Home arrow The Blogs arrow News/Commentaries arrow Ka Ting's 'plan' for RM1.6b assets questioned

Ka Ting's 'plan' for RM1.6b assets questioned PDF Print
Thursday, 09 October 2008 08:49
(NST) MCA member Datuk Theng Book, who shot to fame this year with his "snoop squad" allegation aga-inst outgoing president Datuk Seri Ong Ka Ting, is at it again.

This time, he is alleging that Ong is using his last days to force the party's central committee to approve the setting of a Central Board of Trustees (CBOT) that will oversee and manage all party assets, said to be worth up to RM1.6 billion. The jewel in the crown is Huaren Holdings (Malaysia's leading Chinese investment company), which among others, owns The Star.

Theng, who is gunning for a place on the new central committee (CC) said he was made aware of Ong's plan when a current CC member gave him a copy of the proposal.

"All party assets are currently managed by the party's presidential council. But if the CBOT is set up, that would no longer be the case.

"According to the proposal, members of the CBOT are elected by the central committee and must be independent from the presidential council," said Theng.
Theng questions the urgency for the proposal to be passed.

Also present at the press conference was Chang Aik Ming, another central committee member hopeful, who is presidential candidate Datuk Chua Jui Meng's special task force secretary.

Theng and Chang said if elected, they would revamp the CC into an internal watchdog against the presidential council.

They also used the press conference to smear presidential candidate Datuk Ong Tee Keat.

They referred to a poison pen letter which claimed Tee Keat owned 17 undeclared properties worth up to RM21 million.

"There is nothing wrong with owning those properties. However, he must come out and declare them."

Chang also alleged that Tee Keat had been sending out invitations to his functions to delegates using the Transport Ministry letterhead.

In an immediate response, Tee Keat slammed Theng, saying that as a lawyer he should understand that one is innocent until proven guilty.

"The party who issued the poison pen letters should prove the allegations. Is it fair to ask the target of such letters to prove his or her innocence? One must be able to substantiate the claims," Tee Keat said.

"Furthermore, I have made periodic assets declarations to the government. If my income does not commensurate with what I've earned, they would have spotted it."

written by ahmadneil, October 09, 2008 08:59:46
We won't see how dirty they are ,only when we see how they get dirty.
written by ahmadneil, October 09, 2008 09:00:56
OKT is directing the fund into his personal pocket.He is draining the coffer dry before he leaves.
written by Hello Keithy, October 09, 2008 09:22:08
Datuk Theng, throw the 'Book' at Ka Ting. The 'Droopy Eyes' ought to be hang by his balls with his fat brother tied to the end of it.
written by HHKim, October 09, 2008 09:25:34
I think Datuk Theng has done a good job by highlighting the possible corruption within MCA.

All efforts must be channelled to get rid of these ills in the country, irrespective whether they are UMNO, MCA, Gerakan and MIC.

They are there to manage the country, NOT to abuse their positions to enrich themselves, which they often do with highest level of hypocrisy.
written by chiongguo, October 09, 2008 10:44:12
Possibly OKT wants to manage this RM1.6 Billion. When you manage such a huge sum you invariably invite a lot of people coming round to please you with gifts and irrestible offers. He could wheel and deal in ways that he could not when he was the president and in the government.

Political parties with their fingers in the nation's pot have no business doing business. The business arm of MCA should be sold off.

written by unomalaysia, October 09, 2008 12:11:28
Good! let all the MCA dirt float to the surface. This will be a good opportunity for all these beggar politicians (to borrow from Lim Keng Yaik) to come clean. OTK, If you can justify your wealth do so and no one can hit you later. If the allegations are false onus of proof also falls on you. Proof that those properties do not belong to your or your wife. I consider you as one of the more decent MCA guys so lets not disappoint the very few Chinese left that still think that there are decent people (though very few) left in MCA.
Dont forget that you promised to be transparent (by early 2009) on the Port Klang FTZ. Hope you are not a "Tai Chek Kong" or Big Talker only.
written by Batangkali, October 09, 2008 12:56:53
How can OTK be transparent in Port Kelang FTZ, when Ling the thief was involved and now the new nominee is Lee Hwa Beng, a supporter of OKT.

Tau sama tau, curi simpan sendiri, kaya mesti !!
written by cllim123, October 09, 2008 13:52:50
Theng Bok, instead of just barking at Kating, do some land search and show how the properties are linked. YOu should know better as a very senior lawyer that talk is cheap. Please prove to the world that these Ong brothers and their junior Ong TK are liars and amassing wealth in secret. Otherwise hold your peace or piece.
written by Concerned_Citizen, October 09, 2008 16:06:00
Last time, LLS pocketed a lot during Makmak tenure, now OKT is finding way to gain massive wealth. We all know that the world economy is quite bad this round and nothing is faster than stealing rakyat money.

There are many unresolved abandoned housing project under OKT adminstration, which once he said that he was not aware about this (sleep like pak lah). Now he handed to his brother which also seems to be uncompatible with this task. Tau cari makan aje.