Home arrow The Blogs arrow News/Commentaries arrow PM to quit in march

PM to quit in march PDF Print
Wednesday, 08 October 2008 17:35
(The Malaysian Insider) Prime Minister Datuk Seri Abdullah Badawi will not defend the Umno presidency.

He told leaders of the Barisan Nasional (BN) component parties here today that he will quit as party president by March next year.

This will pave the way for Datuk Seri Najib Razak to take over as Umno president and also Prime Minister if BN remains in power then.

STORY TO COME...

Comments (48)Add Comment
written by Capt Siva, October 08, 2008 17:44:29
sad story.
going out with a whimper with his tail between his legs.
i was hoping he would at least try to be a man and fight for his place
but alas, the man is a..................."woman"

now we have no prime minister from today till march 2009.
the incumbent has outlasted his mandate
and mon golia has no mandate.

we are screwed.
written by krising1, October 08, 2008 17:48:28
The man who "pantang chabar". What does he do when they "chabar" him? He just walks away!
written by gee_lady, October 08, 2008 17:50:01
At this moment, am only concerned about the consequences of this decision on RPK's detention. DSAI better have some timely plans.
written by fergie, October 08, 2008 17:50:09
Hopefully we won;t have to wait til March 2009 to see a new leader. We need PR to act ASAP so RPK and all in Kamunting can go home to their families.
written by cillipepper, October 08, 2008 17:50:10
YB DSAI,
Make you move now before the Mongolian slayer slays you.
written by ahmadneil, October 08, 2008 17:52:51
A defeated man who lost without fight.
written by ladasiber, October 08, 2008 17:53:22
OMG, Rosmah is going to be the PM????? Can the Yang DiPertuan Agong do what he did in Terengganu?

By the way, Paklah...Adioss
written by ahmadneil, October 08, 2008 17:55:46
Adios AAB,Racist mahathir is having break dance with his wife Siti.
written by ahmadneil, October 08, 2008 17:58:06
All project in Penang,corridors etc will be stopped.All the companies that are involved in this development will face serious consequences.No wonder stocks plunged.
written by PASOK, October 08, 2008 18:04:20

Thanks Datuk Abdullah Badawi. Seems like you are quite a gentle man. You were doing ok until your first wife died and this collapsed your support system and the wind went out of your sails. After that you were just trying to survive and it was obvious that you were a lost man. Have a good rest in retirement and thank you for the service.
written by kkselvam, October 08, 2008 18:05:35
What!! He quits?!! He always say that he's so busy and have many things to do for the rakyat! What happened to his Islam Hadhari? Vision 2057? His rhetoric "work with me not for me" Bullshit!!! He took us for a ride and con every Malaysian along the way.Now he's leaving this our beloved Malaysia to the hand of murderer?!!! OMG! We are in deeper shit...don't know if I could sleep tonight!!
written by Engineer, October 08, 2008 18:05:36
It appear at last the message from the Rakyat had finally gone into his head.

But then again, he is notorious for flip flop decision.

Maybe he has no chance to flip flop this time.
written by kislean, October 08, 2008 18:06:02
Good. This will hasten DSAI to take over. Now let's see if those monkeys in BN (other than umno) will sokong najib or not. Remember Keris 1 when he was ketua pemuda ... I would like to see what mca & gerakan has to say now.
written by kislean, October 08, 2008 18:09:04
Pak Lah has just pushed the first domino
written by Cikgu Bedah, October 08, 2008 18:12:20
Good riddance to bad rubbish!
written by ChrisLim, October 08, 2008 18:14:46
Does it mean another chapter of NEW NIGTMARE just begin? Najib does not seem to be better either. Anwar, I rather you don't say anything now but do somthing fast.
written by Kopi37, October 08, 2008 18:15:33
http://www.nst.com.my/pix/pix_top_10082

He is a disgrace to the Rakyat who vested their trusts on him, who voted for him! He will leave behind a relic of a Father of ISA after he inadvertently used it on the innocent Teresa Kok and RPK, so stupid and baseless that he did not repent and repeal it to release RPK! He will be remembered by all of us the rakyat as the most useless and hopeless PM in the history of the Nation! smilies/angry.gif
written by Hello Keithy, October 08, 2008 18:22:05
written by kislean

Pak Lah has just pushed the first domino .......................... smilies/grin.gif smilies/cheesy.gif smilies/wink.gif

May I correct this please ..... Pak Lah is the first domino. The Rakyat pushed it.
written by jeagerlange, October 08, 2008 18:25:46
A pariah who has betrayed the trust of the rakyat. Why should he assume such an important post when he no capability to handle it, especially when he conned the people into believing all the colourful phrases?. The people of Malaysia have been given a good ride .... smilies/angry.gif
written by indianputra, October 08, 2008 18:38:45
MALAYSIANS, don't be stupid to believe this flip-flop guy. He is just buying time. Within the next 5 months, he will drag Najib on the floor and he will retain the leadership.
written by kislean, October 08, 2008 18:38:57
I fully intend to see through my mission, and I am sure that my successor will carry on this agenda. I want to hand over to my successor a Malaysia that is capable of weathering the challenges of a dangerous global economy, a Malaysia not of rich and poor, of young and old or of the city or the kampong, not of south and north, and not of one religion or another but of unity and harmony.

OMG .. just read the press statement of Badawi. He intends to do in 5 months what he couldn't do in 5 years ! Does he think that all of us were born yesterday ? Sheesh ! smilies/angry.gif
written by Christ, October 08, 2008 18:45:42
interesting to wait for a statement from a certain SIL ....... hmmmmmmmm
written by crazygweilo, October 08, 2008 18:48:15
At times, we have been critical of Pak Lah, while overlooking the personal aspects of his reign. I believe the pivotal moment in his tenure was not political, it was personal. It is often overlooked, and we should thank PASOK for pointing this out.

That was the death of his first wife, Endon Mahmood. From that point onwards, I believe he went on autopilot. Khairy Jamaluddin then took control.

But this, is a very idealistic view of things. Realistically, the facts are that he overpromised, and even prior to the death of Endon Mahmood, it was clear that his regime, with a massive majority was arrogant, complacent, and inept. With this in mind, let us ask the following:

1. How could a program like National Service be introduced without the mandate given? It was certainly a sign of arrogance, particularly when 16 people have died since it started.
2. How could a program like Islam Hadhari be introduced? It was merely an attempt to manufacture something to out PAS PAS themselves. It will be a brave man who will stand and say "Seperation of religion and state". I respect prayer and religion, but the problem is, humanity and earth are not divine. Trying to create the divine on earth leads to countries with rather dubious human rights records such as Saudi Arabia. By contrast, trying to create the secular and athiest on earth creates evils such as the Soviet Union and Cambodia. When Islam Hadhari was launched, I frowned, and said "This is not very intelligent". I considered it a clumsy attempt to engage Kampung people. More so, I regarded it as insulting the intelligence of the rural Malaysian community, who know Islam well enough without any Government minister inventing fancy ideas.
3. How could he allow Hishamuddin Hussein, previously regarded as a Charismatic moderate to make a complete clown of himself at the UMNO conference at PWTC?
4. How could he say "I am the Prime Minister for all Malaysians" and.....behave as the Prime Minister for only the Malays?

Many are still unsure Anwar Ibrahim, he has the spirit and the vitality, and I don't see anyone else in the sidelines who can unify and heal the land? I do like Anwar, but again, he is being put on a pedestal, and it will take more than one man to dismantle the poisoned aspects of Malaysian society in the Government services etc. Noone should ever go on such a pedestal again. The last man to have a pedestal in Malaysia was..........Mahathir.

I still believe that there is more to the Altantuya Shaaribu case than meets the eye, and that Najib Tun Razak etc should be innocent before proven guilty. But when men are being detained in Kamunting, should they actually be accorded that priviledge?

We may well ask, what will be the sobriquet accorded to Datuk Seri Ahmed Abdullah Badawi after his departure?

As of the time of writing, October 8th 2008, it will not be flattering. Between now and March however, he might have some tricks up his sleeve. Do not underestimate him. We can only hope that while looking asleep, he has been sharpening the knives for the people who actually deserve it.

Its time for a change in Malaysia, if only so that the ones who have held the levers of power for so long have their spell in opposition, so they can review their conduct, learn, and reform. If Pakatan Rakyat screw it up, then come back in 2013 and fix it.
written by DreamLady, October 08, 2008 18:58:38
Mr. Prime Minister,

Finally you have made up your mind, and I wish you a peaceful and happy retirement.

Before you leave office, the rakyat of Malaysia would like to make a request:

PLEASE, RELEASE ALL THE ISA DETAINEES !! The rakyat shall forgive you for all the wrongs you did to us, and your name shall go down in history as the Malaysian prime minister with a heart of gold, with dignity and compassion...
written by Krepot, October 08, 2008 19:00:22
The Mega-Infighting is about to start.
Don't be too sure, Najib and his hippo is going to make it there.
The shit is about to hit the fan!
written by michaelT, October 08, 2008 19:04:20
Pak Lah before you leave office, it is important that you plant some good seeds in your position. Give a deep thought to release RPK,Hindraf and the rest. By so doing you will leave a strong impression of a compassionte PM. You will then reduce your emotional blockages and burden. When you finally have to meet the Almighty you shall be able to bring along the good deeds and merits. All the ISA detainees have family and they need them to be home. Thiink about what I say if you read this message.
written by chezzter, October 08, 2008 19:05:45
Is it over?

It ain`t over 'til the fat lady sings.
written by Tok Din, October 08, 2008 19:09:44
Dear Pah Lah:
Please do something useful for the nation before you leave that office. You must know what we Malaysians want by now. We just want basic human dignity, freedom to live as normal human beings free from oppression, intimidation and power abuse. You still have a few months as PM of Malaysia can you please embrace all the races and religious groups and do something very basic for the whole country.

We are grateful citizens and will remember you for this.
written by pengembara, October 08, 2008 19:10:55

We have to be thankful that the Mar 8th tsunami and all the awareness were indirectly due to him. Imagine if we were still under the old doctor who is nipped any small problem with ISA / OSA and iron-fist. The general movement of 'dissension' such as Hindraf, etc may not have happened.

Lest we forget, Pak Lah freed DSAI from imprisonment.

He also let his ministers exposed how inadequate the current ruling party is.

I believe Dr M is back in the controls.
written by Sining83, October 08, 2008 19:25:16
Dollar,

Here come the Liverpool's favorite song, "you'll never walk alone", Najis, Botak, KJ, and the rest of Bee Ann will follow you soon. Sinking.

P.s. Sorry to the Liverpool's fan for using the song to mock the BN
written by Fuminari, October 08, 2008 19:26:30
well,the next on the way would be those umno be end warlords out there like a pack of wolves!malaysia would go down faster in scum with najis sitting on top.
written by mahendra5, October 08, 2008 19:42:29
This Abdullah Badawai has damaged the Country during his short tenureship as the Malaysian Prime Minister. He mishandled all and everything as a Prime Minister which lead to the fall of the 5 states to our Opposition. This has never happened in our Malaysian History. He should not be allowed to wait till March 2009 as he may do more blunders which may bring our Beloved Country Malaysia to shambles. He has been pressed by all quarters to go immediately but he wants to hold to his socalled 'pantang cabar' policy. At last what happens to this guy who is being ousted with force. He fails to undedrstand that this is a democratic country. If the ISA is simply being misused, the Rakyat would thrown the BN in the coming General Election with ease. The Rakyat put you MP's up there to perform your duties fairly and once you misuse the trust given to you MP's, watch for the next Genral Election ans see where you go!
written by alarcarte, October 08, 2008 19:47:37
written by Sining83, October 08, 2008 19:25:16
Dollar,
P.s. Sorry to the Liverpool's fan for using the song to mock the BN

-------------------------------------

Ai Yoh, this song You Never Walk Alone is by the Gerry and the Pace Makers lah. A pop group from Liverpool in the sixties.

A softie like AAB won’t survive in UMNO, only crooks can survive in UMNO for now, UMNO will die when more kampong folks can access Internet and read Malaysian news from alternative media. We pray that this day will come sooner rather than later.

written by The Hammer, October 08, 2008 20:07:44
AAB is playing again with words! Only moron like Naji and those HP6 will fall for it, worm, hook, line and sinker! He is not quitting untill he establish his dynasty or he will be waiting for DSAI to take over! Just wait till December to see to see the fireworks! This time with flash and thunder!
I would rather have him to continue as PM than the pretender Naji. I would like to see AAB welcoming DSAI to PuTRajaya with open arms and red carpet to handover the keys to him. That is my dream and I hope it comes true!
written by miwaki, October 08, 2008 20:16:36
May be become a blogger !
written by atsanee, October 08, 2008 20:45:40
I read somewhere that we have a case of a Lame being replaced by a Limp.

I am not too sure about that.

In time,I am sure life under AAB will be referred to as those Happy Days.

Many of us who cursed the Old Man will actually come to miss the gaffer.

Our PM in waiting will have so many things swaying around him that he will have no choice but to resort to more and more force and the Elections process will be a bigger laughing stock that it is today.

All the Ministers will want to outdo each other to show their support to the new Boss and heading the line will be Syed Hamid Alba(God Save Malaysia) with more and more detentions without trial.

If he becomes PM, NTR will not be short of support from his attentive wife(Defacto Minister of Finance?),his Bank tycoon brother and lets not rule out Special Advisor on Strong Arm Government,TDM.

Wow,call that a Limp PM ?

Think again.
written by Steven Tan, October 08, 2008 20:46:55
Well, time to count all the money peacefully at home without any disturbance smilies/wink.gif
written by Kopi37, October 08, 2008 20:58:08
We Penang lang has one saying, ' boh see boh eong ' meaning 'no die no use', and this is used on a creep who has done more damage than contribution to the community! Abd Bodohwi is so hopeless that even he stay until March will be too long for the rakyat! Suffering are the rakyat and naught on him, he has big mansion overseas awaiting his patronage! Why is he still pretend to be loving the Nation by promising he wants to do this and to do that? If he's that capable to do so many of the reforms, why shouldn't then he stay and do more good deeds?!

Two wrongs cannot make one right, the rakyat had suffered due to his stupidity and until and unless he can do one last thing right, i.e. to slap on the face of that bugger Botak Sai Hamid, to release RPK now, he can still earn a last respect from the rakyat! Failing which he will not earn the Father of any kind but a mother of some kind
written by Thinker, October 08, 2008 21:11:43
I've always laughed about the RAHMAN prophecy but the possibility seems all too real now.

AAB, a relatively benign PM, is leaving and in his place will come a man who is seemingly connected to a murder case, wants to bath his keris in the blood of 20 % of Malaysians, and who has a dubious track record in his military spending. Add all this to the fact that the nation will soon be a net petroleum importer, is running with a deficit budget for the 12th year in a row, and is seeing an outflow in investment.

Recipe for disaster? I only hope that we fare better than the Filipinos did when they tried to retrieve the wealth from the Marcoses.
written by Taufique, October 08, 2008 21:16:57
right now its all about whether RPK gets set free or not, thats my main worry.

but come march, Im afraid that sleepyhead walks out and in comes a more dangerous person. this blows!

written by JohnQ, October 08, 2008 21:39:02
Just wish next pm will be called by the other HIM in office ! ASAP
written by cheekhiaw, October 08, 2008 23:03:41
Yes, Pak Lah.

Hand the opposition whip to that thief, liar and murderer...

written by farah, October 09, 2008 00:18:39
...then what will happen to 'khairy' the parasite of PM, who all these while enjoyed the ill gotton wealth..
written by MalaysianFirst, October 09, 2008 00:36:05
Early one March morning, when Najib wakes up, he'll say, (as is usual of someone who has his first taste of PM seat):
DOWN TO CORRUPTION! DOWN TO NEP! DOWN TO KETUANAN MELAYU! DOWN TO BARISAN! Phew!
Oops!!! Just kidding! Only Pakatan Rakyat will say such meaningful things.
written by shangrilapeace, October 09, 2008 00:46:49
Badawi has given up Malaysia for adoption.
Scrambles hopefully will be peaceful and the right father will be selected.
God bless Malaysia.
written by shangrilapeace, October 09, 2008 01:05:29
God bless Anwar the new father.
written by MalaysianFirst, October 09, 2008 01:07:44
I'll tell you, after reading thru the long traffic of comments, the ones that caught my attention are the ones I've reproduced below (courtesy of MT members). Hope you'll enjoy it as much as I did!! I almost died laughing..LOL You guys are sooooo funny!!! Here there are in no particular order:

"Well, time to count all the money peacefully at home without any disturbance" submitted by Steven Tan
"But come march, Im afraid that sleepyhead walks out and in comes a more dangerous person" submitted by Taufique
"And mon golia has no mandate. We are screwed" submitted by Capt Siva
"If he becomes PM, NTR will not be short of support from his attentive wife(Defacto Minister of Finance?),his Bank tycoon brother and lets not rule out Special Advisor on Strong Arm Government,TDM" submitted by Atsanee
"Failing which he will not earn the Father of any kind but a mother of some kind" submitted by Kopi37
In time,I am sure life under AAB will be referred to as those Happy Days.
"Many of us who cursed the Old Man will actually come to miss the gaffer" submitted by Atsanee
"UMNO will die when more kampong folks can access Internet and read Malaysian news from alternative media" submitted by alacarte
"The shit is about to hit the fan!" submitted by Krepot
"We can only hope that while looking asleep, he has been sharpening the knives for the people who actually deserve it" submitted by crazygweilo
"Now he's leaving this our beloved Malaysia to the hand of murderer?!!! OMG! We are in deeper shit...don't know if I could sleep tonight!!" submitted by kkselvam

Thank you people, you made my day!

But seriously, BN will have to go because THE PERSON WHO BROUGHT DOWN THE GOVERNMENT IS STILL IN JAIL!!!!!!