Home arrow The Blogs arrow Special Reports arrow Raja Petra turns to the written word

Raja Petra turns to the written word PDF Print E-mail
Tuesday, 07 October 2008 11:24
By Hazlin Hassan, The Malaysian Insider

Anti-government blogger Raja Petra Kamarudin went on trial yesterday, on sedition charges over an article he allegedly posted on his popular Malaysia Today website.

Raja Petra, 58, who is already detained without trial under the Internal Security Act for allegedly maligning Islam in a more recent posting, was charged with sedition in May this year after he allegedly implied that Deputy Prime Minister Datuk Seri Najib Razak was involved in the murder of a Mongolian interpreter in an article published in April entitled "Let's Send the Altantuya Murderers to Hell."

Raja Petra, or better known as RPK, arrived in court a good half-hour before proceedings started at 9am.

I almost did not recognise him; he looked a little frail and tired-looking, and he looked as if he had lost some weight, not to mention the fact that he was also sporting a beard now, after about three weeks of detention at Kamunting.

Dressed in jeans and flip-flops, he pleaded not guilty to the charge when it was read to him.

Dozens of his supporters turned up outside the court, wearing red and black T-shirts with slogans such as "I'm with RPK" and "Free RPK".

Also seen were some opposition leaders, led by DAP stalwart Lim Kit Siang.

Several supporters walked out during the proceedings, however, when it became a little too draggy and technical.

The first witness, an IT expert, was asked to explain details such as websites, URLs, domain names, blogs, wikipedia, and how they work. This technical aspect took up the entire day. Even judge Rozina Ayob expressed reservations over whether the trial could end by Friday, as prosecutors had hoped.

While the prosecution took its time to establish a prima facie case against the blogger, the defence immediately pointed out a possible hole in their case.

Defence lawyer J. Chandra told the court that a computer forensics report conducted by the police on a computer seized from RPK showed there was no activity to access the Malaysia Today website on April 25, the date he allegedly posted the seditious article on that same website. Government prosecutors will have to convince the judge that they have a case against him. Otherwise she has the option of acquitting him.

But if he is convicted of sedition, he faces up to three years' imprisonment. Government prosecutors say the hearing will continue at least until Friday and the court will then decide whether to call for the defence.

In any case, he is already sentenced to two years at the Kamunting detention centre for ISA detainees.

RPK told me that he spends his time reading books whilst currently undergoing three months' solitary confinement there.

Since his arrest on Sept 12, he has read nine books, including one written by former de facto law minister Datuk Zaid Ibrahim, who quit his post recently over the use of the ISA against RPK, an opposition lawmaker and a journalist last month.

RPK's wife Marina Lee Abdullah replenished his supply today with two more books — "Slovo The Unfinished Autobiography of ANC Leader Joe Slovo", about one of the key figures of anti-apartheid, as well as a copy of the Malaysian Constitution.

The copy was for him to study and think up ways to change the constitution when the opposition Pakatan Rakyat coalition takes over, he quipped.

"I dream of the day the government will be brought down and we abolish all draconian laws," he said.

For someone who has to live in a tiny cell that measures roughly three feet by three feet, he was rather cheerful and cracked jokes with his family and friends in court.

"If (opposition leader) Anwar Ibrahim doesn't form the government and I stay in (under ISA) for (the full sentence of) two years, I'll come back to haunt him. So he better make sure," he said when asked by reporters if the opposition would take over soon as it has threatened to.

RPK, who celebrated his 58th birthday behind bars on Sept 27, also declined to reveal what he was eating whilst in detention. When pressed by reporters, he insisted he was eating good food such as lamb chops, perhaps in reaction to controversial comments made by opposition MP Teresa Kok that she was fed food that was similar to dog food during her brief detention.

Before he was taken away after the proceedings, his wife and daughters tearfully hugged him in the courtroom, prompting supporters to clap as he left. — Straits Times Blog

Comments (21)Add Comment
written by Highway16, October 07, 2008 11:38:18
The so call IT Expert. Wasn't he the one trying to block the unblockable website?

Looks like the BN guys got a lot of "loop holes" to mend, like the ship they are sailing on.....full of holes and its sink...i..n...g!!!!
agree 129
written by DreamLady, October 07, 2008 11:41:56
Raja Petra, the day shall come when I will give you a big hug to celebrate your freedom. I know Anwar has not forgotten your jasa. Just hang in there, Anwar knows you have put up with alot of unpleasantness on his behalf. Please, trust him, he will be the one responsible for your release and the rest of the ISA detainees.

Meanwhile, always remember that we love you heaps !!!
agree 114
written by kayakaya, October 07, 2008 11:42:05
Good Morning YM Raja Petra kamaruddin...

here's a song for you.....

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=N9T_gQfxFaw
written by carribeanking7, October 07, 2008 11:52:30
Quote-
For someone who has to live in a tiny cell that measures roughly three feet by three feet,

It should be 3m x 3m v or 10 feet by 10 feet, typo I suppose, otherwise one would have to sleep standing up.

Quote-
he insisted he was eating good food such as lamb chops

Pete, Pete.....as sarcastic as ever....did that come with mint sauce ?lol

written by SocratesI, October 07, 2008 11:53:05

I hope you are right, DreamLady, cos there has been precious little on the takeover these past week. I am waiting on tenterhooks for the first session of Parliament which is on the 13th Oct. 2008 which also is the start of the PMR exam.

Is this day going down in history then when the vote will be taken in Parliament ?? It had better be, for RPK's sake, and the rest of the ISA detainees ! Set RPK FREE !

written by Wisdom above, October 07, 2008 11:55:45
Let's Fast and Pray for Wisdom, Peace and Tranquility to prevail.

Let's Pray for Natural Justice to prevail .

RELEASE RPK, and all ISA detainees. ABOLISH ISA NOW!

My salute to all Peacemakers.
written by rayfire, October 07, 2008 11:58:58
RPK!
As witty as ever!
Sheesh, these people will live to regret ever having to put you in the cell, we shall reserve your cell for the evil baldy to have a taste of his own medicine!
DSAI, so quiet lately, hope you get the message loud and clear!
Waiting time is over!
We are ready for showdown!
So we expect to see world class action in world class parliament on 13th October!
We don't wish to hear about number this time, we want to know who they are!
In case AAB backs off, will they still remain committed to crossover?
All this must be answered soon!
We need PR to takeover at least for all ISA detainees sake especially our beloved RPK!
written by onnetline, October 07, 2008 11:59:28
Defence lawyer J. Chandra told the court that a computer forensics report conducted by the police on a computer seized from RPK showed there was no activity to access the Malaysia Today website on April 25, the date he allegedly posted the seditious article on that same website.

Doesn't this means that the ' forensics report ' conducted by the police is credible enough to justify ' false claims ' against the sedition charges by the government !!!

In addition, the court would still need to send the murderers of Ms Altantuya Shariibu to hell, right ??
written by ahmadneil, October 07, 2008 12:17:18
I tried to subscribe Time magazine for RPK.
written by clarity, October 07, 2008 12:22:06
Here is Raja Petra in ISA and facing sediton charges. But the crazy who actually committed all these acts is working aroung free. And his punishment? suspension from UMNO for a few years. Folks, I ask you all. Is this justice? Is UMNO the police or court of law that metes out justice?
written by PublicStranger, October 07, 2008 12:36:49
track down the IT expert. lets play with the IT expert. Lets see who is more expert than he is.
written by Atheist, October 07, 2008 13:10:50
Did the defense lawyer query the qualifications of the MCMC expert witness ????

Did he establish the relevancy of the witness skills to testify ????

Most Government departments have 'useless' people running the show !!!!
smilies/angry.gif smilies/angry.gif smilies/angry.gif
written by shangrilapeace, October 07, 2008 13:12:43
Glad that his spirit is extraordinary under this circumstances. Great and Anwar, beware.
written by cheekymate, October 07, 2008 15:00:01
Yep, that's the RPK we know and love!
I still have faith in YAB Anwar Ibrahim. With the vile ominous threat of the gomen using the unspeakable draconian law to incarcerate him on ANY excuse, he has to play his cards very carefully...
Let's all keep our faith and spirits flying high, guys! Our dear RPK needs us to do that for him...now more that ever.
written by justme bc, October 07, 2008 15:41:09
So what do we expect of the BN goons prosecution team, the cream ala d'cream? The worst of the SHIT probably! Anyway, this is their way of maintaining control. The BN goons have "the shit of the shit" as a result of what we call brain drain. All cream right minded people has either opt not to join the BN gomen or they chose to go overseas where they can find a more equitable, favorable and much better living condition. So, now the BN bast**ds will regret as they are no match to RPK's defence team.

hidup RPK! hidup PR! hidup anak bangsa malaysia!!!
written by Anti Relon, October 07, 2008 15:41:25
Raja Petra is not an anti-government blogger. He is a blogger who writes the truth. The government can't accept his writings and thoughts (more intellectual and intelligent than cabinet ministers and government officers)so they tag him as anti-government.
Be Brave Raja Petra. Truth Will Prevail.
The People Are With you.
Selamat Hari Raya Aidilfitri to you and family.
written by tzarina, October 07, 2008 16:59:44
I am sad at the inaction of the supporters for Raja Petra. A man like him deserves thousands of people on the streets, marching peacefully towards the court to attend his trial.

Malaysians have shown that we are only good at lip service. And blogging. When it comes to walking the talk, most of us are cowards.

Malaysians are Educated Cowards. Where is the Action for RPK??
http://orangewaves.blogspot.co...where.html
written by benny loh, October 07, 2008 20:34:50
GOOD FOOD..
http://malaysiancartoons.blogs...jects.html
written by ahmadneil, October 07, 2008 20:43:37
I hope the authority will give him grill lamp chops medium done and grill Kobe beef wash down with french wine.YA,there is nothing wrong for him to wine and dine since he is entitled to it.We are the master and they are the servant becos we pay their salary.
written by lallyza, October 07, 2008 23:24:43
ahmadneil....... wine and dine in the draconian ISA ? haha.... haha.... haha....
written by Tok Din, October 08, 2008 12:08:51
RPK and family:
My deepest appreciation for the dedication you show to the cause to changing Malaysia. Your example of personal sacrifice and fortitude is what everyone Malaysia should be grateful for. We do not have anyone like you in Malaysia who believes enough in Malaysia to pay a personal price for it. I salute you and will be forever indebted to you. you have sown the seed of personal conviction that every patriotic citizen in Malaysia should emulate.

If we put the fear of death and imprisonment behind us, we are capable of greater thing to build a great nation.