Home arrow The Blogs arrow News/Commentaries arrow Ku Li says a unity government may be the way forward

Ku Li says a unity government may be the way forward PDF Print E-mail
Posted by St Low   
Tuesday, 07 October 2008 13:22
By Leslie Lau, Consultant Editor

KUALA LUMPUR, Oct 7 — Tengku Razaleigh Hamzah says he is considering an enlarged coalition to form a unity government if he wins the Umno presidency.

The Umno veteran says he sees himself as a leader who can bring together all the rival factions in Malaysian politics and forge a “safer road” for the country.

“I think I am quite acceptable to a lot of people. I can talk to all the various factions,” he told The Malaysian Insider.

He said he had brought up the matter of a unity government in meetings with opposition leader Datuk Seri Anwar Ibrahim, Pas president Datuk Seri Abdul Hadi Awang and DAP adviser Lim Kit Siang.

Over the next few weeks, he is expected to bring up the matter in discussions with Barisan Nasional leaders.

Tengku Razaleigh has offered himself as a candidate for the Umno presidency, and is likely to take on Datuk Seri Najib Razak if, as expected, Datuk Seri Abdullah Ahmad Badawi does not defend his post.

But the Umno veteran faces heavy odds against him getting the required number of nominations needed to be officially allowed to be a candidate.

The Kelantan prince lost the last ever contest for the party presidency against Tun Dr Mahathir Mohamad in 1987 by a wafer-thin margin.

Besides the idea of a unity government, he is offering up a number of reforms to Umno and BN if he gets elected this time.

The reforms include turning BN into a single, multiracial party and having direct elections for all Umno posts.

"I hope to offer pragmatic leadership to bring everyone together and to unite the people of all races," he said.

He said that former Prime Minister Tun Abdul Razak Hussein had also enlarged the ruling coalition, turning the Alliance into BN by absorbing parties like Gerakan.

"As he said then we should stop playing politics and concentrate on development," he said.

Tengku Razaleigh said it was clear to him that the Pakatan Rakyat parties received tremendous support in the March general election because of the arrogance and the abuse of power in government, most notably by Umno.

The Umno veteran said that the support for PR could well be a temporary phase, but Umno had done nothing since March 8 to try to regain lost ground.

He said the formation of a unity government with PR parties is something he is looking at.

"A unity government is a possibility. There is nothing wrong with it.

"We can find common ground to work together," he said.

- The Malaysian Insider
written by cheekhiaw, October 07, 2008 13:34:06
Ku Li,

Since you are quite acceptable to a lot of people and can talk to all the various factions, please tell them to do what is right when they are called to vote in Parliament, and let good men run this country.

Good men may have differences in opinions but they are always united in the higher causes. And they do not steal, lie nor murder.

You should know which are the unacceptable men - you had been talking to them all along.

Votes: +3
written by indianputra, October 07, 2008 13:38:35
Ku Li, somehow I feel you are no different than the other BN goons. You will promise everything now; but when you are in power it will be the UMNO war lords who will be controlling everything you say and do.

I would like to suggest you give Anwar the PM-ship and you be the Advisor for the Government.
Votes: +24
written by willove, October 07, 2008 13:38:53
Ku li,

We know you meant well, we know you are probably one of those who still have a heart for this country. However regardless what you are proposing, you need to have a strong footing in UMNO, you need to be someone who can be seen as a representative of UMNO, then whatever you say could carry more weight.

To date, you are still struggling for a fighting chance for the top post. You are not yet influential enough to make people listen, more so with all the financial benefits entangled within the cobweb of UMNO from top to bottom.

Listen, if you are reading this, do whatever you can (even sandiwara) to make the UMNOputras support you 1st, then only do what's right for the country when you are in power.

This won't be easy, but it's the only for you. Otherwise, just join PR.
Votes: +4
written by hiro, October 07, 2008 13:48:13
Does Ku Li know something that we don't? By proposing a UNITY government, is he privy to information that Anwar does in fact have the 31 MPs and therefore is extending an olive branch to Pakatan? If that's the case, I'm afraid it's not good enough. The PMship must go to someone from Pakatan if we are to ever see real reform in the federal government. Keeping the power with BN may be a great political compromise, but it won't mean much when incumbents dig in to continue their abuse of their system, and now they have a shield from blame in the form of a power sharing Pakatan. That will simply not be acceptable to the rakyat.
Votes: +12
written by ahmadneil, October 07, 2008 13:56:19
Ku Li, its time you shut up.Go and find yourself a nice quiet place in the woods and dug yourself a 6 ft hole.You are too old for us to vote for you.I would rather vote this new malay called ZAID IBRAHIM.We don't need this racist party,umno,anymore.
Votes: +6
written by densemy, October 07, 2008 14:17:14
The ego of this man and his belief in his own self righteousness is beyond imagining
Votes: -3
written by asguard, October 07, 2008 14:33:16
Very difficult passage and dangerous path taken... it neither go one way there can't be two..way solutions....
Votes: +1
written by Ken Liew, October 07, 2008 15:08:43
Sorry... to get rid of the UNMOrals... Thats the ONLY WAY......
Votes: +3
written by Margeemar, October 07, 2008 16:06:07
What's scary here is that if the current trend continues,the non Muslim Bumiputeras in Sabah and Sarawak will end up as foreigners in their own land. They may become stateless when both these states are over run by Indonesian and Filipino Muslims who are accorded Malaysian citizenship and automatically become Malays.This of course works to Umno's benefit. It is high time for Sabahans and Sarawakians to pressure their MPs and Assemblymen to cross over to Pakatan Rakyat NOW before it is too late. The Parliamentary session on October 13, 2008 is a window of opportunity for the YB's from Sabah and Sarawak to make that historic change...More http://margeemar.blogspot.com
Votes: +4
written by skc, October 07, 2008 16:14:07
Can we at least ensure corruption and abuse of power is being address first and foremost ? It really does not matter to me who is the PM, all I want is a country that is going forward all the time, minimum corruption and no abuse of power and at least no more stupid minister (at least in regards to media statement). I want to be proud when I walk overseas and not hang my head in shame.
Votes: +5
written by timmy, October 07, 2008 16:41:47
If Anwar does nothing when Parliament reopens, I will support you all the way. Because you have promised to release all ISA detainees, and that is the only way Malaysia-today can get back its owner sooner than 2 years.

Ku Li, take a back seat till the Parliament reopens, if Anwar fails, you are our best hope. At least you have been consistent since day 1 on what you said and your goals for the country unlike any other UMNO members.

You are a man of principle, same line with Zaid.

timmysay.blogspot.com
Votes: +6
written by Lembing, October 07, 2008 16:53:38
KU LI will you be similar to sleepy head who is controlled by by the UMNNNO warlords???
Votes: +0
written by temenggong, October 07, 2008 17:23:07
Of course Ku Li already knows that Anwar has the numbers! Thats why he is floating this idea and reaching out to Anwar!

He has left umno and rejoined back again. So he knows how to leave umno again!
written by Shimshon, October 07, 2008 17:23:57
Hey! You guys!

Do you recall that it was RPK who first suggested this - some months ago! Of course, I disagreed with this back then, and still don't. But... It was RPK who first suggested this! But come to think of it, a unity govt under Ku Li would be "conceiveable" and workable - more than the one under Pak Lah - right?!
(Unthinkable/unworkable a unity govt under Pak Lah)
written by cllim123, October 07, 2008 18:44:22
In the Pakatan, all are welcome, except UMNO and BN warlords who stole our money.
Votes: +2
written by miwaki, October 07, 2008 21:26:03
Ku Li has to talk to Kayveas because PPP doesn't have any MP and State Assembly man.Kayveas would be the first to put up his hand and foot to support Ku Li.

Theoreticaly excellent but practically suicidal.Ku Li can't even unite UMNO,how can he unite so many component parties which include UMNO in the eelarged party of his ? More people ,less shares,there will be nuclear war later on.
written by Sabahfan, October 08, 2008 20:21:49
yeah, this KULI is bulllshittting again....

why only now you talk about unity govt when for 50 years you had been shouting HIDUP MALAYU, HIDUP LAYU LAYU ONLY, alongside your Mahataik, Najis, BODOHWI etc etc?

and HAVE YOU ALL forgotten the video released by TV3 when he was still in his own SEMANGAT 46 CRAP???

The sexy Australian interviewer asked him..

"Mr Razaleee, How did UMNO became sooo rich????"

and this useless prince KULi answered with australian slangy tongue..

"SIMPALE, ALL THEY DID IS KEEP AWARDING CONTRACTS TO THEMSEEELVESS !!!"

Now I ask you MT commenters to think... again.

World Futures  Afghanistan is where Nato and the US are killing civilians indiscriminately. Is there a need to protest against such killings? Are YOU not concerned and don't you think you might be next?

Wellness Industry Is Booming!  Learn how you too can own a low capital home-based business to generate extra supplemental stream of income by using internet for these challenging economic times. You may earn RM1K up to RM10K a month working only 5-10hrs/week. Full system provided.

Home Based Business  Earn extra income $5000-$10,000 monthly, 24 hours a day. Just working part/full time from the comfort of your home. Legitimate business, have a most powerful product in the world. Register for FREE first to save your position in this powerful system.