Home arrow The Blogs arrow News/Commentaries arrow Judge rules for Anwar, trial to be heard in lower court

Judge rules for Anwar, trial to be heard in lower court PDF Print E-mail
Tuesday, 07 October 2008 11:13

By Debra Chong, The Malaysian Insider

Sessions Court judge SM Komathy Suppiah has ruled against the prosecution's application to transfer Opposition leader Datuk Seri Anwar Ibrahim's Sodomy II trial to the High Court.

She said the lower court had the power to hear the case.

The decision represents a significant victory for Anwar's defence team.

Anwar had objected to the application to transfer the case to the High Court because it was made by the Attorney-General Tan Sri Abdul Gani Patail, who has been accused by Anwar of evidence tampering in an earlier case.

The former deputy prime minister is charged with sodomising his former aide Mohd Saiful Bukhari Azlan.

written by lamakawan, October 07, 2008 11:20:35
One upmanship for Pakartan. This shows democracy is still very much alive. Badawi will see his legacy of upholding democracy for many years to come, even after he retires.
agree 123
written by fergie, October 07, 2008 11:25:41
Thank you Judge Komathy. You show us that there is still hope for the Malaysian justice system. We don't want to see a sham trial.
agree 165
written by onnetline, October 07, 2008 11:29:17
There will be true and sound minded judges in Malaysia still, I believe !
written by MAMR, October 07, 2008 11:30:36
THANK YOU the judiciary of Malaysia, I was wrong initially to think for this case is NOT GOING TO be a fair trial.Thank You Paklah, Selamat Hari Raya to you.
written by cicakman, October 07, 2008 11:38:53
Thank you Judge Komathy. Now we can see that we still have good judge like you .
Bravo Bravo to DSAI and Pakatan Rakyat.
" Let the Saifoll go to HELL"
written by farah, October 07, 2008 11:41:36
Judge SM Komathy, million thanks!

NOW I WISH ALL the MT Readers Selamat Hari Raya Aidilfitri!!

written by Wisdom above, October 07, 2008 11:45:01
Let's Fast and Pray for Wisdom, Peace and Tranquility to prevail.

Let's Pray for Natural Justice to prevail .

My salute to all Peacemakers.
written by justinlian, October 07, 2008 11:51:48
Just pray for more people like judge SM Komathy and Datuk Zaid to come forward to do their bits here and there to make a better malaysia for the rakyat.
Im sure there is still alot of people like these left in our country.
written by DreamLady, October 07, 2008 11:56:31
The judge decision is indeed a breath of fresh air. Credit should not be due to PM. He was the one who is responsible for implementing ISA ruling on Raja and the rest of the detainees. Definitely, the home minister would not dare pandai pandai carry out the sentence without the green light from the top person-PM!

written by bodohland_citizen, October 07, 2008 11:57:04
Judge Augustine Paul has a lot to learn from this wise person called Judge Komathy Suppiah
written by Msian 2, October 07, 2008 12:01:14
Whooopee. I hope Judge Suppiah would continue the rakyats fight for is right & not succumb to political pressures. Thanky Judge Suppiah.
written by pulaiman, October 07, 2008 12:04:10
JUDGE KOMATHY JUSTICE STILL PREVAILS IN YOUR COURT OF LAW. THIS IS WHAT I HAVE ALWAYS REad IN LAW BOOKS . IT JUST DIDNT GO WRONG IN PAK LAHS ERA . I HOPE PAK LAH CHANGES HIS MIND ABOUT LEAVING THE PM S POST. THANK YOU.
written by temenggong, October 07, 2008 12:04:19
Anwar says he will be presenting the Pakatan Budget on Oct 13th. A vote for this budget is a no confidence vote on BN!
written by Xerxes, October 07, 2008 12:15:08
Wow! For those celebratory posts above, it is premature. The defence has merely won the battle, not the war.

How many independent minded judges has gone on greater things? Remember this trial still has to go a long way with appeals after appeals and those who walks in the corridors of power are not going to give up so easily.

Unless PR can take over the Govt before this legal process ends, you can bet your bottom dollar that there will be bigger fights ahead.
written by hiro, October 07, 2008 12:18:41
Badawi, please don't leave office. We don't trust the rest of UMNO.
written by ahmadneil, October 07, 2008 12:23:12
ahmadneil is dead wrong for calling this a kangaroo court.For this I'm sorry,Judge Komathy.You have indeed prove otherwise.Salute you with both hands.
written by indianputra, October 07, 2008 12:25:25
Please be careful in praising Komathy Suppiah. The more adoration she gets, the more the AG's office will react. I will not be surprised if Komathy disappears from Malaysia and another judge appointed by Ag's office take over the court!

This is Malaysia lah! Bala and that Doctor went missing.. Anything can happen.
written by rayfire, October 07, 2008 12:29:53
Is this confirmed news?
I mean I didn't see this appearing on Malaysian Insider site itself and on Malaysiakini as well.
Perhaps they have yet to update!
Anyway, if it is true, this will be a good news for us smilies/smiley.gif
This will pave way for a more fair trial to be carried out.
It is not the end yet, the battle has just begun!
One thing for sure is this judge is clearly not any associate of VK Lingam and Co smilies/grin.gif
So we could expect a fair treatment!
Say what ever happened to our Mr.Correct Correct Correct???
written by shangrilapeace, October 07, 2008 12:57:17
The lower court has earned its reputation back.
God bless the judges.
written by 1st2stay, October 07, 2008 13:20:16
Can someone confirm this?
Malaysiakini says differently: no decision today

written by loosecannon, October 07, 2008 13:44:06
Don't jump for joy yet, people. In this Bolehland of ours, anything is possible. "They who rule will win" is the motto here and we all know who rule in this land don't we? What I'm saying is the impossible can be made impossible and vise versa.
written by Susanna, October 07, 2008 13:52:21
Why are we thanking the judge. She is just doing her judge as any righteous judge would do the same given the authority of the chair. We thank her because Malaysia's judiciary is so crap and untrustworthy these days that anyone can be bought for a price. We thank her because she is doing her job, doing it well and unabetted without fear and prejudice. Thank you your honour upholding your office integrity.
written by cheekhiaw, October 07, 2008 13:55:28
Yes, Judge Komathy Suppiah.

Don't let those thieves steal freedom from that man again. The future of Malaysia for the moment is in your hands.

written by Iskandar11, October 07, 2008 14:24:42
Aiyoo, Debra Choong you jumped the gun. The decision is still not out yet.
Though, I do hope that Judge Komathy will take this case up
written by rayfire, October 07, 2008 14:32:59
Yup, the decision is not yet made!
No wonder this is the only article to carry this story!
Wonder who made the blunder????
Anyway. let's hope this will be the news for tomorrow upon verdict from the Judge!
As I said, this is just the beginning of the battle! I foresee more 'obstacles' will be put in DSAI's path!
written by cheekymate, October 07, 2008 15:08:58
YAB Anwar Ibrahim,
Justice has prevailed and you have been given one more lifeline. Use it wisely; strike in one swift blow to eliminate the perpetrators of justice. Go for the jugular this time and leave no stones unturned.
written by charli88, October 07, 2008 17:13:16
What the judges should care is justice, not about DSAI or BN or PR.
written by ahmadneil, October 07, 2008 20:27:22
Let him be the first judge to judge fairly.History in the making.Finally the tainted judiciary is shedding its tainted skin.
written by Limang, October 07, 2008 20:46:45
The beginning of judicial reforms starts with a brave woman. Your Honour, your mum and dad will be proud of you. They have brought you up well, to be filled with integrity, honesty, courage and righteousness.

THERE IS NOW A GLIMMER OF HOPE FOR THE JUDICIARY. Hip, Hip, hurray!!!

Phui, UMNO!!!!!