Put another way, do you people want a PM, who, when accused of having committed some wrongdoing, only swears on his holybook to certify his innocence, taking the rakyat for fools?
written by Liberace, October 10, 2008 14:35:04
Politicians are in office courtesy of the people's vote. They are public servants, not superiors, GET IT? If you do your job well, you are only doing your reasonable service and maybe we will vote you in again. If we don't like you, we can kick you out. If we like what you're doing, we might even turn you into a star.

You, Najib, is only where you are because of who your father was. I've met you and your wife on 3 separate occasions over the years. You 2 are the most snooty, arrogant people I've ever met. Who do you think you are Mr Public Servant?
written by MsiaCTzen, October 10, 2008 14:35:33
Don't do unto other and others will do unto you.

Respect must be earn......Najib and whichever politician must earn our respect not force.

Najib doesn't deserve any.......Answer your self to Altantuya's father.

written by Fuminari, October 10, 2008 14:40:14
"" Najib Abdul Razak has urged Malaysians to respect leaders ‘...as rude behaviour targeted at those in power could lead to economic losses and national instability'.""
1stly,are u fit to be recgonised as a leader??
2ndly,u are being fed with the hard earned tax payers' money,who should respect who in the first place??
last but not least,clear ur self from all the heavy luggages u are carrying thus far with total transparency first!pls do not taint the religion,it is not acceptable!
then,the rakyat can start talking about 'RESPECT"!get it????
written by bodohland_citizen, October 10, 2008 14:50:04
RESPECT ? Do you knoe what "Respect" Means ? Respect is not about killing somebody and swear in the name of God that you did not do it. Respect is noe about making RM 500 Mil in liquid cash and deny it. Respect is to be earned...so don't demand for it
written by ahmadneil, October 10, 2008 14:50:57
How to respect liars,corrupted,crook,murderers,racists,bastards,ass hole,cut and paste devils....etc.
written by budaktapah, October 10, 2008 14:53:01
I watched his speech on TV repeatedly....and could not believe..this so called the next PM ?? bugger have the mind asking the RAKYAT to RESPECT him...

allooo Mr Bangang....maybe you're so use to your Ammeno people kissing your ass...but puhhh lezzzz don't expect / ask other sensible & normal minded RAKYAT to respect you...

EARN your respect....cehhh bodo punya worang...basic tuh pong tak tau...
written by bodohland_citizen, October 10, 2008 14:53:21
Guess what ? Mahathir a.k.a "The Pharoah" is here again ! We are screwed after the calm !
written by Tornado, October 10, 2008 15:25:40
Remember the core of "DEMOCRACY"...

written by Kunta Kinte, October 10, 2008 15:40:05
The only way we can stop this No. 1 take over is if some shocking and strong evidence pops up on the on going murder case. The happiest person now must be Razak Baginda as he knows freedom is only months away.
written by harmanamri, October 10, 2008 15:46:17
Najib, this is how much I respect you....PISS OFF!!!!!
written by biggun129, October 10, 2008 15:59:35
Not all the YB is YB, and Najib is not YB but greatest liar on earth,he humiliated all the Malaysian by swearing in mosque that he do not know the mongolian girl,Najib may not respect us, but he always respect RPK, its because RPK,he had to fight for UMNO presidency post and be the next PM to save his neck!!!So, if we are to respect him, you will find yourself landed in Kamunting, why take the risks to respect him and to earn respect from him !!!
written by shangrilapeace, October 10, 2008 16:25:39
If you don't respect us, fine.
We too don't respect you, fine.
But as a politician not a leader yet,
Please hear ...
Respect God!
written by BORN FREE, October 10, 2008 16:50:48
Respects are earned not by forcing !
Go back to school to learn the basic of live !
written by cruzeiro, October 10, 2008 16:55:46
While don't exactly approve of Hindraf's "loud" methods of expression,
Najib's demand for respect is shameful,
when he cannot see why he/Umno hasn't earned it.
You Unmo goons asked for it!
"Reciprocity" is the word here.

The title of this article says it all .....
written by Kathy, October 10, 2008 17:14:03
The current leaders are dinosaurs. Don't they realise that in today's world respect has to be earned? You do not automatically get respect because you are a member of the cabinet!
written by bengali kunday, October 10, 2008 18:02:23
3 points:

1)1st comment posted, I think she's a fine looking citizen. Lets have more of that.

2)BN ruled for 51 years, they will rule for further 51 and do you know why?

3)because Malaysian lot are all mouth and no action. You proved that in last Genenal election.

Now, get back to work !!

written by Futurist, October 10, 2008 18:05:40
We have a Finance Minister who can deduce that rude behaviour can lead to economic losses. Please do your work properly and the country can prosper. Otherwise, stepdown and DSAI can do better.
written by mara koman, October 10, 2008 18:14:23

what utter nonsense is this man,,,

Why should i respect you, najib and for the matter any of you..
You are not my father or my mother to respect you.

You are put there to do a job, just like any other citizen of the country.

If you brain is working properly you will know ''respect '' should not come into the picture at all.

You are talking about running a country, where full trust put on the gvmt to take care of each and every rakyat,,

I will respect leaders like mahadma gandhi, or abrahim lincoln not arrogant umno putras..
written by Apache3, October 10, 2008 18:30:21
This PM wannabe slime ball is asking for respect?? Did you respect the rakyat when you waved the keris? Bloody hypocrite of the 1st degree.

I have this as respect for you PM wannabe.....

MPs / Senators - "Will Bend Over For Money"
written by obewan, October 10, 2008 18:30:40
What is scary is not so much that Najib may be PM soon. What is really really scary is that despite it being obvious that Najib is not the best ( and I am being very very generous here) man for the job, ther are actually many, many people( granted they are from UMNO and therefore, not the brightest) who supports the idea. What the heck are these people thinking!!!!!
written by Amicus Curia, October 10, 2008 21:39:43
My Dear Pee.M. to be, Politicians are only ADMINISTRATORS of the government that are put there by the people (This is debatable if you take into account postal votes). It is you that has to respect the people first and then ONLY THEN they MIGHT respect you. Another important thing to remember is that RESPECT IS EARNED. If you deserve respect you will be given respect, obviously you don't deserve any.
written by Sabahfan, October 10, 2008 21:43:23
THIS MEANS that the Malays in UMNO putras have yet or never never learnt any lessons at all..

Just look at you chosen NEW PM elect....

Has not even become PM and yet the ARROGANCE already prominent..

god saves our souls when he becomes the pharaoh...

go on Malaysian..bury UMNO in hell
written by FuLinYu, October 10, 2008 22:05:33
Najib's name is spelt ARROGANCE!
written by buaya, October 10, 2008 22:30:13
Najis is much worst than pak lah. Pak Lah only flip flop, but if Najis become PM, more tragedy will happen. I think he will first use ISA on DSAI, to secure his PM job. He look more like a dictator to me.
written by HHKim, October 10, 2008 22:40:59
F### him-lah respect!! And you can go to hell!!! Dog... dog... dog....
Tiu nia mah .... ham kah chan.....
written by Daryl, October 10, 2008 22:49:50
Najib Abdul Razak has urged Malaysians to respect leaders ‘...as rude behaviour targeted at those in power could lead to economic losses and national instability'.

Good leaders will accept advice if they deem good for them or if it is bad they will counter with reasons not threats. So what say you Datuk Najib that want to bath the 25% of Malaysian blood with your not so big Keris? If you cannot accept contructive criticism how can you bring changes to Malaysia.

My prayer is " God please deliver us from the evil call Barisan Nasional and into a just and fair government."
written by Commonsenses, October 10, 2008 22:51:11
well najib will bring ketuanan UMNO to the extreme, just u watch!
written by MalaysianFirst, October 10, 2008 23:04:27
In the middle of the night…..somewhere in KL…

Losmah: Honey, you love me or not?
Lazak: Hmmmmm…yes…I..do…zzzzzzzzzzzz, snore, snore, oink, oink...zzz
Losmah: You sayang me or not?
Lazak: Hmmmm…yes, I sayang you…Altantuya….oink, oink...zzzzzzzzz
Losmah (jumping out of bed now) : Boogi langsat!!!!WHAT DID YOU JUST SAID!!
Lazak: Hmmm (blurry-eyed)…..huh..what, what did I just say????...zzzzzzz
Losmah: GET UP YOU SON OF A BITCH!!!!!
Lazak: Hello…..gimme some respect okay? I am a politician okay?...zzzzzzzzzz
Losmah: Diu niah sing! Fug off!! You fugging orangutan!!!!
written by Fart Fart Wah, October 11, 2008 02:04:30
give me some respect????

politicians should earn their respect...as servants...

what next..put the whole of MALAYSIA UNDER ISA WITH EVERYONE
HANDCUFFED TO A C4?????
written by Fart Fart Wah, October 11, 2008 02:06:26
A TONGUE FIT FOR CUNNINGLINGUS!!!!!AND THE TRUTH IS OUT...ROSMAH!!!!
written by JulieT, October 11, 2008 08:50:56
It is indeed frightening to have Najib to look forward to as Malaysia's next PM! Just looking at those cold, glassy protuberant eyes send shudders down my spine. How can Malaysia have a PM who is tinged with scandals of corruption and murder? As it is, Malaysia is now cast last in line of Asean economies - and with Najib as PM, we will be cast into oblivion. Nobody takes Malaysia seriously anymore - we are a laughing joke in the world.
written by advocatusdiaboli, October 11, 2008 12:28:37
Najib, remember this, what goes around comes around. Shove some C4 up ur ass to clear out all the shit in it once and for all.
written by Dongra Dude, October 11, 2008 17:09:50
Dont demand respect. A true leader will be cherished by all and ass lickers. If you are clean and charismatic leader, even a dog at the road side will wag its tail in appreaciation. What nonsense are you talking my uncertained future PM?