Home arrow The Blogs arrow News/Commentaries arrow Raja Petra sedition trial: 'He told me'

Raja Petra sedition trial: 'He told me' PDF Print E-mail
Tuesday, 07 October 2008 22:33

By M. Mageswari, The Star

Malaysia Today editor Raja Petra Raja Kamarudin had told a talk show host that he had written about Mongolian Altantuya Shaariibuu two days before the programme was aired live nationwide in April, the Sessions Court heard.

Hasshim Abu Hanifah, who is a host of RTM’s Blog talk show, said he interviewed Raja Petra in its second episode on April 27.

“If I am not mistaken, he (Raja Petra) mentioned that he had written about Altantuya two days before that,” he told Sessions Court judge Rozina Ayob in the packed courtroom.

Raja Petra claimed trial to publishing a seditious article on its website on April 25.

Questioned by DPP Ishak Mohd Yusof, the second witness said Raja Petra had made such a statement when he was interviewing him under the “Keterbukaan” (openness) segment.

Hasshim, 49, who is also RTM news editor, however said Raja Petra did not elaborate on the title of his article.

He said he asked Raja Petra on openness in the government but the blogger had rejected the existence of such a thing, giving various reasons why he thought so.

He said he had asked RTM studio director Ahmad Zaki Mustafa to record the show in a video compact disc (VCD).

However, the defence raised an objection when the prosecution applied to have the VCD played in the courtroom.

DPP Roslan Mat Nor argued that the VCD would not prejudice the accused as it had been supplied to the defence team before the trial started and that it was only to let the witness refresh his memory.

Counsel Gobind Singh Deo, however, argued that if the court allow the witness to watch the VCD in court it would appear as though he was giving his evidence not from recollection but from the VCD.

The judge later threw out the application by the prosecution.

At this juncture, the crowd in the public gallery clapped their hands and cheered but the judge cautioned them against it.

Hasshim then continued to testify, saying that Raja Petra also told him in Arabic language that his contributions as a blogger were to do good and reject bad things.

The second witness also confirmed that Raja Petra had mentioned the Altantuya case to him during the interview.

Asked by lead counsel J.Chandra, he denied that the talk show was made to “trap” the blogger.

He said he did not give any caution to Raja Petra before the show that anything he said could be used against him.

The hearing continues on Wednesday.

written by binarytan, October 07, 2008 23:08:32
I also will tell the witness that our Malaysia is full of bull shit politician right from top PM to the downline UMNO goons.

RPK has never done anything even the blog "sounds like him, look like him but HE is not HIM"

Fcuk off ISA. Fcuk off sodomy expertise in Malaysia.

written by Namolos, October 07, 2008 23:27:23
What is this bloody Syed Botak trying to do..???...First he Locks up this poor RPK under ISA....then try to justify it by Charging Pete in court.

Its going to be ..Head I win...Tail You Lose for poor Pete.

**** You Syed Botak....not all Malaysians are as stupid as you as not to see your failure to convince anyone with your shame trial.
written by cheemengwong, October 07, 2008 23:28:32
If the court is to be conducted like that, Pete sure loselah. Words spoken weeks ago, months ago, years ago also can be used against him!

Absurd. Unfair.Injustice
written by cheekhiaw, October 07, 2008 23:58:55
Many of us in MT also wrote about the Altantuya case on MT days before that article appeared. We were talking about how so many coincidences could have happened around one man.

May be like us RPK was also coincidentally writing about the case when that article appeared.

And how come we don't see the police coincidentally investigating into the other coincidences?

written by fireduck, October 08, 2008 00:11:55
I believe that Pete still holds the ace card. It doesn't matter whether he or somebody else wrote it. But what will it be if the truth comes to pass, and it is exactly as was written. The truth has a strange way of revealing itself, and at a time least expected. So, be patient. The real killers of Altantuya will not be able to hide for long.

And to all of us, that article was nothing close to being seditious. You can call it scandalous. You can call it libel or slander. You can call it fantasy. You can call it hogwash. But sedition? Go jump in the lake, Mr AG and Mr Home Minister!
written by onnetline, October 08, 2008 00:15:10
Both the AG and the Home Minister can go fcuk themselves !

Before that, let's get the syariah court officials ready for this. It's call sodomy and a good 20 years in jail, right ?!
written by middlepath, October 08, 2008 00:49:17
we all malaysian know and knew RPK is the good guy, and the deputy of Najis is evil. we must support RPK, the rumour do not come from no where, there is basis, and too much cover up and corrupt practice. how can the Private Investigator get missing ? this is miscarriage of justice... Paklah, please do something. please give the truth and give the real story. please dont suppress justice. please
written by Mee Udang, October 08, 2008 02:48:18
Those who approved ISA is de STUPIDEST STUPID AMONG THE STUPIDEST...!!
FREE RPK....
FREE HINDRAF....
FREE ALL.....
written by A MI, October 08, 2008 06:04:17
I have been reading MT for sometime now. I value all the truth uncovered here. However, now I am a little confused with the course RPK's defense lawyers are taking. Correct me me if I am mistaken, but I was under the impression "all will be bared" should this go to trial. Revealing truth cannot be sedition right?
written by Biztrack, October 08, 2008 08:45:03

If I said to someone that I fornicated with Paris Hilton, Angelina Jolie and Pamela Anderson ... all AT THE SAME TIME, does it mean that I actually do it ???

Bodoh punya AG !!!

written by Bigjoe99, October 08, 2008 08:45:38
Man are they grabbing for straws as evidence.. Talk show debate which is more publicity than anything else? Even for circumstancial evidence, its flimsy...
written by PeacefulMalaysia, October 08, 2008 20:58:56
SELAMAT HARI RAYA - **** OFF UMNO