Home arrow The Blogs arrow News/Commentaries arrow Change of leadership makes no difference: SAPP

Change of leadership makes no difference: SAPP PDF Print E-mail
Tuesday, 07 October 2008 19:15

By MUGUNTAN VANAR

KOTA KINABALU: Sabah Progressive Party (SAPP) is sticking to its guns of seeing its eight-point agenda implemented for Sabah and feels a leadership change in Barisan Nasional will make no difference to it.

The party president Datuk Yong Teck Lee said that as far as SAPP was concerned it had nothing personal against the Prime Minister or other Barisan leaders but was seeking a better deal for Sabah.

Yong said this to reporters when asked if SAPP would consider returning to Barisan if there was a change in Prime Minister.

He said issues of migrant problems, higher oil royalty and political autonomy, among others, were the key issues that his party was seeking to resolve for Sabah and their criteria was not about who the Prime Minister of the day was.

However, Yong said his personal guess was that Datuk Seri Abdullah Ahmad Badawi would only stick to the 2010 transition plan adopted by Umno supreme council in July on the basis that he has the support of Umno division members and a majority in Parliament.

“I am guessing; I do not think there will be any early transition,” said Yong whose party on June 18 called for a vote of no-confidence against Abdullah and on Sept 17 pulled out of the Barisan coalition to remain an independent opposition.

On the position of his deputy president Datuk Raymond Tan who claimed that he was no longer with the party and has remained a Barisan independent, Yong said SAPP has yet to receive his (Tan) resignation letter.

Tan, who is Deputy Chief Minister, remains in the state cabinet of Datuk Musa Aman. He is widely expected to register a new party or take up an existing local party to seek membership in Barisan with former SAPP members unhappy with the pullout.

- The Star

written by ibabonma, October 07, 2008 19:31:02
A Bodohwi resigns and a NAJIS takes over. Its as good as selling this country to Singapore.
written by Hello Keithy, October 07, 2008 19:53:41
Datuk YTL, stick to your guns. SAPP made the right decision. Your brave actions will be rewarded by Sabahans. Save your right hook for the next election. BN have been treating you and SAPP like a pariah. Show them esp. the other component parties, what it's like to be independent and not having your balls in the hands of UMNO.
written by 1six5, October 07, 2008 19:55:55
Datuk Yong...what u say i totally agree...but u shud say a change of gomen instead (i know u had the 'hood' to say that...maybe the press omitted it). Taib Mahmud...when is ur turn to say those words...u seem awfully quiet, have something to add?

ibabonma...i would rather have a s'pore gomen here rather than turning into Mugabe's regime,Myanmar junta...any country would be good...other than BN-ruled country.

Lets change the gomen may it be this term or the next. Just pray for better days ahead for PR n end this Barisan Najis
written by ahmadneil, October 07, 2008 20:21:27
A OPEN APPEAL TO SABAHANS......All this while sabah have taken up quite a bit of MT space.News of sabah have been propping up constantly.After going through all the news,I find it rather amassing that the leaders in sabah are now starting to bark a bit.Before 308 there was not a whisper from them.Maybe they have found guts to speak up or is it that they are competing among themselves to be the loudest and most heard leaders.Sabahan have been through quite alot of publicity,from Tun Fuad to Musa Aman.All this while sabahan are have never stood up to be counted when they are used and manipulated by umno or BN.Always during umno elections,leaders would be flying into sabah to court votes and gives 'Ang Pows'.Whenever BN needs support,it comes to sabah.So that why sabah plays a very important role in what is happening to the past and present gov't.But umno and BN took away the meat and left the bones to the sabahan.For such a long time sabahan never complain even when given bones.Today have sabahan wake up?Are they prepare to stand up and say 'Enough is Enough'?Are sabahan aware that they have been trampled by the very guys who say they will look after sabahan.And all this while also your leaders are dumb and blinded by the 'Ang Pows'.So finally I came to the conclusion that if sabahan don't wake or stand up,they will forever be the playground or the 'Fixed Deposit'like what Najis says,for the rich and famous.I don't blame anybody except sabahan.The window of opportunity is slowly closing. In no time you all sabahan will not be of any importance to the BN leaders.You will be left to rot like what is happening in the African countries.Like the chinese saying'flowers will never blossom everyday'.A time will come when it withers and lost its color. So sabahan leave it for you all to ponders.
written by ahmadneil, October 07, 2008 20:24:29
super admin,why is it that sarawak don't attract your attention.sjs did reveal a bit but very rarely we see topics on sarawak.Sabah receive more attention than sarawak.get some damming topics.
written by anakdesa, October 07, 2008 20:50:54
ahmadneil can't argue much on what you have written. It's too true what you have written. Read my comment http://anakdesa1108.wordpress....-i-see-it/
I myself am ashame of our state leaders! They are just too greedy! Greedy for themselves, families and machais. Do they care abt the rakyat? NO lahh.. Do they care if they are made used of? NO lahh...The important thing is they are laughing all the way to the bank.
written by No nonsense, October 07, 2008 21:24:35
Datuk Yong you are absolutely correct that changing the leadership make no difference. The only way is to change the BN gorv. to PR. Do not know why the Sabahans are still so fickle minded about the change. Dont they want to see better days for their children? Well, maybe they feel very comfortable with how BN is treating them and only their leaders know. Datuk Yong you will not be alone, many will be with you when more shit are uncovered. Well Sabahans the ball is at your feet now and all will be waiting for the action. Thik well.
written by omarkhayyam, October 07, 2008 22:09:30
SAPP,

shut ur rhetorics n git outta BN first .... we r jus too tired listening to "jive-talk" but no action man

written by Pangkis Pangazou, October 07, 2008 22:26:49
Before ahmadneil and the likes starts to point fingers at Sabahans (and i mean genuine Sabahans), let me tell you that we have faced the evil BN ALONE and we won. While other Malaysian states (except for Kelantan) were busy kissing BN's ass, Sabahans were left to fight a lone battle against the "mighty" BN machinery and even with all their might, BN still lost because basically the "real" Sabahans have always been wary of this TIMBANGAN berat sebelah.

You should study how the Sabah people's power were "overpowered" undemocratically and defeated through the dirtiest of tactics by the UMNO-led BN govt. The real locals were basically outnumbered by the "pasang siap locals" and to make it absolutely 100% victory for BN, the electoral boundaries were delineated along racial lines by this damn BN government. Sabahans were fighting a losing battle. The situation was hopeless to say the least. We were in the opposition and paid a heavy price for going against the BN govt then. Our leaders were also detained under that dreadful ISA for fighting for our rights. So, please forgive Sabahans for this "wait and see" attitude.

The only chance we have is a change in the federal govt. There was no way we could triumph over this evil BN unless some miracle happen in West Malaysia... because to us Sabahans, it seems you guys over there will NEVER vote BN out. If only you were with us in the late 80's, we could've changed this damn government then. But you were quite comfortable with BN then, right? We were waiting for some miracle to happen in Semenanjung and a wonderful "political tsunami" did happen on 8th March 2008. There IS a glimmer of hope after all.

I believe the only way for all this injustice to end is by changing this filthy BN government.We want this "change" as much as you guys, so please don't point your accusing fingers at us. The real Sabahans are victims of this evil regime. Don't mistook us for the "Sabahans" of Project M.

P/S to omarkhayyam... where have you been man??? They are OUT already.
written by onnetline, October 08, 2008 00:18:02
Mr Yong,

You are right ...... so damn right !
written by loosecannon, October 08, 2008 08:04:22
On the issue of Raymond Tan, where's the principle they have been talking about. Raymond was elected on SAPP platform so he should give up his position when he resigned. Can't let go of the gravy train can he? It's just like someone who was employed as a driver taking the car with him when he resigned.
written by Rainbowseahorse, October 08, 2008 10:17:26
Ahmadneil:
You are a half backed Malaysian because you are those who are ignorant but still do not want to learn about politics in our state of Sabah before you open your big mouth. Time and again, various bloggers have written about the actual sad and desperate state of affairs in Sabah, but your thick skull cannot absorbed these facts. Your stupid and racist statement amounts to us telling you West Malaysians to wake up and stop being stupid in voting your Ahmad the racist, Khairil Oxford boy, Hishamudin the kris, Pak Lah the sleepy head, Najis the C4, and all those other aseholes you guys are rumbling on about. These asehole politicians are from your Semanjung side.

Do you know why YOUR Najib said Sabah is their “fix deposit”?? That’s because YOUR Najib government has over two million CONFIRMED voters in their migrant voters. That’s how sure he is with Sabah UMNO winning in EVERY BLOODY election as all these Philippinos & Indonesians given MyKad by YOUR Semanjung Government, that you West Malaysians voted into power, will vote UMNO BN.

So why don’t you West Malaysian wake up and stop voting the BN into power in each and every election???
written by ROBERTNGTG, October 08, 2008 16:12:07
On the position of his deputy president Datuk Raymond Tan who claimed that he was no longer with the party and has remained a Barisan independent, Yong said SAPP has yet to receive his (Tan) resignation letter

DONT WASTE TIME, JUST SACK THE SOB.
written by cllim123, October 08, 2008 18:28:45
Dear Rainbowseahorse and Ahmadneil, please sabar. It is now time for all Malaysians to pressure our BN MPs to walk across that Dewan on Oct 13. SAPP can show the way. In Peninsula, popular votes as seen in GE12 are behind Pakatan. Now Sabahan and Sarawak MPs if they do the right thing, all Malaysians will unite and support the new Malaysia, with no fake postal voters and Project IC voters. Then "Oxford Hairy", "speak-no-England MMTaib" and "C4-son-of-NEP" and the rest of the warlords will not get more votes than their immediate family members.
written by Sabahfan, October 08, 2008 20:50:52
WHILE YOU SEMENANJUNG GUYS lambast us sabahan leader to yet to openly cross over to PAKATAN, then let me remind you.

and why was my factual posting removed earlier??????

ONLY Sabah state and voters stood against the mighty BN and won twice.... but how many of you at semenanjung ever commended us, apart from our Saudara Lim kit siang?

nearly all voters at semenanjung at the time kept quiet as PBS was condemned for foloowing KULI in his Semangat Bulllshit...

Now what did KULI do? ate back his own shit and crawled back to UMNO leaving PBS to suffer until PBS also begged and kissed mahataiks *******s.

BUT too late, Mahataik already implemented his PROJECT IC which has now neutralised Sabahans votes and entrenched MUSA AMAN pushtuni as the eternal leader in Sabah.....

Where were all of you when there was a POWER grab at KK istana?

where were you when Jeffry Kitingan and other innocent pple were ISAed?

where were you when Mahataik, and his UMNOshit and RTM used racial and religious bullshit to hit us sabahan by saying PBS gave KULI a headgear siga with a CROSS ON IT?

PLEASE mr labisman, do not delete this posting unless you are afraid to face the facts of history.

Thats why Sabahans are now catious of follwoing Anwar less he crawls back to UMNO..

we have to see he becomes PM with multiracial support and policies including working closely with DAP and others..