Home arrow The Blogs arrow News/Commentaries arrow Anwar says those who use ISA not fit to rule

Anwar says those who use ISA not fit to rule PDF Print E-mail
Posted by St Low   
Tuesday, 07 October 2008 16:12

By Debra Chong

KUALA LUMPUR, Oct 7 — Opposition leader Datuk Seri Anwar Ibrahim said today he believes that Malays or Muslims who use cruel laws against Hindus are not qualified to rule the country.

He also accused the Umno-owned Utusan Malaysia newspaper of twisting facts to spark off hatred of the Malays for Hindus.

The issue at hand, he said, was the use of the Internal Security Act, which Anwar described as a cruel law.

"We as Malays, as Muslims, if we show cruelty to Malays or to Hindus, such a Malay is not qualified to rule the country. You can take that down Utusan Malaysia," he told reporters today.

Anwar had been asked to comment on the move by representatives of the Hindu Rights Action Front (Hindraf) in presenting a memorandum calling for the release of those detained under the ISA to the Prime Minister at his Hari Raya open house last week.

"The issue is not any protest by Hindraf. The issue is the cruel ISA. Those detained under this cruel law must be released," said Anwar.

Asked what he thought about speculation that Datuk Seri Abdullah Ahmad Badawi would not defend his Umno presidency, he said he did not believe a government or an Umno led by Datuk Seri Najib Razak would be any better.

He said he did not believe that BN would be able to garner more support or credibility under Najib.

"We are talking about a system tainted by corruption. It is important that we continue to call for reform and change," he said.

written by dkkl, October 07, 2008 16:28:31
yes, UMNO is definitely not fit to rule the country... they are just a bunch of United Moron Nasional Organisation
Votes: +86
written by dkkl, October 07, 2008 16:29:06
Therefore, they must be grind to powder to ensure there will nvr be any party called UMNO again
Votes: +45
written by indianputra, October 07, 2008 16:36:48
Islam is such a wonderful religion. If you read the Koran, the Islamic holy book, then you will realize that Islam is a very peaceful religion. They don't believe in violence, ill treatment of human beings, corruption, cronism, lies etc etc etc..... and yet our Malaysian Government leaders, who claims to practice Islam, prays 5 times a day, talk highly of Islam, defends Islam are the epitome of hypocrates.

ISA is not at all tuned to Islam. ISA must be abolished for Islam does not recognize jailing people without a trial.
Votes: +72
written by ahmadneil, October 07, 2008 16:42:12
So it is ripe for takeover,Anwar.RPK is waiting eagerly!
Votes: +45
written by dsahlim, October 07, 2008 16:47:37
It is the politcs of the poisoned-pen saga, it has come round full circle back to its owner to haunt UMNO "50 Dalil mengapa Najib Tidak Boleh Jadi PM".
Votes: +23
written by cheekymate, October 07, 2008 17:00:22
How can our country ever prosper when it is run by a bunch of warlords who incarcerate the righteous and set free the guilty? AAB and Najib, have you no conscience AT ALL?!!
Or have you sold your souls to the deepest abyss for the prize of greed, power and unimaginable wealth amassed?
SHAME ON YOU.
Votes: +28
written by temenggong, October 07, 2008 17:16:43
Anwar,

Proceed with the no confidence vote and takeover of the govt at whatever the cost.

There are other forces that might suddenly spring up, and you might be surprised to see that Pakatan may end up with a 2/3rd majority by December! There will be more defectors After the vote!
written by MAMR, October 07, 2008 17:22:03
TOTALLY AGREED WITH YOU DSAI.Only a VERY VERY DESPERATE GOVT TRYING TO CLING TO POWER will use ISA.Especially when using ISA on opposition or opposition's supporters.
written by 1six5, October 07, 2008 17:22:05
i believe after much learning and education particularly insights from ppl in MT,RPK,Dr. Asri,Dr. Azly,and another notable writer from IKIM who writes in the STAR papers...most of non-muslim are more of a mu'umin than those kafirs from UMNO. here is how the hierarchy goes in Islam n Iman for individuals (wikipedia.org)

muslims - submitter (to Al-mighty)
mu'umin - believer
fasiq - open sinner
fajir - sinner (by action)
kafir - concealer of the truth
munafiq - hypocrite

i believe those UMNO dastards are of the bottom 2 facing relegation. please advice me if i'm wrong. i'm trying to understand this wonderful religion without bias.
Votes: +17
written by cheekhiaw, October 07, 2008 17:24:43
1six5,

Those UMNO fellas are complete Muslims. They are all of the above!

Votes: -7
written by elmo world, October 07, 2008 18:32:05
UMNO is finished. M'sia do not need UMNO
M'sia do not need racist system!!

get it ?
Votes: +20
written by fireduck, October 07, 2008 18:52:42
"We as Malays, as Muslims, if we show cruelty to Malays or to Hindus, such a Malay is not qualified to rule the country. You can take that down Utusan Malaysia," he told reporters today.

Somehow I have a slight problem with this statement. Is it really from Anwar? Why is he still using the racial slant on this matter? ISA, whether on Hindus, Chinese, or Malays, is just as draconian. And even if Indians (like semivalue, for example) use the ISA on the Hindus, they are just as unfit to govern as their Malay counterparts.

So, Anwar, please condemn the ISA as an affront to human rights and dignity in general. No need to be specific on this and that race.

Cheers!
Votes: +5
written by adan, October 07, 2008 18:56:15
'THE ISSUE IS NOT ANY PROTEST BY HINDRAF. THE ISSUE IS THE CRUEL ISA.' SAYS ANWAR. PEOPLE WITH COMMON SENSE CAN SEE THE DIFFERENCE AND ISSUE INVOLVED BUT HOW TO MAKE MENTALLY RETARDED MORONS SEE THE DISTINCTION. IT WILL BE TOO MUCH OF A STRAIN ON THEIR MENTAL FACULTY OF THESE LOW-LIFE FORMS TO COMPREHEND SUCH DISTINCTIONS.
Votes: +5
written by ahmadneil, October 07, 2008 19:15:51
A PERSONAL LETTER TO ANWAR IBRAHIM FROM ahmadneil...Lets have another Permatang Pauh.I sincerely hope the 'No confidence motion' will be another Permatang Pauh in the making.The rakyat are only hungry for your takeover,but you said you want to do it your way,not through violence.So with all the eventful months ahead,I hope a small window of opportunity will open the way for another blockbuster.Let this helps to propel you to the premiership and the takeover that we all are craving for.Another matter of similar importance is our Hero RPK!Your supporters are also RPK supporters.Nothing would be more pleasant than to hear your plans for the takeover of the gov't.Similarly,we would be equally delighted if there are ways you can do to to release RPK.But that will only be possible when you become PM.So for the time being,we need you to at least once in a while to attach RPK's name to any speech that you are making,so as to keep his memory alive.We will be most delighted if you could be of help to further our cause.Thanks YB Anwar Ibrahim.from ahmadneil.07/oct,2008.7.16pm
Votes: +14
written by clarity, October 07, 2008 19:24:52
Anwar is right. They are not fit to rule. They are only there not by popularity anymore. They are there by the use of force. Say something they don't like and it's ISA. This is still the Hitler era from TDM to PM and maybe DPM. No difference. The police is their Gestapo and Kamunting is the concentration camp. The only way to get rid of them is for the people to never give up, be strong and rally around PR. Never forget what RPK is sacrificing for us!
Votes: +14
written by lynn, October 07, 2008 20:08:27
Truly well put, clarity!

This govt got to go, the sooner the better.

Anwar, can you hurry up please? We are really so fed-up and we hate this govt so much, especially now that they have detained our beloved Petra!
Votes: +12
written by farah, October 08, 2008 01:13:20
Yes! DSAI, say loud and clear, ring the bells to the ears of UMNO/BN's.
NO TO ISA!!
Votes: +1
written by Sabahfan, October 08, 2008 20:34:37
AS I SAID BEFORE..

THOSE who used the ISA, especially UMNO leaders not fit to celebrate the Raya

becos all their puasa SUDAH BATAL

KERANA MENIPU... how about it MT readers

Votes: +0

World Futures  Afghanistan is where Nato and the US are killing civilians indiscriminately. Is there a need to protest against such killings? Are YOU not concerned and don't you think you might be next?

Wellness Industry Is Booming!  Learn how you too can own a low capital home-based business to generate extra supplemental stream of income by using internet for these challenging economic times. You may earn RM1K up to RM10K a month working only 5-10hrs/week. Full system provided.

Home Based Business  Earn extra income $5000-$10,000 monthly, 24 hours a day. Just working part/full time from the comfort of your home. Legitimate business, have a most powerful product in the world. Register for FREE first to save your position in this powerful system.