Home arrow The Blogs arrow News/Commentaries arrow Pak Lah to decide in a day or two

Pak Lah to decide in a day or two PDF Print
Monday, 06 October 2008 18:57
By Shannon Teoh, The Malaysian Insider

Umno president Datuk Seri Abdullah Ahmad Badawi will announce whether he will defend his post in March tomorrow or on Wednesday.

"I will decide tomorrow or Wednesday. You wait-lah, why are you so impatient?" the Barisan Nasional chairman said when asked if he would reveal his decision during a BN supreme council meeting on Wednesday.

Earlier Abdullah had said that he hoped to have this meeting because "our colleagues have already indicated that they would like to be briefed on what we are doing and what our plans are going to be."

"They have said that the president of Umno is going to naturally be the chairman of BN, so they would like to have an indication of what is going to happen," he added.

Speaking after meeting the Biotechnology International Advisory Panel this morning, the prime minister also said that it was "their choice whether they want to announce early or they want to wait. It's entirely up to them" when asked if Umno leaders who had announced their intention to run for deputy president were jumping the gun.

"You wait. After a while some of them will drop and there will be left only two, perhaps only one," Abdullah added.

As of now, at least three leaders — Datuk Ahmad Zahid Hamidi, Datuk Seri Mohd Ali Rustam and Datuk Nur Jazlan Mohamed — had indicated their willingness to contest the No 2 post.

It appears to be a clear signal that current deputy president Datuk Seri Najib Razak would run for president.

Should Abdullah contest Najib for the presidency, it would break a standing transition pact between the two.

written by binarytan, October 06, 2008 19:06:14
Mr. Pee-Am,

Before you decide, release all the innocent people under ISA detention.

May be you should also abolish the ISA and set up the independant ACA.

It will then leave at least some good name to you.

smilies/smiley.gif
written by ChrisLim, October 06, 2008 19:55:11
Pak Lah will say: "I will continue to be the PM. I cannot quit now. I still have strong support from the people. The rakyat still needs me. I must finish implementing 9MP as I have so many jobs still need to do. I promise I will not sleep on the job now. I also need to take care of my dearest son in law. I must see Khairy become the PM before I close my eyes. Therefore I cannot quit. I will still your PM and please continue to support me."
written by ckw, October 06, 2008 20:26:36
pak lah should remain a PM....till DSAI can take over. This is important, I would rather have a sleeping non performing fella as a PM rather than Najib and co. With Najib, things can get more hardline - more incarceration, internet censorship, ISA arrests, ie back to Tun's regime. Threats to bath non-Malays in blood and etc. Him and Kerismuddin are part of the same clan. Compared to them, give me bodowi anytime. with him, PR can have more time to get their acts together and put an effective goverment in place.
written by Alice, October 06, 2008 21:09:32
i would have a little bit of respect for you if you release RAJA PETRA KAMARUDDIN before you leave.Yes you should leave and let the dogs fight for the bone.Only then you will be able to see the vultures in action
written by kayakaya, October 06, 2008 22:10:34
good biotechnology will help.......keraskan hebat di ranjang using capsules untuk jantan.
www.ubierect.com
written by Proud_2b_Malaysian, October 06, 2008 23:02:45
Badawi standing for the Presidency job will not break the pact with Najib. If Badawi wins and if Najib stand for the VP and wins, all will be status quo and the original transition will work.

Badawi, on all counts, will probably stand for the Presidency job to receive his mandate once again from the party members. Then he can decide when he will have his early retirement and not be forced to "resign". Why should the Supreme Council members force his hand? They didn't elect him in the first place. The party members did. And if this happens, surprise surprise to Najib.

http://proud2bmalaysian.******...n-october/
written by Kerajaan Rakyat, October 06, 2008 23:59:37
Dato' Seri Abdullah being advised by SIL to
stand for another term.

http://kerajaanrakyat.com/?p=1512
written by Desolated Malaysian, October 07, 2008 03:45:39
I remember a time when the saying goes, "The government is made for the people, by the people and from the people". What happened to it?

If this is true, why are we afraid of our government. Shouldn't it be the other way around, that the government is here to serve us?

And if this is true, why oh why does it depends on one person, to decide is he should continue to be the PM? Should the people be deciding who the PM will be?

I am truly puzzled.
written by doggone, October 07, 2008 04:05:43

Waiting for signal from Paklah !!