Home arrow The Blogs arrow News/Commentaries arrow Sabah National Registration Department will issue MyKad to red-carded citizen

Sabah National Registration Department will issue MyKad to red-carded citizen PDF Print
Friday, 10 October 2008 07:05

A 78-year-old local woman who was stripped of her citizenship due to a missing identification document will receive a new Mykad soon.

Home Minister Datuk Seri Syed Hamid Albar said the Sabah National Registration Department (NRD) has re-checked the status of Yong Lei Hua, from Penampang, and will issue a Mykad defining the woman as Malaysian citizen.

“Initially she was a blue identification card holder but she lost that blue card. Then she applied for a Mykad but was given a red card with dotted symbol instead, which carries permanent resident status.

“However, she did not know her citizenship status was altered until she lost her red card and received a replacement card, which clearly stated that she is a permanent resident.

“She should not have got the red card in the first place,” Syed Hamid told reporters after a briefing by the state NRD on the matter here today.

The minister said the error in the issuing of the first red card for the woman was probably caused by a technical glitch.

“In Sabah, all transactions pertaining to status and citizenship was controlled by the state until the law was standardised in 1990. Sabah also used to have a common identification code system for citizens and non-citizens.

“That’s why it was hard to tell whether someone is a citizen or a permanent resident,” he explained.

When asked on dissatisfactions among the Sabah Barisan Nasional (BN) leaders regarding the issue, Syed Hamid said there are forums for the leaders to discuss the issue such as at the Cabinet meetings.

- nst

written by binarytan, October 10, 2008 07:19:13
Shit Hamid, wonder over the years you have been sleeping and not doing your work.

Only now like the sleepyhead PM starting to work now?

To little too late.

written by avj, October 10, 2008 08:02:26
Every thing must only be discussed behind closed doors.What a solution.Come on lah Syed Hamid who do think you are trying to kid? It does not take a genuis to decipher your hidden meaning.
written by Tompios, October 10, 2008 08:42:01
sudah terdesak baru mendesak....! cukuplah hipokrit orang2 UMNO dan BN. jijiklah! selagi orang2 Malaya tidak lari dari Sabah...selagi itu majority perwira-perwira Sabah jijik melihat orang UMNO-Malaya.
written by Langadon, October 10, 2008 08:42:25
In the same time NRD issuing MyCard to Filipino refugees and indonesian
written by ahmadneil, October 10, 2008 08:53:16
What about my dog Leslie?
written by June, October 10, 2008 09:18:24
"The minister said the error in the issuing of the first red card for the woman was probably caused by a technical glitch"

TECHNICAL GLITCH, TECHNICAL ERROR, ADMINISTRATION ERROR, HUMAN ERROR.....We are fed up to listen to this excuses. If you are not competent to be a minister, just back off. Sometimes I think Shit Hamid is RETARDED!!!
written by Ken Wong, October 10, 2008 10:07:36
Sometimes I wonder how smart are the people we elected to represent us in Government. A technical glitch? I think problems such as this can be solved much earlier. It is only after the Rakyat makes noise in public then our Government do work. Otherwise the Rakyat have to suffer in silence. Time for change!
written by asguard, October 10, 2008 10:10:03
Get to the bottom of the issue if wanted to solved the problem....
written by Wisdom above, October 10, 2008 11:29:45
The NRD officer who may have " intentionally Erred " should be retired off early for Sabah's sake.

Or else the whole NRD department should be given 'compulsory early retirement' for Malaysian Malaysia's sake.

Also remember to RELEASE RPK, and all ISA detainees. ABOLISH ISA NOW!

Syabas to all Peacemakers.
written by KKchan, October 10, 2008 14:17:35
Dear Sabah Puteri UMNO chief,
You said we shouldn't politicise the issue. Tell us seriously that if UPKO didn't bring this up NRD will give Madam Yong a new Mykad? I think you will have to wait until the cows come home. If you begin to talk sense, you may be surprised that people may actually support you. Please bear in mind you are not always right and the people not always wrong!
written by aryn, October 10, 2008 17:17:08
What about those thousands of natives in the interior of Sabah who have no birth cert let alone MyKad.

Once NRD went to the interior to register these people but they stopped some years back. You in NRD only issue MyKad to illegal immigrants only?
written by Sabahfan, October 10, 2008 21:59:48
Well, guys, its one points up for UPKO party here in Sabah.

If they had not made it a political issue, we are sure the poor lady would still be languishing like on house arrest...until the end of her life.

Now Upkos two leaders, Dompok and Mojuntin are seen as heros..

ONE up compared to the rest of BN components in Sabah.. ha ha ha ha ha
written by Limang, October 10, 2008 22:06:53
Ya, technical glitch that issues hundreds of thousands of Mykad to illegals to make them citizens to increase number of UMNO supporters while at the same reduce Sabah's population to become minority.

Bodoh Sabahans - they still don't see the plan and continue to support UMNO! Wait till Phase 4 of the plan is launched. There will be no true Sabahans left - only UMNO supporters and then Sabah will truly become Land below UMNO's stinking Ass!

Hahahahahaha. . . . .Bodoh Sabahans!
written by Rainbowseahorse, October 11, 2008 09:30:17
Dumb ase West Malaysians are still voting for politicians like Ahmad the racist, Hisamudin the kris, Najib the C4, Bodowi the sleepy head, Mahathir the mamak racist, and all those other politicians that you all claim to be fighting now, but yet vote for them year in and year out for THE LAST 51 years.

Now, that’s the height of stupidity!