Home arrow The Blogs arrow News/Commentaries arrow Action against Hindraf under Societies Act

Action against Hindraf under Societies Act PDF Print
Thursday, 09 October 2008 16:32

KUALA TERENGGANU (Oct 9, 2008) : Deputy Home Minister Senator Datuk Wan Ahmad Farid Wan Salleh, said yesterday the government will take action against the Hindu Rights Action Force (Hindraf) under the Societies Act 1966 for causing a disturbance during the Hari Raya function hosted by the Prime Minister and Muslim Cabinet ministers at the Putra World Trade Centre in Kuala Lumpur last Wednesday.

He said action would be taken soon on Hindraf, its committee,

and members, even though the organisation was not registered.

"Action will be taken. We have many alternatives. Under the Act, whether the organisation is legal or not, it is still an organisation. If it is not legal, action will be taken based on the provisions for an illegal organisation, unless if it is legal then action will be taken under the proper provisions," he said.

Wan Ahmad Farid said this when asked to comment on calls by several quarters that action be taken against Hindraf for their 'rudeness' at the function on the first day of Hari Raya.  

Wan Ahmad Farid said the government through the Home Ministry would not hesitate to take action against an illegal organisation as it had to follow the law.

"When it comes to the law, there must be no delay. Whatever action taken has to follow procedure and legal channels. What is clear in this matter is that whoever breaks the law must face action," he said.

Wan Farid Ahmad, however, declined to state what action will be taken aginst Hindraf.

He said when action is taken, Hindraf cannot blame the government, or allege that it had not been given opportunity to voice its views.

- BERNAMA

Comments (64)Add Comment
written by indianputra, October 09, 2008 16:35:49
Any action taken against HINDRAF by the Government will only drive another deep wedge between the entire rakyat and the Government. So, those who are in power, PLEASE THINK!!!

Enough is enough.. Don't make us more angry!
agree 175
written by doggone, October 09, 2008 16:49:44
Who is this Wan? Damn, he's the student of Al'burr.

written by cheekhiaw, October 09, 2008 16:56:38
Thieves, liars and murderers need to take action against others continually to take focus away from their crimes...

written by benjo, October 09, 2008 16:57:41
Is that how guests are treated for visiting during Raya open House. Some of these people have lost their fathers, husbands, etc. is there anything wrong in them making use of an opportunity to send a message? Would any one of us having lost our father/husband/friend to ISA be expected to smile and have fun? What have they done during the Raya that they deserve this? At least they are not hypocrital or just paying lip service by just uttering 'maaf zahir batin' and then do something else. Please rethink and do not be silly.
written by Mik, October 09, 2008 16:59:30
Why not show the video or pic that they acted "biadap" 1st b4 throwing accusation. SOunds like letting a guest in then claim "he raped me". hopeless
written by ahmadneil, October 09, 2008 17:02:14
They are playing dirty .Even paying a visit during open house is also a sin.
written by carribeanking7, October 09, 2008 17:03:51
Quote-
"When it comes to the law, there must be no delay. Whatever action taken has to follow procedure and legal channels. What is clear in this matter is that whoever breaks the law must face action,"

Really now, so when are you gonna pull your thumb out of your arse and take action against Ahmad Ismail, Hamidah Osman, Khir Toyo, samy velu etc ?
You are just a pathetic mouthpiece of the Home Minister who has no bollocks to make statements anymore.
written by awakened, October 09, 2008 17:03:59
Stupid reaction from a stupid govt!!! Have you noticed how they test the "waters" first by reporting what they think and what they will and can do under the various repressive acts? Then when no one objects, WHAM the hammer comes down on the poor souls. Remember PM's recent comments that DSAI was a "threat to national security"? It was only after there was many objections (from the likes of Lim Kit Siang) that the PM backed down. If no one had objected then, DSAI could well be in Kamunting now with RPK.

written by ahmadneil, October 09, 2008 17:06:54
He is Syed the Anaconda's junior,called Syed the python.
written by truthbespoken, October 09, 2008 17:07:10
Whaaaat? Arresting Hindraf members? Then all Hindraf members must offer themselves to be arrested! Let's see if the jail is big enough to hold all of them! The UMNO government still believe that they can continue to frighten the now-awaken Rakyat into submission through more crude arrests? What felony!

The Rakyat is sure getting angrier by the day on these biased one-sided actions taken by the UMNO government on the common people!
written by Kopi37, October 09, 2008 17:08:17
Stupid are all we have to run the Country into grave! They keep harping on laws in this lawless Country or rather law of jungle they are talking about! No one is beyond the law and why the alleged assasin has never been even dragged into police investigation?! Only outlaws are the very innocence who merely wished to express their plights and appeal of their rights to be heard after they have exhausted all other avenues, left them no choice but to 'greed' those simpletons hoping for blessings?! Were those members of Hindraf or families of Hindraf activists?! Can't they differentiate this and what lawless rule they are going to use this time to oppress the poor families of the victims?! ISA again?!

If they believe that by using iron fists tactics can subjugate and put down the people who voted them in, they must be insane and as uncivilized as the junta Government, they be prepared to face with more furore and insurgence of the boiling emotions of the rakyat under duress and undue suppression by the power that be! Oppression won't buy them any respect from the rakyat definitely!! We will sell you more hatred!
written by eskay, October 09, 2008 17:12:12
HINDRAF despite of knowing the risk of getting arrested under ISA judging fr current situation, still bear the risk to meet PM during open house? Come on, they are also human beings like you !

If the government is truly caring as you've claimed, pls put in a little effort to find out, instead of abusing the power entrusted & simply take legal action against your rakyat.

The government has been closing both eyes to Ahmad Ismail's remarks, Toyo's & Utusan's seditious blog/reports which trying to create disunity among races , by ignoring all the protest/request to take proper action, but now want to take action against HINDRAF simply b'coz they wanted to meet PM during Hari Raya Open House with the "NO TO ISA" T-Shirts on ? Put yourself in the rakyat's shoes, do you really think it is OK/convincing to take legal action against HINDRAF ?

Even if it's for the sake of BN'S reputation
written by macaufan, October 09, 2008 17:15:18
inilah budaya melayu rejim racist umno 'tangkap sesiapa yang rejim tak suka yang datang ke rumah 'terbuka' raya rejim"
written by aiyomanaboleh, October 09, 2008 17:16:04
Infantile reaction. It's an open house. If only selected guests are only allowed, then don't have open houses.

Anyway, can't blame this group as they were trying previously to meet up with him in an amicable way.

Serves him right for being so arrogant.
written by Jack Hui, October 09, 2008 17:18:21
Who is this SOTONG..huh
written by avj, October 09, 2008 17:23:02
He said when action is taken, Hindraf cannot blame the government, or allege that it had not been given opportunity to voice its views.

What you are saying Dato Wan Ahmad is, we want a scape goat and we are going to slaughter it no matter what.Isn't it? The problem as I see it is not Hindraf,but UMNO Bahru,where there is tremendous turmoil.Every body wants to take advantage of the situation and stake his claim to the loot.
written by skalsagoff, October 09, 2008 17:24:58
can anyone make a hyper-link/ connection with the western newspaper/web-pages so that all who wanna sign can indicate their dismay/ dis-agreenment with this action of the Malaysian govt official attacking hindraf??
written by wood, October 09, 2008 17:33:04
Hello! Every 'dog' will have its day! Please do not be arrogant
written by uxzee, October 09, 2008 17:34:26
"When it comes to the law, there must be no delay
====================================

If the above is true then why the delay in questioning Najib after Bala made the SD 1?
Why the delay in questioning Rosmah after RPK alleged her presence at Altantuya's C4 ?
Why the delay in questioning Bala after his SD 2 ?
Why the delay of taking action after the "Correct correct correct" tapes inquiry implicated many people ?

When it comes to the law, the govt does not take action if it involved UMNO men and will take IMMEDIATE ACTION when it involved opposition people.
written by kent chong, October 09, 2008 17:37:48
HOw ABout those NGO Group disturb BAR Meeting about inter faith?
written by onnetline, October 09, 2008 17:38:06
Wan Ahmed,

What actions will you be taking against racist, Ahmad Ismail and Khir Toyol for inciting racial sentiments then ?????

Are you just another shithead from Barisan Najis who desperate to get noticed !!!
written by cillipepper, October 09, 2008 17:40:56
YB Farid,
There are many unsolved criminal cases, lost children not found, rapists roaming the streets & mat rempits terrorizing the streets, yet you focus on HINDRAF.
Get your priority right and life would be more pleasant for the Rakyat!
written by michaelT, October 09, 2008 17:43:17
Who is this Wan Ahmad Farid. He is just been use as a scapegoat by the Botak. If they have to arrest few members then it is not too polite. They must arrest all Indians and put to jail. God Damn It!! Just to punish at your whim and fancy action. What you are trying to do is protect the perpetrators. Look at Hindraf in the positive angle and do something to appease the Indians. They also have a part ownership of Malaysia!!
written by venna, October 09, 2008 17:45:59
This is the sickest government one can get. I am ashamed that we the Rakyat had given these merciless, soulless people the mandate to form the government. We deserve this. We deserve more than this. Shame upon those who voted them in. I am too numbed to say anything else !
written by kc kua, October 09, 2008 17:46:45
Senator,

Use ISA...this is the faster way what! Try and charge all of them inclusive of voter that vote against BN under this ISA. Simple and easy way out what?

Damn how come now all the minister do not use the ISA, now only taking law ah, justice ah? Pulak macam org besar nak buli budak kecil...apa guna punya manusia.
written by keep it raw, October 09, 2008 17:54:09
AAB, SYED ALBAR, OR WHOever UMNO Goons,Remember PP Election, While Makkal Sakthi was performing Yagam (Hindu Holy Fire Ceremony) PM Badawi made a surprise appearance without any prior notice at a Chinese temple, Seberang Jaya, Penang. For your information, This is a Split Group created to tarnish the Real Image of HINDRAF.

Anyhow,

My Question to Syed Albar and all UMNO goons, WHY OUR HONORABLE PM AAB visited this event - YAAGAM or PRAYERS if this is a Pertubuhan HARAM? MALAYSIAN VVIP Top Government official can visit Pertubuhan HARAM anytime????? But, HINDRAF Supporters visiting open House is PURE Haram??

written by Side Helmit Elba, October 09, 2008 17:54:14
This guy seems not to understand the crux of the issue. Hindraf is not as priveledge enough like Saiful who could go to the Deputy Prime Minister or any other minister whenever they like to tell his greivence. They can only make use of these type of open house opportunity to meet the Minister and told them their grievences. Pls tell me whether this is wrong. From the photo shows there is no rudeness, using any foul letter words or any unruly behavior from them. If a person in grief do you expect them to wish you selamat hari raya or do they pour out their grievence to you sir, dear minister. Thus to uncouple this predicament, please charge them in the open court and see to justice done to them. Althought I disagreed that they take to the route of street protest, but the if our leaders put a deaf ear to their problems and predicament then indirectly these leaders are responsible for forcing them into the street. To add salt to the injury these leaders refuse to listen to them and focus on their(the rakyat)problem instead putting great attention to a minute problem of a single person who claim he has been sodomise willingly by DSAI. Is this the right thing for a good goverment to do. When hindraf have nowhere to vent their grievence the best chance for them to meet the leaders is their Hari Raya Open House. Please our great goverment focus on the big picture and not on a single person greivence. The same applied to to genuis girl in UK compare to our penans girl at our back yards
written by Durnfordi, October 09, 2008 17:54:44
Ini macam punya bodoh punya Minister pun ada kah? Only in Malaysia I believe! Exact replica of his stupid boss All-Blur! Both of them have their brains where the sun don't shine! Pathetic idiots!
written by Side Helmit Elba, October 09, 2008 17:55:52
Sorry the charge them I means is the Hindraf leaders detained under ISA
written by Cinakelate, October 09, 2008 18:00:44
Go ahead. It seems that 1 lesson is not enough for BN. Take more actions on our Indian friends, please please....
Then we'll see in the next election.
written by Ireland, October 09, 2008 18:09:13
Hello Mr Thenenthiran,
Can you please quickly make a police report and sue this idiotic peanut-head Syed and Wan for their wrong saying about the open house issue...? Firstly they don't have a case as theres no official Hindraf Organisation, secondly why harping on this issue when you've given a permission before went to the open house...?
i smell something rotting here....
written by ahmadneil, October 09, 2008 18:17:36
I told you don't go to visit these crooks.Now they want to ISA you all.
written by SK187, October 09, 2008 18:17:58
The government always need to dig so much and find "suitable" acts to use against civilians who they characterize based on how much is beneficial to them and there is no one to stop them when they abuse their position and power to create something like that.

Steering the nest last year on Hindraf caused BN 5 states (6 technically) and now in eventuality they will loose all states and belongings including themselves...!!!
written by Surind Raj, October 09, 2008 18:43:12
written by harryo, October 09, 2008 18:44:03
Open house Raya is not so open!
written by Surind Raj, October 09, 2008 18:44:32
written by PAKRAK, October 09, 2008 19:07:34
Why should there be action against the Hindraf group who wanted to make their presence felt by putting the message across to the government. Is it an offence? No chaos, riot, rowdyism and any untoward incident. Women, children and men participated. What about the Bar Council forum, UITM protest and other strret demonstrations?
written by tzarina, October 09, 2008 19:07:35
The gomen invited the whole country, regardless of what society or group the rakyat are from, to attend their open house. And now they complain when they did not like how certain rakyat looked like, or what they happened to have voiced out?

Where is the proof that Hindraf acted like thugs? Show us pictures, and videos and samples of blood taken from the floors. For every eye witness the gomen brings, Hindraf can also product a 100 more. So eye witness testimony is unreliable. Especially testimonies from the PM, UMNO, MIC, and any member of the government who has a stake in putting up Hindraf as the boogeyman.

An advice to Hindraf. Next time you enter into an open house, shout "Selamat Hari Raya! Hapuskan ISA! Selamat Hari Raya! Hapuskan ISA! Selamat..." Perhaps then the cabinet members can stop their petty pathetic whining that they were not showered with good wishes by their guests.

Hindraf Ban: Bodoh! Bodoh! Bodoh!
http://orangewaves.********.co...bodoh.html
written by Sabahfan, October 09, 2008 19:17:30
Ha this wan Farid guy looks like a malay Yakuza... more like a gangstar than a minister.

How to take action against hindraf when the govt says they do not exist?

cakapan sangat paling BODOOOH...

and i repeat... all those UMNO ministers present there were not even entitle to raya becos their PUASA dah BATAL kerana menipu rakyat musim bulan Ramadhan
written by Motherchell, October 09, 2008 19:23:13
Surind -- very apt pic of Albur, for sure he will pay for all his sins soon. UMNO is such a curse to Islam , the Citizens and the Constitution. They have destroyed everything TAR built painstakingly with consensus. To top it this fellow is not even a Malay. He uses Islam to further his agenda . He just doesn't realize the consequences. GOD is no fool!!
written by citizenmy, October 09, 2008 19:23:25
Please act immediately. That is the most important issue to be addressed in Malaysia now. Mother Fcukers.
written by non conformist, October 09, 2008 19:29:19
First Internal Security Act, now Societies Act!

Clear evidence of panic and a besieged mentality.

What has become of the BN Government!

It is hateful and abusive of the citizens

Let it be replaced.
written by Fuminari, October 09, 2008 20:04:22
come on,not another s.hit from all these goons who are being fed on hard earned tax payers' money!!pls spend ur effort to fight real crime than keep on giving us these kind of craps!!
written by godknows, October 09, 2008 20:10:18
Truly a sad decision by the Govt.It depicts a total lack of compassion for the downtrodden.I advised you fellows(Hindraf supporters)against this " Hari Raya Open House" demonstarion..one day before on MT.I feared this will happen and they wld consider this anti Islam.My fears were right.Now for no reason...more familes are going to suffer becoz of incaceration of some loved ones.

This nation has gone to the ----! Members of Parlament...from both divide...there is salvation yet.Put your right hand over your heart...heed your conscience when called upon to vote for the motion that will be tabled soon.
written by DreamLady, October 09, 2008 20:12:27
Wan farid, you got to have your facts right before you make your next move. Go and look at the open house video, and with 4 pairs of eyes, you screen properly before you accuse people.

Shame on you, the people who vote for you, it is the same people you throw mud at. act within your knowledge and within common sense if you have any, failing which you will eventually pay a big price for your reckless action...
written by debids, October 09, 2008 20:18:30
Show the public pictures of Hindraf being unruly at open house...let us judge for ourselves! Why no pictures?
written by aeromaverick, October 09, 2008 20:27:48
Well, the funny part of this whole episode is as follows,
1. More or less everyone, including most of the ruling members of the government agree that there is a genuine problem with the majority of the indian community.
2. Once in a while we hear some of them making half hearted statements that something is going to be done.
3. It is recorded that these chaps from HINDRAF did try their best, pursuing democratic means to meet the powers to be for addressing their grievances, but to no avail.
4. Even the Hari Raya open house, I do remember reading somewhere that they announced their intentions as such.
5. Nobody really made any contravening statements as to come or not.
6. Post incident, of course there were sections of the society who made statements about need to teach them a lesson/it was in bad light/it is not the Malaysian way of doing things/ and a lot more.
7. And now they want to ban and all that, an organisation that does not probably even exist on paper or records.

My question is, how is the government going to silence a large section the society by throwing the book at them. The law is for the people of the nation, and if the same people start coming out in large numbers against something, then the logical thing is, there must be some obvious issues with the same law that was supposed to protect the people in the first place.

If the government is trying to keep the majority of the society happy by doing this, I think catching Nurin's murderers and making the country a safer place is a nobler pursuit rather than short sighted political hammering of the weaker sections of the society.

After many centuries of prosecution of the weaker, minority and marginalised segment of various societies around the world, today these same diversities and history is celebrated all over the world. But we in this country seems to be going backward at the same time....
written by A MI, October 09, 2008 20:28:21
kalau bapak "kencing" berdiri, anak "kencing" is what this is. He is taking the cue from his role model Al Blur. Just as well Sleepy is going. Look at the kind of people he made senator!
written by Ahjamal, October 09, 2008 20:31:00
We have a real stupid asst HM. Why have an open house in the first place?

written by supplier, October 09, 2008 20:59:13

Indians also have to live and mouths to feed.

did MIC really help them? What hindraf asked was to live a peaceful and decent live and most of all a job!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
written by asguard, October 09, 2008 21:06:04
Let them do that... and just see...what will happens in next elections... don't even think of indians support for MIC... because what they done to hindraf now will be lesson for bn in time to come...and i bet the mic will get zero votes ...
written by omarkhayyam, October 09, 2008 21:12:23
there goes another racist idiot speaking thru his royal posterior, who probably never passed SRP or UPSR smilies/smiley.gif

written by JUST, October 09, 2008 21:27:31
"You assist an evil system by obliging its orders and decrees.
An evil system never deserves such allegiance.
Allegiance to it means collaboration with the evil.
A man of principles will resist an evil system with his whole soul.
Non-collaboration with evil is a sacred duty!

It may be long before the law of love will be recognized in
this beautiful country. The machinery of evil administration
stands in-between and hides the loving hearts of the Nation!"

written by chiongguo, October 09, 2008 22:11:10
Recently a group of monkeys came into my farm. It was the first time for me as well as for my dogs. My dogs just didn't bark or even attempted to chase the monkeys away. They just left the monkeys to bounce up and down my very fragile fence. I came out and started chasing the monkeys and before you know it my dogs went after the monkeys barking their heads off like crazy. Ever since then whenever they saw monkeys they would bark like crazy.

Najib called the hindraf visitors to PM open house biadab. From what I saw the people who were really biadab were those who invited others to their house and then stopping them or directing them to entrances that lead to nowhere. They engineered an altercation and then made it into one big hoo-ha. This is not only biadab but kurang ajar.

What had the story of my dogs and monkey go to do with any of this ? Well look at all the UMNO attack dogs barking their heads off over this issue. Everytime there is something that UMNO wanted to make an issue over they would just have to unleash these well-fed dogs.

Don't blame these dogs. They really can't or don't think.

written by johntyc, October 09, 2008 22:49:25
Fine. You want MIC to fall! You want Hindraf to get stronger! Then let it be!
written by shatis, October 09, 2008 23:52:52
Tv3 and Utusan please show or publish the events video and photos, people will decide who was rude the police or HINDRAF.

Nowdays the police as well as the prosecution knows that they can't prove the allegation they make but just by dragging this people to court and make them suffer, is enough to break people's will to fight against the corrupted system.

Just like the HINDRAF guys caught in Batu Caves, the prosecution couldn't prove the case against them but half of these guys plead guilty because of draggy trial and when the court announced that the trial is going to be for 2 months non stop. How these guys going to earn if they attend for court trial for 2 months !! who will hire them??
So even without a proper case against you, our malaysian police and court can make you suffer. This is what they are planning to do against HINDRAF guys attended the open house. video clip and photos will show that they are innocent but court will drag the case for very long time and make this people suffer. Malaysia apa pun boleh !!!
written by harmanamri, October 09, 2008 23:54:56
Lain kali jangan buat rumah terbuka. Rumah terbuka maknanya semua orang boleh datang. UMNO BANGANG!!
written by Fart Fart Wah, October 10, 2008 01:00:15
ORANG YANG PATUT DIPENJARA TIDAK PULA...
AHMAD ISMAIL, TOYOL, HAMIDAH OSMAN., YANG BERKERIS, YANG MEMBUNUH PAKAIC4..YAND CURI WANG IBU PERTIWI, YANG CURI TANAH PERKUBURAN ISLAM..TANAH ORANG MELAYU, YANG CURI WANG RUMAH BAKTI..
SEMUA BEBAS...

YANG PATUT DIBEBAS DAN YANG MENUNTUT KEADILAN DIPENJARA, DITUDUHLIWAT, DITUDUH MEMBAYAHAKAN SEKURITI NEGARA, DITEMBAK AIR ASID, DIPUKUL MATI DLM PENJARA DAN DIPUKUL HINGGA MATA HITAM...

INI LAH KEADILAN KERAJAAN UMNO...
written by Rigi9, October 10, 2008 02:58:17
What an a*s!h:l! Senator to say...."When it comes to the law, there must be no delay. Whatever action taken has to follow procedure and legal channels. What is clear in this matter is that whoever breaks the law must face action".

Look at your pariah bosses & their families who blatantly break & abuse the law.

written by joebananas, October 10, 2008 03:25:32
absolute bunch mongloids in Umno......time would come for u idiots too umono morons
written by hakuna, October 10, 2008 04:44:54
Can any man be dumber than these idiots?

This is what is termed stupidity at its absurditity - Oh, one wonders how the countruy has survived all along.
written by Highway16, October 10, 2008 06:58:06
Hmmmm... I am confused. Which Law is he referring to?

UMNO's Law?
BN's Law?
Whenever Feels Good Law?
Lingam's Law?
Rosmah's Law?
C4 Law?

Wanna Fard Ahmad, please clarify?
written by mymastermind79, October 10, 2008 09:31:49
ISA lagi biadap bodoh!
written by captmarco ramius, October 10, 2008 09:52:38
Deputy Home Minister Senator Datuk Wan Ahmad Farid Wan Salleh, said yesterday the government will take action against the Hindu Rights Action Force (Hindraf) under the Societies Act 1966 for causing a disturbance during the Hari Raya function hosted by the Prime Minister and Muslim Cabinet ministers at the Putra World Trade Centre in Kuala Lumpur last Wednesday.

emmm...mr wan ahmad farid,it seems you guys still don't get it !

take lah whatever action you want to take.don't just go on barking.

THE UPRISING OF MAKKAL SAKTHI CANNOT BE SILENCED !!!

VALGHE HINDRAF MAKKAL SAKTHI !!!