Home arrow The Blogs arrow From Around The Blogs arrow Malaysia out of THES Top 200 Universities for second consecutive year - another fall of domino

Malaysia out of THES Top 200 Universities for second consecutive year - another fall of domino PDF Print
Thursday, 09 October 2008 22:32

In his press statement to announce his decision to step down as Prime Minister next March, Datuk Seri Abdullah Ahmad Badawi spoke of the initiatives to “regain our country’s competitiveness” which are “necessary to enable our nation and our society to face the challenges that the world has in store for us”.

But in actual fact, under his five-year premiership, one domino after another of our national and international competitiveness has been collapsing one after another.

Two weeks ago, one such falling domino was Malaysia’s ranking on the Transparency International Corruption Perception Index 2008 which plunged to No. 47 placing, a fall of ten places from No. 37 in 2007.

Another domino has collapsed today when it is revealed that for the second consecutive year, Malaysia has fallen completely out of THES-QS 2008 World Top 200 Universities – further testimony of the country’s deteriorating competitiveness.

Two years ago, Universiti Kebangsaan Malaysia (UKM) and Universiti Malaya (UM) were listed at the tail-end of the Top 200 in the THES-QS 2006 ranking, and I had repeatedly warned both in and out of Parliament that Malaysia risked being pushed out of the 200 Top Universities ranking unless there was the political will to check brain-drain and restore meritocracy and excellence to Malaysian academia.

It gives me no satisfaction but extreme sadness to see my dire prediction come true – in two consecutive years in succession.

READ MORE HERE: http://blog.limkitsiang.com/2008/10/09/malaysia-out-of-thes-top-200-universities-for-second-consecutive-year-another-fall-of-domino/

Comments (61)Add Comment
written by kc respect, October 09, 2008 22:47:08
We are very ploud of our nationally language, and congretulate our belove Ministry of Educaton for keeping high standard of Bahasa Melayu, especialli when we studying Mathematik and Sains. So never mine if we cannot in top 200 universiti, so long we speakening good Inglish and Bahasa.

Our standard in education is worty to write congretulateri massages to our royalti like the one by University of Tun Hussien Onn wroted not to long ago.
agree 141
written by cheemengwong, October 09, 2008 22:48:05
There is no need for university education....

Many ministers, businessman and students are buying online degrees, mba and phd certificates for less then RM 50. See the Malay Mail today.

The prominent ex CEO of Selangor claims that he could not understand English when caught carry much money into Australia. After that episode, many kampong students stop schooling to emulate him. Most took to riding a motorbike and label themselves Rempits.

There are now over 50,000 unemployed graduates and growing annually. What can they do? They can't speak English, do maths and wake up in the morning to go to work. They prefer a cushy office job rather than learning hold down a skill job.

Universities do not encourage racial integration but prefers only to admit one race. The moment Tan Sri Khalid mentioned 10 % non bumis allotment, all hell broke loose. Universities are breeding grounds for intellectuals. All type of races, all types of minds needs to intermingle to produce the best and brightest. If you put 1 type of bird, all will sing one song only boringlah. Burung merbok only! How about some parrots, sparrows, terkukor, gagak, humming bird, king fisher, eagles and so on...?

Some university professors talk like 5 year olds. Even the PM's wife also can become a chancellor. How to do? Is my England broken enuf?

agree 146
written by Midvalley, October 09, 2008 22:50:35
WHO's CARE. I wish it will drop out of sight to the VERY, VERY LAST, as it only cater to a certain race.
In fact I am very happy about it.
HAAAAAAAA HAAAAAAAAA  
written by DreamLady, October 09, 2008 22:55:51
No surprise to me at all. I came across a few lecturers and professors who could not speak proper English,yet they are teaching English language..
1)ie: thats mean..thats mean..(it is supposed to be 'that means....)
2)ie:you come tomorrow lah,, we has see the pictures...( we have seen the pictures)
3)ie: that..ch why....( should be that's why..)
3)ie: can you repeat again....(by right should be 'can you repeat..)

It would be next to impossible for the students to excel in English when the lecturers and professors are half-nuts !!!

Now, tell me, you want to blame the children for not doing well in school and universities? They are being short-changed by our education ministry with inferior educators..
written by middlepath, October 09, 2008 22:56:26
The Umno, BN government is a stupid people, the results from international people is very clear, when other nations are improving, we Malaysia is getting worse and worst. They keep their head in the sand, like ostrich, they did not see anything, the results is there for all to see, the Umno, BN will deny, will deny, will blame, will point finger, they only will continue with the same stupid policy, and then they continue with old policy, but expect and pray that the results will change ? what kind of ostrich people ? that is the government and Umno,BN that we have got. stupid is the word to descript. from Dr Mahathir to Paklah the results get worse, the paklah to Najis, the result will be worse. only the cronies will benefits, that is the policy of Umno, and BN, take care of the few rich and cronies. itu lah legacy Umno, BN, buat semua cronies kaya, itu saja. itu orang sendiri khairyh, saja lah, mereka cronies kaya. rakyat jelata, celaka.
written by HamChak, October 09, 2008 23:00:50
Please lah, Chee Meng Wong, don't, don't be like that mah.
You mean a "former house keeper/cleaner" cannot be a Chancellor mey?
Don't la look down on her. After all the Unversity ranked at the bottom
only lorr. No big issue, mah.
written by msiaman, October 09, 2008 23:04:40
There are times where the country's leaders paid attention to educating our future generations. Now, they are more concerned about making more money. With these kinds of conflicting objectives, how would our ideals flourish? As for universities, the government is more concerned about maintaining racial quota at every level regardless if our future generation's education sucks.

20 years ago, people used to comment that the education level were not comparable with the level 10 years before under british system. Now, I must say it is even worse than 20 years ago. Teachers use model Q&A like robots. No intellectual capabilities, no educationist spirits. Wonder what they are there for? Maybe can't find job elsewhere or can't get admitted to substandard local universities, teachers college is better than private mentality.

How would our education level improve? We are not even churning out better qualified student populations, how to climb the stairs of educational excellence?
written by Atheist, October 09, 2008 23:05:06
I was made to understand that UMNO wants to captain the ship (Malaysia) irrespective whether they;

i) know anything about sailing
ii) know anything about the compass
iii) know that the ship is sinking
iv) know that the ship is going to hit the iceberg (Titanic)
v) have no idea where the ship is going.

How do you expect to change such people for the benefit of the ship.

Sail along or jump ship !!!! smilies/smiley.gif smilies/smiley.gif smilies/smiley.gif smilies/smiley.gif smilies/smiley.gif
written by pulaiman, October 09, 2008 23:09:13
THOSE WHO WANT THEIR KIDS TO HAVE A GOOD EDUCATION PLSE DO NOT EVER SEND THEM TO MALAYSIAN UNIVERSITIES.
written by *********, October 09, 2008 23:13:13
Having been in the education industry for more than 20 years, I have seen, much to my dismay, the decline in the critical thinking skills of youth today(of course there are exceptions depending on the locality and family background of the youth). There are not many who have political awareness and even for those who do, the manner in which this was developed may either be constructive or with detrimental consequences if not properly monitored.

Generally, the main concern of most youth today would be the regurgitation of facts devoid of the acquisition of knowledge for the sole purpose of getting A's in order to get into the correct faculties or to win the right scholarships after which, many plan to migrate for greener pastures. How many grow up with patriotic feelings? In a suppressed environment, people dare not think. They are just being conditioned!...More http://*********.********.com
written by MalaysianFirst, October 09, 2008 23:15:46
Eh fliend, what wrongs with my Inglis. I am glachuate flom MU what. I tink I am good inrough, becaught my Malay MU fliends are worse. I am good all lady. Don't play play. I tish Inglis in Sikola Kebangsaan now in KL.

What! We are almost leech number 2 hunlerd in the world. Wow! Good man. Still so manly others berow us. Wah. I so happy!!!
written by cheemengwong, October 09, 2008 23:16:21
I have no problems....

a. Jackie Chan being given a doctorate in Monkey KUNG FU becos he is the best there is.

b. Jet Li being conferred a doctorate in Shao Lin KUNG FU becos he is real!

c. Chow Wing Fatt conferred a doctorate in Acting because that barger can really act. He can even cry pronto when asked by the film director. Honestly I have no problems with him

d. Samy being conferred a "Doctorate in Worst Highway Construction" becos it is proven in Malaysia. Eg. the MRR2 ... not once but twice spending millions. Who can compare with him

e. Our PM being conferred a " Doctorate in Weakest PM" because it is also proven.

but....but...butt..

those professors in UNI who can't speak English, write a proper report/thesis yet gets a doctorate how can...

Chancellors also don't go to school...how??????

Mati...mati..mampus...mampus onelah. Believe me... it is what the chinese say Chia lat.. Indians say... pochi...malays say hangus....
written by Kuku Burung, October 09, 2008 23:34:24
Good thing they don't publish those below 200. We can proudly say all the Malaysian Uni are at 201,202,203,204,205... who knows? LOL.
written by Kuku Burung, October 09, 2008 23:38:19
Forgot to mention the one and only UiTM. It is at the league of its own -- don't know where to put it; may be top 200 kindergartens.
written by Canadian in kl, October 09, 2008 23:39:31
Why would any Ministers care...their kids go to places like Garden International School or the International School KL - and then off to international universities
written by onnetline, October 09, 2008 23:51:39
Fcuk the Education Ministry or the BN government if we are not competitive in this competitive world !

After all, what can we expect from a bunch of shitheads from Barisan Najis.
written by kkselvam, October 09, 2008 23:57:44
This is what happens when SRP and SPM 2nd graders becomes Deans at local universities!
Another project by kerajaan Barisan Najis!!
written by SocratesI, October 09, 2008 23:59:04

There is NO WAY Malaysian Universities can be in the Top 200 as they practise Ketuanan Melayu and not meritocracy, cronyism and not at all achievement oriented.

How can any University have any substance if their staff are chosen based on their Kulifications rather than academic achievements ??

How can any University student excel when they are NOT the best brains in the country and are only there again because of Kulitfication ??

written by temenggong, October 10, 2008 00:05:10
Once we switched from english to malay in 1975 the standards started dropping and it was downhill all the way. Today Malaysian grads are a laughing stock. As an employer for 25 years I know that very well.

Umnomalays have no commitment to educational excellence. They are committed to mediocrity, and they have succeeded beyond imagination. They have succeeded in cheating the malays.
written by Motherchell, October 10, 2008 00:05:37
Dont worry folks !! when the No speka inglish upstart takes over the NO 2 pos in Umno we will be hitting the 10,000 mark .With the MB of Pahang the children can show their middle finger , and Najib and Krisamuddin can rerun videos of sodomy. Good classy education for the future leaders of this Country !!

--- not forgetting the young girls pointing their fingers at some Mat rempits doing the dogie at the padang in P Puah can also become Teachers in Govt Schools to raise the standards .

Vice Chancellors in our Country are more interested in suing bright minds , and Jakim can educate all the kids in Malaysia without even reading a book or a word !!! Great minds!! ----- The PM we have can work like no other Leader in any Country -- by wanting to achieve his agenda in 5 months what he could not do in 5 years ----i think he plans to travel at the speed of light !!!!A real Rocket Scientist and Cell Physiologist --- who knows more about DNA then an average Hospital Cleaner .
Biro Tata Negara protagonists should be sent to the NW Frontier states in Pakistan or to the rebel held areas of Somalia to be toughened up. All have been on vacation for 50 years ---- deep !deep! sleep !!

At the moment 27 Miliion are just tenants in this Country, paying our rent to a handful of born Idiots .
written by supplier, October 10, 2008 00:06:11
The passing Mark in our local U depend on the color of the skin.

written by onnetline, October 10, 2008 00:15:50
At the rate things are, we'll have to wait another 200 years to get anywhere with the ' moronic ' shitheads from Barisan Najis managing things. It's that simple !
written by onnetline, October 10, 2008 00:17:05
Or maybe, not at all !!!!!!!
written by kenny, October 10, 2008 00:18:23
I'd like to be brief here.

Do you actually think that the powers up there do not know about the present-day atrocious educational system? Why are they, almost without exception, sending all their children for studies abroad? A lot of their children haven't even gone through UPSR, much less SRP or SPM. They start their 1st grade in international schools before being sent abroad. Where are the children of our present(Hisham) and past(Najib) Education Ministers?

Now, why is this so? Well, one is highly tempted to assume that our present lowly educational system is by design, just so that the resulting semi-educated masses will forever be under their rule.

If this is the case, they would eventually have everything, which is, 100% of nothing, which again is, Ketuanan of nothing.
written by Joe, October 10, 2008 00:20:22
For those who commented on the above saying they are happy that we are getting negative results, you are a bunch of sadist pricks and u deserve to share a hell with UMNO bastards that practise race based policies.

For those who feel sad that Malaysia is no longer listed amongst the top 200, i share your sadness.

MY suggestion is this, tell the university that the quota for non-bumi to go into university will increase each time we drop rankings in university standards. That way, if the school wants to practise racism, they better make sure their standards are high and internationally recognised, if not they will end up having to seat their beautiful tudung clad malay daughters in between hooligan machaas and back alley ah-bengs.
written by axeltung, October 10, 2008 00:23:51
We don't need TOP 200 in world..their standard is NO Standard!! All we need is Kampung Champion smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif as long as follow the kampung's guidelines,,we don't bother abt others!! What Cambridge, Oxfords..semua gimmicks banyak-banyak!! Let's sing: WE ARE THE CHAMPION...MY FRIEND!! smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif
written by kenny, October 10, 2008 00:27:10
The only solution is to get rid of UMNO/BN!
written by ChanRaj, October 10, 2008 00:28:08
We are really in a sorry state of affairs. It’s not only embarrassing but downright disgusting. When everything was in English in school the Malays were not doing well. So they lowered the standard of English from GCE “O” Levels to Malaysian Certificate of Education (MCE). Still the Malays were not doing well. Then they brought the standard of English lower and increased the “standard” of BM to make it easier for the Malays, but no they did not do well either (the non-Malays were still doing better). Then they changed the whole system to BM and introduced SPM. They practically got rid of the English language, thinking that that would help the Malays. Nope that did not help either coz there where still less Malays entering the local universities.

So what they did was they brought the entry level to the universities lower to allow more Malay dropouts to get in and placed a quota system to block out the non-Malays. So now we have lots of “graduates” who are actually drop-outs and they all expecting cushy jobs in the private sector but they can’t speak a word of English. The government/public sector on the other hand, has already reached the 1 million mark and we all know how incompetent and redundant government employees have become. We are heading for a complete breakdown of the government machinery. How can we possible be in the 200 list? Maybe the government should protest. Why TOP 200 LISTS? Why not TOP 300 LISTS? If the international body does not agree to this, we can create our own TOP 100 LISTS and hell with the rest of the world!

THE MALAYS DO NOT REALISE THAT THE UMNO GOVERNMENT IN ACTUAL FACT IS WEAKENING THE MALAYS BY REMOVING ALL THE HURDLES AND COMPETITIVENESS. I have also met Malay “Professors” who at best are just average teachers. Imagine then what’s the standard of Malay teachers teaching at schools these days? Why are we in this sorry state of affairs? It’s because the Malays truly believe and feel that the UMNO government looks into their interests by coming up with crap like “ketuanan melayu” (Malay supremacy), “towering Malays”, “bumniputras” (Prince of the Land). What a load of shit is this? Look at the Singapore Malays, they are intelligent and a very competitive lot. They are ages apart from the Malaysian Malays. Ketuanan Melayu IS AN INFERIORITY COMPLEX! So is” Towering Malays” and “Bumiputras”. The non-Malays are not your enemy, YOUR OWN RACE IS.
written by Kunta Kinte, October 10, 2008 00:33:07
Aren't we all surprised? While countries strive to climb the ladder, we do the reverse. Bodohland! What else is there to comment about?
written by gx27, October 10, 2008 00:36:03
whats new? expected isnt it?
keep on voting for B Najis, what we produce will be as good as najis!!!
written by DreamLady, October 10, 2008 01:19:42
socratesl,You make me laugh so much with the word 'Kulification....' it is funny ! Thank you for that, geli hati betul..
written by gorshan, October 10, 2008 01:51:45
LKS is wrong. our universities is No.1 in the world.foreign govt are jealous of us and our highest and best education system in the world. our education minister is No 1 in the world. our PM has no other equal in this world.main stream media in our country is No.1 in the world too.our police and our AG is No.1 in this world too.

where is the nearest mental asylum? i need a straight jacket and i need to be admitted fast. smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif smilies/angry.gif
written by MalaysianFirst, October 10, 2008 03:12:11
Daughter: Mummy, newspaper say MU now not inside 200 top top uni in the world.

Mummy: What! See, good la. Mummy told you to study Australia, don't want to go. Now you cannot easy find work anymore.

Daughter: Mummy, what shall I do?

Mummy: Go ask Uncle Lim, see whether can take you go work pasar malam or not?

Daughter: No, I want work karaoke, better pay.

Mummy: No, work pasar malam.
written by zviivz, October 10, 2008 03:24:49
This was taken from the year 2007 for TOP universities in ASIA. I'll be just highlighting the ASEAN Region. You can read the rest below:

http://www.topuniversities.com/worlduniversityrankings/results/2007/regional_rankings/asia/

Source: Times Higher Education – QS World University Rankings
2007 RankSchool NameCountry

33 National University of SINGAPORE(NUS)Singapore
69 NANYANG Technological UniversitySingapore
223 CHULALONGKORN UniversityThailand
246 Universiti MALAYA (UM)Malaysia
284 MAHIDOL UniversityThailand
307 Universiti Sains MALAYSIA (USM)Malaysia
309 Universiti Kebangsaan MALAYSIA (UKM)Malaysia
360 Universitas GADJAH MADAIndonesia
364 Universiti Putra MALAYSIA (UPM)Malaysia
369 BANDUNG Institute of TechnologyIndonesia
395 University of INDONESIAIndonesia
written by MalaysianFirst, October 10, 2008 03:52:17
Boyfriend: Fug. My degree has just become toilet paper.
Mummy's Daughter: I know. Mummy say to work in Pasar Malam
Boyfriend: Get a government job lah. Easy what. Everybody no brains one.
Mummy's daughter: I know, but cannot find. Malays only can.
Boyfriend: Can't you find a job in one of the banks?
Mummy's Daughter: Cannot find. Try so many time. Always want to employ Malays only.
Boyfriend: What about the multinationals?
Mummy's daughter: Also cannot. Only want Malays only. Don't ask anymore. Angry only. I want to work karaoke, good pay. But Mummy don't want.
Boyfriend: Karaoke? Good, then I don't have to work. You support me.
Mummy's daughter: You lazy pig. Fug off!

(The above is only a satire. It may seem funny to many, but sadly, it is true to a large section poor non-bumi population with small incomes. The only way out of poverty is through a good varsity degree without which, the choice is quite limited. With our unis plummeting southwards, it is not absurd to say that it will become worthless to the outside world ten years from now).
written by MalaysianFirst, October 10, 2008 04:35:19
Hello, why so scared? Low low lah. If our grads cannot find work in Malaysia they can still go overseas to work what. The Malay female grads can go work as domestic maid in Indonesia, Brunei, Middle East. The Chinese girls can go work in China as domestic maid and the Indian female grads can go find work in India as domestic maids. Such a huge job market! Why so scared?

Of course the batangs will have to remain in Malaysia unemployed. At least all our female grads will find jobs and have decent income.
written by MalaysianFirst, October 10, 2008 04:36:42
Bring back foreign exchange some more. Good lah.
written by RumahPanjai, October 10, 2008 06:03:25
The education Minister sent his children overseas to study. That's how much he thinks of education in this country! He doesn't even trust the cuurriculum dished out by his own ministry. No wonder we don't make it to the top 200. What a disgrace! This ministry needs to be revamped and the minister given his marching orders..
written by goman2k3, October 10, 2008 06:49:20
Useless education is how the Ketuanan Malayu keep the poor Malays from competing with them. Their children are sent to England, USA, Europe, Autralia etc while the poor malays are left in local universities, taught by half past six lecturers. Unemployable graduates (100 000)cannot compete with the Ketuanan Malayu and that is the manifesto of UMNO. Wake up Malays and tell your Ketuanan Melayu that you want proper education and not to be fooled by them anymore. Vote for PKR. The universities are in shit since the late 70s and really stinko now.
written by goman2k3, October 10, 2008 07:11:10
"They are all wrong and biased. They do not like us because we are an Islamic country. We should be in top 10 based on our Islamic criteria. They are westerners and they don't like muslim. They never visited our universities or interviewed our highly qualified lectures who have done world class research and publication . We are very proud of our universities and we produced graduates that are unemployabe because the chinese don't want to employ them."

Vice Chancellor of Universiti K.Lumpuro
written by ahmadneil, October 10, 2008 08:50:56
It's all turning into zoos,fit for mentally retarded animals.
written by ChrisLim, October 10, 2008 09:03:20
Don't understand why for the exam paper, candidates must put in their IC number? To tell the marker who is Malay and who is Non Malay, right? So you can do the balancing act right? We seen the result which happen to my batch during the SPTM exam. After so many years, this is still the practise. The education ministry is a born loser. See the bigger result now!!! You are no longer competitive in the world.
written by ROBERTNGTG, October 10, 2008 09:15:22
Malaysia out of THES Top 200 Universities for second consecutive year - another fall of domino

MALAYSIA BOLEH. TO ALL THE MAMAKS WHO INSIST THAT THE BUMI QUOTAS BE RETAINED AT 90%, SYABAS. THEY SHOULD ERECT A SPECIAL MONUMENT TO THE DICTATOR RESPONSIBLE FOR THIS LOW STANDARD.
written by alpha100, October 10, 2008 09:20:33
As long as Govt Uni set to churn out graduates base on quantity without quality, don't expect ranking to improve! Can't employ foreign high class lecturer cos they got own principles. They cannot lower passing mark or set low quality exam to pass out students in quantity in accordance with our national needs!
written by Krepot, October 10, 2008 09:27:04
SO right - WHO CARES!?

Logic thinking Malaysians for many years not squeeze out ever sen from their piggy banks to send their children overseas for the best.

Those who can't afford, seem to prefer local colleges or university colleges at the least.

Why? Simple - QUALITY!
This QUALITY then translated to employment.

It is a fact, TAR Collage students are picked over UUM/UPM/UKM graduates, anytime. Worst off, are the UITM students who 'think' they have a degree.

Sad, but true.

BTW. Don't blame the employers - just pick any student/s on random from the various varsities/colleges and put them into debates on subject matters and judge for yourself. It has NOTHING to do with race. It is all about QUALITY.

Those of us who have been interviewing candidates for employment know best. We have seen them all!
written by red1, October 10, 2008 10:24:55
The world education system is in shambles not only Malaysia. Those that are in the top 200 Unis are advanced nations. We have forgotten the 2020 vision right now, due to heavy pollitical infighting. The ruling elite is not in the best shape to think about quality but their own seats.

We the rakyat just have to be innovative and teach ourselves. That can start right here right now in our own alternative media.

Redhuan D. Oon
PendAtang Dengan Izin

written by MalaysianFirst, October 10, 2008 10:26:28
Once upon a long, long time ago, Malaysians spoke English like, well, like the English. We never had any problem watching English programs on TV, or listening to the English channels over the radio, or watching English movies. Whether you were Malay, or Chinese, or Indian, or of whatever racial origin, we never had any problem communicating with each other. We understood each other pretty well; it was like everyone was at the same level of competence.

Then came Tun, the English-and-everything-English hater. He turned English into a four-lettered word – ugly. We don’t need English. We hate English. What’s wrong with Bahasa Melayu? This is Malaysia. We must learn and speak in Bahasa Melayu. Henceforth, education, at all levels, will be in Bahasa Melayu. Period. This is Malaysia. Why should we learn English? Let the world learn OUR language. And so said he….

Today, more than thlee decakes later, we no longer speek or lite ploper Inglis. We can only communisticate in Manglish; whatever that is. No one understood you if you said, “Hey buddy, could I borrow your limo for the evening? I have a date tonight.” You must say, “Dai Gor, bollow your Benz can or not? Tonight I want to go pak toh, lah.” Or if you said, “I’d like to treat you to lunch?” Duh? To make yourself understood, you must say, “I take you lunch, want or not?”

Such is the horrible disfiguration of the language we once knew. Obviously when Tun made his choice, he had forgotten that he was educated in English. And he forgot to warn us that, outside of Malaysia, only two other economically insignificant countries spoke our language. The rest of the world could not even spell the word Bahasa Melayu. And probably never will.

Getting back into the top 200? I'm sorry, but I don’t think so.
written by MalaysianFirst, October 10, 2008 11:02:59
Thank you BN for ruining us and our future generations.

Signed
Generasi Idiot Baru
written by aisyalam, October 10, 2008 12:36:51
AIYAH..LOOK AT OUR OWN SO CALLED RASCAL ZOMBIE LEADERS LIKE MAHATAIK, NAJIS, PAK LAH...WHAT DO THEY SHARE IN COMMON? LOCAL GRADS!!!
SEND YOUR CHILDREN TO SINGAPORE IS MORE THAN ENOUGH. PRESENT GRADS CAN'T READ AND THINK WELL ENOUGH. IN NEAR FUTURE, THIS MORIBUND GOMEN WILL INCREASE TAXES TO FEED GENERASI IDIOTS.
written by roggon, October 10, 2008 14:28:25
Im presently attached with an academic instituition where the medium of instruction is in English. about 60 percent of the academicians are local grads. Shit, they cant even speak a line of English without making pathetic grammartical errors!! This is the product of engaging PROFESSOR KANGKUNG AKA NORDIN KARDI OF UUM.
written by MalaysianFirst, October 10, 2008 16:33:07
Soon the whole of Asia will have a reasonable to good command of English, including unlikely countries such as China (catching up with breathtaking pace), Japan (as well), South Korea, Mongolia, and little Tibet.

And we, once a majestic Asian Tiger, will be reduced to a meekly, wide-eyed, sad and frightened-looking little tiger cub with a pack of fearsome looking, salivating man-eaters breathing down its neck with killer-claws drawn.

Dear Malaysia, if we don't wake up now, we never will.
written by MalaysianFirst, October 10, 2008 16:47:41
English is spelt E-N-G-L-I-S-H.
It is pronounced as "medium of global business".
If we don't wish to learn to spell and pronounce this word, then we shouldn't live here. We should be living on Mars where aliens live.
written by cllim123, October 10, 2008 18:04:47
UiTM is the best and most exclusive university in the world. Not any Tom Dick and Harry can go in. Only Ahmad, Ismail and Hamid can. Whereas Harvard is open to all... all those with super grades!!
written by cllim123, October 10, 2008 18:07:36
E-N-G-L-I-S-H is pronounced England. The DPM aspirant MMTaib should know better because when he was in Australia facing trial for money smuggling, he said I spick no England! Our education is no laughing matter. But we are the laughing stock of the world!
written by awakened, October 10, 2008 22:31:26
English to Bahasa Malaysia translation at the movies/TV

Sheriff to baddie before a gunfight: "Draw, you son of a gun"
BM translator: "Lukis, awak anak pistol"

American gangster to another: "Give me some bread" [Bread meaning money]
BM translator : "Bagi saya roti"

Cowboy to another: "You are a greenhorn" [Greenhorn means inexperience]
BM translator : "Awak tandok hijau"

How to compete INTERNATIONALLY when the products of the education system are tandok hijaus???
written by HamChak, October 11, 2008 01:06:10
I am least concern about the University ranking in Malaysia.
My wife and I were educated overseas, in REAL universities
not those halfpastsix universities where the Gomen send their
"half past six scholars". My children all educated overseas in
Top Class University. Don't waste your time in Malaysia Uni, lah.
written by advocatusdiaboli, October 11, 2008 12:39:49
Quota some more lah! F***ers! Thanks to those UMNOp***putras policies now our own universities suffer. Have more racial profiling la. BODOH! With all this kind of happenings in our varsities that Kerismuddin fella took an entourage of freeloaders to that UNESCO talk on education. Anyway can someone tell me UiTM's ranking?
written by advocatusdiaboli, October 11, 2008 12:43:31
In Govt departments and also police stations the front staff are illiterate when it comes to English. In fact they don't know that there is something called the English Language or Bahasa Inggeris. For these retards they refer to the English Language as Bahasa Orang Putih. So it is little wonder that our education system itself stinks.
written by Malaysiaputra, October 11, 2008 21:41:32
Don't worry lah !. In bolih land it is easily solved. Set up our own world rating system.

See how when the outside world look down on Malaysian medical degrees, bolih land come up with its own Masters of Medicine to create specialist recognised locally.

When Najib takes over, the adviser Mahathir will get Malaysia's Bolihland University rating going. Of this , Malaysian Unis will be amongst its top 50.
written by Tok Din, October 12, 2008 07:41:12
It is impossible to build a great nation on rotten foundations. Before lamenting about our current situation, it is necessary to examine the very foundation on which this nation is built. Do we really have a foundation for a viable future for this nation? We are fully of contradictions, shifty and with short attention span. What can we realistically expect? Should the standards be lowered to accommodate our standing?