Home arrow The Blogs arrow Guest Columnists arrow PRESS STATEMENT 5th October 2008

PRESS STATEMENT 5th October 2008 PDF Print E-mail
Posted by St Low   
Tuesday, 07 October 2008 07:08

It appears of late, biased and invalidated reporting done by Utusan Malaysia and TV3 is a clear indication to invoke racial tension after the failure of the UMNO led government to create the racial tension that they were anticipating with the recent arrests under ISA.

The Hari Raya open house visit by HINDRAF has been demonised and given the impression that a criminal act was committed and Islam insulted. It is indeed shocking that Federal Ministers, senior Professors and Government officials do not have the intelligence to differentiate between a memorandum and a greeting card. What is wrong with HINDRAF supporters attending the open House. "Another time another date" – since when has the Prime Minister set a date to listen to the rakyat.

HINDRAF has made numerous calls to the PM for dialogue but all fell in deaf ears. The open house is the only day in the year a commoner could make the acquaintance of the PM personally and HINDRAF took liberty to send a clear message- RELEASE ALL PRISONERS HELD UNJUSTLY WITHOUT TRIAL IN SPIRIT OF FORGIVENESS.

Even more appalling the Home Minister Syed Hamid Albar interprets this as an insult to Islam. We challenge Utusan and TV3 to make public their photographic and video recordings to prove HINDRAF supporters behaved in an inappropriate manner. To the contrary we have evidence the PM and his Deputy was all in smiles and accepted the greetings and card with an open heart.

The Malaysian led UMNO government fails to realize that it is 2008 where Malaysians are at a different wavelength and able to see and judge for themselves what truth, just and equality means for the society we live in.

The current crop of Malaysians are no longer intimidated nor unable to digest their own resources to judge for themselves why and how it is done to serve what the ruling government seeks to hold their power and abuse the system and the process of law.

Utusan Malaysia and TV3 can continue to act as an apparatus of the ruling government in their inept propaganda, but they fail to comprehend that most Malaysians are equipped with their own resources without any real need with their ultra bias commentary.

Journalism is the unofficial fourth institution to check and balance the officially elected bodies of the legislative (Parliament), executive & judiciary and address issues of public concern unbiased.

Utusan and TV3 has just shown us how well they are intertwined and fettered for the objective of the ruling government and its coolies with their hate journalism which is only one sided without even checking their facts or highlighting the other side of the story. It is indeed a sad day for journalism.

A despotic and desperate government and it's elected representatives will always voice out without any regard to the truth or what should be the truth or for the betterment of the society but for the benefit of the few Utusan and TV3 currently plays the lead role to enhance their cause.

The UMNO ruled administration with its coolies are currently like a headless chicken as they continue to fail to see the truth that lies before them to create a truly multicultural and equal society in Malaysia for the enhancement of the nation.

Democracy in Malaysia is growing at such speed that UMNO continuously fail and/or refuse to see its growth. HINDRAF will not be deterred by wild accusations, threat or intimidation and will continue its campaign until all draconian laws are abolished and its Lawyers and all others released unconditionally.

Waytha Moorthy
Chairman
HINDRAF.

written by DreamLady, October 07, 2008 07:24:29
Waytha, way to go ! keep up with the fighting spirit, we need more people like you who dares to say 'white' when it is white, and 'black' when it is truly black.

Do not count too much on some of the so-called professionals, and the learned people, cos' they are either fence-sitters or without backbones.. To hell with them !!
Votes: +36
written by MsiaCTzen, October 07, 2008 07:34:11
UMNOis FV
Votes: +3
written by Edward C, October 07, 2008 08:01:53
I think it is best we, from this moment onwards DO NOT refer to them as the "government". Let us just refer to them as "The Group from BN". This will make their transition into the other side of the parliment a little easier to swallow.

We need to be sensitive to people's feelings. Even when they are not sensitive to ours, we can take the first step and show them how to behave as matured adults. Sensitive and Matured adults Malaysians.
Votes: +26
written by lamakawan, October 07, 2008 08:49:28
You are right, Moorthy. You can trace back to when they started their campaign to create chaos among the people, step by step.
First it is after the elections of March 8th when DAP won the Penang state. UMNO people gathered in front of KOMTAR trying to stir up trouble. Bus loads of UMNO members from outstation trying to create trouble by protesting in the streets outside the complex.
Next they have Ahmad Ismail to instigate KOH TSUKHOON by tearing his photo and also at Permatang Pauh ceramah to instil hatred between the races.
Next they arrested reporter from sin Chew press, MP Teresa KOK, and our dear Raja Petra.
They done all this in the hope that the rakyat will take out to the streets so that they can impose curfew and emergency rule.
But alas, they were disappointed. The people of today are more civilised than them, UMNO members. The people refused to be agitated by their foolish acts. The people reacted with calm and graciousness.
Votes: +21
written by ellyna, October 07, 2008 09:03:12
It is the intention of BN/UMNO to capitalise on the Hindraf visit to make them look like bad hats. Rest assured, not many are convinced with Syed Albar's charade. What is Raya all about? Apparently, our PM and his league utters these words meaninglessly, "MAAF, ZAHIR & BATIN. Can you imagine how the rakyat would have felt if Pak Lah, accepted the greetings and said he will release the detainees??? This way, he would have garnered more support than hatred. But NO!!! They decided to sensationalise this issue for their own gain but in the end they look like REAL MORONS!!
Votes: +11
written by hanisma, October 07, 2008 10:06:03
ellyna, I fully support your view and was just about to type my views when I read yours. In addition, the spirit of Hari Raya wasn't at the PM's open house concept because there wasn't any sincerity. The HINDRAF visit didn't insult Islam but just letting a few of them in and stopping the rest from entering was indeed an insult to Islam because of the unfairness. Detaining RPK under ISA during the Holy Month and continue to do so on the auspicious days, without any trial - isn't that a gross insult to Islam and Prophet Muhammad (PBUH)?
Votes: +6
written by malgal, October 07, 2008 10:49:08
Looks like our Home Ministry has failed to distinguish what's criminal what's not.
Go after the real criminals and spend our money wisely.
Votes: +3
written by cheekymate, October 07, 2008 11:01:43
Call for an enbloc boycott of the Utusan and TV3 immediately.
The hypocrisy of the PM is deplorable. Dear PM, please practise the true teachings of Islam, " MAAF, ZAHIR & BATIN "
Stop putting your own selfish greedy ambitions before the Almighty. You can cheat Mankind...but ultimately, you will pay for your deeds when face to face with the Almighty.
Votes: +5
written by Joelim, October 07, 2008 21:48:05
Why do the government treat HINDRAF like pariahs? Is it because the people they represent are Indians? Maybe they don't see Indians as human. I was once asked by someone "if you see an Indian and a snake who would you kill first". My answer to him was "I will kill you first". I feel sad for HINDRAF and those in jail under ISA....what have they done wrong? At times like this I doubt God exists.
Votes: +1

World Futures  Afghanistan is where Nato and the US are killing civilians indiscriminately. Is there a need to protest against such killings? Are YOU not concerned and don't you think you might be next?

Wellness Industry Is Booming!  Learn how you too can own a low capital home-based business to generate extra supplemental stream of income by using internet for these challenging economic times. You may earn RM1K up to RM10K a month working only 5-10hrs/week. Full system provided.

Home Based Business  Earn extra income $5000-$10,000 monthly, 24 hours a day. Just working part/full time from the comfort of your home. Legitimate business, have a most powerful product in the world. Register for FREE first to save your position in this powerful system.