Home arrow The Blogs arrow Special Reports arrow Candle-light Vigil in PJ on every Sunday (Revised)

Candle-light Vigil in PJ on every Sunday (Revised) PDF Print E-mail
Posted by Super Admin   
Friday, 10 October 2008 11:01

Venue: Padang in front of Amcorp Mall, next to A&W Restaurant, Petaling Jaya (Google Map)

Time: 8pm

Date: Every Sunday starting 12th October, 2008

Come one, come all. Please bring along your own candles (red & yellow) & wear your RPK t-shirts. T-shirts will be available for sale on-site subject to stock availability. Let's show our support to RPK & family, and all of the ISA detainees.

Supporters of RPK & Malaysia-Today

Comments (36)Add Comment
written by ahmadneil, October 10, 2008 11:13:22
This time my parents and my relatives are all joining in.Come and show our force,please.RPK will be proud of us.
agree 154
Votes: +151
written by michael chick, October 10, 2008 11:20:15
agree 184
Votes: +180
written by Wisdom above, October 10, 2008 11:35:57
The Earth Trembled, the Sea Roared.

The Trees claps its hands, the grass of the fields bear witness.

Let's continue to Fast and Pray for Wisdom , Peace and Tranquility to prevail.

RELEASE RPK, and all ISA detainees. ABOLISH ISA NOW!

My salute to all Peacemakers.
Votes: +96
written by michael chick, October 10, 2008 11:53:27
Dear Simha, Najib is known to practice multiple faiths. What's adding another one to his list.

Cheers Dude...
Votes: +72
written by chuchueey, October 10, 2008 12:59:10
My entire preoccupation for the next so many weeks will be at the Sessions Court in PJ and wherever candlelight vigils there are in Klang Valley - to stand in solidarilty with our beloved RPK and the other ISA detainees.
JUSTICE AND FREEDOM TO ALL!!!!!
Votes: +55
written by HHKim, October 10, 2008 13:11:20
I love this funeral procession as it reflects the truth.

Syabas Malaysians, united we stand!!

All corrupted leaders MUST GO for good!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Votes: +67
written by HHKim, October 10, 2008 13:12:46
Sebelum jadi PM, sudah nak bagi warning kapada raayat Malaysia!
Votes: +74
written by ahmadneil, October 10, 2008 14:44:15
Michael Chick,you deserve Nation highest award.One vote from me!Job well done.
Votes: +46
written by ahmadneil, October 10, 2008 14:45:34
Put this photo everyday,please ,Michael Chick.
Votes: +35
written by awakened, October 10, 2008 15:48:03
DARE TO DREAM? you must DARE TO ACT. If DARE NOT ACT, STOP DREAMING of a better Malaysia for your children.

It's time to step up on the plate and swing. Ordinary Malaysians - senior citizens, professionals, office workers, labourers, students, farmers, taxi drivers, etc have SPOKEN in the Mar 08 GE and NOW will continue to speak against the ISA tyranny against RPK and the Hindraf 5.

We will be there!!!!
Votes: +33
written by cheemengwong, October 10, 2008 17:40:27
Dear Michael Chick,

I am indeed saddend to learn of this guy's demise...
How did you die? Was it peaceful? Did he suffer much? How come the wife did not lead the procession which is customary? Did she left him? So sorry for the deceased that the monks have to carry his picture.

Additionally, was he cremated or buried? Did the children came and wail and cry or did they hire professional mourners? Did the deceased have a good life on earth? Was he a good man? Did he do any charity?

He looks a bit overweight. Did he died of a heart attack? How old was he? Does his relatives missed him?

There are thousand and one question I want to ask but just don't know where to begin.

If my recollection is correct, I have only seen him once with a Keris in Hand waving menacingly at some crow.

There were pictures of him with a pretty Mongolian girl who is death now. Someone claim the girl was his girlfriend but I am uncertain.

Please more pictures please.
Votes: +33
written by Kunta Kinte, October 10, 2008 19:17:50
Will be there on Sunday.
Votes: +13
written by Kopi37, October 10, 2008 19:47:36
Yes, go in drove and attend the vigil whenever and where ever there is! This is to keep the flames glowing and the fight must be going on! We want RPK out sooner, we must do whatever it takes to achieve it! RPK is now being fettered and he can't do any damn thing under the animals' watch! We can and we must do something for him, on his behalf!

There will be another candlelite vigil in Penang tonite at 9.00pm at Dewan Sri Pinang. It's about to rain now and I am ready to go now! Despite the rain showers, our emotions are hot and flaring high! For RPK, I feel I am obligated......................! So brethrens, pls do your part too!
Votes: +20
written by Kuku Burung, October 10, 2008 19:51:17
The Najis funeral procession is so touching....sob..sob... I am going to miss him.... Where will he be going? How about that fat Rossie? Please give her a beautiful funeral as well... may be open cremation.
Votes: +19
written by KotaDamansara73, October 10, 2008 19:54:14
We will bring in 100 people. Please go there. There will be no politicians involve. This is a peacefull gathering by normal citizen.
Votes: +19
written by Amicus Curia, October 10, 2008 21:07:36
No guilty person can escape the justice of God. His justice will prevail and all guilty parties shall face his punishment which is greater than any human form of punishment. All religions are against the ISA.
written by HHKim, October 10, 2008 22:02:55
Dear Michael,

Who is this stupid fool in the picture? How come I heard that the future PM of Malaysia looks like him?? Are you sure the picture is correct?? Or am I having a blur vision?? Or is he on pre-mature death??

Anyway, I don't like his face at all!!!
written by Krepot, October 10, 2008 22:11:53
Is Najib and his pet hippo the most hated person and animal in Malaysia respectively?
Votes: +18
written by Beezee_Beezee, October 10, 2008 23:03:08
Ophss....12th Oct is my th Birthday...I will definitely light up 5 candles but not on the cakes but for [Candle-light Vigil]..>>>>

HIDUP RPK HIDUP HINDRAF and HIDUP PR....

GOOD BY TO SHA and UMNOputras...Adious migos Gringus...
Votes: +9
written by captmarco ramius, October 10, 2008 23:03:51
Dear Brothers and Sisters of Malaysia Today & Makkal Sakthi Micheal Chick,

I seem to have problem viewing the photos loaded by Micheal.Can anyone please help me with this ?.Thank you.My email is This e-mail address is being protected from spam bots, you need JavaScript enabled to view it or This e-mail address is being protected from spam bots, you need JavaScript enabled to view it

Would greatly appreciate your assistance.Thank you.

VALGHE MAKKAL SAKTHI !!!

Votes: +8
written by arazak, October 11, 2008 03:08:12
We have a carbon copy of Imelda Marcos next to the PM in waiting. Expected the nation to be getting iron-fisted rule in years to come, worst than the Marcos regime. During the Marcos regime, political opponents was taken from their homes in the middle of the night and they never came back thereafter. Remember. . ., the assassination of Baguino Acquino who was killed just as he came back from exile at the Manila Airport? The murder case points all the way to the person ruling the country (sounds familiar?)

If you think ISA under PM Bodohwi is cruel. . ., with this next PM the worst is yet to come.

I am not trying to spook you guys. . ., consider this track records; waving the keris and wanting to "bathe it with Chinese blood" (he had never apologize to this statement). The sadistic way surrounding the Mongolian beauty murder case (not enough with close range shooting, the body was blown to pieces. . ., real sadistic). Like a tyrant telling the rakyaat to respect him (shouldn't respect be earned and not forced upon?). Robbing the rakyaat hundreds of Ringgit even before becoming the PM (what now if he is at the helm?). All these are signs of a despotic, iron-fisted dictator. Anybody wants to rebuke these facts?

Thinking about these things and considering with all the characteristics portrayed by this person in the past send the cold shivers down my spine!

I am scared. . ., really, really scared!
Votes: +20
written by arazak, October 11, 2008 03:10:39
Shold be ....Robbing the rakyaat hundreds of million Ringgit even before becoming the PM (what now if he is at the helm?).
Votes: +11
written by farah, October 11, 2008 10:44:08
captmarco....
i had problem too. But when i printed, 'CANDLE LIGHT VIGIL....venue information only (1) page, the UPLOADED PICTURE WAS PRINTED OUT. You can try in case you have not seen.
Votes: +3
written by Kopi37, October 11, 2008 13:41:38
Due to the heavy down pour before the candlelite vigil at Dewan Sri Pinang last night, the turn ups were slightly reduced to 200 odds supporters only! More of from Hindraf group and some might be only MT members, including some few bloggers. The MP of Bukit Mertajam Chong Eng was giving her speech and she did express that in order to make the voices and movement of 'Mansuh ISA' louder and stronger, the more people supporters the merrier! It seemed like people are contented with the situation and the draconian ISA is none of their concerns! It's a kind of mentality which is the fatal weakness the Power that be catch hold of the people and continue to suppress them, knowing they are non-challant most of the times to issues not affecting them directly, until and unless the fire has burnt to their threshold, they will only force to run out the houses and yell for helps and join the force of protests! They only take care of themselves and others like RPK's sacrifices for them was taken for granted as if RPK is the only one who ought to do these sacrifices for them! They are thus lackadaisical and non-empathetical to think of an urgent need to help and do their parts to how to rescue RPK out from the hell hole with due urgency! This is very selfish kind of attitudes which only help fail whatever good cause that's initiated and prompted by RPK and other freedom fighters! It will only be successful we all take the same efforts to sacrifice together on our parts otherwise the reforms or insurgence will befallen in vain! It's meaningless and unfair for only RPK and family to be sacrificed for a cause which is good to benefit all of us and we do not do enough for Him in times of needs of our efforts!

What happen to the opposition parties? I saw less of the so-called PR component Party leaders coming out to lead the force and mostly are the NGOs! They have now become the State Governments and wish to play safe?! Or they have the ace up their sleeves? Have they forgotten that RPK was the one who helped to blow up the tzunami 308 and not merely DSAI's charisma! I for one supported DAP this time round 308 mainly due to the belief in RPK that Umno is dirty and rotten to the core which warrants us no future!

It did not bode well to me by seeing so little response from the public to come together to voice for ISA abolishment and release of RPK! Writing good essays with flying colors in MT is one way to keep up with the flames! To ensure RPK's sooner release, we all ought to do more, so much more to do to have our heads counted! Actions are more important than eloquent rhetoric in this confrontation in the street fight with the corruptible Government that be!!!! God Bless RPK's safety and his soon release!
Votes: +16
written by tenang, October 12, 2008 11:46:44
Bagi sesiapa yang nak membantu Raja Petra and ingin menggunakan prinsip democrasi untuk membebaskan Raja Petra, disini adalah butir-butir yang saudara-saudari boleh gunakan: http://malaysiacivilright.blogspot.com/; Action Proposal #003.

Kami juga ingin menjemput sesiapa yang nak menterjamahkan karanngan "Action Proposal #003". Kami berpendapat gerakan democrasi mestilah bertanjongkan majoriti; itu bermakna dalam negara ini mereka yang bercakap Bahasa Malaysia mestilah diajakkan menyertai gerakan akar umbi democrasi. Kalau berminat menterjemahkan "Action Proposal #003" bawah http://malaysiacivilright.blogspot.com/, sila hubungi Shiou ( This e-mail address is being protected from spam bots, you need JavaScript enabled to view it ) serta-merta kerana "proposal" itu "time-sensitive".

Shiou
written by Fatcat, October 12, 2008 12:46:44
Go Go
Votes: +4
written by Futurist, October 12, 2008 17:26:07
Swami Ji performed the final prayers.
Votes: +2
written by spliff_roller, October 12, 2008 18:47:30
"The truth is an offence, But not a Sin"
written by justinlian, October 12, 2008 21:55:22
Today the vigil in PJ consider ok.
Gradually there is more and more people but still not enough, we need more to fill up the empty space.
Politician was there am glad they turn up.
Still the people was abit scare but nevertheless others were there.
written by kksam, October 13, 2008 13:46:14
I think yesterday's vigil is good, because the date was revised later, and the rains, with 300 peoples, i think that is good. Hope to see more people next sunday.
Yesterday's photo http://kkitsam.wordpress.com
Votes: +2
written by renoir, October 13, 2008 16:48:41
kksam wrote:
>I think yesterday's vigil is good, because the date was revised later, and the rains, with 300 peoples, i think that is good.]]

It was indeed a good meet.

I walked down the Taman LRT steps at about 15 minutes to 8, and it was already very dark. I couldn't recall a padang in front of AmCorp Mall, but was lucky to get directions from two guys - one I recognized as "Zoro" - walking past the A&W restaurant. Turned out that the padang was across the road, and not directly in front of the mall.

Quite a lot of people, perhaps about 50, were already there. Some brought along their kids, which was a great thing as it's never too young for them to learn the responsibilities of citizenship. There were many older men and women, but also, delightfully, the younger set as well. Though asked to bring red and yellow candles, many had white ones and some with rather small versions too, much like birthday candles. I used a cardboard, pierced for the candle to slide through, in order to protect the hand from hot wax, but there were innovative people who slid the candle through transparent plastic cups which also served to shield the light from the slight breeze in the coolness of an evening after shower.

Some people stuck the candles on the paved flooring - an area with concrete seats next to the padang - and I remarked to a newfound friend that it looked like an occult ceremony. The arranged candles, together with a larger anti-ISA pattern designed by another group, gave me mixed feelings. Humankind often supplicate the occult when they cannot do things for themselves: we often turn to the magical or supernatural for powers we don't have. And - despite the warmth and camaraderie and optimistic expressions of folks gathered there - this is the situation we're in. I'd thought of saying a few things after the speeches of Harris and Bernard Khoo, but decided not to dampen the enthusiasm of the goodhearted crowd. Moreover, as Thomas Peacock once wrote: "Much that well may be thought cannot wisely be said."

But it's necessary to accept that, after the failures of the Left in battling British imperialism, Malaysians no longer have the revolutionary traditions they could draw on. Worse, government oppression has resulted in a largely sullen, passive citizenry, in a populace that decided, under the circumstances, to think only of themselves and their families rather than society or the nation at large. This is truer of the non-Malays than the Malays, so it's not surprising that the latter are often more politically active. The unjust persecution of Anwar, however, had resulted in non-Malays becoming more politically aware, and by extension more involved. But leadership and political activism remained a largely Malay affair. This trend is fortified by a government that denies much of non-Malay rights - even the right to question the privileges of the ruling party - and by the non-malay feeling of having no stake in the country. The recent rebellion at the general elections thus was unique, a happening provoked only by the most kurang ajar attitude of certain government ministers. When insults after insults piled in during a time of economic distress, a general feeling of "enough is enough" was expressed at the ballot box.

Will this anger against BN, and specifically UMNO, last? Chances are that it would, as that party cannot rein in the extremist actions of their brainwashed flock. Thus Malaysians have been treated to spectacles such as the use of molotov cocktails against Teresa Kok, and the diatribes of those at the lower end of the UMNO hierarchy such as that Ahmad something from Penang. Indeed, because of our poor education system, even those relatively higher-ups, like the former Selangor MB, cannot resist statements that reveal their buffoonish nature.

But it's still an uphill climb, so far as real change in government is concerned. The recent ascendancy of Najib isn't likely to improve matters, and things might become worse if Mukriz takes over some day (though he's reputedly a nice person, it's debatable he could escape the influence of his father).

A new and progressive Malaysia, therefore, is unlikely to be realized through government change, but a change in government might. Thus the people's hopes rest on the shoulders of PR, and for the present, the ability of Anwar to bring this about in the shortest possible time.

Meantime, we've got to free RPK and all ISA detainees.

Votes: +15
written by blackpea, October 14, 2008 12:44:40
Is it true? I heard 2 hippos ("badak-s") going to run this country soon. Goodness, I wish Steve Irvin is still around.
Votes: +6
written by astina, October 15, 2008 10:57:04
Will make it there this sunday ...
written by Alice, October 17, 2008 09:06:16
The least we can do is to attend these Vigils and build bonds among good people.
written by Jit Dharma, October 17, 2008 22:44:04
Will be there on the 26th.I fear that with the banning of HINDRAF, these vigils
might be next. How little they respect the people.We will fight them,yes we will, however long it takes.
Votes: +1
written by xavica01, October 24, 2008 16:11:55
It's Deepavali eve this Sunday. But i will still go for the Candle-light vigil.
Votes: +1

World Futures  Afghanistan is where Nato and the US are killing civilians indiscriminately. Is there a need to protest against such killings? Are YOU not concerned and don't you think you might be next?

Wellness Industry Is Booming!  Learn how you too can own a low capital home-based business to generate extra supplemental stream of income by using internet for these challenging economic times. You may earn RM1K up to RM10K a month working only 5-10hrs/week. Full system provided.

Home Based Business  Earn extra income $5000-$10,000 monthly, 24 hours a day. Just working part/full time from the comfort of your home. Legitimate business, have a most powerful product in the world. Register for FREE first to save your position in this powerful system.