Home arrow The Blogs arrow From Around The Blogs arrow SLEEPLESS IN MALAYSIA

SLEEPLESS IN MALAYSIA PDF Print E-mail
Posted by kasee   
Tuesday, 07 October 2008 22:44
It was an honour to join many other concerned Malaysians to greet RPK and show support for him when he arrived at the Petaling Jaya Sessions Court in the morning of October 6. As he alighted from the unmarked and heavily tinted police van, it was good to see the man who through his writings have been voicing the concerns of many Malaysians and to be satisfied that despite the gross injustice mounted against him, he was reasonably healthy and composed.

But seeing him, I had three concerns which weighed heavily on me through the entire day and night. So, being unable to shake off this heaviness and not succeeding in my attempts to sleep, I sit instead to write this, commencing at 1.20 and finishing at 3.35AM, still SLEEPLESS IN MALAYSIA.

MY FIRST CONCERN arose from my observation (a visual image) of a husband and wife, a couple, forcibly separated from each other by the infernal Internal Security Act effected by the decree of just one man who had no need to justify or argue or defend the reason why RPK should be detained without trial. By the mere act of affixing his signature on the detention order, a Malaysian family was separated from their father, and a Malaysian wife was separated from her husband. This separation was graphically enacted by Marina the brave wife, with the rest of their sympathisers, on one side, and RPK the detained husband on the other side of the line formed by the police (who were performing their duty).  

My SECOND CONCERN arose from the irony of the situation being enacted at the PJ Sessions Court on the morning of October 6. All of us Malaysians who have joined our voices against the wicked ISA have always been saying that if the authorities had any issues to take against anyone, the proper thing to do would be to proffer charges against him or her and try him or her in court.

RPK was charged with committing sedition at the PJ Sessions Court on May 6 at which time the trial date was set for October 6. (The sedition charges are in relation to a statutory declaration he had made implying that certain individuals of high standing were present at the scene of the killing of a Mongolian woman.)   

So there we were on the morning of October 6 at the PJ Sessions Court for the start of this sedition trial. But the air was thick with Malaysian irony. Because on September 12, RPK was arrested under the ISA and on September 22 the order for his two-year detention without trial was signed which saw his despatch to the detention camp in Kamunting (in my hometown of Taiping). So on the morning of October 6 we who were present witnessed the merging of two legal opposites involving the one and the same person: RPK the ISA detainee without trial was brought to court so that the RPK who was being charged with sedition could be tried in court where he would have the chance to defend himself.

I want all Malaysians to think and chew over this. This cruel paradox which renders those of us with conscience SLEEPLESS IN MALAYSIA while those who were responsible for all ISA detainees’ immoral detention are seamlessly sleeping through the nights (as well as the days).

MY THIRD CONCERN which so consumes my never resting mind is the fact that in effect the person who was to stand trial on October 6 was detained under the vicious ISA twenty-four days before he was to appear in court. Again I want all Malaysians to think and chew over this fact and sleepless we should all be. Think of the injustice of it all.

Let me put it in relevant graphic easy-to-understand way. Your young son or daughter is forcibly removed from home and freedom and then twenty-four days later after sleeping on the most uncomfortable room he or she has ever experienced in all of life and feeding on the most unsavoury meals ever compared to mother’s cooking, he or she is brought under heavy guard to sit for his or her SPM or STPM or University exams. Do you think your son or daughter will do well under the circumstances? Do you think this would be fair to your dear one for such an important test?

READ MORE HERE: http://ongohing.wordpress.com/

written by DreamLady, October 07, 2008 22:57:12
I understand how you feel. Yes, my heart goes out to him... I am choking with

emotions just to think about the agony Raja and his family are enduring...
Votes: +76
written by Badaksumbu, October 07, 2008 23:20:28
It is shocking! How lame Malaysians are, talking about dismantling ISA-where are the moral and religious guidance hiding. They all know what the authority's doing is not right are we all not too selfish? Its the PM who has the final say in putting people to prison including RPK. Next it will be under the jurisdiction of Najib, he can't be any different perhaps all UMNO leaders minus Zahid Ibrahim.
Votes: +39
written by needchg, October 07, 2008 23:43:28
He truly is a remarkable man...am in KL so got opportunity to go to his trial.Hope all the gods look out for him. Concerned too.
Votes: +17
written by KKRAJA, October 07, 2008 23:56:34
He is a hero to us....he speaks the language of democracy and social equality he will prevail he must be label as a true hero .....
Votes: +27
written by shangrilapeace, October 08, 2008 00:20:08
This chapter of RPK sufferings will not be forgotten in history. His daily suffering for his dream to come true with his strong conviction that one fine day, Malaysia would be the place everyone loved to stay and bring up their children.
Votes: +15
written by magickriver, October 08, 2008 00:38:04
Malaysians have lived with the ISA for 48 years. That's more than two generations! And we accuse Abdullah Badawi of "sleeping on the job." In March 2007 I happened to be at a function where, unbeknownst to me, Najib and Rosmah were the guests of honor. After being made to wait over an hour for dinner to start, the entire hall suddenly stood to attention as the DPM and her spouse entered... I was perhaps the only one who refused to stand up for these spoilt-rotten brats. I will only stand up for somebody I genuinely respect. But, then, I am not a businessman and there are no billion-dollar contracts I'm after.... My point is: what makes Umno/BN tick is MONEY... and if we weren't so goddamned money-crazy we would have kicked Umno/BN out 22 years ago. Instead, we allowed Mahathir to jail 107 innocents under the ISA in 1987... and continued standing up whenever the Grandiose Idiot entered the hall! SHAME ON US & OUR CARI MAKAN ETHIC!!!
Votes: +27
written by middlepath, October 08, 2008 00:40:07
In the name of Allah, God, and almighty of the universe, we all Bangsa Malaysian, of all human mankind, we all know, knew what happen to Altantuya, we all have heard all the rumors and story of Altantuya, etc, usually the rumours are true, in malaysia, why is there so many people, and they wanted to talk about certain individual ? As such, it is very clear, Our Raja Petra K, RPK, is one man with integrity, that truly working for human justice, with all the humanity, and humble human mankind nature as most of us, have, all due to the compassionate and loving kindness nature. The true Human Mandkind, that is RPK, we all human beings, can feel that, we felt that human nature, the true human mankind, loving kindness radiated from RPK,
This is the feeling that we can not fake, as such, we all Malaysian must make sure we continue to support our RPK, the true champion of humanity, the humility, the real human mankind.
We must tell the story to everybody, old or young, so that we will continue with this kind of bangsa Malaysia justice for all, without fear or favor,
we must vote for RPK, so that we have his justice.
We also pray to Abdullah, please do what is right and good for our Malaysia,
please observe the justice, continue the work of the royal comission finding on Dr M, that have shown to all that there are judiciary manipulation, and there are corrupt practice deep in our judicial system, this is very sad,
Paklha, please do what is right, please make sure you fight for your own place, we if have any choice, choose Paklah, and not your deputy,
we all must reform, judicial reform, ACA, corruption too must be reduced, and we all support paklah instead of deputy, too much controvocy, too much rumour to vote for the deputy.... please support RPK. we all love RPK>. we all must support RPK, we know, the goverment can do ISA, they can never erase our feeling and our love for the truth, the real human integrity, justice for the common folks. The abuse of power by the authority, will prove that he will go to hell, the , you can run, you can hide, you cant get away from the true justice, you all Malaysians just watch the consequence of how the Najis and his wife will die one day, they will die in horror, the heaven got eye, the god the allah is everywhere, they knew who kill the Altantuya, they know who is innocent,
you just watch how the Najis and wife will die, how? Cancer,....and all kind of suffering, you will see in time to come............they do not belive in god, and allah, thats why...........they will go to hell.
Votes: +16
written by raven1958, October 08, 2008 03:02:31
The Malaysian mind is conditioned to fear ..fear and to love money...We must now wake up to face our own ghosts.
Votes: +8
written by MAMR, October 08, 2008 08:11:18
THE HEARTLESS WILL DO ANYTHING TO PROTECT CERTAIN LEADER OR GOVT FROM ! falling !. I WISH THERE WILL BE GENERAL ELECTION SOONEST AS I AM SURE RAKYAT WILL DEMONSTRATE WHAT THEY CAN DO AND BY THEN THE BLASTED ! ISA ! IS TOTALLY POWERLESS AND USELESS.THOSE INVOLVED IN WRONG USAGE OF ! ISA ! TO BE CHARGED IN COURT.
Votes: +5
written by ahmadneil, October 08, 2008 09:04:34
The most important thing is RPK speaks our language.He understand us.
Votes: +6
written by JohnQ, October 08, 2008 10:19:16
C' on, pls raise fund to build a statute of "No Holds Barred" at Kamunting after BR takes over ! Entrace fee collected from tourists will be channel to humanity funds and scholarships!!!!!!
Votes: +2
written by HHKim, October 08, 2008 10:22:04
The irresponsible and unethical minister who ordered and signed the detention ought to be punished by God, the Almighty. All Malaysians know fully well the BN is abusing its power to the fullest just to make sure RPK is silenced so that BN can do all wrongs without being noticed.

But I still believe the days will come when all Malaysians will see the light. And RPK will be released by the unknown forces.

I seriously condemned the actions of the government for putting RPK under ISA, at the same time charge him in court. Charge him in court is OK as at least he is given the opportunity to defend himself.

Malaysia under Abdullah and Najib is the greatest mockery of all times and sad to say, this is my country. I wish my country is growing and prospering under a brilliant leadership with high principles and unity.

But today YTD we are still in the wrong hands, except Perak, Selangor, Kedah, Kelantan and Penang. And I hope the Pakatan can rule these states with proper governnace - and don't disappoint all Malaysians.

I will hopes when the present BN is gone and down under.
Votes: +4
written by Susanna, October 08, 2008 11:17:03
The ones who put innocents into ISA for their selfish reasons will be sleepless for sure if not now, soon. Malaysians who are witnesses to this high handed ways are naming them one by one and passing on the names of the villians to their children and the generations down the line. The day will come when they are no longer in power, they and their family members will be shun and despised by all assunder. Whatever evil deeds done will sure fall down on their own heads!
Votes: +3
written by densemy, October 08, 2008 11:47:51
... and why arent the imams screaming from the tops of their minarets about how unIslamic is the ISA???
written by lynn, October 08, 2008 19:05:19
All those bastards who put RPK thru this charade, you better be dead or hidden deep in the south american jungles because when malaysia gets a new government, all of you are going to jail for a very long time.

It would be great if they are given a few strokes of the rotan too. I think some real physical pain will jerk these bastards to reality.
Votes: +1
written by lynn, October 08, 2008 19:08:18
HHKim,
I have been waiting for God to take action; it's been nearly half a century and I think God is very busy elsewhere. After all we live in a very troubled planet full of bad people who gets away with rape, murder, plunder, abuse of power & they sleep well & securely in their beds. And they all go to their graves unpunished.

I suggest the rakyat take the country back from umno & do the right thing for once for this beautiful country. Do it yourself with your votes, don't rely on God.
written by MalaysianDreams, October 10, 2008 01:11:05
A fighter or hero comes with great sacrifice. Fighting for what we believe shouldn't be easy. We can't be a hero if we want to spend times sitting with kids when they are having their examination. A hero shouldnt be serve with gold platter. We should do more rather than mumbling in this Malaysia Today. We need something more extreme to teach those bastard. In Pakistan, the Taliban used suicide bomber to fight for their right and for their cause to be heard. But there in Malysia, we so used with our easy life. I dont think we have the guts.

I still need my sleep. To save my energy to continue fighting.
Votes: +1

World Futures  Afghanistan is where Nato and the US are killing civilians indiscriminately. Is there a need to protest against such killings? Are YOU not concerned and don't you think you might be next?

Wellness Industry Is Booming!  Learn how you too can own a low capital home-based business to generate extra supplemental stream of income by using internet for these challenging economic times. You may earn RM1K up to RM10K a month working only 5-10hrs/week. Full system provided.

Home Based Business  Earn extra income $5000-$10,000 monthly, 24 hours a day. Just working part/full time from the comfort of your home. Legitimate business, have a most powerful product in the world. Register for FREE first to save your position in this powerful system.