Home arrow The Blogs arrow News/Commentaries arrow Village chiefs exploited to attest residential status: Ariah

Village chiefs exploited to attest residential status: Ariah PDF Print E-mail
Posted by St Low   
Tuesday, 07 October 2008 09:03

Kota Kinabalu: Village chiefs were exploited by certain quarters as far back as the eighties to attest to the residential status of non-locals infiltrating into the Kawang constituency.

Former Parti Bersatu Sabah (PBS) Deputy Chief Minister, Datuk Ariah Tengku Ahmad, who vouched for this, said the matter was brought to her attention after she had become the Kawang Assemblywoman in 1986.

According to her, village leaders from Kg Tengah, Kg Laut and Kg Anak Somboi were given blank forms to certify and sign with the attestation that they knew the persons-to-be and that they resided in their respective villages.

What aroused their suspicion was that the names and other particulars of the persons-to-be were not stated in the forms, and this could lead to abuse.

"They became worried and came to my residence in Penampang to complain to me because they were my strong supporters. But what about other villages in the constituency? Maybe the same thing had happened to unsuspecting village chiefs, so I was not informed about it.

"It was clear that the forms were to be used in future to enable illegal immigrants to procure identification documents by virtue of their fake residential status in Kawang and thus become Malaysian citizens," Ariah pointed out.

The village chiefs surrendered about 70 blank forms to her, instead of returning them to the party concerned, and she eventually destroyed them.

Meanwhile, Ariah said there was also a lot of hanky-panky in getting foreigners to vote in general elections, using the identity cards of genuine Malaysian citizens who had passed away.

A glaring example is that of her late younger brother, Leonard Pritchard, who died in the late sixties but his name was not removed from the Kawang electoral rolls until the nineties after Ariah raised a hue and cry over the matter. Pritchard was a former employee of the now-defunct Sabah Padi Board.

According to her, an unknown person, believed to be an illegal immigrant, had voted in the 1986 and 1990 State elections, using Pritchard's IC.

"Apparently, the person cast his ballot at the Kg Limputong polling centre in Papar. When I discovered this, I told the Election Commission (SPR) in Papar to take my brother's name out from the electoral rolls but they ignored me. I told them that Leonard had been dead for more than 10 years but somebody was voting under his (Leonard's) name.

"It happened again in the 1990 State Election. This time I personally lodged a report with the authority concerned in the Papar District Office. I protested and requested that action be taken to delete my brother's name from the electoral rolls," she recalled.

Ariah said efforts were made to trace the whereabouts of the "mystery voter" but to no avail.

Since then until she quit active politics after the March 1999 election, the incident had put the PBS Kawang Division executive committee on the alert.

"From 1987 onwards, we began to scrutinise the electoral rolls and found that the documents had been tainted. Many unknown persons, who were obviously non-locals, were transferred to the Kawang constituency from nowhere and registered as voters. At public hearings until the nineties (held at the Papar District Office), we kept raising objections to inclusion of their names in the rolls and wanted them to be expunged.

"Village headmen also testified that those were phantom voters and did not reside in their respective areas. But the then Papar SPR Officer said he would accept any blue IC from anyone for registration as a voter. He said he did not care whether the IC came from the sky or earth, so long as it was blue in colour," said the former PBS Kawang Division Chief.

- Daily Express, Sabah

written by ahmadneil, October 07, 2008 09:08:23
Roaring business and that why those crooks likes to go to sabah.
Votes: +14
written by ahmadneil, October 07, 2008 09:10:09
Next time if my son wants to marry a girl from sabah,she needs to go for verification,just to make sure she is sabahan.
Votes: +13
written by thor, October 07, 2008 09:23:19
Can one ask WHEN & WHY this happen? Who benefits from this?

Could it be all those that resigned and then apply to rejoin or those hopping from one party to another.

Pls lah earning a decent living is already tough, then they come create more stress in a already stressful life.

GOD SAVE OUR PEOPLE FROM THE WOLVES
Votes: +8
written by Rainbowseahorse, October 07, 2008 09:54:12
Yes, the above are all true and very real! Highlights and complains to relevant authorities fell on deaf ears as they are the ones who were the perpetrators in the first place.

The BN, UMNO in particular, desire those migrant voters and will go to any length to ensure these migrant voters remain as Malaysian citizens in Sabah. It is NOT in the interest of UMNO to solve the humongous problem of identifying and rectifying the over 2 millions migrants who have been issued MyKads by Federal agencies. UMNO needs these migrant voters to hold onto power in Sabah as they know all too well that real Sabahans WILL kick their butt out of Sabah if they have people’s power as they had done to previous dictator state government like USNO and then BERJAYA.

Sabah needs a new government of Malaysia who is willing and determines to sieve through these millions of MyKads held by migrants and to expunge them from being registered as voters of Sabah. Then and only then can people’s power be restored back to real Sabahans.
Votes: +10
written by ahmadneil, October 07, 2008 10:47:24
Sabah is now not the land below the wind.Its 'The land of illegal immigrant',or The illegal immigrant's paradise.
Votes: +7
written by Sean E, October 07, 2008 10:59:27
If nothing is done NOW, it will be too late in 10 to 20 years' time.
Votes: +4
written by slash n burn, October 07, 2008 11:23:35
Dear Datuk Ariah Tengku Ahmad, that are the work of no other the clown evil pariah Mahathir Mohamed Kutty an immigrant himself from Kerala. This evil is without dignity and pride of his own origin turned Sabah into haven for immigrants through back doors. May ***** mahathir evil and your generations fry in hell!!
Votes: +8
written by Rainbowseahorse, October 07, 2008 13:26:01
Sean E, it IS ALREADY too late NOW! That's why we need DSAI government to rectify the mistakes and to make the necessary changes. UMNO need these migrant voters to stay on in power to control Sabah and UMNO WILL NOT nor do they want any changes to their migrant voters power. Period!
Votes: +2
written by asguard, October 07, 2008 14:22:43
Yeah... anything got do with illegals in Sabah blame it on UMNO....
written by Rainbowseahorse, October 07, 2008 15:26:31
asguard, it is not a matter of "blame it on UMNO" because it is the works of UMNO. When the Federal government sent their people to Sabah and start issuing MyKad to illegal immegrants behind our back nor our knowledge, what are we supposed to do? It's the work of OUR Malaysian Government!
Votes: +3
written by Sinewy, October 07, 2008 16:19:16
Ask most people in the construction industry and they will tell you their encounters with many indonesians who are working very hard to get their children to become bumiputra in Malaysia. If the government dares to do a census on the real background of all the young citizens in this country, I'm sure it will be shocking. The selfish political game has allowed this to happen for the purpose of securing power at the expense of the interest of the citizens of this country. It is also very weird for many sabah politicians like those in PBS to turn a blind eye for so long on this issue. The ruling political party is only interested to secure power to rule the state with the support of from the influx of the dubious group into the population. Then they can propagate their ketuanan policies into the state of sabah and sarawak and control the abundant resources available. It will also help to ensure the ruling party being able to hold on to power at the federal level.
written by Rainbowseahorse, October 07, 2008 17:05:55
And it pissed the shit out of me when the Federal personnel make a big show of helping those "hard core poor Sabahans" who are living in make shift huts in any vacant land they can find. Don't they know these "hard core Sabahans" are in reality migrants fresh off a boat from the Philippines or Indonesia?? Makes me want to puke!
Votes: +3
written by Rainbowseahorse, October 07, 2008 17:11:09
…and then these Federal Agencies people go the distance and help get all these “hard core poor people” registered as citizens complete with Bumiputraship and other financial assistance. What a welcome to illegal immigrants by our Malaysian Government! No wonder that Sabah is filled with legalized migrants in such a short time! …and, of course, these migrants will show their appreciation by voting for UMNO Sabah. Who can refuse such cozy deals???
written by cruzeiro, October 07, 2008 18:06:28
Someone told me there'll be a new book tha'll hit the stands soon -
It's called
Sabah Revisited:
From the Land Below The Wind
to
The Land where Umno Breaks Wind!

World Futures  Afghanistan is where Nato and the US are killing civilians indiscriminately. Is there a need to protest against such killings? Are YOU not concerned and don't you think you might be next?

Wellness Industry Is Booming!  Learn how you too can own a low capital home-based business to generate extra supplemental stream of income by using internet for these challenging economic times. You may earn RM1K up to RM10K a month working only 5-10hrs/week. Full system provided.

Home Based Business  Earn extra income $5000-$10,000 monthly, 24 hours a day. Just working part/full time from the comfort of your home. Legitimate business, have a most powerful product in the world. Register for FREE first to save your position in this powerful system.