Home arrow The Blogs arrow News/Commentaries arrow Anwar hits out at Pak Lah

Anwar hits out at Pak Lah PDF Print
Friday, 10 October 2008 09:54
(The Star) Datuk Seri Anwar Ibrahim hit out at the Prime Minister for apparently not carrying out the reforms he had promised in the last five years.

Referring to Datuk Seri Abdullah Ahmad Badawi’s initiatives for the next five months, the Opposition Leader said: “If he does it, well and good for the country. The first thing he should do is release all political prisoners.”

Speaking to reporters at the Jalan Duta court complex where his sodomy case was being heard, Anwar said a change in the Barisan Nasional leadership would not solve the problem faced by the nation today.

He said he did not see how Prime Minister-designate Datuk Seri Najib Tun Razak would be able to function effectively.

“It is not personal. The question is whether he can handle the economic crisis and the corruption and abuse of power in the Government which the Prime Minister has failed to tackle,” he said.

He said Najib was still in a “state of denial”, adding: “He is the only Finance Minister in the world who believes that the fundamentals of this country is still strong.”

He argued that Najib had never raised issues of reform for a free media, democratic process, pointing out also that he had not given any clue about how he planned to manage the country’s economy.

Anwar added that he would meet with “friends” to plan Pakatan Rakyat’s next move of action but declined to elaborate.

Penang Chief Minister Lim Guan Eng said the state government and Penangites hoped that Abdullah would restore federal funding for projects in the state.

He said the DAP would co-operate with the Prime Minister in his final five months in office to restore the credibility of the judiciary, adopt stringent anti-corruption measures and eliminate abuse of power.

written by michael chick, October 10, 2008 09:56:44
written by Rundukon, October 10, 2008 10:17:24
If in the last 5 years Mr Abdullah failed to carry out the reforms, what can he do in the last 5 months? Mr Abdullah might as well carry on sleeping.
written by cheekhiaw, October 10, 2008 10:23:22
Well, he can take the next few months to hand over power smoothly to PR and let them carry out his reforms for him. It takes a lot less work on his part too...

written by red1, October 10, 2008 10:27:32
Perhaps its not easy at all to do this so called REFORM. it is not like catching flies. Humans are the toughest meant on earth.

And how can you kick them, when you yourself is going off in few months. I think the rats will stay in the holes until the Mother Cat reaches pencen.

Redhuan D. Oon
PendAtang Dengan Izin

written by Rainbowseahorse, October 10, 2008 11:12:25
“He is the only Finance Minister in the world who believes that the fundamentals of this country is still strong.”

DSAI that’s not true, because the Bank Negara Governor and second Finance minister believes that too!
written by rayfire, October 10, 2008 12:00:59
Please Anwar! All this talk is no longer relevant! We keep hearing comments only about the current leadership! I have raised Malaysian flag on the night Permatang Pauh was won by you! With high hope that you will keep your promise! We are still waiting. I have not brought down the flag ever since I am still hoping!
So are you for real? if yes please stop giving comments and expedite the takeover process, now with AAB out of way, Najib is in, which makes it tougher!
The longer you wait, the harder it becomes, the less people will believe in you!
I am losing my hope as well. please don't force me to bring down the flag indefinitely and initiate a migration plan! The whole regime is in denial, Singapore has declared recession today, only in Malaysia the whole damn government STILL says we are a ok! So no point commenting on them, you have the people, go and seek the ruler and GET IT DONE! The ruler too is keeping mum! his cousin in is jail! the country spiralling down but no news from him!
written by ahmadneil, October 10, 2008 14:18:52
Anwar,I AAB have been sleeping all these years and now I can't sleep becos my deputy want my job so since sleeping is my priority,I resign.Only this way he won't disturb anymore.Sorry Lah!
written by The dragonheart, October 10, 2008 14:36:14
YB DSAI,

Please don't talk about taking over the federal government too much when u urslf cannot show results on the time frame set by urself. Please show to the rakyat what you can do at this moment. so some results. even it is small. The rakyat have done their part in making you as an MP, now its your turn. To walk your talk ..what we see now is just you talking about your walk. PakLah have been talking since 2004 but he never walk. you gonna do the same? Please do something that have results even if it is small but seen to work.
written by Jeffrey, October 10, 2008 20:12:15
DSAI, we supported you, we put you and your team there for a reason. And now, sadly i would say, we are running out of passion and patient. Stop Talking and start do something for REAL. You owe us at least that! You owe RPK even greater coz he is the main force behind all the movement. If you can't see this, then you are not what we want and you are not the person that we think you are. Go figure and ask yourself.

puffinsky.********.com
written by Fart Fart Wah, October 11, 2008 01:20:14
THIS COUNTRY HAS THEY SAY HAS GONE TO THE DOGS...NAY IT IS WITH THE DOGS NOW....