Home arrow The Blogs arrow News/Commentaries arrow Anwar still singing takeover song

Anwar still singing takeover song PDF Print
Tuesday, 07 October 2008 19:13

By LESTER KONG

KUALA LUMPUR: Pakatan Rakyat will meet Tuesday to discuss issues related to the plan to take over the government.

Speaking to the press after leaving court on Tuesday, Opposition leader and PKR adviser Datuk Seri Anwar Ibrahim said the 31 MPs who want to cross over to the opposition have not lost confidence, nor have they reneged on their commitment.

Anwar said that he will be tabling the Budget on Monday as the Opposition leader in Parliament and he will then address the statement on the economy made by Deputy Prime Minister Datuk Seri Najib Tun Razak as well as on Budgt 2008 and 2009.

He added that the transition of power plan by Umno leaders would not have any bearing on the takeover bid.

- The Star

Comments (21)Add Comment
written by magickriver, October 07, 2008 19:38:19
It's an uplifting melody with an irresistible hook - and a real funky bass line.
And after 10 long years of practice, Anwar's voice is in top form. So why shouldn't he still be singing the Takeover Song? I suspect the headline was spun by one of the Star's editors and may not have been Lester Kong's original choice of words. In any case, I'm happy to hear Anwar sing the same song over and over again - until the deed is finally accomplished.
written by lynn, October 07, 2008 19:54:13
Even though there have been silence abt Anwar's takeover over the past week, I hope Anwar realises that increasingly, more and more people harbour the hope Anwar will still take over eventually, and of course the sooner the better, to form the new federal govt. We still want Anwar, regardless how "bad" they say he is. Hurry UP!

We will celebrate for one week once RPK is released!
written by ibabonma, October 07, 2008 20:12:58
Both Anwar and RPK court matters are heard on the same day. P*ki Mak.
written by ahmadneil, October 07, 2008 20:14:27
I heard him singing 'The river of no return'.
written by ahmadneil, October 07, 2008 20:15:54
A PERSONAL LETTER TO ANWAR IBRAHIM FROM ahmadneil...Lets have another Permatang Pauh.I sincerely hope the 'No confidence motion' will be another Permatang Pauh in the making.The rakyat are only hungry for your takeover,but you said you want to do it your way,not through violence.So with all the eventful months ahead,I hope a small window of opportunity will open the way for another blockbuster.Let this helps to propel you to the premiership and the takeover that we all are craving for.Another matter of similar importance is our Hero RPK!Your supporters are also RPK supporters.Nothing would be more pleasant than to hear your plans for the takeover of the gov't.Similarly,we would be equally delighted if there are ways you can do to to release RPK.But that will only be possible when you become PM.So for the time being,we need you to at least once in a while to attach RPK's name to any speech that you are making,so as to keep his memory alive.We will be most delighted if you could be of help to further our cause.Thanks YB Anwar Ibrahim.from ahmadneil.07/oct,2008.8.16pm
written by rosso, October 07, 2008 20:32:47
ahmadneil,
I agree with you - absolutely, in reference to the need to show support to RPK. The only reservation I have is that perhaps such open support especially by Anwar Ibrahim, might be prejudicial to RPK personally at this instance when he is facing a court trial - in the sense that the Judge might be too intimidated by the powers that be such that the judge may elect to act more in support of the prosecution.
written by June, October 07, 2008 20:39:12
Please make it happen Anwar. Don't just sing for fun. We really need to change government as soon as possible and RPK must be released soon. The ISA , Sedition Act and whatsoever act is all RUBBISH. We are like living in the Rubbishly Country run by rubbishly men.
written by avj, October 07, 2008 20:50:19
Lester Kong of The Star,your reporting sound like you are trying to bodeh your masters and the BE END. Get it straight Lester, the reason you go into politics is to gain power. It is DSAI right to seek a vote of confidence in parliment to set up the government,the least you could do is encourage him,and not do a sinister spin.Most Malaysians would like to see him as PM.He has determination to keep on going in spite of the odds,and that is leadership.
written by PasarRoad, October 07, 2008 21:04:20
Let us all remember these names:
Wong Chun Wai
Jocelyn Tan
Baradan Kuppusamy
Lester Kong

These are the people who had written articles with some intent to damage the rakyat's dream of a united Malaysia or a Malaysia for all Malaysians.

We should spit on their name each time their name is mentioned and curse them.
written by hiro, October 07, 2008 21:11:04
Doggone it. The takeover better be soon otherwise Anwar won't have it any easier under a Najib premiership.
written by Alice, October 07, 2008 21:12:24
Even if he is singing out of tune we still want him to be our next PM smilies/grin.gif
written by Jit Dharma, October 07, 2008 22:15:56
You take your time Bro, pasal kita bukan jenis hangat-hangat tahi ayam. Kalau
Bro. Anwar rasa nak tunggu empat tahun pun boleh.We know that the wolves are
trying to eat you alive, they really are a bunch of heartless and greedy SOB's.
Only thing is brother RPK, who is going to rescue him?
written by shangrilapeace, October 07, 2008 22:58:52
It is a blessed miracle that Anwar has conquered many hurdles along the way.
There are 2 more to go before he and we got what they are not fighting for.
5 Good news in a 6 sentence paragraph above. Wait for me Anwar, to sing along with you.
written by temenggong, October 08, 2008 00:11:47
The figure is 33, not 31!

Anwar is just worried about the Trengganu Pas MPs who may double cross!

written by farah, October 08, 2008 00:20:49
ahmadneil comments are 'funny' but least we could laugh/giggle a little in between the saddest moment.

DSAI still sings the take-over song, caused PLANNING are still SYSTEMATICALLY ON!! i have put my full trust and hope.
written by cheekymate, October 08, 2008 00:24:09
DSAI is saving the best for last. Let the goons laugh now, for he who laughs last, laughs best. When he strikes, there will be no Umnoputra standing...beware... all you guilty as sin warlords.
Dear RPK, please remember to leave your cell in a pristine condition with juicy lamb chops waiting to welcome Mt Rushmore delegates.
written by Capt Siva, October 08, 2008 07:12:26
Maybe we should not rush things.
Given that the last Emergency of 1969 has not been lawfully revoked.
Given that the Mongolian Man is desperate
Given that DSAI will only get a very very slim majority even if he wins and be at the mercy of the fence hoppers.

Maybe we should tread carefully and find out what the Oxford and Cambridge graduates in the ARM-NO are planning next.

We must be careful otherwise we will lose all the ground we have gained so far.
written by JohnQ, October 08, 2008 09:51:04
Ever heard of when a sudden recess of water level at shore, what will be next?

written by JohnQ, October 08, 2008 09:52:42
The third wave will be the deadliest !
written by gorshan, October 08, 2008 11:29:32
can i yawn now? sometimes its hard to stay awake when the singer sings for too long.already i have matchsticks propping up my eyelids. smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif smilies/angry.gif