Home arrow The Blogs arrow Special Reports arrow No easy path ahead for Malaysian PM-in-waiting

No easy path ahead for Malaysian PM-in-waiting PDF Print E-mail
Posted by kasee   
Friday, 10 October 2008 10:32

Analysis by David Chance, Reuters

Malaysia's deputy premier Najib Razak looks to have an easy path to the top job in ruling party elections in March, but an unseemly scramble for power around him could damage his efforts to rebuild the government.

Najib was effectively handed the premiership of Malaysia when Prime Minister Ahmad Abdullah Badawi said on Wednesday that he would stand down in March as the leader of the main ruling coalition party, the United Malays National Organization (UMNO).

Despite one declared challenger, the party presidency looks to be settled but the battle for deputy and other posts will be messier.

Horse trading and "money politics" as officials lobby to get closer to power could further taint the image of the party that has ruled Malaysia for 51 years.

"The realignment of backers and allies, and the race for power and positions, has begun," said Zainal Aznam Yusof, a respected Malaysian economist and a member of a government council set up recently to deal with economic problems.

"One dreads to hear the sound of money greasing the wheels of UMNO," Zainal wrote in an editorial in the New Straits Times.

That could damage Malaysia's chances of attracting new investment and fending off the fallout from the global financial crisis, which is set to cut demand for its exports.

Local investment bank CIMB this week cut its 2009 growth forecast to 3.0 percent from 5.0 percent.

After decades in power, corruption and nepotism have grown to plague UMNO and the entire Barisan Nasional governing coalition, alienating core Malay voters who feel they have gained little while party leaders and the elite have prospered.

It was a pledge to stamp out corruption that won Abdullah a landslide victory in elections in 2004, and the failure to do so saw the government slump to its worst ever election result in March 2008 and eventually forced him out of office.

Malaysia's ranking in the Transparency International corruption index fell to 43rd from 37th during his tenure.

Najib's possible challenger, former finance minister Tengku Razaleigh Hamzah, said corruption was on the rise in UMNO.

"I have received numerous complaints of money politics, and I hope the Anti-Corruption Agency will take action against the culprits," Razaleigh was quoted as saying in the Star paper.

While Najib is viewed as a stronger leader than Abdullah, he is still vulnerable to attack by the opposition, which is riding a wave of popularity under new leader Anwar Ibrahim.

Anwar, himself a former deputy prime minister, used arms procurement contracts undertaken while Najib was defense minister to attack the government in the election campaign.

When he formed his new government after the March elections, Abdullah was forced to defend Najib, saying there was no proof he was involved in any corrupt activities.

A leading blogger is also currently in court relating to charge of sedition over allegations he made that Najib was involved in the murder of a Mongolian model. Najib has firmly denied those charges and said they are a smear.

Anwar returned to the attack on Thursday during his trial on what he says are trumped up charges of sodomy, a reprise of the issue that saw him kicked out of office and imprisoned in the late 1990s.

"Certainly not. He never talks about reforms in the judiciary, free media, democratic process. He hasn't given clues how he can manage the economy," Anwar said when asked whether Najib would be a better leader than Abdullah.

MAHATHIR PULLING THE STRINGS?

One of the first critics of Abdullah was former Mahathir Mohamad, prime minister for 22 years. It was Abdullah's decision to end some of Mahathir's expensive infrastructure projects that triggered his decision to quit UMNO and his subsequent sniping.

Now that Abdullah is going, Mahathir will return to UMNO -- and possibly his influence.

"It's not Najib that is going to rule. It's Mahathir going to pull all the strings from now on, from behind the scene," said Terence Gomez, professor at the University of Malaya.

That means Malaysia is unlikely to see big reforms under Najib of the kind that are needed to reassure investors who want issues such as lack of transparency in the judiciary addressed.

At the same time, the prosecution of bloggers and others who challenge the government is likely to rise under Najib. A recent crackdown at has drawn criticism from human rights and journalist groups and important trading partners such as the U.S. "We are going to see a clear repression or suppression of media space," Gomez said.

written by michael chick, October 10, 2008 10:34:20
Votes: +94
written by Bigjoe99, October 10, 2008 10:46:58
Somehow I don't buy this analysis. Its too simple, not Machiavellian enough. My bet is more that Najib will concentrate on looking like he is doing reform when in fact he would not be doing much. He need to bluff the dissenting voice. This is what he is all doing nothing or about- lying...
Votes: +18
written by shamadz72, October 10, 2008 10:56:33
When he formed his new government after the March elections, Abdullah was forced to defend Najib, saying there was no proof he was involved in any corrupt activities

It will be much better if Abdullah just said that Britney Spears is still a virgin. People will not have a hard time to believe that statement compared to the above statement smilies/smiley.gif
Votes: +41
written by cillipepper, October 10, 2008 11:16:09
Najib,
Keep waiting till YB DSAI become PM!
Votes: +19
written by Apache3, October 10, 2008 11:19:52
I quote...

"It's not Najib that is going to rule. It's Mahathir going to pull all the strings from now on, from behind the scene," said Terence Gomez, professor at the University of Malaya.

A man's ethical behavior should be based effectually on sympathy, education, and social ties; no religious basis is necessary. Man would indeed be in a poor way if he had to be restrained by fear of punishment and hope of reward after death. - Albert Einstein
Votes: +23
written by ahmadneil, October 10, 2008 11:24:22
With the Altantuya case to be revisited by RPK,I don't think Najis will have a smooth ride in office.This case will keep on haunting him to his dying days.
Votes: +31
written by Simha, October 10, 2008 11:31:43
Can our ACA do anything? They are just the fisherman's net. Who are the fishermen? It is up to them to catch small fry or big fish. But they have to catch some small fry to show that they are very hard working. So they use only the net which is not more the 10 mm big to catch something like ikan bilis. But once awhile if they dun like that big fish who is encroaching their territory water then they will catch that big fish with a stronger fishing net where the holes are bigger.
written by asguard, October 10, 2008 12:01:06
It make no different from the past to the present day UMNO ...leaders for them money has been tool for securing any position within the party or the government posts...so what is new .... to talk about being tainted ...they have been tainted very long time ago... nothing new about it...!
Votes: +19
written by cheekhiaw, October 10, 2008 12:36:31
It is just perompak ganti pencuri, pembunuh ganti pembodoh...

written by ahmadneil, October 10, 2008 14:38:17
The mongolian son in-law is coming.
written by WandererAUS, October 10, 2008 16:59:42

Najib will clinch on to his two life jackets to keep afloat...ISA and The great twister AG. The PM to be, has no credibility and the qualities of a leader to lead this nation in distress.
If DSAI failed in his bid to take over this evil and corrupted regime, Malaysians will face harder times and more frustrations.
Votes: +15
written by clarity, October 10, 2008 17:58:40
I think the impending global recession will rob him of the chance to become PM. Don't care how mucg support he can garnish as the umnoputras are not goung to stand for it whrn there is no money for corruption. It becomes worse when they buy eurofighters but take away subsidies for the rakyat. Maybe there is a reason for that. Presently the who;e world is going bankrupt. Even with our exports countries got no money to buy. And oil is now below $60 a barrel from $140. The end is near. Anwar should start telling every one the financial as the BN surely will not.
Votes: +1
written by DontPlayGod, October 10, 2008 19:38:39
This is the man who used the racial card to go up in the party, besides taking advantage of his father's name. This is the man who said the NEP is extended forever. This is the man who asked the Malays to bathe their keris in Chinese blood.

This is the man who did not mention anything about reforming the judiciary, the ACA, or even abolishing the ISA. This is the man.......

Finally, his wife will get to rule the country. And in all finality, PR will rule for a long time.
Votes: +11
written by Eskay Lim, October 10, 2008 21:30:03
Najib will have a tough time in trying to lessen peoples' perception over his credibility even though Pak Lak was forced to defend him, saying that there was never proof Najib was involved in any corrupt deals or activities.....

It would have been better if he had maintained that Altantuya never visited Malaysia and that the woman who was C4-ed wasn't the Mongolian woman.
Votes: +6
written by lynn, October 11, 2008 06:28:12
It looks to me the future n fate of this pathetic bodohland is hinged on the next PM who is this guy najib... who comes with a lot of baggage, whose wife comes back from abroad with purchases by the boxes, now, that's a lot of luggage there.

So the decision, and such an important one, rests on umno who will accept or reject najib. Let's face it, two persons will run this country when najib takes over - dr mahathir & rosmah. Behind the scenes, there will be a power struggle betw these two (umno loves to talk abt struggle) while bodohland citizens wait with mouths hanging open, when will we ever see real leadership in bodohland?

So it looks like bolehland will be screwed further forever, looks like there is no end in sight to corruption.

Nothing is change, unless umno rejects corruption - how can the money politics players reject corruption when they themselves are the major culprits?
Votes: +3
written by Lembing, October 11, 2008 13:15:05
Remember 1962 racial riots in Singapore and the May 13 riots and the PERSON who was solely responsible for these two riots and the death of hundreds of victims. Now his C4 son is taking over as the future PM (Piss monster). WHAT A DISASTER! WHAT a NIGHTMARE! WHAT A RIDICULOUS INJUSTICE!
Votes: +6
written by Tok Din, October 13, 2008 00:44:21
Indeed, the prospects for us ordinary folks in the next few years look rather bleak under the new PM.

Whatever promises made by ABB to reform the judiciary, clean up corruption, put in place a stronger foundation for economic growth sound hollow. In all likelihood when ABB vacates his position, these promises will go with him.

Disintegration of Malaysia's socio-economic, cultural and political structures will continue. There is no credible countervailing force to halt its progress. Instead of change we can believe in, we will have a stronger dose of the old medicine and more of it, meaning return of mega projects, wild spending, cronyism, more opaque decision making, greater abuse of police power to muffle dissents and control freedom of expression. People will be more divided as the racial card and Malay supremacy, birthrights, special privilege and vested interests will rule the day.

The UMNOputras will likely harden their position and they see this as an opportunity to take it out on the non members. Fear and intimidation and the whole tool box of authoritarian rule will be used to stay on in power. A PM whose own moral authority is in question has little ability to control his lieutenants. Fragmentation of UMNO into different cliques and different factions will accelerate. Other component parties under BN will follow the same course.

On the economic front, the problem is going to get worse not better. The global market crash will send a tsunami to wash out any prospect of stronger commodity prices and export demand. FDI will diminish and unemployment will rise.

With a weak government, a weak leadership, broken judiciary, unjust administration and an economy in turmoil, what is our chance of living a decent living as a human being.

God help us.

Votes: +2
written by Caesar, October 13, 2008 10:15:41
This is Badawi's answer to his UMNO party's call to step down.
What a disaster for Malaysia's credibility and international staanding to have Najib as the PM!
Personally, 6 months is an aeon in politics and Najib will NOT make it.
The majority of Malaysians who are not UMNO-members are being let down by Badawi's about-turn (all along he was right to say that he was elected by a majority of Malaysians, and his right to remain PM is for ALL Malaysians, which is not to be determined by the vocal anti-Badawi UMNO camp led by the megalomaniac recalitrant).
Votes: +0
written by told u, October 16, 2008 23:07:05
UMNO "Under Mahathir Najib Organisation"Vision 2020 towards fall of Malaysia. DSAI Malaysia "Dalam Suasana Aman Indah" menuju wawasan Bangsa Malysia, Kami menanti-nanti kehadiran "Mu" menerajui negara Malysia secara Aman Damai daripada diliwat.Golongan yang kini memerintah Malaysia dan yang akan memerintah pasti memusnahkan nama dan bangsa kemurnian yang sedia ada. "OH MALAYSIA KU". restulah DSAI supaya tunggak kemeriahan Malaysia di perintah dengan saksama di antara kaum.Menangisnya KU kerana tiada insan yang sehati sejiwa seperti "MU" DSAI.EVERY STEP YOU TAKE MAKKAL SAKTHI WILL BE 100 STEP AHEAD.
Votes: +0
written by Taiping60, October 19, 2008 21:38:24
Najib,

Please do not misunderstood we are not against you becoming the PM. However, in order to be our Prime Minister you have to be credible, intelligent, honourable, stong and most important of all put the interest of the Nation above all.

With the accusations thrown at you and not credible answers, your credibilities are at stake. If you have credibilities issues, we are worried that if you become our PM, our country will be compromised if there are weaknesses in you with foreign power can take advantage on. So it is very important you come clean.

My advise if you are clean and not guilty,
1) You have to defend yourself openly.
2) Explain and show proofs to Malaysians that those claims against you were not true.
3) As a leader, you have to be strong abd must able to defend Malaysia and Malaysians in all cases.
4) If you cannot defend yourself now, how do we expect you as PM to defend the country.
5) You should start defending your credibility right now and should not be afraid to explain to Malaysians

My advise, if you are guilty and those claims are true,
1) my advise to you is to decline the nomination for the UMNO's president post,
2) support reform Badawi is promise to implement before he retire in March 2009,
3) quietly retire from politics for good.
4) Beg forgiveness from God and hope he will forgive you.

May the truth prevail and good triumphs over evil.
Votes: +3

World Futures  Afghanistan is where Nato and the US are killing civilians indiscriminately. Is there a need to protest against such killings? Are YOU not concerned and don't you think you might be next?

Wellness Industry Is Booming!  Learn how you too can own a low capital home-based business to generate extra supplemental stream of income by using internet for these challenging economic times. You may earn RM1K up to RM10K a month working only 5-10hrs/week. Full system provided.

Home Based Business  Earn extra income $5000-$10,000 monthly, 24 hours a day. Just working part/full time from the comfort of your home. Legitimate business, have a most powerful product in the world. Register for FREE first to save your position in this powerful system.