Home arrow The Blogs arrow News/Commentaries arrow Raja Petra in court to face sedition charge

Raja Petra in court to face sedition charge PDF Print E-mail
Monday, 06 October 2008 10:15

(The Star) PETALING JAYA: Internal Security Act (ISA) detainee Raja Petra Kamarudin was brought to the Sessions Court in Petaling Jaya at 8.25am Monday for his sedition trial.

Court proceedings are scheduled to start at 9am. The Malaysia Today editor, 58, who is being held at the Kamunting Detention Centre in Perak, was charged on May 6 over his online posting about the murder of Mongolian Altantuya Shaariibuu.

He claimed claimed trial to publishing an allegedly seditious article on Malaysia Today, becoming the first blogger to be charged under the Sedition Act.

He is accused of publishing the article Let’s send the Altantuya murderers to hell which was alleged to have contained nine paragraphs of seditious words.

He is said to have committed the offence at his house in Jalan BRP 5/5 in Bukit Rahman Putra in Sungai Buloh on April 25.

If convicted, he can be fined a maximum of RM5,000 or jailed up to three years or both under Section 4(1)(c) of the Act.

Comments (25)Add Comment
written by Jan, October 06, 2008 10:20:40
If RPK is charged for sedition why the hell the govt send him to Kamunting? He's not a communist and is hardly a threat to society I cannot for the life of me figure that out.
agree 149
written by alanec, October 06, 2008 10:22:02
Free RPK!No To ISA!

From,
Bournemouth,UK
agree 125
written by indianputra, October 06, 2008 10:26:00
The BN Government under Pak Lah is continuing making mistakes. Every action determined by them is only to dig their own graves. Sending RPK to ISA and charging him in court for no reason is the mother of all mistakes they are doing.

Who is advising them?
written by ahmadneil, October 06, 2008 10:29:42
It breaks my heart when I saw him this morning,under handcuff,like a criminal but still strong.
written by rayfire, October 06, 2008 10:37:38
I hope the regime will do what is right!
Free RPK now, after trial today, let him walk free!
No more Kamunting!
Or else..........
face the consequences!
Lost of votes, lost of trust, eventually lost of government!
written by fergie, October 06, 2008 10:50:49
ahmadneil said he saw RPK in HANDCUFFS???!!! What the heck are these people trying to prove??? How DARE they treat RPK like a hardcore criminal??? Eternal damnation be upon them!!! Malaysia belongs to the rakyat not to them!!! WE will live to see JUSTICE done!!!
written by sydput, October 06, 2008 10:57:46
Looks like very difficult to prioduce evidence if held under ISA.
written by gyyr, October 06, 2008 11:00:26
FREE MALAYSIA!
written by Tompios, October 06, 2008 11:02:18
Seharam-haramnya Babi menurut agama Islam jauh lebih baik BABI jika dibandingkan dengan sikap pemimpin UMNO-BN. Sekurang2nya babi masih dimakan orang dan digunakan untuk tujuan perubatan tetapi UMNO-BN diludah orang. Lebih haram dan lebih kotor dan menjijikkan.
written by carribeanking7, October 06, 2008 11:33:11
I hope those in the Military intel come out and give their evidence now.

written by ahmadneil, October 06, 2008 11:35:32
The way they treat my hero makes me even more determine to be a bad muslim.They want to learn it the hard way,so be it.
written by Counterpointer, October 06, 2008 12:01:44
All of this is just a preview of Najis' version of C.A.T gomen for you sorry rakyat.

Corruption
Anal Sex
Totalitarianism

Sigh.....
written by AuntyG, October 06, 2008 12:15:17
RPK's wrote the truth, and he was ISAed was handcuffed like a common criminal. Plunderers of the nation and murderers get away with murder ... literally! So ironic our highest court of law is called "Palace of Justice" .... justice my foot, "palace of injustice" more like it.
written by Sean B adull, October 06, 2008 12:16:15
Dear Ahmadneil,

How will your determination to be a bad muslim help in your cause to help RPK?
From what I can see your fight is derailed into just fighting your hero and even turning your back on the religion and God.

Why blame God in any adversities? Dear Ahmadneil, the quest and fight for justice will always faced with mounting calamity, pressure and injustice.

Read about the difficulties faced by Prophets and friends in fighting evil government. They didn't blame god but they become stronger.

Think about it.
written by anak malaysia 2, October 06, 2008 12:35:11
I was there too this morning but Malaysians do not despair.Remember the spirit of RPK which stands for justice,honour and respect for our fellow human beings.As the malay proverb states..sedikit sedikit lama menjadi bukit,therefore all Malaysians contribute every effort to the cause of RPK no matter how small it is as very soon this tidal wave will sweep off all injustice and corruption from this promised land called Malaysia.RPK!RPK!RPK!
written by Alice, October 06, 2008 12:43:32
One good man and his family is paying a heavy price for the deeds of the EVIL ONE in power . Good citizens of the country let us pray hard for this good man. With God nothing is impossible. God will give him enough strength to go through this ordeal.
written by The dragonheart, October 06, 2008 12:46:38
Why no other people are fighting for the freedom of those accused to be JI who were also detained under ISA? If they are wrong, charge them...

Lets not be bias... let fight for all... Their wives and PAS have been petitioning against ISA for many years now .. why don't we group the Muslims, Hindraf, and RPK's supporters together? Why individualistic?

If there is no proof, let them free... The JI issue been too long now...You cannot force people to accept Islam Hadari and overturn oneself to support the government just like that...

Charge them to the existing laws in court... let natural justice prevail..
written by Proud_2b_Malaysian, October 06, 2008 13:02:37
Hope this charge doesn't stick and RPK will be able to be rid of this. The intent is to be able to show proof in court but in a sedition case, the debate isn't about the truth but if the words are seditious.

Sad that the truth is not important.
written by ahmadneil, October 06, 2008 13:08:15
Release the King of the Bloggers.
written by ahmadneil, October 06, 2008 13:18:36
Guys can see RPK on Channel News Asia if you miss him this morning.What a sight!The bravest will shed tears when you see him,how they treated this good muslim.His beard and hair have grown white due to constant harassment by authorities.Also they have given his stale food which are not even fit for the dogs.Those bustards who treated RPK like this will be fried in boiling oil in hell.
written by kkselvam, October 06, 2008 13:38:11
YM RPK! We miss you! Take care and be strong for the sake of our beloved country Malaysia! Release RPK!! Now!!
written by ahmadneil, October 06, 2008 13:42:19
Sean B adull,make no mistake I didn't blame God.Like those bad muslim in umno, they still pray 5 times a day facing Mecca,go to Mosque every friday etc,but are corrupted,throw good musilms and innocent people into prisons and detention center.A bad muslim can still believe in God,can't he!
written by omarkhayyam, October 06, 2008 16:00:13
Lim GE got charged for helping a underaged malay girl ....

kickdefella sheih gets charged for sedition

Pete gets charged for exposing a C4 dpm ....

the list goes on n on ..... wunder who is next n wat other kind of charges these regime has in mind ?
written by ahmadneil, October 06, 2008 16:24:50
They just can't treat our RPK like this.He is a human too ,like us.He is not a threat to them.All they want is to shame him.He have to go home to his wife and family.You just cannot let him languish in Kamunting.Release RPK if you have read this statement and feel you heart.
written by my oumrie, October 06, 2008 17:31:41
I'm wearing my red t-shirt "No holds barred" in front and "Free RPK, No to ISA" on the back and I feel proud showing my thoughts to all and sundry. Hang in there, dear RPK. You'll be released as soon as BODOWI bows out to DSAI. Everyone's praying hard for this eventuality. Right.....everyone?