Home arrow The Blogs arrow News/Commentaries arrow PM lists his five missions before stepping down

PM lists his five missions before stepping down PDF Print
Thursday, 09 October 2008 08:25
(The Star) Prime Minister Datuk Seri Abdullah Ahmad Badawi officially announced his decision not to defend his Umno presidency in March, thus effectively giving up his premiership then. Making the announcement after chairing the Barisan Nasional supreme council meeting at the PWTC yesterday, he listed five initiatives, which he called his mission, that he intended “to see through” before leaving office.

They are:

>       ESTABLISHING the Judicial Appointments Commission to enhance the stature of the judiciary;

>       ESTABLISHING the Malaysian Anti-Corruption Commission with greater powers of investigation and enforcement;

>       ESTABLISHING the Special Complaints Commission to enhance the integrity and effectiveness of enforcement agencies;

>       STRENGTHENING and enlarging the Social Safety Net to ensure aid to all, regardless of race and religion; and

>       HOLDING a Barisan Nasional convention to improve inter-racial and inter-religious relations.

Abdullah also acknowledged Datuk Seri Najib Tun Razak as his successor and believed that his present deputy would get the support of the component parties.

It is learnt that the Umno general assembly is scheduled to be held in the third week of March 2009.

Full text of Prime Minister Datuk Seri Abdullah Ahmad Badawi’s statement

written by *********, October 09, 2008 08:31:13
MISSION IMPOSSIBLE OF MR FLIP FLOP! On another note, an autocratic approach in academe only retards the intellectual development of our students? Are they, like everyone else in the establishment, concerned only about making sure they remain in the good books of the butterer of their bread?What about party politics? Why are our universities so consistent in their aversion to opposition parties visiting their campuses?...More http://*********.********.com
written by ahmadneil, October 09, 2008 08:33:25
AAB, you have indeed make a grave mistake by giving way to tainted Najis.With Alantutya's case pending,this will haunt him during his premiership.He won't be doing a better job than you.
written by arazak, October 09, 2008 08:34:08
Like an old LP record, I have heard this over and over again since 2004. . ., nothing achived so far.

Please pack your bags quickly. . ., we do not want to hear anymore empty promises!!!
written by sactyr, October 09, 2008 08:42:52
1) Judicial Appointments Commission - won't work coz then "C4" will be brought to justice for Altantuya

2) Anti-Corruption Commission - Yeah rite, more power means less BN people get caught.

3) Special Complaints Commission - Who is going to head this commission? PM? Rosmah?

4) Social Safety Net - won't work as long as NEP is there. Abolish NEP first.

5) Barisan Nasional convention - again won't work as long as NEP is there.
written by Panglima Gantang, October 09, 2008 08:46:00
It's good that Badawi finally realized his weaknesses and I really hope what he implements befroe he steps down will not be erased by the new PM.
Besides his 5 priorities, Badawi should also resolve the long outstanding security of Sabah, with particular reference to the mass issuance of fake ICs. Sabah cannot forever remain a land of fakes where its wealth continue to be siphoned by irresponsible people.
written by Ken Liew, October 09, 2008 08:54:20
Anyway...... B4 steping down, you still want to make sickening policy.... what a lame!!

you can say your good bye. It wont be any mission, if the NEW PM came in and re-mission all this ex-mission......

We dont need a PM who only like himself. WHY DONT THE LEADERS SHOW SOME LOVE TO THE COUNTRY???

written by PAKRAK, October 09, 2008 08:55:25
The five initiatives should have been done six years ago and NOT in the next six months before you step down. Can AAB do it in a haste?
Before AAB phases out, can the rakyat request his family especially his son and SIL to make full restitution before his exit. I am sure Badawi will have enough to live on his pension and other fringes. The same goes to Najib. Declare his assets to the public and return all commissions (2 submarines) plus other Mindef procurements and countless gifts in kind to the government and last but not least swear on the Koran in the National Mosque that you and your wife have nothing to do with the Altantuya murder.
written by asguard, October 09, 2008 08:59:46
Whether bodowi carries out reform... latter to be see reverse by Najis... the truth is that they don't like reforms.... they prefer to stick to the present condition easy for them to hide and manipulation ....
written by Daryl, October 09, 2008 09:09:50
Malaysian should look at themselves and ask the questio is leadership in UMNO means change in direction for Malaysia or just a different leaders leading the corrupt bunch. They are trying to pull a fast one on us and I don't have any doubts majority of rakyat will be con again... Really sad but I won't be suprise.
written by Newkidonblog, October 09, 2008 09:10:59
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=IM39yIKoSo4

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v...re=related

Special dedication to AAB and Jeanne, Happy retirement!
written by chiongguo, October 09, 2008 09:22:32
Society has seen an alarming decline in interracial and inter-religious relations.

If you could find a way to rein in the UMNO attack dogs we would have less of such problems. Most people are peace loving it is only when we have all these mad dogs barking their heads off do we have racial and religious tension.

Know what the real problem is and the solution will stare you in the face. Do not know the real problem, all solutions will create more problems for you to face.

written by krising1, October 09, 2008 09:57:27
Pak Bodoh, add one more mission to your list. Have Najis charged in court before Mar 09. Tell the police no cover up. Bring back Bala and use his evidence.

Are you not going to do anything about the RC's finding on judiciary fixing? Get them all fixed up, at least charged in court, before you leave. I want to see the Ma-mak in the dock.
written by whlau, October 09, 2008 10:33:02
What makes us think he can achieve his five initiatives in less than five months when he had almost five years to do it?

For the times when he was in office, we have often heard him say his famous words,"I still have a lot of work to do", but, even until today of his stepping down announcement, we can still hear his echo of those words.

Five initiatives...indeed!!!
written by Futurist, October 09, 2008 10:42:44
Well, he has always mentioned that he has big ears. Probably they are too big for him to lug it around, that he was not able to complete his mission.
written by Mark C, October 09, 2008 10:48:23
what a bloody joke, he has been given 4 years to do these and has failed and failed miserably and now in a few months he wants to achieve it?

written by HeeHaw, October 09, 2008 10:54:54
God is Great!!

So you put good people like RPK in jail/ISA, you make poor Hindraf fellows suffer....well, they may be in jail but they have their heads held high and their names are held in high esteem, but you? You pathetic excuse for a politician, your name will forever stink and you will go down in history as a total failure and everywhere you go people will be snickering at you. Was it worth it?
written by Thamipoh, October 09, 2008 12:03:43
AAB claimed that he is true to his conscience. I dont think so and I say the oppossite is true. Anyone with a clear conscience will not detain without trial, frabricate sodomy charges, blind to corruption, fattening family members and cronies with goverment projects and lain lain lagi. His conscience will pricks him until his death.
written by RFernandez, October 09, 2008 15:48:40
Mr.Badawi, I'm afraid you are living in lah lah land. None of your five missions will be achieved, the rakyat can bet their bottom ringgit on it. Why? Here are at least 5 major stumbling blocks for you Mr.Badawi.

1) You waste your time chasing innocent people and putting them in ISA! Hence you have no respect from the rakyat to begin with.
2) You waste countries resources and money on the wrong projects.
3) You never did anything right that you promised you would do, so what makes these 5 missions an exceptional case? Sama sama saja lah, lepaskan batuk di tangga?
4) You have penchant for lying to the rakyat, whatever you say should be taken with a grain of salt and I would personally prefer to throw the rest of the salt into your eye to ward off the devil himself.
5) Finally with the highly corrupt cabinet that you have working for you, do you think you have the chance of acheiving anything that you dream of doing? I doubt it.

written by SCM, October 09, 2008 16:44:24
Hahahaha, in the last 5 years all you did was sleep and let your family rape us and now when you are sinking, you want to do something for us? Everyone knows that you need a bit of time in order to make your final billions.

Here's the deal, we let you make a few more million before March 2009 on condition you banish that oily slimeball sil Khairy to an oasis in the middle of Sahara Desert. Okay? If okay, we let you make a few million on that helicopter deal that your family is already involved in.
written by densemy, October 10, 2008 12:43:58
You will note that he is aiming at achieving NOTHING

Establishing a few committees which will be totally ignored... and having a convention

Whoopy doo... What a great leader