Home arrow The Blogs arrow Special Reports arrow One down: Now for Khairy

One down: Now for Khairy PDF Print E-mail
Posted by kasee   
Thursday, 09 October 2008 08:17

The Malaysian Insider Commentary

Having witnessed the forced exit of Datuk Seri Abdullah Badawi, Tun Dr Mahathir Mohamad is now training his guns on his other nemesis: Khairy Jamaluddin.

His sarcastic comments on his blog about the PM’s son-in-law mark the beginning of what is likely to be a campaign to make sure that the latter fails in his attempt at becoming the Umno Youth leader, and becomes a political footnote.

There is an added impetus for Dr Mahathir to succeed – Khairy’s failure could clear the path for Datuk Mukhriz Mahathir’s rise up the ladder in Umno.

In the former prime minister’s eyes, Abdullah and Khairy have been responsible for dismantling parts of his legacy and encouraging many Malaysians to equate his tenure with the destruction of institutions such
as the judiciary, and excesses in the system.

His anger against both of them has been stewing for more than four years. Indeed, several weeks after Abdullah took over as prime minister on Oct 31 2003, Dr Mahathir started having second thoughts about his
successor, complaining that the PM was scratching several mega projects conceived by him.

He was also upset that several initiatives announced by Abdullah – the move to rehabilitate the judiciary; improve the public delivery service; tackle corruption and shore up the country’s police force – appeared
designed to put his years in office in unfavourable light.

Troubling to him also were reports that Abdullah’s special officers, especially Khairy, were lamenting that Dr Mahathir’s profligacy in his last 12 months in office has resulted in a depleted treasury.

The former prime minister and his circle of supporters could not accept that Abdullah – in their estimation a simpleton – could put together a reform agenda and put the brakes on spending. They believed that he was
influenced by Khairy and other advisors, later to be called the Fourth Floor.

From then on, it only became a question of when. When would Dr Mahathir publicly attack Abdullah and Khairy?

He could not do so in 2004 because the PM had just led the Barisan Nasional to a resounding victory in the general elections and was very popular inside and outside Umno. Indeed, the size of the victory and the fact that some politicians were attributing it to the Abdullah factor created some resentment in the Mahathir camp.

Malacca Governor’s Tan Sri Khalil Yaakob seemingly innocent observation that 99 per cent of the victory was due to Abdullah did not go down well with Dr Mahathir. Two years later, the former prime minister still remembered that statement.

Khairy’s run at the number two position in Umno Youth and his election to the position unopposed in 2004 angered Dr Mahathir further. In a posting on his blog this week, Dr Mahathir wrote: “He won it uncontested. Apart from Umno Youth chief Hishammuddin Hussein, who gave other possible candidates a tongue lashing – telling them in no uncertain terms that they must not contest the position because it was reserved for the Prime

Minister’s son-in-law, others suspected of having ambitions to contest for the post received phone calls from family members of the PM and other influential supporters not to do anything to spoil the ambition of this
first time Umno member, with absolutely no track record, from winning uncontested.’’

Like an open sore, the anger against Abdullah and Khairy festered. In 2006, sensing that Abdullah’s honeymoon was over and there was growing impatience among Malaysians over his indecisiveness, Dr Mahathir declared war on Abdullah, his family, Khairy, the Fourth Floor and anyone else who dared to defend the Prime Minister.

He accused the PM of nepotism and cronyism, alleged that he had abdicated decision-making to Khairy and his advisors and lashed out at him for stopping the project to build a crooked bridge to Singapore. This
campaign ebbed and flowed over two years, depending on Dr Mahathir’s health, but it had a significant impact on Abdullah’s reputation and Khairy’s public image.

Abdullah’s supporters believed that if he led the BN to another strong victory in the general elections in 2008, he would be able to silence Dr Mahathir for good. Conversely, they knew that if the Opposition made some
gains on March 8, the PM would face calls for resignation from the former prime minister.

They were wrong. Dr Mahathir did not wait for the outcome of the polls to launch another volley. A few days before voting, he said that Malaysia needed a stronger opposition and questioned Abdullah’s fitness to lead. The loss of two-thirds majority in Parliament and four states to the Opposition gave Dr Mahathir and his supporters more ammunition and a much more receptive audience in Umno.

His calls for Abdullah’s resignation and framing the election results as the sole responsibility of the PM found strong support in a party stunned by the loss of territory and fearful of the resurgent Datuk Seri Anwar Ibrahim.

Despite Abdullah’s efforts to stay in office until 2010, it became  increasingly clear – especially after the loss of the Permatang Pauh by-election in August – that he had lost the support of many supreme council members. There was genuine fear that if Abdullah stayed in office, the Anwar-led Opposition would roll over the BN at the next polls.

There is genuine concern among Dr Mahathir and his supporters on what the return of Anwar Ibrahim would mean for them. In September, Dr Mahathir played his strongest card. He gave an ultimatum to Datuk Seri Najib Tun Razak: continue supporting Abdullah as the leader and be prepared for your dirty linen to be washed in public.

That warning seemed to have some effect. A flurry of activity and meetings between Abdullah and Najib followed and it culminated in the March transition plan. Under this plan, Abdullah would remain in office until March but would not contest the Umno elections.

Abdullah’s fidelity to the plan yesterday marked a victory for Dr Mahathir and he was in no charitable mood. Asked by Bernama what Abdullah should do between now and March, he replied: “Shut Up.’’

But shut up is something which the former prime minister will not do – not until he sees Khairy fall flat in his attempt to become Umno Youth chief. Revenge will only be complete when the man he despises – some say more than Abdullah – is forced to take a back seat in the party.

Will Dr Mahathir succeed? Possibly. But really, Khairy’s chances of becoming the leader of the youth wing hinges more on what Najib does rather than what the former prime minister says. If Najib sends the signal that he wants the divisions to support Khairy, he will become the head of the youth wing.

As it stands now, Najib is unlikely to endorse any candidate publicly, a move which will embolden Khairy’s enemies - including Dr Mahathir.

written by krising1, October 09, 2008 08:32:33
Dear mm, for the first time you have my support. Get rid of the undertaker and sent him to Kepala Batas to take care of some cemeteries there.
Votes: +60
written by ahmadneil, October 09, 2008 08:46:23
Racist mahathir is clearing the way for a political comeback.He will make Najis toe the line by also supporting Mudyiddin to be his deputy.If Najis don't listen to him,he will ask Mudyiddin to challenge Najis.
Votes: +98
written by Counterpointer, October 09, 2008 09:04:25
One old outcasted pariah dog, one lame duck and one sitting duck and a zoo called UMNO.
agree 144
Votes: +141
written by Newkidonblog, October 09, 2008 09:42:53
[url=http://www.youtube.com/watch?v...re=related

Dr.M, the National hero whose legacy will die before him!
Votes: +23
written by avj, October 09, 2008 09:46:18
There is genuine concern among Dr Mahathir and his supporters on what the return of Anwar Ibrahim would mean for them.
Of course,it means a taste of their own medicine,which is not palatable,knowing the severity of the doses they will recieve.The people have wisened up to this cunning old fox,and it is not going to be easy for him.He will go to his grave in disgrace.
Votes: +49
written by atsanee, October 09, 2008 09:49:40
All eyes on Muhiddin right now.
Will he go for Deputy or for the Top post?
or will he join PR?
This is where the buck stops !!

Exciting stuff.
Votes: +23
written by tokioRain, October 09, 2008 10:15:21
What is the dirty linen that Najib is trying to hide? Yeah, we heard all the rumors but wouldnt it be interesting to know what Mahathir knows?
Votes: +32
written by *****, October 09, 2008 11:03:09
KJ?
like FIL.
Reputation spoiled.
Many don't like KJ.
No political future for KJ.
Muhyiddin Yasin, please ask KJ to leave too. Thanks.
Votes: +17
written by ChrisLim, October 09, 2008 11:08:27
I really have no sympathy for this young chap. With his arrogant character while his father inlaw is in power, misusing his 'authority' till creating the ultimate fear and tension among the non-Malays, together with his FIL, causing the economy downfall for the past few years, etc etc etc. What he had done is unforgivable.

We don't believe this khairy can change for good. He had shown his true color and trust him that he is already condemned! See how much he had sucked the money from Malaysia and even he quietly disappeared from Malaysia politic, I hope to see actions taken against him to RETURN the money to Malaysia. The money is dirty and he must return to us CLEAN.
Votes: +49
written by Hakim Joe, October 09, 2008 11:36:22
For once the entire nation is united in the urgent need to get rid of SIL. I dun think the DPM is stupid enuf to associate himself in this effort. It is perhaps the follow up actions that will matter after SIL has been voted down. UMNO might want to quiet things down and henceforth allow SIL to keep a low profile. I dun think DrM will permit that. Thereafter things will really become interesting.

Votes: +15
written by BORN FREE, October 09, 2008 11:50:41
Birds of the feather flock together ! All those warlords & cronies from
TDM's era cannot survive without corruptions & easy monies, so that is
the main reason they want AAB out ! By selecting Najis as PM, those lamed
warlords will regain control of everything. Najis = TDM = CORRUPTIONS !
Votes: +29
written by Fuminari, October 09, 2008 15:38:33
dog eats dog day is here.
Votes: +15
written by SCM, October 09, 2008 16:36:09
Hey marmak, I'm glad you are after that oily slimeball Khairy, but actually, you don't have to do much. Just tell your UMNO bandits to magnify all that comes out of Khairy's mouth, for this is one retarded Oxford graduate. Whenever he speaks, only shit comes out and the rakyat hates him even more. In short, Khairy will kill himself.

Although I can't stomach to see another racist corrupt Mahathir in a powerful position, your kid is certainly better that that low-class slimy worm. Lesser of 2 evils.
Votes: +13
written by No nonsense, October 09, 2008 16:56:40
We would like very very much to see him go like tumbling down the steepest cliff in Mt Kinabalu but make sure what money this monkey has cheated us of be returned to the country. May he be buried in all the dirty money he had gathered and will he suffer the most agonising death. I should not be saying this but my anger for this idiot is so great that I just cant hold back. May God will not allow him have the day to spend those money he gathered through the most dirtiest ways.
written by kurangfaham, October 09, 2008 17:02:55
A monkey kicks out another monkey by hook and crook. So, the kids of these old monkeys starts another episode of the series.
written by aryn, October 09, 2008 17:07:49
Mahathir wants to be the puppet master when Najib becomes PM?

KJ, I don't envy you nor do I like your politics but fight back tooth and nail. At least, someone must put a stop to Mahathir's ambition. We will never see reform in the judiciary, police, electoral and government with Najib as PM and and Tun M behind him. What more Mukhriz is contempleting the 'kerajaan tiga beranak' after Abdullah's exit.

Anwar, what the hell are you doing?

Votes: +10
written by venna, October 09, 2008 17:54:20
Our dear ex PM will not understand it now but payback time will start coming. Tis the Law of action. What you throw will inevitably come back. He has played dirty and is still playing dirty. Dr.Mahathir wait a little while longer , then nature will teach you the lessons that no one has taught you all this while. And the lessons Nature teachers will be the best lessons in your life. I wish you all the best. May god give you the strength to endure Nature's lessons !!!
written by educationist, October 09, 2008 19:22:59
With Dr M taking aim at that SIL, his chances will even be slimmer.
He is there on account of his FIL
With Badawi as history, I'm confident KJ can devote more time to that clothes boutique of his.
Votes: +8
written by DontPlayGod, October 09, 2008 19:24:30
It is irrelevant what TDM do to the SIL. It will make no difference. We don't want another Mahathir era to descend on us ever again. Enough is enough.
Votes: +11
written by bantee, October 10, 2008 00:02:07
Very Good TDM!!! Down with nepotism!

Anyway .... do I smell nepotism coming from Jerlun?

Ah, never mind.... What about lending some support to someone who came up with minimal nepotism? You may have forgotten - he's currently the MP for Permatang Pauh.

Oh yeah .... you led the whole country to believe he'll be our next PM and suddenly you changed mind right? So, are you going to advocate so and so person and change your mind halfway again? Huh?

Not only TDM, I've had enough with all these power crazy old fa*ts who can never agree that they are wrong and becoming rapidly irrelevant in a changing world.

Scared b*ggers. They're shit scared the world will forget them.
Votes: +7
written by Amicus Curia, October 10, 2008 21:21:40
KJ is trying his best but too much of his shit is alreasy known. He is greedy beyond comprehension and all his proxy's share the same greed. What TDM said about him is true. He has had his time but with pak lah's departure who gives a *%#@ who KJ is.
Votes: +5
written by SiHangChai, October 11, 2008 16:03:54
SAY "NO" to King Caller of Beruk
Votes: +3

World Futures  Afghanistan is where Nato and the US are killing civilians indiscriminately. Is there a need to protest against such killings? Are YOU not concerned and don't you think you might be next?

Wellness Industry Is Booming!  Learn how you too can own a low capital home-based business to generate extra supplemental stream of income by using internet for these challenging economic times. You may earn RM1K up to RM10K a month working only 5-10hrs/week. Full system provided.

Home Based Business  Earn extra income $5000-$10,000 monthly, 24 hours a day. Just working part/full time from the comfort of your home. Legitimate business, have a most powerful product in the world. Register for FREE first to save your position in this powerful system.