Home arrow The Blogs arrow News/Commentaries arrow More cases unearthed

More cases unearthed PDF Print E-mail
Posted by St Low   
Tuesday, 07 October 2008 16:08

Penampang: More cases of Sabahans facing citizenship problems are being unearthed by the United Pasokmomogun Kadazandusun Murut Organisation (Upko) through its Citizenship and Security Bureau.

One involves mother-of-three Alice Chui Pee, 52, who has been living in fear all her life as she feels like an illegal immigrant in her own country.

The reason she fears even stepping out of Kota Kinabalu is that she does not hold a blue MyKad but a Green Identity Card (NO. H8004791) which, it is learnt, is only given to foreigners.

Her story began when she was born while her parents, who are Sabahans from Papar, were working in Singapore in 1956.

Three years later, the family returned to Sabah, but unfortunately without getting her birth certificate in Singapore. Here, she received her education in SRJK Stella Maris and SM Stella Maris in Tanjung Aru.

At the age of 24, Alice married Danny Lim who is a Sabahan and they have two daughters and a son.

Due to her document problem, Alice missed her eldest daughter's graduation in Kuala Lumpur and chances are she will also miss her second daughter's graduation next year if her problem remains unresolved.

The only time she travelled to Kuala Lumpur was in 1999 when the Immigration Department gave her through special terms and conditions the opportunity to accompany her second daughter for medical treatment.

Alice has been trying to apply to have her Green IC changed to the Blue IC but on every occasion met a stumbling block.

Moyog Assemblyman Donald Mojuntin, who is also Upko Citizenship and Security Bureau chief, said he was sad when told by Alice that she did not even get the chance to fill up the application form during her latest attempt early this year.

"A personnel at the NRD counter just glanced through her documents and immediately refused to give her the application form. How is it that by a mere cursory look you can decide she cannot apply for citizenship?" he asked.

Mojuntin said the NRD must be able to distinguish the problem and give opportunity to people like Alice to go through the process.

"I am afraidÉif the police catch me where will they send me?" asked Alice, who was accompanied by her eldest daughter, Melisa, 27, who is a teacher.

Another case highlighted to the bureau was that of a 52-year-old man, Stephan George who, like Alice, has Sabahan parentage but was born outside Sabah. He holds a Permanent Resident status to this day.

"At that time my parents went to Brunei to seek greener pasture and I was born in 1956 there. After two years we returned to Sabah," he said.

According to Stephan, his father first applied for his IC and citizenship in 1975, which was in fact the first of his many tries.

"The answer I received was that my application was still being processed," he said, adding the time the department took to reply was also astonishing.

He said he had on the request of Upko President Tan Sri Bernard Dompok re-submitted his application in 1997 but he only got the reply in 2003 stating that was his application was being scrutinised.

Several letters seeking assistance on the matter were also sent by Mojuntin and Datuk Wilfred Tangau when he was the Tuaran MP to the Home Ministry in 2004 but there was no reply, he said.

Stephan said he received a call from an NRD officer about two weeks ago and was told that his papers had been referred to the police for verification.

"When I asked how long it will take she said she had no idea," he lamented.

Stephan also revealed his application reference number 12071011-20080227-114402 and urged politicians who had been saying that cases like his were isolated to walk the talk.

"I am not begging, I am just asking for my rights," he said.

Stephan questioned the seemingly double standards practised by the relevant authorities in quickly processing and giving citizenship to people like sports people.

"I know I am no footballer, I am not a badminton coach but I am a true son of the soil and it is my right to get my citizenship," he said.

- Daily Express, Sabah

Comments (25)Add Comment
written by ahmadneil, October 07, 2008 16:27:27
My dog Leslie got a PR due to administrative error is now getting MyKad.Thanks.
Votes: +56
written by slash n burn, October 07, 2008 16:28:44
Usual suspect are no other than mahathir and all the unwanted Melayu UMNO shitting in Sabah.
Votes: +34
written by Rundukon, October 07, 2008 16:41:18
I am puzzled as to why these problems were highlighted only now? PBS, a Kadazan based party, was in power from 1986 to 1996. PBS should have solved the problems by then.

slash and burn, your comment is uncalled for. Put your blame on the Kadazan so-called leaders. The Kadazan ate Kadazans. Its an open secret that the Dusuns in the Interior do not see eye to eye with those from Penampang who belittled the Dusuns. Penampangites always brabd themselves as the 1st class Kadazans.
Votes: +19
written by Rainbowseahorse, October 07, 2008 16:43:20
It’s time that Dompok2, Pirin, Kurup, and other real Sabahan MPs wake up to realize that they ARE the elected people’s leaders and part of Sabah’s government. Stop talking as if you are ordinary & helpless orang kampong. For fuk sake, stop being bystanders as you have the power to effect changes in Sabah. Go get a set of false teeth since you all obviously have all your teeth kicked-in by UMNO Sabah all those many years ago.
Votes: +38
written by Sinewy, October 07, 2008 16:48:12
Ask most people in the construction industry and they will tell you their encounters with many indonesians who are working very hard to get their children to become bumiputra in Malaysia. If the government dares to do a census on the real background of all the young citizens in this country, I'm sure it will be shocking. The selfish political game has allowed this to happen for the purpose of securing power at the expense of the interest of the citizens of this country. It is also very weird for many sabah politicians like those in PBS to turn a blind eye for so long on this issue. The ruling political party is only interested to secure power to rule the state with the support of from the influx of the dubious group into the population. Then they can propagate their ketuanan policies into the state of sabah and sarawak and control the abundant resources available. It will also help to ensure the ruling party being able to hold on to power at the federal level.
Votes: +35
written by charli88, October 07, 2008 17:05:17
The righteous action for politicians and MPs of Sarawak and Sabah to take is to quit BN and stay independent if you don't want to join PR. UMNO/BN will not act swiftly on this issue becos' there'll be thousands more of these cases to be unearthed and their faces will have no where to hide. For the past 10-20 years, all you know about this but no heart want to deal with this becos' all you are enjoying wonderful life in BN. Who cares ? As you all know universal laws rule this world, whatever wrong will be unearthed sooner or later. The fact is UMNO/BN will only reform and change when they become the opposition in parliment. The future of Malaysia only can be corrected by changing this gomen. No way out. Ask yourself who are the real traitors of East Malaysia ?
Votes: +22
written by Malaysiaputra, October 07, 2008 17:13:57
What the hell is going on ?. Pakistanis, Indonesians and others can get blue IC relatively easily, while Malaysians are given red I/C ? . It is because we have racist in the registration dept ?.
Votes: +36
written by Zorro, October 07, 2008 17:15:40
I hope Daily Express will interview Chong Eng Leong, the former PBS supreme council member who resigned because PBS doesnt have the balls to be outspoken anymore and to expose the filthy works of these slimy NRD and Immigration crooks(that includes the politicians). He has done extensive research and digging on this illegal issuance of I.C to undeserving people.

UPKO & SAPP, Sabahans are behind u on your exposures.

YB Yahya Hussin, fair weather friends? We don't want to be friends with you who thinks that issuance of PR to a real citizen a small matter.

DPM Najib, what say u? All this administrative error?

I was in the sabah musuem the other day and most of the story of freedom fighters in sabah during pre-independance days are Muslims. No disrespect to those muslims warriors but what happened to those non-muslim freedom fighters? Why little story on them?? Did they not contribute?

Fellow Sabahans, the 20 points agreement on Sabah joining Malaysia was largely drafted by Tun Fuad Stephens. Do you find that in archives of Sabah history???

As the saying goes, whoever is in power, decides which history to be remembered.

Sabahans especially KDMs, our political rights is slowly being eroded and if not stopped will reach a point where our voice might not be longer audible to anyone. Our politicians has failed us.

Let's not fail ourselves. Next GE might be a long way to go, but spread the words among friends and relatives, KDMs are being violated without their knowledge. We want KDM leaders who fight for our rights but instead they fight for what they think is their right.

Let's be idle no more, let us show to the KDM leaders who does not perform by voting them out. Show them that the people are the boss.
Votes: +25
written by thor, October 07, 2008 17:33:00
Our country is being invaded thru the backdoor, why don't our submarines help in defending smilies/grin.gif

Wolves are cunning and they are not color blind but uses color to divide and rule. Main motivation is their obsession with power and the gravy train stops.
Votes: +18
written by KKchan, October 07, 2008 17:44:50
I think the NRD should issue an amnesty to all those like Alice and Stephen. Get all of them to come forward and resolve the issue once and for all. In my mind, they are all Malaysians. They were born outside Sabah but returned to Sabah before Malaysia Day. If they were British subjects or British Protected persons then, they became Malaysians on 16 Sep 63. No other proof is needed.
Votes: +15
written by cheemengwong, October 07, 2008 18:53:42
The person behind all this is Dr. Makathir. He should be tried for treson and jailed for life.
Votes: +17
written by Margeemar, October 07, 2008 19:09:03
Pairin, Joseph Kurup, Bernard Dompok, Daniel Tajem, James Masing etc. you are all a bunch of traitors and self centered pigs who are willing to sell your own peple, race and religion to the Umnoputras. Padan muka (serve you right), now you folks are a minority in your own land, thanks to Filipino and Indonesian Muslims who got their MYkad and voted BN and who are now calling themselves Malay. If this is not a form of ethnic cleansing, then I don't know what is?...More http://margeemar.blogspot.com
Votes: +17
written by simon68, October 07, 2008 19:17:13
I am wondering why the KDM are making a big fuzz over the matter. The Constitution says she is not a citizen, although having Sabahan parentage simply bacause the person was born out side Malaysia.

The KDM parties (PBS, UPKO and PBRS) should make an effort to help get birth certificates for those who are not in possession of b/c although they were born in Malaysia on or after Malaysia Day. There are a lot of these half KDM(usually KDM mothers with PI or Indon fathers)who do not possess b/c. The parties should make it a policy to help these group of people. You can find these people in workshops etc.
Votes: +6
written by Tsunami08, October 07, 2008 19:22:28
Dear Stupid and Gullible Sabahans,

You still don't get it do you? Isn't it plain for all to see? Heard of Project M?

To be very honest, those who applied for blue MyKads will never get it because they are not of a special religion. Our fascists and racists in the NRD will make sure those of you who have citizenship lose them, while those new immigrants who claim to be of this special religion will automatically get citizenship. Thank you for voting for BN.

Anyway, your vote is now insignificant because we have so many Indons, Bangladeshis, Pakistanis, Afghans, Filipinos who will vote BN on your behalf.
smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif
Votes: +14
written by ahmadneil, October 07, 2008 19:45:37
A OPEN APPEAL TO SABAHANS......All this while sabah have taken up quite a bit of MT space.News of sabah have been propping up constantly.After going through all the news,I find it rather amassing that the leaders in sabah are now starting to bark a bit.Before 308 there was not a whisper from them.Maybe they have found guts to speak up or is it that they are competing among themselves to be the loudest and most heard leaders.Sabahan have been through quite alot of publicity,from Tun Fuad to Musa Aman.All this while sabahan are have never stood up to be counted when they are used and manipulated by umno or BN.Always during umno elections,leaders would be flying into sabah to court votes and gives 'Ang Pows'.Whenever BN needs support,it comes to sabah.So that why sabah plays a very important role in what is happening to the past and present gov't.But umno and BN took away the meat and left the bones to the sabahan.For such a long time sabahan never complain even when given bones.Today have sabahan wake up?Are they prepare to stand up and say 'Enough is Enough'?Are sabahan aware that they have been trampled by the very guys who say they will look after sabahan.And all this while also your leaders are dumb and blinded by the 'Ang Pows'.So finally I came to the conclusion that if sabahan don't wake or stand up,they will forever be the playground or the 'Fixed Deposit'like what Najis says,for the rich and famous.I don't blame anybody except sabahan.The window of opportunity is slowly closing. In no time you all sabahan will not be of any importance to the BN leaders.You will be left to rot like what is happening in the African countries.Like the chinese saying'flowers will never blossom everyday'.A time will come when it withers and lost its color. So sabahan leave it for you all to ponders.
Votes: +8
written by lynn, October 07, 2008 19:46:01
Those racist traitors cum retards working behind the counters are probably told to be as racist and as discriminating as possible. Notice that all those who face problems have chinese sounding names, or indian but not muslim sounding names.

What can we do? This country is so fcuk-up !!!

Yesterday I asked the Indonesian maid/sweeper in my office, does she hold a red IC? She shyly nodded & I asked: how much did you pay for it? And she said tiga ribu - RM3000.00.

My other colleague said, eh, 3000 is cheap already!

Who in the Home Ministry is selling all these red ICs to illiterate, unskilled, poverty-stricken, unwashed Indons & lain lain? Who is making so many hundred of millions on the side?

I still don't understand some umno supporters mentality : even so, why do you people allow a bunch of greedy treacherous bastards to sell out this country?

What the fcuk is wrong with Bodohland if we maintain our population at 20 million and have a higher standard of living?

Why are you people supporting such a damn corrupt govt who is increasing our population by gawd-knows how many millions by the months/year when we don't need all this riff-raff additional population to dirty our rivers, use up our oil, gas & water, rob us on the streets and in our homes?

To those of you who support this influx of illegal immigrants on the basis of "abang adek" mentality, please-lah, go and see a mental disease specialist. The way these Indons slash, rob, rape & kill our people, they don't regard you all in the same light.

BTW, Tsunami08, someone once said, the sentence for treason upon conviction is DEATH. Or just because that traitor was an ex-Minister, he is to be given VVIP treatment inspite of his crimes & then not sentenced? Who knows? I tell you, none of them will ever see their day in court.

It is only a good honest upright brave hero like Raja Petra Kamarudin who dares to speak the truth & face the consequences for the truth. In this unfair world, due to the stupidity of the majority of most individuals, people like George W Bush, Mahathir, Suharto, Marcos, and countless criminals go scotfree till their dying days. The only justice that can be meted out is in the hands of the Malaysian voters but most are too stupid to realise the power they hold in their hands on voting day!
Votes: +10
written by Limang, October 07, 2008 19:53:57
The problem is actually very simple to solve for "illegal" Sabahans (those still waiting for Mykad or citizenship): JUST BECOME A MUSLIM AND JOIN UMNO AND YOU WILL BE GUARANTEED A MYKAD WITHIN 24 HOURS, like the Indonesian or Filipino Muslims. If you don't believe, just ask Mustapha Raymond Tan bin Adbullah and Muhammad Pairin bin Abdullah.

The problem with you Sabahans is just plain stupidty. You can rule your own state by yourself, instead you all beg UMNO to rule it for you, and now you are complaining. Bodoh!

Just give UMNO another 5 years and its Ethnic Cleansing Project (Phase 4) will be completed and then you will be stateless. So before this happen, just wise up and follow the footsteps of Mustapha Raymond and Muhammad Pairin.

Bodoh Sabahans! We, West Malaysian, as still smarter, admit it!
Votes: +9
written by lynn, October 07, 2008 20:23:17
Most of us make stupid mistakes once every now & then, but usually the consequences are bearable.

But giving your vote to a corrupt government - come on, you can't be so fcuking stupid?
If you are, you are better off dead cos you are subjecting the rest of us to a corrupt regime, which abused the ISA and detained our RPK, the Hindraf 5 plus others for whatever concocted reasons!

I mean, if you know this guy whom you are interviewing is a serial rapist, are you going to let him drive your daughters to school day in day out? If this chap has a history of lying and stealing, are you going to put him in charge of cash and other crucial duties?

Are you still going to give a group of corrupt ministers the power to rule over this country?

hat the fcuk is wrong with you Malaysians? What the fcuk is wrong with you idiots?

I meet these idiots everyday, they are all 3 races. They are struggling to get by each month, and guess what, they rather support BN.
Votes: +8
written by Zorro, October 07, 2008 22:20:24
Limang and Lynn,

First of all, please shove your middle finger up your own ass and keep quite. I dont mind you calling the Sabah politicians stupid but NOT the common sons of the soil.

Why no call your own west malaysian friend in pahang, johor, negeri sembilan, melaka and perlis stupid???

Headhunting practice stopped with my grandfather, if you were in Sabah i would gladly resume the practice with both your head.
Votes: -5
written by Ngui, October 08, 2008 00:16:53
This are convenient "administrative errors" lah. Like the MP's "relative", that was "project ed" administrative error lo. How come Sabahan have to beg for citizenship? What country is this? Why all the politicians only talk? Take actions lah. Where are all the warriors of our land? Sabahan politicians chicken kah? Mana itu Kadazan spirit?
Votes: +2
written by Sabahfan, October 08, 2008 00:53:59
Dear MT commenters..... most of U have fukked up on this issue because U dont know much.

I have noted that since the formation of Malaysialand, the Sabahans who had this problem and been grossly mistreated are the half breed of CHINESE and Native Sabahans. Why???

Full blooded Chinese gets blue IC and very few are reported having this problem.

Why? BECAUSE in Sabah, Chinese with half Native blood are considered by the British Govt as having the same status as the original natives and given Native Certificates.

However, the SEMENANJUNG UMNO appointed officials dont like because they see them as chinese which would be given same previleges as bumiputras and perhaps UMNOputras..

So they do their best to find ways and means to practice some form of "ethnic cleansing" on them. Pure chinese with blue IC no problem because they still cannot invest in previleged ASN, ASB and prevented from possessing Native Titled land. BUT the half breeds are supposed to enjoy same previleged as bumiputras.

SO the UMNO appointed officials in NRD conveniently found ways and this "administrative" thing is one of them.

Of course it doubles to prevent them voting for parties like SAPP with their chinese blood so they thing. THE umnoputras prefer the polipins, induns , pakistans who hold mohammads and abdullahs name because they are sure to vote for UMNO.

To further complete the ethnic cleansing, some more UMNOofficials disadvantage the PR holders with all sorts of fears and restrictions which are totally ridiculous.

WHY FOR INSTANCE are PR holders not allowed to travel? what is the basis of this rule?

ONE WOULD have assumed having a PR status in Sabah is already a previleged. Meaning you are one step from being a full citizen. YOU are a PERMANENT resident in Sabah meaning where ever you go, he/she should always be allowed to return to Sabah because they are PERMANENTLY RESIDING in Sabah and not in any other countries.

NOW tell me MR baasstaads from UMNO NRD, why are these people not given a passport in order to travel, and open bank accounts etc etc... what is the permanent resident for? Have you interpreted it as permanent residing (hinding in one house) ONLY? This must be the shittiest thing i ever heard.

If PR status not allowed to vote, not a bid deal really, at least one does not suffer everyday, though being deprived of choosing a leader unlike the previleged polipines and abu sayap in Sabah.

But one thing some commenters are correct is that all PR of half native n chinese origin are being replaced by the moslems iilegals to entrence the power of UMNO in Sabah. And both MAHATHIR and MUSTAPHA are the culprits.

NOW for all of you IDIOTS who condemned us Sabahans, I asked you, HAVE YOU FORGOTTEN what happened to PBS when they went against Mahathir and joined RAZALEIGH? you useless malay prince?

Well, PBS got punished heavily while your useless PRINCE KULI crawled back to UMNO and kissed Mahathirs , Bodowi and Najis asssholes? why he gave up on his own Semangat 46 or just simply useless.

Now you blame Sabahans for being too slow to join Pakatan? Not really but this time we have to be triple sure. First that Lots of Malays must first DUMP their Malay only attitude and accept Malaysians malaysia.

NOW WHAT SAYS YOU semenanjung people on this idea? How many of you have supported Lim kit siang on this ideology or are you still counting on your own races? think think think!!!

And it is not Sabahans who gave strength to UMNO but the moslem illegals phantom voters CREATED by Mahathir, Najis etc....Most of Sabah leaders who fought this have all been ISAed. Semenanjung did little to help, except for my lordship LIM KIT SIANG who was the lone voice speaking for Sabah in Parliament. Yeah, i heard and watch all the videos on Saudara LIM. what about the rest? where were they??

Now I ask you MT commenters to think... again.
Votes: +3
written by Zorro, October 08, 2008 09:40:10
Sabahfan, I second that.

Votes: +1
written by Rainbowseahorse, October 08, 2008 10:35:14
To ahmadneil & especially Limang:

You stupid West Malaysians are the ones who should wake up and stop being such idiots in voting your Ahmad the racist, Khairil Oxford boy, Hishamudin the kris, Pak Lah the sleepy head, Najis the C4, and all those other aseholes you guys are rumbling on about, and claiming to fight right now. If you don’t like the present government, you West Malaysians should stop voting them into power in each and every election for the past 51 years. Simple as that! What the fuk is wrong with you West Malaysians like ahmadneil & especially Limang? Change the government and vote for the opposition!

My statement & comparison is as clear as it gets to those remarks made by all those brainless and half baked West Malaysians who totally are ignorant with Sabah, and Sarawak, politics.
written by Rainbowseahorse, October 08, 2008 10:50:18
To Sabahfan & lynn:

Sabah can be compared to a case of incest. Our parents (political leaders) raped us children (real Sabahans). We reported that to the authorities, and instead of helping us, these authorities sent their adopted brothers & sisters (migrants issued with MyKads) to live with us. These adopted siblings immediately occupied the whole house (as they outnumbered us 2 to 1) and shit all over the house and expect us to clean up. To make matters worse, our grandparents (UMNO Government of West Malaysia) decree that we have to obey these adopted siblings since they are our seniors (Bumiputra first class) and we have to make give up our bed rooms for them. We relate this to our friends (you West Malaysians) but our friends do not believe us because they cannot believe such things exist in families. Instead of helping us (West Malaysians) they said it’s our fauths for letting it happen in the first place and that we tempt our parents to rape us.

That Sabahfan & Lynn is how our West Malaysians ahmadneil & Limang view our situation!
written by Sabahfan, October 08, 2008 21:01:57
Yeah Mr Rainbow....

But when the RTM and TV3 lied about PBS giving the useless prince KULI a siga with a cross on it, all the semenanjung guys kept quiet except Lordship Lim kit siang.

No semenanung guys condemned when Harris and MUSTAPA did an istana Power grab when Sabahans had democratically elected their own government..

Until today, these guys remained unpunished where all of them should have been ISAed for causing insecurity and instability in the country.
Votes: +0

World Futures  Afghanistan is where Nato and the US are killing civilians indiscriminately. Is there a need to protest against such killings? Are YOU not concerned and don't you think you might be next?

Wellness Industry Is Booming!  Learn how you too can own a low capital home-based business to generate extra supplemental stream of income by using internet for these challenging economic times. You may earn RM1K up to RM10K a month working only 5-10hrs/week. Full system provided.

Home Based Business  Earn extra income $5000-$10,000 monthly, 24 hours a day. Just working part/full time from the comfort of your home. Legitimate business, have a most powerful product in the world. Register for FREE first to save your position in this powerful system.