Home arrow The Blogs arrow News/Commentaries arrow Trio’s detention: PM says Zaid not involved

Trio’s detention: PM says Zaid not involved PDF Print
Monday, 06 October 2008 18:59
(The Malaysian Insider) "The law minister is not involved."

"It is exclusively the responsibility of the minister of home affairs," Prime Minister Datuk Seri Abdullah Ahmad Badawi said of the Internal Security Act.

He was replying to a question concerning Datuk Zaid Ibrahim's resignation over the recent use of the Act against a journalist, controversial blogger Raja Petra Kamarudin and opposition MP Teresa Kok.

Abdullah said that reforms he had "promised to the rakyat" would continue and that "because Zaid is not around anymore doesn't mean it will stop. It is not his idea in the first place, it is mine," reminding reporters that it was in his 2004 election manifesto.

The issue arose when an Australia-based reporter had asked after his meeting the Biotechnology International Advisory Panel today whether he was concerned that Malaysia's image was tarnished due to the use of the ISA.

"There are other countries which have some kind of law which is even tougher than the ISA. Every country has its own way of looking after its own security," he said.

Abdullah also expressed his disappointment at the lack of "Hari Raya spirit" in Hindraf's visit to the Cabinet open house at the Putra World Trade Centre on Oct 1.

"Only one of them said Selamat Hari Raya to me. What I heard clearly was 'abolish ISA, release Hindraf’," he said.

He acknowledged that the group of over 200 were stopped from entering the hall pending his permission but after conferring with Deputy Prime Minister Datuk Seri Najib Razak and other leaders, he decided to let them in.

"My view is they are here for the open house which is open to all. There is no obstacle to any group. Why should I prevent any Malaysian group from coming to the open house? Even non-Malaysians came in huge numbers."

However, only 70 members of the group were allowed into the dining hall and Abdullah claimed that many did not even greet the rest of the ministers who were there to welcome guests.

written by binarytan, October 06, 2008 19:04:15
Dear Mr. PM, this is suppose the very few right statement by you.

Law Minister will not use ISA to detend the innocent people, only the home minister who does not understand the human right and law will do so.

But, who was the one giving the order to the Shit Hamid? May be is Rosmah the C4 expertise.

agree 158
written by Fuminari, October 06, 2008 19:30:23
""However, only 70 members of the group were allowed into the dining hall and Abdullah claimed that many did not even greet the rest of the ministers who were there to welcome guests.""
do u deserve it in the first place???
written by miwaki, October 06, 2008 19:41:47
Pak Lah admitted that his Hari Raya Open House was a failure since almost all Hindraf supporters who had attended did not greet his cabinet ministers.For your information our out-going PM,I also did not greet any of them.They did not deserve it in the first place,however I did greet Hindraf members.
agree 108
written by Kathy, October 06, 2008 19:49:53
Abdullah said that reforms he had "promised to the rakyat" would continue and that "because Zaid is not around anymore doesn't mean it will stop. It is not his idea in the first place, it is mine," reminding reporters that it was in his 2004 election manifesto

Hah, it took him 4 years to appoint a law minister to oversee the reforms. Obviously, he was sleeping on his idea of 2004!
written by Semut Jantan, October 06, 2008 19:51:05
Flip-flop Pee-M,

Count yourself lucky that I did not spit at you. Who do you think you are, boss besar kah?

I was looking for Shit Hermit to spit at, he chicken out. Lucky him too.

Next time, he may not be as lucky as we know how he moves.
written by sonofman0, October 06, 2008 20:04:42
"Abdullah also expressed his disappointment at the lack of "Hari Raya spirit" in Hindraf's visit to the Cabinet open house at the Putra World Trade Centre on Oct 1."

The "Hari Raya spirit" does not include detaining people without trial! Even Almighty God has a day of judgment for mankind; a day on which every soul will be given the opportunity to defend itself before the Greatest Judge of all!
written by lynn, October 06, 2008 20:06:02
Mr Badawi,

Most of us who are anti-corruption & against what you have done to RPK, have no more respect for you or your ministers.

I don't suppose you flers care, you just want to remain in power at any cost.

Well, at least those who attended were not hypocrites - remember, all these ministers, they work for us the rakyat. They shld greet us & show us some humility!
written by Sabahfan, October 06, 2008 20:29:40
Dear dear BODOHWI?

U still dont realise why they did not greet you selamat hari raya?
dont know? or bodoh know?

I tell you. U and all your UMNO ministers are not entitled to celebrate the Raya because all your PUASA sudah batal...BATAL...

WHY? you sin while PUASA and your greatest sin for this year is detaining an innocent woman for 7 days on sedition charges actually committed by UMNO losers.. DONT YOU GET IT?

I wont bother saying selamat hari raya to U and all UMNO, waste of time, energy, sound and handshake...
written by Semut Jantan, October 06, 2008 20:55:40
Hey f ucking Pee-M,

Tell me how are we suppose to greet a corrupt man, an immoral man, a sleepy man and a makan RASUAH man? My dog is a better 'man'. At least he wags its tail when I greet him or he greets me first.

Tak tahu malu punya olang. Ptui!!!!!!

F uck off.
written by Alice, October 06, 2008 21:05:16
You think your Hari Raya is such a big deal ah? Goodness get a lifelah moronic PM.
The Hindraf people were treated like shit by you and your unbeliavably corrupt government and there you go on and on about your open house. YOU WHOLE LIFE IS ALL ABOUT FORMS AND HAS NO SUBSTANCE AT ALL. CAN'T YOU SEE THAT? CAN'T YOU FEEL WHAT THE RAKYAT FEEL. WE FEEL CHEATED BY A SPINELESS PM LIKE YOU. AND HONESTLY SPEAKING YOU MIGHT DRIVE THE RAKYAT TO MORE RUTHLESS MANNER IN DEALING WITH CRAPS LIKE YOU AND YOUR CRONIES. DID YOU DO ANYTHING GOOD TO DESERVE A GOOD HARI RAY A IN THE FIRST PLACE??? DID YOU REPENT THIS FASTING MONTH???FOOLS
written by shan, October 06, 2008 21:05:29
Hey, Bodoh, without our money, you won't even have a dining hall.,.The house you stay now is the rakyaats.Who the hell are you to tell who comes and who goes.,.F*** you.
written by cahaya, October 06, 2008 21:57:13
Interesting isn’t it what the PM said to the reporters (from international media)?

The Law minister was not involved in the ISA arrests.
Yes, of course, that was already very obvious to most people.

The ISA was meant to capture communists and terrorists.
The Law minister (who has resigned) understands its intention, and he is someone who would never abuse ISA for political reasons.

After reviewing the recent abuse of ISA, the former Law minister wrote an open letter to the PM and concluded “Any doubts as to the continued relevance of the ISA in its present form should have been put to rest by the recommendation by national human rights commission Suhakam that the ISA be repealed and an anti-terror legislation suited to the times enacted in its place.”
http://thestar.com.my/news/sto...sec=nation
written by SocratesI, October 06, 2008 21:58:55

You stupid old fool, Bodohwi, you still don't get it ??

We, the RAKYAT, are your MASTERS, and you and your ministers, the Yang Berkhidmats, and Yang Amat Berkhidmat, have been massively corrupt and abused the TRUST placed in them, by the RAKYAT, by plundering Malaysia, and we are supposed to greet you SLIMY B@ST@RDS and smile ??

Reforms ?? just ABOLISH the ISA, and RELEASE ALL ISA detainees, that should be your first and greates reform you can make NOW !!

Home Minister responsible ?? You as PM can direct Shit All-Blur to release all the detainees, right, or SACK him ??!! So YOU are the one that is responsible for those being detained under the ISA !! YOU, do you GET IT, you IMBECILE Bodohwi ?!!

written by aplus, October 06, 2008 22:01:59
I'm getting sick and tired hearing the consistent allege that RPK posing as a security threat ro the nation.

Let us be very clear that RPK has and will never be a security threat to the nation. Clearly the use of the ISA has been abused by our government. Let there be no let up in our resolve to release RPK from this plain abuse of power.

I would like to put to the Prime Minister categorically that RPK is not a security threat to the nation.

Free him now!
written by cahaya, October 06, 2008 22:04:23
Even more interesting is who is actually responsible for ISA arrest (and release)!

"It is exclusively the responsibility of the minister of home affairs," Prime Minister Datuk Seri Abdullah Ahmad Badawi said of the Internal Security Act. He was replying to a question concerning Datuk Zaid Ibrahim's resignation over the recent use of the Act against a journalist, controversial blogger Raja Petra Kamarudin and opposition MP Teresa Kok.

So, the Home minister is involved, and he is exclusively responsible, in ISA arrests.
Does he know that? The Home minister had at first denied being involved (in the arrest of the journalist, the blogger, and the opposition MP)! He said the local police was responsible. Was he shifting the blame for who is/was really responsible for the arrest of innocent people (who are neither communists or terrorists) under the ISA?

In any case, if the arrested/detained are obviously innocent (not at all a security risk to Malaysia), why not release all of them?
written by macaufan, October 06, 2008 22:08:50
PM:"it's my idea to reform m'sia.... so it'l not stop due to Zaid resigned & i'l continue it"
kakaka.... in a day or 2, u'll be announcing stepping down ! so, wat r u talking?
after 6years in power, wat hv u done? 'elek' or tadak apa pun, semua tingal janji kosong!
written by elmo world, October 06, 2008 22:26:00
mmmm... excuse me... why must ppl greet the "Ministers"?

why not the ministers greet the tax payers , the people first?

we have greeted our neighbours of all races on their special celebrations, whether they poor or rich..
written by omarkhayyam, October 06, 2008 22:44:00
wei ..... the dollah bashing u guys gave above ....leaves no more to say, u guys have all summarized him aptly

written by Semut Jantan, October 06, 2008 23:15:35
F ucking Pee-M,

Do you understand to Minister means to help, to assist, etc.

The ministers needed to be ministered to? It is the other ways around, dude!

I think all these thieves need to go back to secondary schools to learn the basics.
written by cheemengwong, October 06, 2008 23:28:49
PM,

Are you for real?

You heard them did you?

Release Pete and the rest held under ISA. Give them fair trial now.

Park Lah
written by johntyc, October 06, 2008 23:52:37
After 4 years but still unsuccessful! Even like that also he dare to mention. He is so inefficient and thick skinned!
written by Daryl, October 07, 2008 00:25:40
"My view is they are here for the open house which is open to all. There is no obstacle to any group. Why should I prevent any Malaysian group from coming to the open house? Even non-Malaysians came in huge numbers."

However, only 70 members of the group were allowed into the dining hall and Abdullah claimed that many did not even greet the rest of the ministers who were there to welcome guests.

I am not there but I can share their sentiment. It is because we love Malaysian more than you guys will ever be. We love Malaysia enough that we want transperent and honest government. As a politician do you guys have than thin of a skin and if so please go find another profession. If you still don't get the message is time for some one else to take over.
written by Fart Fart Wah, October 07, 2008 00:29:34
How to celebrate HRP when poor innocent are in detention???
hrp means ...to be honest, straigtforward and fair..

did you qualify for this???

i wonder how you can sleep soundly??
written by RumahPanjai, October 07, 2008 00:32:23
"Every country has its own way of looking after its own security," he said.
He chose to forget that his home minister abused the ISA for a rather stupid reason "protection" of the journalist! What relevant is that on the security of the country? Ahmad is more a security risk than RPK. Why wasn't he arrested? Badawi practised double standards to protect his own political pie. We demand unconditional release of RPK from kamunting now!
written by aeromaverick, October 07, 2008 01:46:06
The PM forgets the basic fact that he actually refused to meet or acknowledge a group of people with genuine greviances about two years back. All legal, formal and polite form of communications were initiated but nobody cared. Eventually that ended up with the massive demo last year and the birth of HINDRAF.
In a way, PM actually fuelled the growth of HINDRAF, and he still is complaining about it. I guess these chaps have a permanent myopic view of the world they live in.
On top of that, these Open Houses by the Government are funded by the Tax Payers. But these chaps in power are talking as if it comes from their pockets. The citizens who didn't have any other recourse decided to attend the Open House to get their message across. I guess it is only fair and square. If they wanted to discuss the matter in a closed door environment, then The Government could have actually initiated the same and put up at least the semblance of a genuine interest to sort out the problems.
written by Taufique, October 07, 2008 03:13:50
bloody f*cknut of a imam hadhari, you son of a bitch u point finger at Albar bastard, albar bastard say i dunno i dunno itu polis yang buat. All you sons of bitches are responsible in EVERYONES opinion. You, sissy ass prime minister and all your evil cohorts, this Hari Raya im "celebrating" very minimally due to all the injustice and problems all of us are facing, but the day you cruel bastards kick the bucket, I'll throw a grand party, and thank god for the good riddance. May then life in hell begin for you.
written by supplier, October 07, 2008 06:41:35
We all know that the Former de factor Law Minister is not involved in the detention of the Trio because he knows that using ISA is wrong and cruel.

He preferred to resign as a Minister because of the wrongdoings of a fellow Minister and take up the responsibility and answer to the Rakyat

MR. ZAID IS THE ONLY RESPONSIBLE STATEMAN THAT MALAYSIA HAD
written by Stupid me, October 07, 2008 07:01:47
Is the PM suggesting that the HM who is showing signs of sinility has the absolute discretion in this matter which means that the senile HM is the most powerful man in the country more powerful than the King. Is he also suggesting that the HM can one day do the same thing on him ? This looks like the conclusion that one can draw from what the PM has just said.
written by MsiaCTzen, October 07, 2008 07:30:49
UMNOis FV