Home arrow The Blogs arrow Letters/Surat arrow "We the People" are the sovereigns

"We the People" are the sovereigns PDF Print E-mail
Posted by St Low   
Tuesday, 07 October 2008 19:19

All the power and authority the government has was given by the People! That is why history claims that People Power is priceless.

If we don't have the right to do anything, then we cannot delegate such a right to any government! We cannot give to anyone or anything any power or authority we do not have.

There are three types of law ie the Law of Nature, Law of the Land and Private Law. Today, Private Law prevails beyond anything else as it is always a contractual issue that defies the base law of nature and law of the land. It endows on humanity a certain unalienable right to freedom and truth, to live fairly and equally within a society.

The nonchalant and lack of action by People Power, ie you and I, bestows more power upon the Executive for the needs of the few. In order for a law to be proper, it must be just and able to protect the rights of all equally, without violating the rights of any. There is nothing mysterious about proper law as it is based on humanity and common sense based on the Law of God, ie Natural Law and the Law of the Land, ie Common Law.

Imagine, millions of hits on RPK's Malaysia-Today and many eloquent commentors, yet only a few hundred at his Anti-ISA Vigil at Dataran Merdeka and his trial. Damn!!! I feel sorry for him. Then again, no; because he did what is just and right without any expectations. He did it for truth and humanity. RPK may just be another martyr for what he trusts and believes in but I for one trust in him.

Please don't ask me what I have done, as I do not see the need to justify myself to those RPK commentors that find it such a game to conduct verbal jousts online. Yes, I may sound arrogant and self-righteous, but you don't know me or what I am capable or incapable of. Why judge me, or judge anyone? Explore yourself and find the truth and justice in your own self. Save your pessimism and your hopes on how others should act to yourself.

Read your own mind and see what you are able to do other than commenting and blogging. Our lives these days are built on fear and intimidation. Is this how you want your children to live?

Our selfish preoccupation with our own individual needs is what causes the government to act without regard for the people. And we are the ones who have given them this power because it is what we are good at. We are all good at looking after number one. Why blame the government for being the same?

I wonder how the passive and self-indulgent Malaysians will respond. Everyone has a role to play but if you do nothing, then you achieve nothing.

R. Shan (Human Being)
Email This e-mail address is being protected from spam bots, you need JavaScript enabled to view it

written by clarity, October 07, 2008 19:36:35
Shan, You are god damn right. I am also sick to the stomach of a certain type of people who thinks their criticisms here will free the world of it's ills. Apart from that, they will relax in the comfort of their homes and let others take risks for the benefit of their families. They won't even disagree with you on this. When their support is needed, they just shut up. And they are even educated. It's sad to be born with this type of character.
Votes: +25
written by ibabonma, October 07, 2008 19:55:14
10 million voters cannot be ruling this country collectively unless, we voters ‘loan’ our individual ‘people power’ by voting at the general election to appoint our proxy to sit in parliament to rule this country in accordance of the Malaysian Constitution therein.

After five years, at most, the ruling party is obliged to hand back our ‘power’ so that we can go to vote again in the following general election and appoint a new government, be it the incumbent or otherwise.

That’s democracy and People Power. How about it UMNO?
Votes: +10
written by ahmadneil, October 07, 2008 20:19:35
When these corruptions polluted the minds then the giver is sovereign.
Votes: +7
written by avj, October 07, 2008 21:23:45
Shan I agree,but people being what they are,are content to put up with the miseries of life than to put up with the inconviences of making a better one. I don't blame them nor do I expect anything better from them.A good majority will only learn when they themselves have to face difficulties.A simple rule that I have learned in life is not to wait for anyone or to depend on any.If I believe in somthing and I if can make a difference I will do the little that I can,if it means just making a phone call or sending an sms,the rest will just fall in place.I think that is the Law of Life. Then again I may be wrong.
Votes: +5
written by willove, October 07, 2008 22:13:53
Shan,

Accept the fact that Malaysians are generally very passive in nature, thanks to the brainwash by BN for the past 50 years. UMNO telling the Malays they are the kings, MCA telling the Chinese to be happy for able to do business and MIC telling the Indians...nothing except you have no choice but to vote for me.

As a survey carried in recent years still show Malaysians are amongst the happiest people in the world is evident of that mentality. The dirt under the rug is only exposed in greater form lately. MT is also getting more popular just a few years prior to the GE13.

We have to be more patient in making Malaysians alike realise we have to be more proactive in our actions to protect our rights as the citizens of Malaysia. I hereby plead to all readers of MT to:
1. Tell more people to visit the MT website;
2. Relating the contents to those who have yet to access MT;
3. Urge people around you to stand up for their rights as a citizen;
4. Please do not vote blindly, every single vote counts.

With that, we can look forward to GE14 with greater hope.
Votes: +9
written by malgal, October 07, 2008 22:18:55
Mr Shan,you wrote what i have been feeling too. The apathetic pengecut lot has become fodder for a writer with a sledgehammer at RPK. Because of us lot who heckle from the safety of our couches, he has come on to say that MT ought to be shut down because its a mere paper tiger. We loaded his ammunition. We fed his venom. We gave him due cause to aim at RPK.
Please whoever can make time, go to PJ Sessions Court. Thank you lah.
Votes: +4
written by anak malaysia 2, October 07, 2008 23:18:55
Malaysians shld start to walk the talk.Everyone shld start contributing every effort no matter how small it might seems..attending candle light vigils,giving moral and financial support or right now attending RPKs trial to give him moral support.Every small effort will turn into a tidal wave to sweep corruption and injustice from this promised land called Malaysia.Remember for evil to triumph is for good people to do nothing.RPK!
Votes: +4
written by temenggong, October 08, 2008 00:02:52
Either we pay for it, or our children will.
Votes: +5
written by palani, October 08, 2008 18:05:43
Shan, you are absolutely right. We talk a lot about justice and democracy but when come to action we take couldn't care attitude. I am sad to see only few people mingling around PJ court to lend moral support for our great man, RPK, who has sacrificed his life and family for creating a better Malaysia for Malaysians. I feel it is a great honour to be there and to shake hands with him. it's my little way of showing that RPK is not alone in his struggle and we are solidly behind him. How nice if more people are there to give him the moral support for all the sacrifices he has for us and our nation.
Votes: +1

World Futures  Afghanistan is where Nato and the US are killing civilians indiscriminately. Is there a need to protest against such killings? Are YOU not concerned and don't you think you might be next?

Wellness Industry Is Booming!  Learn how you too can own a low capital home-based business to generate extra supplemental stream of income by using internet for these challenging economic times. You may earn RM1K up to RM10K a month working only 5-10hrs/week. Full system provided.

Home Based Business  Earn extra income $5000-$10,000 monthly, 24 hours a day. Just working part/full time from the comfort of your home. Legitimate business, have a most powerful product in the world. Register for FREE first to save your position in this powerful system.