Home arrow The Blogs arrow News/Commentaries arrow Japanese Ambassador To Malaysia Visits Perak

Japanese Ambassador To Malaysia Visits Perak PDF Print
Wednesday, 08 October 2008 16:17

IPOH: Perak Menteri Besar, Datuk Seri Mohamad Nizar Jamaluddin received a courtesy call from Japanese Ambassador to Malaysia, Masahiko Horie, in his office here Wednesday (8 Oct).

Masahiko, accompanied by his wife, Yoko Horie, is on a three-day visit to the state in a bid to strengthen existing ties especially in the industrial, tourism and education sectors.

Speaking to reporters after the courtesy call, Mohamad Nizar said among matters discussed were those pertaining to the Japanese investors' faith in the Pakatan Rakyat-led government as well as plans to introduce a tourism package between Ipoh and its twin city, Fukuoka, in Japan.

The state government had also voiced its intention to have an exchange programme between students in Ipoh and Fukuoka, he said.

Tuesday (7 Oct), the ambassador visited two Japanese factories -- Murata Electronics in Batu Gajah and Takehara Chemical in Chemor, here.

He is scheduled to pay a courtesy call to the Sultan of Perak, Sultan Azlan Shah, later today and also visit the famous Kuala Kangsar Malay College Thursday (9 Oct). (Bernama)

written by michaelT, October 08, 2008 16:35:47
I hope that The Japanese Ambassador will make atrip to Penang ,selangor and kedah too. he must be convince of PR CAT policy that is so tighten. I hope He can arrange a trade mission from Japan to visit the states.
written by cillipepper, October 08, 2008 16:40:58
YE Ambassador,
Please divert all Japanese investment to PR states and avoid BN states
until PR takes over.
Harigato hu zaimas
written by ahmadneil, October 08, 2008 16:41:29
Welcome to Malaysia.If you have time ,pay a visit to Kamunting to see for yourself how those corrupted treat our saviour RPK.You can also visit Penang to see LGE, how he turn Penang into the fastest growing city in Asia.Under PR, we are very open investors especially from Japan and Taiwan.I sincerely hope you can bring more investment to our PR states.
written by indianputra, October 08, 2008 16:41:43
Comments by PASOK and Oyster is stupid, unethical and obnoxious. The Rakyat must be happy that the Japanese Ambassador is visiting a PR controlled state.

May be PASOK and Oyster should consider throwing out all Japanese products in their home.

Use your brains, morons!
written by avj, October 08, 2008 16:43:42
Japan has reversed the trend,they are looking West. Way to Perak,and more good fortune to follow.All the more reason to relocate Kamunting Detention Center to Putra Jaya,or better still to Syed Hamid's back Yard.
written by mara koman, October 08, 2008 16:51:03

Pasok and oyster,,

What an irresponsible comments,, How low your mentality can take you guys,,

Look around, if you can't able to comprehend the progressive world around, the least you could do is reserve your comments..
written by ahmadneil, October 08, 2008 16:57:17
Japan is a close friend of Anwar Ibrahim.They have been the source of support for change but they are doing it quietly.Japanese likes the way PR treat investors.There is no 30% shares reserved for bumiputra under PR administration.For this they are pumping in massive investment into PR states.One is the propose construction of a multi-million shopping mall,like the Ginza in Tokyo,on the present Kamunting site.Once agreed, then Kamunting will be torn down and the project will start immediately.The project will be completed in 3 years time.
written by Arubin, October 08, 2008 17:10:47
No offence, ahmadneil, but are you sure of your facts and where did you get your source from? The Taiping area is hardly a suitable site for a multi-million Ginza-like shopping mall. You need a large pool of affluent patrons to make such a project viable. Even Ipoh will not be able to sustain a mall like that.

I'm all for the tearing down of Kamunting, but let's not have any pipe dreams about unfeasible mega-projects. Besides, wasteful white elephants are BN's domain.
written by carribeanking7, October 08, 2008 17:34:02
Alright lets be pragmatic. Ambasaddor Hori did not only visit Perak,
in case you all didnt see it in the news , read this..

Quote:
Horie said this was reflected in the Japanese investments in Malaysia such as the joint venture of Lion Corporation Japan and its local subsidiary Southern Lion Sdn Bhd, under Lion Eco Chemical Sdn Bhd, which had invested RM90 million in a plant to manufacture an eco-friendly palm-oil based surfactant used in biodegradable detergents, in Tanjung Langsat, Johor.

Horie was impressed with the Government’s plan for the Iskandar Development Region (Iskandar) in South Johor, as the State is a key investment destination in Malaysia. Japanese investors, he said, would be keen on investing in Iskandar.

This means the bigger investments are going to Iskandar/Johor,
whereas in Perak they are only talking about student exchange and tourist package with Fukuoka....probably due to the inept Azalina cancelling tourism MOU's

Its nothing personal Japan will always deal the ruling govt largely but they are just hedging their bets with Pakatan states., thats business.

Sorry I had to say that but its the truth, we should discuss by treating each other with respect, disagree politely and not stray from the facts.
Lets not give UMNO cybertroopers fodder to laugh at us.
Lets slam them at pro umno sites.

Warmest Regards
written by mara koman, October 08, 2008 17:42:18

hi pasok,,

Well,,lets not take it on each other,

You points been taken,,

Jap not to be trusted !! not quite agreed
be careful of the japanese,, well it come to the credibility of the ruling govt to to lay out the terms and regulations as per foreign companies.. now who to be blame.

The corrupted govt ???

Looking at the context at the point for the japanes emms visit, it does shines some light,, like things starting to looks good, something positive. Opportunities are there The bottom line,, will the pakatan able to explore and utilise opportunities is the best way possible... if there is !!

good day.
written by kislean, October 08, 2008 18:02:06
Good. This will hasten DSAI to take over. Now let's see if those monkeys in BN (other than umno) will sokong najib or not. Remember Keris 1 when he was ketua pemuda ...
written by ahmadneil, October 08, 2008 18:09:26
The area near Kamunting are earmark as a growth triangle involving southern Thailand,Acheh and northern Malaysia.Cheap labour from Thailand and Indonesia are abundant so investors are eagerly awaiting our gov't's approval.All products will be value added and exported through Penang port.This is the latest massive project to be initiated by the gov't of the participating countries.Sources close to the these gov't are saying that the Japanese will own 80% of the project and the rest will be own by the state gov't.Up to you all to believe it or not but that is what I was told,Arubin.HA HA,interested,then start buying land there.
written by Rhan, October 08, 2008 18:24:04
Japanese live well under BN. They send in 10 expatriate for a factory with less than 500 workers or 50 expatriate for a factory with 2000 workers to ensure all you local remain donkey after many years, and through transfer pricing and tax break, they suck the Malaysian blood dry. The reward is our operator will get pay of RM500 per month for rest of his life working for this selfish bastard and continue to listen how the Japanese Manager call you Malaysian baka. What the Japanese tell is not wrong because all this baka have been voting the BN to secure their monthly RM500 per month job for the past 20 years.

Baka, go n get the screw driver now!
written by No nonsense, October 08, 2008 18:54:39
You see, you see even the Japanese are back knowing the PR gorv. of the State of Perak is trust-worthy and clean. Any State under PR will prosper cause we have good people running the show. Hope more investors will flock not only to Perak but the others under PR. PR will show the way to a better and better life for everyone in Malaysia. God bless PR.
written by fan73, October 08, 2008 19:00:53
I've been working in few Japaneses manufacturing company for almost 12 years..

from my observation, yes they are blood suckers.
yes, they are workaholics

sometimes we call them askar jepun, sometimes the local gives them the penampar jepun.

but nonetheless it is their mak bapak company and we are makan gaji...

Hey, if the locals turn to invest in another country, the same scenario for sure...
written by johanssm, October 08, 2008 19:36:30
We view the visit by Nihon ambassador with high expectation.Theres a trend of dwindling investment in Malaysia as more companies ( not just the Japanese ) are shifting their investments elsewhere out of Malaysia.
It is of wrong to say Japanese should only invest or to consider investing only in PR states and not in the bn states . By the next GE , more bn states will be in control by the PR.
Huge companies actually plans long term.
Therefore such direct visitation by any ambassador must be welcome by all.
Some of the commentators here mentioned that they are from or ex employees of nihon kaisha. Therefore one must know that Japanese expect high quality workers and with high discipline.This is where most Malaysian fails big time to emulate and learn good working culture. Japs churns out high quality employees