Home arrow The Blogs arrow From Around The Blogs arrow RPK’s sedition trial gets off the ground

RPK’s sedition trial gets off the ground PDF Print
Monday, 06 October 2008 14:42

RPK i court

The trial’s just recessed for lunch at 1.30pm and is due to resume at 2.30pm.

Started sharp at 9am, much to my surprise, presided over by Sessions Court Judge Justice Rozina Ayob.

Amarjit and Chandra are appearing for RPK.

The prosecution’s first witness, Harme Mohamed, the deputy director, international affairs, Malaysian Communications and Multimedia Commission, was offered as an expert witness on the A-Z of internet. He continues his evidence-in-chief in the afternoon.

The trial is expected to continue for the next few days, unless postponements are sought.

Will give you a follow-up report at the end of proceedings this evening.

Meanwhile I leave you with the photos taken at the court this morning.

In particular, I want to dedicate this post to the many beautiful people who were there this morning to lend love and support to RPK, Marina and the family.

You people are the absolute best that Malaysia has to offer.

SEE PHOTOS HERE: http://harismibrahim.wordpress.com/

SEE THE M'KINI VIDEO HERE

Comments (39)Add Comment
written by Rainbowseahorse, October 06, 2008 15:11:27
My heart goes out to brother Pete..and I am not ashame to wept!

Once again, I want all to remember our brother's last written words:

On 6/Sep/2008, our brother Raja Petra wrote (HIGH-STAKES POKER GAME OR GUNFIGHT AT THE OK CORRAL? ):

“Today, I received many phone calls from concerned friends who told me that the government is considering detaining me under the Internal Security Act ‘very soon’. If that does happen, then this could probably be the last article I write, at least until 16 September 2008. So I too need Anwar to succeed. If not I will be in Kamunting for quite some time to come and you will not hear from me over the next couple of years.

Yes, I too have placed, not only my money, but also my freedom on Anwar. And if Anwar fails to deliver his promise on 16 September 2008, not only he but I as well am headed for a fall. But I have confidence he will do it. And I have confidence that my stay in Kamunting will not be for two years but for a mere two weeks.

But if I am wrong…..well, then see you maybe in six or seven years time, because for sure Najib Tun Razak will not release me in 2010 when he becomes Prime Minister. What he would do, instead, would be to rollover my two-year detention another two years, and another two years, and another two years, until I am too old to think and write anymore.

Till we meet again, if we do meet again, take care and keep the flame burning. There is still a long fight ahead of us in bringing reforms to this beloved country of ours.”
agree 145
written by indianputra, October 06, 2008 15:15:42
This is what happens when illiterate, idiotic, stupid, brainless, nincompoops run the Government. They simply cannot 'tahan' an intelligent man like RPK telling them what to do or what they are doing is wrong and totally unacceptable. Damn it!! What basis are there for this 'pariah' Government and the police to charge RPK? We all have read RPK's articles and there is absolutely nothing in there that is seditious.

I tell you this.. this Government believes in injustice. To hell with the BN Government. I challenge them to hold a General Election NOW and I guarentee these bloody idiots will pack their bags and leave the country even before the results are announced!
written by shangrilapeace, October 06, 2008 15:17:20
Choked... to see his thinner body but his eyes are 'alive'. Thank God.
Thanks to Haris for this long awaited photo and others.
May God help his lawyers & blurred the other side for the remaining hearing this afternoon.
written by ahmadneil, October 06, 2008 15:21:15
Dear Pete,Where is our God at this moment.Why is God letting you go through this ordeal?Why are the evils treating RPK like this?It's like Jesus been brought before Pontius Pilate.RPK was handcuffed behind and dragged to court in the most inhumane manner.
written by Fight4Justice, October 06, 2008 15:22:58

"Yes, I too have placed, not only my money, but also my freedom on Anwar. And if Anwar fails to deliver his promise on 16 September 2008, not only he but I as well am headed for a fall. But I have confidence he will do it."

Please PR, show the people something for their overwhelming support or the spirit will keep dying.. We all have our hopes on you.. RPK is a legend.. Upon victory of the PR he should be honored with the highest dignitaries possible should he oppose any political positions...

God Bless You RPK... He's watching those wretched baboons playing their games.. Justice will prevail.
written by indianputra, October 06, 2008 15:26:58
What is happening to Anwar? There is such a big sound of silence from him. Anyone has any clue?
written by Kunta Kinte, October 06, 2008 15:30:00
Anwar is due for a court hearing tomorrow at Jalan Duta. Maybe he is busy preparing for his case........thats why the silence.
written by teo siew chin, October 06, 2008 15:30:17
The rakyat does NOT support unjust incarceration!
The rakyat demands that ALL ISA be released NOW!
All you ADUNs and MPs elected by the rakyat - what are YOU doing about this?
written by Mr Smith, October 06, 2008 15:33:18
RPK and the whole country has placed its hope and freedom on Anwar. Please don't let RPK and us down, Anwar. Save Malaysia.
written by Kunta Kinte, October 06, 2008 15:36:41
I was there inside the courtroom and manged to get a handshake from RPK. To me he looked strong but one cannot overlook the sadness within him. We continue to support and pray for his strength at these trying times.
written by aryn, October 06, 2008 15:43:45
You actually look better minus a few kilos, Pete.

Don't let the goons kill your fighting spirit but it be the other way round. We are here to keep the flame burning for you and all.

Hang in there.
written by fergie, October 06, 2008 15:47:25
Just saw a pic of RPK in handcuffs with a plastic bad slung over his wrist (MalaysianInsider). How LOW can these "animals" stoop (I REFUSE to call them humans). They are just trying to humiliate him in any way they can! Little do they know, that RPK stands FAR ABOVE any of them!!!! You have MY utmost respect, Raja Petra .. May you always be blessed for all you have sacrificed for us.
written by omarkhayyam, October 06, 2008 15:47:42
Harris thanks for kipping us posted man .... n to all those who r there right now to show Pete d moral support .... god bless u guys

our prayers for the son of this soil who stand tall among a legion of scum bags

written by ahmadneil, October 06, 2008 15:48:37
If only we have Zaid Ibrahim to be our Chief Justice.
written by ahmadneil, October 06, 2008 15:51:03
Anwar is plotting the 'No confident motion' with the MPs in Langkawi.Anwar don't need crossovers so the MPS are joining the vote.
written by Alice, October 06, 2008 15:54:38
Really sad that things should go to this extent . God help RPK
written by johanssm, October 06, 2008 15:55:05
I can only say hang on a little bit longer Pete .
Anwar , Wan Azizah and Nurul are not sleeping .
Just hang on , we will make another announce move .
Hindraf 5 not forgotten.
Remember that we are all fighters.
written by fergie, October 06, 2008 15:57:01
RPK may look pale and unshaven but seems he hasn't lost his sense of humour (judging from the pics). Good for you, RPK!!
written by ahmadneil, October 06, 2008 16:00:57
Dear MT,please save our brother sjs.Give him some flexibility to air his wonderful contributions so we all can make MT a better places for our diehard supporters.It's only here in MT that we feel at home and at ease to read and write to our heart's content.Lets get sjs back for we all love him and his contributions.
written by ahmadneil, October 06, 2008 16:27:13
They just can't treat our RPK like this.He is a human too ,like us.He is not a threat to them.All they want is to shame him.He have to go home to his wife and family.You just cannot let him languish in Kamunting.Release RPK if you have read this statement and feel you heart.
written by AuntyG, October 06, 2008 16:30:15
It breaks our heart to see RPK persecuted, RPK may be down, but certainly not out! Right now the blind are leading the blind in umNO, lets continue to have faith that Heaven got eyes .... Hang on there, dear RPK
written by Rainbowseahorse, October 06, 2008 16:39:40
We give DSAI until parliament convene on 13/Oct/2008. If he does not or cannot deliver his promises, then we Malaysians better act on our own if we REALLY want change.
We shut down the governemnt by doing a sit-in at Putra Jaya until there are concrete changes in the government.
BIG question is: "Are there ENOUGH brave Malaysians WILL and DARING enough to carry out this duty? Or are we all TALK and NO ACTION?".
Choice is OURS!
written by clarity, October 06, 2008 16:40:31
Eighth wonder of the World. Malaysia is the only country in the world where you can see crooks handcuffing a person of virtue.
written by kenny, October 06, 2008 16:46:32
Just back from the Sessions Court. Reached there at 8am sharp to find 3 supporters ahead of us. Said 'hello' and asked whether they wished to put on the RPK tees. Bought a dozen extra to be given away. Payment was rejected and straight away became new friends. Good people, them.

Then Marina appeared with daughter Sara, Din Merican and some others. Din was in a jacket, so approached to offer him a tee which he gladly put on.

Noticed Marina was speaking to a man in white long-sleeves and tie. Went over, 'Sorry to interrupt, Marina, just like to have Soh Chee Wen put this on.' Ohh! Good! Sure! Thank You! ' came back Soh Chee Wen.

Crowd was around 80 just after Pete was driven into the court compound in a white Toyota Hiace. It reached a peak of less than 200 at 9.15am. A mostly matured an educated crowd. Yes, could see that most, if not all, were good people.

Haris was satisfied with the crowd considering that it's a weekday. Yours truly was snapped by Haris in pix#1 in orange tee(back facing) next to Din and in #12 with a good man who took a bus all the way from Melaka at 5am this morning. Really appreciate this uncle.

Saw RPK in the courtroom and he looked both physically and mentally alert. Noticed him stretching his back, perhaps because of having sat in the dock for the whole day, or was it because of his craving for his turn of action in the courtroom? Heard from Din that the trial is set for 1 week.
written by coolandy, October 06, 2008 16:48:09
Long Live RPK.
written by delCapo, October 06, 2008 16:53:07
good crowd this morning… lets keep it up… keep the courtroom full all sessions.

get organised, take shifts…

Feed RPK our love & support

!!!PEOPLE POWER!!!

written by Rainbowseahorse, October 06, 2008 16:58:12
People's power??? While it's most definately we should show support for our brother Pete at his trial, but that alone will not free him. He needs a new governemnt for his, and other detainees', freedom.
People's power is that who is able to force a change in government by stutting down the governemnt.
If DSAI cannot deliver his promises on 13/Oct/1008, I think people's power should be effected by a sit-down at Putra Jaya.
written by needchg, October 06, 2008 17:04:35
I was at the courthouse too for the morning till noon. It was good to see RPK. Big hug for all those who were present there in support of RPK. Sad only so few in support this morning...what happen to other members of the public...so busy with getting on with their own lives smilies/angry.gif I look at RPK and couldn't help feeling sad for him because he is in his own world right now battling the injustices. He was busy writing messages instructing his lawyers during the hearing.Shame to all those in KL/Selangor who could spare some of their precious time to be present. Lets see the next few days support!
written by fergie, October 06, 2008 17:06:01
Today RPK in court..tomorrow DSAI's turn .. wow ..perfectly scheduled .. such efficiency .. I thought they had a lot of backlog .. how come, when they are soooo efficient???
written by cillipepper, October 06, 2008 17:11:49
Askm Pet,
Wait a while longer.
You & Family please be strong and have lots of patience.
Salam from your comrade.
written by cheekhiaw, October 06, 2008 17:22:16
ISA is a law of the devils, by the devils and for the devils.

If they cannot get RPK on sedition, they will just keep him locked up under ISA.

Fall-back plan of the devils...

written by Counterpointer, October 06, 2008 17:34:03
OK lah Najis.

By locking up RPK under the ISA, depriving him his habeas corpus hearing and parading him in handcuffs, you win the first three rounds.

But don't be so cocksure that you will win.

Come round 15,

KO lah, Najis.

written by my oumrie, October 06, 2008 17:49:57
I'm wearing my red t-shirt "No holds barred" in front and "Free RPK, No to ISA" on the back and I feel proud showing my thoughts to all and sundry. Hang in there, dear RPK. You'll be released as soon as BODOWI bows out to DSAI. Everyone's praying hard for this eventuality. Right.....everyone?
written by Anti Relon, October 06, 2008 17:58:53
This is not happening n Malaysia.
written by glitaz1, October 06, 2008 18:20:39
RPK looks like Gene Hackman in the movie Enemy of The State. Just like the movie, RPK will sent these AMNO rats to hell!
written by Zeroed, October 06, 2008 18:40:40
glitaz1,

touche!! I am about to say that!!!!
written by PRman, October 06, 2008 19:20:36
We are with you Pete!!!! Release all ISA detainees! Stop short changing the rakyat!
written by Lim Lim, October 06, 2008 19:42:18
for all the right minded malaysian,it is an obligation now not only to keep RPK flame burning but stronger!
ISA must be abolished,the act hss had become dragonian by the hands of inhuman,barbaric n corrupted umno be end goons!!!
written by No nonsense, October 06, 2008 22:10:11
Be strong RPK cause we are physically, mentally and spiritually with you all the way. All the wicked and corrupt will be struck down by the Almighty God. We are all praying for you day and night and may God be your strength and uphold you in spirit Till the battle is won. LONG LIVE RPK.