Home arrow The Blogs arrow News/Commentaries arrow Council-approved giant cutout of Anwar draws flak

Council-approved giant cutout of Anwar draws flak PDF Print E-mail
Posted by kasee   
Tuesday, 07 October 2008 08:32
(The Star) The 12.2m high cutout of PKR adviser Datuk Seri Anwar Ibrahim in Batu Caves has drawn mixed reactions from the residents and politicians.

Selayang Municipal Council president Zainal Abidin Azim said Batu Caves assemblyman Amirudin Shari had submitted for approval the cutout which stands in front of Wisma Keringat in Batu Caves last month and the council approved it.

“I feel there is no reason this cutout should be an issue,’’ he said about the giant structure which is akin to those used to promote Bollywood stars.

However, Barisan Nasional assemblymen who are against the cutout costing RM5,000 that was put up on Sept 28 argued on religious grounds that it would be tantamount to idolising Anwar and that was prohibited in Islam.

Kuang assemblyman Abdul Shukur Idrus said, as a Muslim, Amirudin should know better than to put up the cutout.

“He should have consulted a religious group like the PAS for advice.

“This cutout just shows that the PKR is promoting itself with banners and posters,’’ he added.

Meanwhile, Sungai Burong assemblyman Datuk Mohd Shamsudin Lias said that it was a waste of public funds.

“Although there is a claim that the cutout is to wish the people Selamat Hari Raya, there are many other ways to do it.

“Besides everyone knows who Anwar Ibrahim is,” he said.

Amirudin said the cutout was initiated by activists and residents in the Batu Caves constituency to wish the people Selamat Hari Raya and it would be taken down once the duration date was up.

In Malacca, Umno vice president Datuk Seri Mohd Ali Rustam said the cutout showed that Anwar was idolised by PKR.

“I want to ask PAS whether the party gave the approval for the erection of the cutout,” he told reporters after a visit to the Kota Gemilang project in Ayer Keroh yesterday.

Perlis Mufti Dr Asri Zainul Abidin advised Anwar’s supporters not to be too extreme in their actions such as idolising the PKR leader.

“The action should be stopped immediately for fear that it would become a practise within the society.

“It can deviate the Muslim’s faith.

“I don’t blame Anwar because it was not him who put up the cutout but his supporters should not idolise too much.

“The structure must be brought down immediately,’’ said the mufti.

Comments (11)Add Comment
written by cillipepper, October 07, 2008 08:44:00
Dr Asri,
It's BN that has to be brought down immediately.
Leave the poster alone.
It is not hurting anybody.
Votes: +41
written by avj, October 07, 2008 08:51:41
Why the big fuss and bias? You have giant picturs of sleepy head and his cronies all over the country
Votes: +44
written by ahmadneil, October 07, 2008 08:51:56
Can we have one in Johor.Put one also at Putrajaya,infront of PM office.I will pay for the bill.
Votes: +32
written by ahmadneil, October 07, 2008 08:57:49
Lets cut another one of RPK and put it infront of Antu Syed's office.
Votes: +26
written by Apek, October 07, 2008 09:06:16
To Abdul Shukur Idrus, Datuk Mohd Shamsudin Lias and Datuk Seri Mohd Ali Rustam,

Calm down.

You are mere politicians and servants. You are NOT guardians of the faith. You are not qualified to speak on issues of religion so please spare us your stupidity. Try not to confuse issues of religion with this "larger than Barisan's cut out" that seems to have touched a raw nerve with your UMNO fetish for stupid 'UMNO boleh' projects like largest and longest cake or some other moronic public fund wasting exercise.

If one were to equate the cut out with idol worshipping, then Barisan Nasional (now claiming to be the guardians of faith as well) be the first to remove and deface each and every picture of its leaders on each and every Visit Malaysia Billboard all around the country. You do that.

Having said that, I also wish to remind PKR that the measure of a man does not lie in how large you build a cut out BUT by the strength of a person's resolve to do good in the face of overwhelming evil.
Votes: +33
written by supplier, October 07, 2008 09:16:31
Sungai Burong assemblyman Datuk Mohd Shamsudin Lias said that it was a waste of public funds.

Isn't sending a tourist to space with tax payers monies a waste of public fund?

Take down all posters and billboards in the country that shows PM and DPM and MBs wishing the people "Selamat Hari Raya"
Votes: +27
written by supplier, October 07, 2008 09:29:13
Perlis Mufti Dr Asri Zainul Abidin advised Anwar’s supporters not to be too extreme in their actions such as idolising the PKR leader.

To support and idol are two different things.
Does that mean that wearing RPK T shirts , are we idolising him?
No, putting RPK under ISA is a pure political motive and C4 do not like the face of RPK who brought out alot of truth in his writings.

The pen is more powerful than a C4

" WE SUPPORT RPK AND SAY NO TO ISA"
Votes: +19
written by krising1, October 07, 2008 09:35:28
I just chided my MB in NS for plastering the whole town with banners with his face. Now the PKR is doing the same thing! I am ashamed! Dont we ever learn? Why do we need to make cult figures out of our leaders? (See my email to MB below)
YAB,
I wish to bring to your attention a gross waste of public funds in our state. Every festive occasion, the whole town is full of banners, posters and billboards with you picture wishing the rakyat Selamat Hari Raya, Happy Chinese New Year, Merry Xmas or Happy Deepavali.
I call this a waste as the posters/banners are displayed on every lamp post in the town centre only. You will not find them in the outskirts of the town. I cannot understand why you need to have them on very lamp post and again there are two types – one with your picture and another without.
I have pointed out to you before that we should go high tech. Get personal. Send SMS or email to the rakyat. It is so easy to do and definitely cheaper.
If you do not want to go high tech, try some simple methods. Issue press statement with your greetings and the rakyat will get to read. No cost is involved here. Radio Negri can carry your greetings for almost free and the good thing is that the rakyat will be able to hear your in person.
Lastly you can distribute flyers with your personal greeting to each household according to the appropriate occasion. The postmen can drop them in the letter boxes.
I hope I make sense. Thank you for your time.

Votes: -8
written by Raizzen, October 07, 2008 10:56:02
Oh Ali Rustam, PAS' opinions do matter at times like this eh ? No wonder they havent been sidelined for so long in Malaysia'a politics. Thats what ur saying right ?
Votes: +0
written by Rainbowseahorse, October 07, 2008 11:04:23
Did DSAI approve that giant cut out?? If so, is this an indication of his egoistic nature and of things to come when he is the PM of Malaysian?

Come on lah DSAI! We do not need giant poster of you and other waste of money symbol ok! Concentrate and get your acts together to form the new government and free our brother Pete and other ISA detainees from prison.

Votes: -3
written by Steven Tan, October 07, 2008 17:37:12
Dear Brothers and Sisters,

There is one Malay Proverb which will explain clearly about the accusation above "KUMAN DI SEBERANG LAUTAN TAMPAK, BANGKAI GAJAH DI DEPAN MATA TIDAK NAMPAK".

So as usual these people will find fault in others and but using their political power to cover all this mistake and misconduct smilies/wink.gif

Take care.
Votes: +2

World Futures  Afghanistan is where Nato and the US are killing civilians indiscriminately. Is there a need to protest against such killings? Are YOU not concerned and don't you think you might be next?

Wellness Industry Is Booming!  Learn how you too can own a low capital home-based business to generate extra supplemental stream of income by using internet for these challenging economic times. You may earn RM1K up to RM10K a month working only 5-10hrs/week. Full system provided.

Home Based Business  Earn extra income $5000-$10,000 monthly, 24 hours a day. Just working part/full time from the comfort of your home. Legitimate business, have a most powerful product in the world. Register for FREE first to save your position in this powerful system.