Home arrow The Blogs arrow Special Reports arrow Cyberjaya no longer a dream city

Cyberjaya no longer a dream city PDF Print E-mail
Posted by kasee   
Wednesday, 08 October 2008 08:14

Charles Fernandez, The Star

CYBERJAYA was created by former prime minister Tun Dr Mahathir Mohamad as the country’s first intelligent city of the future.

The 30sq km specially designed township is meant to serve as the catalyst for the development of a science park forming the core part of the Malaysia Multimedia Super Corridor (MSC).

Self-help: Companies have resorted to putting up their own directional signs as the existing ones are outdated.

The high-tech cyber township, billed as the Silicon Valley of Malaysia, is located in the district of Sepang, about 50km south of Kuala Lumpur. It was officially opened by Dr Mahathir in May 1997.

The main development thrust is to provide a quantum jump for Cyberjaya to become a leading edge multimedia hub attracting world-class multimedia and IT companies.

This means the development of modern state-of-the-art integrated infrastructure and IT system, and the provision of an effective and efficient public transport system.

Today, 11 years on, the place, although the home of many commercial buildings, offices of MSC status companies and several universities, is not much different from an average Malaysian town.

Double - parking: A motorist casually slots his vehicle in on the side of the road.

The original vision of a unique and sophisticated modern township is fast becoming faintly gloomy, with the haphazard parking and poor enforcement.

While the infrastructure, cyber laws, policies and practices tailored for the Cyberjaya population are in place, the large working community in the township has nothing but disdain for the Sepang Municipal Council’s (MPSp) town planning and maintenance efforts.

Even a foreign national has commented that Cyberjaya is no longer the city he knew when he first arrived there a few years ago.

“The city has turned out to be not so intelligent after all. There is no proper planning and it has become like any other city or town here. It has lost its uniqueness,’’ he said.

The foreign national is obviously referring to the long line of cars parked along the roads, with double-parking in some instances, cars parked along yellow-lines and lack of directional signboards.

The directional signboards put up in the early development stage of the township are now out­dated, prompting the companies to put up their own directional sign-boards.

Even the emergency lanes have been converted into parking lots with parking bays marked on them.

Risky business: Buses have to stop in the middle of the road as the road shoulder has been occupied by parking lots.

Although MPSp deputy president Abdul Razak Jaafar has vehemently denied that the council was involved in the matter, nothing has been done to ratify the situation.

Most drivers parked their cars along the roads to escape paying parking charges even if it means causing inconvenience to other motorists.

There is a park and ride service facility also known as The Shuttle, as part of the township’s transportation system.

It provides an alternative for the community to park their vehicles at designated car parks and use the buses to commute to most areas in Cyberjaya.

But, unfortunately, few people are using the service.

According to Razak, there is currently no charge imposed for the use of all buses and car parks.

“Parking for free and taking the shuttle not only saves times and money but also avoids the frustration of traffic congestion and the hassle of finding a parking spot in town,’’ he said.

Parking operator Suasa Efektif executive director Mohd Mustaffa Osman said despite providing enough parking lots for the working population in Cyberjaya, motorists still preferred to park along the road shoulders.

“This situation does not augur well, especially when the government is trying to portray Cyberjaya as a city of the future. Most of the people here have started comparing Cyberjaya with other towns and cities where haphazard parking is a norm,’’ Mustaffa said.

There are 1,149 free parking bays at the MSC Innovation Centre, Cyberpark, Sports Arena and Cyberview and yet motorists do not want to use the facilities.

It is learnt that to overcome the parking problems, Suasa Efektif will be implementing a metered-parking system in designated areas beginning January next year.

The company will be introducing 222 parking bays and 10 parking machines along Jalan Technokrat and Persiaran APEC.

“It will be a pay and display system similar to those in Shah Alam and other parts of Selangor where our company is involved,’’ Mohd Mustaffa said.

written by ahmadneil, October 08, 2008 08:18:18
It will be rename city of shame.
Votes: +55
written by avj, October 08, 2008 08:22:39
We should rename it TDM vision city.Another mega project(disaster)by BE END government under slime brain TDM.
Votes: +51
written by Lembing, October 08, 2008 08:51:26
It is same in almost every city in Malaysia. IT IS THE CAR DRIVERS who are often just too lazy to walk the extra few meters to their destinations. These car drivers often don't give a damn that their double parked cars are causing traffic jams and a danger to other road users. These SELFISH and LAZY drivers don't need any education about road manners, they need a huge FINE or PENALTIES. IF PARKING INFRINGEMENT fines are over $300, all these lazy bums will not double park.

ALSO, those inefficient and lazy municipal parking officers should get a bonus for each parking offence issued to the offender. Then you will see that these parking officers will be at everywhere ready to pounce on the offenders.
Votes: +31
written by Thinker, October 08, 2008 09:43:23
While I agree that the callous attitudes of Malaysian drivers are a problem, I think that the main issue in the article is the failure of Cyberjaya.

“The city has turned out to be not so intelligent after all. There is no proper planning and it has become like any other city or town here. It has lost its uniqueness,’’ he said.

Unlike the reporter, I don't think he was "obviously" referring to the double parked cars. That's just a symptom of the poor planning. It's funny that the parking problem is given so much attention as if it's the cause of Cyberjaya failing to attract foreign (& local) investment.

Cyberjaya was doomed to failure from the start, not necessarily because it was a bad idea but there was no planning and execution aside from the original idea. I was working there about 5 years ago, so here are some of my thoughts on the place.

1. Middle of nowhere - It's deserted at night. There's no sign of people or police patrol cars. I think many engineers & researchers have to work late on projects and if your car breaks down in the middle of the night, I would think that you will be screwed. Things have improved a bit recently (I saw a police car on a day trip there last year) but it's still not near good.

2. It's a real-estate speculation project - Prices for real-estate here are astronomical. A former boss of mine told me that the rental there is higher than in the centre of KL. Some companies are now starting to relocate out of Cyberjaya because of this. There's no real incentive to move here for both employers and employees with the high prices and lack of amenities.

3. Government policy for work permits & visas - This is not specifically a failure of Cyberjaya but when the immigration makes it extremely difficult to apply for working permits and visas for foreign engineers (the case in my team >6 months and still no visa), there's no incentive for companies to shift their operations here when the talent pool is not that large to begin with.

Things may have improved in the last few years since I left but I think that what was probably a good idea has been left in tatters by a combination of poor location, poor planning, poor execution, greed, & government policies.
Votes: +48
written by smeagrooo, October 08, 2008 09:47:06
how come now the media never shout "Another Project by BN"?

wanton wastages and leakages thru corruption n failure of local councils to monitor the situation led to this day of shame.

What's the amount spent to maintain the place and at what inflated price and quality?

Votes: +28
written by zonefinder, October 08, 2008 10:52:15
Frankly, are you guys surprised? How can you soar like eagles when BN's full of turkeys..
Votes: +29
written by asguard, October 08, 2008 10:55:59
New broom sweep clean... means...in the beginning.... there is a lot exciting features and dreams about the new place... .but then after 5 -7 years ... it just another ordinary town ...with lot of improper system broke down....
Votes: +13
written by densemy, October 08, 2008 11:43:55
Malaysian selfishness will ruin the best laid plans
Votes: +12
written by shatis, October 08, 2008 13:46:29
What u expect from a under qualified YDP and all enforment officers of the municipality?? They are all in their respective position Just because they are malays. These imbecile morons wont care shit about Future city CyberJaya. These gaji buta guys dont even come to work properly. Just punch in and go back most of the time. They take the card to fill petrol for gov. vehicles and fill petrol for their cars and and roam around. During working hours they can go out to pick their wives and children to home. They take breaks 6 times during working hours and five times for praying. If any time they go missing and somebody questions it they silence them by saying "Sembahyang la".

If someone wants to check whether what i'm saying true or otherwise go to Sepang municipality at 8 am tom and check whether all those who have punched their card are actually at work or not. if you have time, stay there and observe how many times they take break. You want to be lazy, idotic, carefree and have a secure job apply for goverment job in malaysia.
Votes: +37
written by whlau, October 08, 2008 14:14:13
What can you expect when the country is run by incompetent people.

A case in point...just look at Sg.Buloh in Selangor, or for that matter any place in Malaysia where a lot of SMIs are located. Have the so-called leaders ever gone down to the ground and see for themselves firsthand without their usual entourages accompanying them how pathetic the roads and drainage are?

Don't they ever know that these industries are the backbone of the country producing many goods for the local and export markets and these are the companies that are contributing to the economy and the taxes to the country and yet they are mostly neglected in a sense that the conditions there are most deplorable. Just imagine if foreign purchasers were to visit these places. What a shame! How much is Cyberjaya's return so far in terms of the expenditures spent so far?

And here we have this Cyberjaya and not to mention Putrajaya all dressed up and no where to go! And on top of that, wasting all the tax money that these SMIs have been contributing to the country. Sheesh...just makes me sick thinking how much is being thrown down the drain every single month just in maintenance alone!

This is clearly a case of killing the goose that is laying the golden eggs! But then, what do these bureaucrats know!!!
Votes: +28
written by johntyc, October 08, 2008 16:42:01
WHO SAID CYBERJAYA NO LONGER A DREAM CITY?

IT'S NOT TRUE!

It's been upgraded. It's now Cyberjaya, the Shattered Dream City.
Votes: +8
written by limengseng, October 08, 2008 16:55:51
Intelligent City?? Sigh... the traffic light no AI and cencor. We still need to wait buta in front of the junction even there is no car .

The bus terminal like Merdeka time bus terminal. Bumbung besi with no air con, Klang bus stand is better than.

The taxi is the best part. They operate by coupon system. Lucky not barter system.

We hardly find a shop selling CD, computer etc in the "Silly Con" city.

Cyberjaya have a big space, but mostly the car parking fee are cutting throat. Therefore almost all the car park at the emergency lane.

One thing in possitive is , the TM point here is not so crowded. You manage to attended within 1 hours waiting time. Else...... come to CyberJaya for 1 day trip and look for yourself. Better take the public transport. So you can enjoy it.

Votes: +11
written by Motherchell, October 08, 2008 19:07:45
Technologically sound city ????? My foot !!!! its just a city for a military junta . Its build on religious bigotry , scrotal sac carriers ,cronies who make bucks out of daily contracts. How far have we gone in the Pareto of any Corporation wanting to do business here, Malaysia does not even come in the recent poll for favorite destinations for IT companies unless an UMNO crony has pulled in some funds from the govt to keep the Company going on Auto mode while Ali Babas recipe it !!

God knows if the palm oil farmer was ever paid the compensations in the years !!!!! Vietnam is doing better than us , so we may turn out to be a parking lot soon if DSAI doesn't stand up soon which i truly understand when living among animals in the current Govt!!
Votes: +14
written by born2reign, October 11, 2008 09:53:37
Govt still can't get it. A city is not about concrete walls and lights. It is about people. A city bursting with activities, like New York and Tokyo and Sydney, consists of:
PEOPLE - who live, work, trade, meet, have fun, jog, school, sleep, eat..
SYSTEM - for traffic, parking, trading facilities, leisure facilities, education facilities, exercise facilities..
EXECUTION - authorities to enforce and penalise PEOPLE who steer out of the SYSTEM.
Cyberjaya was planned with poor system and poor execution (corruption, poor maintenance), and no thought for the enrichment of people. It is void of life and energy. Even with the best roads in town, it will still require regular repairs and maintenance - and it is the BN culture where maintenance cost is high (say RM300k) but pathetic quality (of RM3k only).

As far as I see, Cyberjaya is just another construction job, not township development. smilies/tongue.gif
Votes: +3
written by yipck, October 13, 2008 20:41:50
CyberJaya is CYBER FLOPS!!

Singapore already come out with tender to build the Net 2.0!!! The construction of the backbone will start in 2009 and ends in 2012 where the whole tiny Island will be running at the speed of 1GB!!! or 1000MB!!!!

Wireless technology will reach over 20MB!!!! or more.. (I forgot the actual speed liao).

For those that are not tech verse.. let me show u the different.

Current situation
TMNET Streamyx HOME - 1MB.
BUsiness package - 2 MB, (Some 4 mB and 8MB on the way)

Singapore: Singtel: 1MB, 3MB, 6MB, 8MB, 10MB, 25MB Packages
Pacific net : Up to 30MB
Starhub Cable: 1MB (free with cable tv), 8MB, 12MB, 100MB Packages!!!

2009 and onwards..
Singapore=1000MB or 1GB!!
Malaysia=????? Still 0008MB? or 0.008GB???

Where is the bandwith of CyberFlops? when the world needs it?
That's why all Financial Institution are all HQ in Singapore because of the Bandwidth and capacity available in Singapore.

Opps.. I am now using 8MB Internet Land line and Wireless 2MB... anyhow still faster than STREAMXY!!

How Much I pay ?? $60 $20.=$80. about RM200.
What do I get for sign up for 2 years contract? Free HP 2133 laptop worth $999.
Votes: +3
written by MalaysianFirst, October 16, 2008 02:36:05
Okay, you nerds have all done a great job running down Cyberjaya. Excellent job! Everybody gets 10 points.

Now, let’s take a look again::

1. It’s a city of shame, (like some kind of fug-joint)
2. It’s another mega project disaster by BEEND government under slime brain TDM.
3. It’s doomed from the start because of bad planning and execution aside from the original idea.
4. It is built in the middle of nowhere
5. The prices for real-estate here are astronomical
6. Some companies are now already starting to relocate out of Cyberjaya
7. It’s extremely difficult to apply for working permits and visas for foreign engineers to work here
8. There's no incentive for companies to shift their operations here
9. It’s a combination of poor location, poor planning, poor execution, greed, & government policies
10. They have an under qualified YDP and municipal enforcement officers
11. Traffic lights are ancient with no sensor as expected of an IT city
12. The bus terminal is like Merdeka time bus terminal
13. You can’t find a shop selling CD, computer etc in the "Silly Con" city.
14. Car parking fees are cutting throat
15. Malaysia does not even come in the recent poll for favorite destinations for IT companies
16. It’s is just another construction job, not township development
17. 2009 and onwards Singapore=1000MB or 1GB!! and Malaysia=?? Still 0008MB? or 0.008GB???

Apa nama who thought he had created a world-class intelligent city?? Huh?
MAHATHIR!!!! SEE ME IN MY OFFICE!!!!!!
Votes: +1

World Futures  Afghanistan is where Nato and the US are killing civilians indiscriminately. Is there a need to protest against such killings? Are YOU not concerned and don't you think you might be next?

Wellness Industry Is Booming!  Learn how you too can own a low capital home-based business to generate extra supplemental stream of income by using internet for these challenging economic times. You may earn RM1K up to RM10K a month working only 5-10hrs/week. Full system provided.

Home Based Business  Earn extra income $5000-$10,000 monthly, 24 hours a day. Just working part/full time from the comfort of your home. Legitimate business, have a most powerful product in the world. Register for FREE first to save your position in this powerful system.