Home arrow The Blogs arrow News/Commentaries arrow Malaysia considering ban on Hindraf: official

Malaysia considering ban on Hindraf: official PDF Print
Thursday, 09 October 2008 09:54

Kuala Lumpur, Oct 8 (PTI) Malaysian authorities have indicated they are considering to impose a ban on the Hindu Rights Action Force (Hindraf), which hit headlines last year after it organised a massive rally of ethnic Indians to protest alleged marginalisation in this multi-ethnic country.

Abdul Aziz Mohd Yusof, a senior official in the Home Ministry, said as Hindraf was not a registered organisation, the ministry's legal unit would look at the technicality of disbanding the group, a media report said today.

Since the past week, Hindraf has been getting bad local press after a few supporters including children of the detained five leaders handed a note to premier Abdullah Badawi at his open house to celebrate Id, asking for their release.

Abdullah had on Monday said he was irked by Hindraf's attitude during the incident.

Having allowed the group who came in colour-coordinated T-shirts to join the celebrations, Abdullah said he regretted their unruly behaviour of chanting for the abolition of the Internal Security Act (ISA) and the release of their leaders detained under the Act.

Abdul Aziz cited the incident at the cabinet's Id open house and alleged that "Hindraf's insolence could not be tolerated as it had angered many, especially Muslims who felt it had marred the spirit of the Hari Raya (Id)," a local daily said.

The five Hindraf leaders were detained under the controversial ISA for organising the rally on November 25 last year which was declared illegal by the government. More than 20,000 ethnic Indians took part in the rally which took the government by total surprise.

- PTI

written by johanssm, October 09, 2008 10:07:09
Bans Hindraf? That is what we wanted to hear from the gov.
Those are the sweet words we the rakyat wanna hear.
Put all the Hindraf supporters inside Kamunting?
Some of my melayu friends are Hindraf supporters too. My Chinese friends are supporters too. Another thing is, how to bans something which is none "existence"?
As any Malaysian can be a Hindraf. Theres Hindraf soul in each of us here.Anti ISA can be Hindraf , NGOs can be Hindraf.
We have some Hindraf in all of us here , good to see the umno gov are daft.
written by Semut Jantan, October 09, 2008 10:13:54
Easy solution --Change the name to Indraf, Indians Rights Action Force. If they ban it, change again. Apa susahnya?
written by sactyr, October 09, 2008 10:14:42
So next time I wear an orange T-shirt and go to a open house, I will be ISA-ed?

"Abdullah said he regretted their unruly behaviour of chanting for the abolition of the Internal Security Act (ISA) "

Show us one proof that they were chanting!! Show us one proof they were "unruly behaved"!! But if thats the case, you guys better start renovating Kamunting, coz it ain't enough for all Hindraf supporters. Lets see how many supporters you can put it in there.
written by avj, October 09, 2008 10:16:25
This the height of stupidity,How do you disband an oranisation which is not a legal entity? The Hindraf leaders are mostly lawyers they know their way around.You should be using taxpayers funds to make this country a safer and free country,not looking for loop-holes in the existing laws to further castrate the people.
written by fireduck, October 09, 2008 10:27:35
Next they will want to ban Makkal Sakhti. Then they will want to ban you all from breathing too.

But, there is one thing UMNO won't ban. It's not Hindraf, but Bankdraft! The more the better, if it's bankdraft! Or if it is 'cashdraft'. That is an accepted part of their culture. smilies/cheesy.gif
written by michael chick, October 09, 2008 10:29:38
written by michaelT, October 09, 2008 10:42:46
The Authority is not considering banning HINDRF instaed they are choosing the right time to ban. It is not the authority but just one wicked minister. What is so illegal. The ban should be in place at the bigining and why right now. Attenting open house of the PM is actually respectable and more respectable with a spokepwerson to have a group wish. What is the problem of the shirts they wear. Everyone can wear anything outfit to their pleasure. Why feel so offended with one voice wish and the shirt. Grow up man and dont be so pricky. There are so many important national issue to solve Penan rape, economic rejuvination etc. Why is the authority so fearful of a minority group if not for GUILT.
written by lamakawan, October 09, 2008 10:44:08
There is no need to ban HINDRAF, you stupid abdul Aziz. Is not the jailing of their leaders sufficient to keep them silenced? How much more rope do you need to surround the Hindraf supporters? Whether they are registered or not is immaterial to you. They are not going to punch you or hurt you in any way. All they want is for the release of their leaders from ISA. Can you understand, stipid moron?
written by IbnAbdHalim, October 09, 2008 11:18:47
The next step is to ban UMNO from Malaysian politics because all the rots starts with that party.
written by cicakman, October 09, 2008 11:33:32
Malaysian Authorities, please ban HINDRAF.

What UMNO/BN will see next month is there will be another BIG rally By the HINDRAF. Target 300,000 will be join the rally. This time not only indian but chinese and malay also will join .
UMNO/BN your days are counted. Pak Lah step down , our beloved Anwar Ibrahim will be next PM.
written by unomalaysia, October 09, 2008 11:37:09
These Homeies are just as stupid as their boss Syed Bodoh Almoron. How can you ban an organization that never officially exist. Hindraf exist in the peoples' hearts. Ban all you want but Hindraf will exist and continue. Like trying to catch smoke with a net. Bahlol!
written by cillipepper, October 09, 2008 11:43:59
Askm Abd Aziz,
I am not angry.

ONLY UMNO is angry and you are becoming their running dog!
written by Hakim Joe, October 09, 2008 11:54:30
Hindraf is only a name. The Gomen is very naïve to think that banning them will stop the Rakyat’s wishes. The Gomen thinks that they can charge anyone (with ISA) associated with Hindraf after the banning order. Hello….you fellas are already “detaining” them now.

written by Richy, October 09, 2008 12:07:13
Something is not right with this authorities. How are you going to ban a non-existent Hindraf. Please lah guys, Hindraf cannot be banned because it's a movement of consciousness, in the mind of those who believe strongly they have been marginalised or victimised.
written by uxzee, October 09, 2008 12:08:19
Abdul Aziz cited the incident at the cabinet's Id open house and alleged that "Hindraf's insolence could not be tolerated as it had angered many, especially Muslims who felt it had marred the spirit of the Hari Raya (Id)," a local daily said
======================================================= ============

Very conveniently, they have used the phrase "angered many, especially Muslims" to take action.
Even when RPK was put under ISA, the same excuse was used.
I do not know of many Muslims who were angry with RPK's article or Hindraf's action. But many in UMNO felt insecure with Hindraf's popularity and RPK's strong influence.
written by Jit Dharma, October 09, 2008 12:53:01
We are not going to be rattled by the bogus claims of these facists,it will be
one more nail in the coffin if MIC and BN, go ahead make my day!!!
written by cheekhiaw, October 09, 2008 13:21:39
When is the government going to consider banning thieves, liars and murderers?

written by nattolady, October 09, 2008 13:27:20
how to ban? They are not the registered body anyway smilies/grin.gif
written by asguard, October 09, 2008 13:50:42
Just do it... and you will see where is support will be in next election ...i think MIC will have zero reps in parliament .......
written by clarity, October 09, 2008 13:55:28
Inche Abdul Aziz, may I sak you this? If Hindraf apply for registration do you honestly think they would get it? Yet since they don't have registration, you say the technical (excuse) to ban them. Is this not cheating? Is this not rule by force? The same apply to the petition which they wanted to submit about 20 times and no body cared a damn. So the only way was to take advantage of the open house. Please be honest and admit that you don't care about public outcry and you love the ISA. Then we all save time talking round and round.
written by carribeanking7, October 09, 2008 14:02:20
Abdul Aziz cited the incident at the cabinet's Id open house and alleged that "Hindraf's insolence could not be tolerated as it had angered many, especially Muslims who felt it had marred the spirit of the Hari Raya (Id)," a local daily said.

RPK's detention under ISA marred the spirit of raya.
Ahmad Ismail racist comments marred the spirit of ramadhan.
Hamidah Osman's Indian snake comment marred the spirit of Muhibbah.

Look at your own backyard first Abdul Aziz.

written by johntyc, October 09, 2008 14:30:33
All I see was hundreds of visitors who coincidentally wore identical shirts and partying in a unique way.

Raya is about forgiveness.
written by gorshan, October 09, 2008 15:04:35
cant stand the truth? ban it..!!!!! smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif smilies/angry.gif
written by RFernandez, October 09, 2008 15:22:40
What next Mr. Badawi, are you also planning to put that little Teddy Bear gift you got from Hindraf in ISA too? Have you got your bodyguards to inspect that Teddy Bear make sure it has no hidden camera built into it?

I must say for being a person who claims that you welcome all critisms you seem to be very sensitive & paranoid, just because some people did not greet you Selamat Hari Raya, you want to take action on them? Gee, this is ulimate insult you can do to the rakyat. Guess what you maybe PM of Malaysia but you are the servant to the rakyat you are NOT GOD. Also remember in order to get respect from the people you have to earn it first. In your case and also your corrupt cabinet there is no respect from the people. So stop this wayang kulit o.k, you are just making the rakyat angrier by the day with your silly statements.
written by Stormquest, October 09, 2008 16:30:34

Mahatma Gandhi once said;

"First they ignore you.
Then they laugh at you.
Then they fight you.
Then you win".

The fools seem forget history. How many organizations have been banned world wide, only to emerge stronger and more popular than before? One example is the African National Congress, which was banned in 1960. Today, they rule South Africa.

And what happened to the apartheid regime in South Africa? In the garbage can. The same fate awaits UMNO.
written by AngryTaxpayer, October 09, 2008 17:54:20
Marred the spirit of the Hari Raya??
How about throwing a much loved good Muslim Man into the ISA jail? That def marred our celebration mood.....can we ban the Home Minister too?