Home arrow The Blogs arrow Guest Columnists arrow Eidul Fitri In Prison

Eidul Fitri In Prison PDF Print E-mail
Sunday, 05 October 2008 10:56

By By FARISH A. NOOR, MySinchew

This week marks the end of the fasting month of Ramadhan and the celebration of Eid'ul Fitri the world over. For more than a billion Muslims all over the planet the month of Ramadhan has been a time of personal reflection, contemplation and deliberation over their deeds and achievements over the year; a time of restraint and introspection; a time of reckoning. One only hopes that the leaders of the Muslim world have also taken this time off to do some serious soul-searching as well, and in particular to reflect on their deeds and misdeeds in the course of running the respective countries they have been elected to govern. (That is assuming that they were elected in the first place, for the quaint peculiarity of the Muslim world today is that quite a number of Muslim leaders have never been elected, and many of them regard the position of high office as if it was a God-given right to them and their families.)

During this month of Ramadhan quite a number of peculiar events have taken place all over the Muslim world. In Malaysia, the fasting month began with a right-wing leader of the conservative UMNO party making some rather repugnant remarks about the Malaysian Chinese community, referring to them as foreigners who can go back to China if they dont like things as they are in the country. Odd that such a remark could mark the start of the month of Ramadhan, when Muslims are meant to be controlling their emotions rather than letting them run riot in public. Odder still that a leader of the UMNO party can even make such a historically inaccurate and unqualified remark, oblivious to the simple fact that not only have the Chinese in Malaysia – and the rest of Southeast Asia - been in the region for more than five hundred years, it was also thanks to the missionary efforts of Chinese Muslim scholars that Islam came to some parts of the region like Java for instance.

"Nobody remembers their names despite the grand monuments they built to their own egos."

The month of Ramadhan also witnessed a string of rather uncharitable actions being performed in the glare of the public eye: Teresa Kok, a member of Parliament and one of the leaders of the Democratic Action Party (DAP) of Malaysia, was arrested and detained under the Internal Security Act (ISA) on the grounds that she had made some inflammatory remarks concerning the volume of the azan, or call to prayer, emanating from the mosques in her constituency. The member of Parliament was then detained under the ISA on the grounds that her own remarks were 'provocative', despite the fact that much of the hoo-haa that led to her arrest came from the pro-UMNO vernacular Malay media. During the course of her detention Teresa Kok maintained that she had never made any of the remarks or statements she was accused of, and that she was the victim of an orchestrated media campaign aimed at defaming her character instead.

Indicative of the lack of direction that prevails in the corridors of power in Malaysia today, the political leadership at the top of the Badawi administration was not even consistent in its stand on Teresa's case and the MP has been released from detention without trial.

But the sordid spectacle of a media campaign used to whip up public anger and hatred against an individual is indicative of the culture of pogroms and black-listing that dates back to the Emergency era when laws such as the ISA were first created, designed to help bolster a (then) colonial British government on the brink of collapse. Since the 1950s hundreds of Malaysians have been the victims of the ISA and other colonial-era laws such as the Sedition Act, all in the name of national security and the stability of the country.

Malaysia's use of such colonial laws is neither new nor unique: Similar laws were once used in countries like India, Pakistan and South Africa, and if the issue at hand is detention without trial then one can only conclude that this has been the norm is many Muslim societies dating well back into the pre-colonial era.

But it is during the time of Ramadhan that our thoughts go to those who are unfortunate enough to become the prey of such laws. Muslim history is replete with cases of such arbitrary modes of (in)justice at work, where countless Muslim scholars and intellectuals fell prey to the whim and fancy of despotic rulers and tyrants who ruled with an iron fist, and always in the name of God, needless to say.

One needs only to look to the case of one of the most famous scholars of Muslim history, Ibn Khaldun. During his lifetime Ibn Khaldun was imprisoned time and again by a succession of despotic rulers who found his critical ideas and deconstructive reading of official history somewhat trying. On more than one occasion he was framed, defamed and scandalised by his rivals and enemies who sought to discredit the scholar and to erase his contribution to scholarship for good. Time and again the unfortunate Khaldun found himself languishing in gaols and dungeons, to be kept there indefinitely according to the whim of the ruler of the day.

Yet despite the hardships he endured, including having to spend many a month of Ramadhan in isolation in his cell and away from his family, Khaldun persevered in his critical scholarship against the odds. At a time when official history was nothing more than courtly hagiography written to benefit and inflate the egos of rulers and noblemen, his humanist reading of history placed the ordinary individual at the centre of the process of history; insisting on the rational agency - and by extension power and responsibility - of the individual as the master of his own destiny. For the courtiers who grovelled at the feet of their rulers, this form of popular history was destructive and threatening to the order of things.

Centuries later, the rulers and kings who imprisoned Khaldun are all but forgotten. Nobody remembers their names despite the grand monuments they built to their own egos. Ibn Khaldun, on the other hand, has been immortalised as the founder of modern political sociology, a discipline that remains crucial in the political education of millions the world over. His imprint can be read in the works of Franz Fanon and Antonio Gramsci, and the humanist, materialist approach he took to the writing of history changed the rules of that discipline forever. It is thanks to the efforts of scholars like Ibn Khaldun that history today is and remains a political and politicised discipline, and not just a collection of happy fables to placate the demands of demagogues and dictators.

Like Khaldun, there are thousands who languish today in the prisons of the Muslim world as political prisoners who are deemed a danger to the prevailing order of power. Though history and hindsight may offer little consolation for those who are languishing in prison, it is important to remember that the pen is mightier than the sword and that the labours of the just will always prevail over the injustice of tyrants. History will see to it that they will be remembered, long after the names of the tyrants and dictators who abused them have been forgotten. 

written by ahmadneil, October 05, 2008 11:07:17
What is the use of celebrating all this holy occasions when those corrupt muslims can mistreat a good muslim like RPK.
written by biggun129, October 05, 2008 11:13:36
The Muslim brothers lock up the muslim brothers to celebrate the Holy festival of Aidilfitri, AAB made great mistake by not releasing RPK, he missed the greatest oppoturnity given by the god.
written by willove, October 05, 2008 11:17:11
I feel so sorry as I could not join you guys physically to support RPK as I live in Hong Kong. But everyday I log on to MT and praying to read the news that RPK is being released.
Even though I am far away, I take every chance to let people understand the troubled political situation in Malaysia. RPK, you are not alone with only the people in Malaysia. My friends all over the world is strongly behind you!
It is nice to know people not only of a different race but also of different nationality, culture & religion think alike and support the truth of humankind.
This only goes to show that UMNO is not of the humankind!
We need to unite people worldwide, anybody we know to support the case of our great RPK! Me & m family prays everyday for your good health & release, Long Live RPK!
written by IbnAbdHalim, October 05, 2008 11:19:49
In the first place do they deserve to be addressed as Muslim leaders when they run contrary to Islam?
written by benny loh, October 05, 2008 12:32:48
http://malaysiancartoons.blogs...-shit.html
written by yy88, October 05, 2008 12:44:24
The very leaders that claimed others are insulting Islam, they are leading a wayward life full of contradictions to the truth of Islam.
The very leaders who prophesised the peace of Islam have been abusing the Islamic values of brotherhood.
The very leaders who claimed themselves to be true muslims are non others than hypocritic racist pseudo religious shenanigans.
The very leaders who claimed to swear their innocences, have not any conscience left to feel ashamed.
These are the scums who have infested not only the race, but the nation and worst governing the country. Will GOD please spare us the miseries.
Ramadhan is just another day for them, when they are void of the fear of GOD.
written by Mag M, October 05, 2008 12:44:34
And UMNO says that RPK is a threat to ISLAM. It looks to me it is UMNO and not RPK. RPK is trying to show people Islam is good but UMNO does the opposite. Shows people that it is alright to imprison people without trial or anyone who is a threat to the politically. RPK is a good muslim and we respect him because of that.

RPK will be immortalised forever with this arrest.
written by Apek, October 05, 2008 12:49:46
Saudara Farish,

Saya sesungguhnya bersetuju dengan artikel saudara. adalah benar bahawa tulisan, idea dan konsep lebih berkuasa daripada semua keganasan, keterlaluan dan ketidak-warasan kerajaan yang kini dibolot oleh UMNO yang kini terdesak.

Akan tetapi, kami mesti menterjemaahkan tulisan Saudara Farish ini (dan lain-lain artikel Saudara Farish) ke dalam Bahasa Malaysia untuk dibaca oleh saudara-saudara seperjuangan "rule of just law" di Malaysia - jika tidak, konsep dan idea sebegini adalah hanya tersebar di kalangan "intelektual" di Malaysia sahaja.

Saya juga cadangkan supaya artikel yang diterjemaahkan itu dibenarkan diterbitkan dalam media percetakan supaya mereka yang boleh membaca Bahasa Malaysia juga akan membaca dan memahami buah fikiran Saudara Farish.

Saya sendiri, cuba menggunakan Bahasa Malaysia sebagai bahasa penulisan dan perantaraan saya supaya idea pemikiran itu boleh tersebar secara lebih meluas di kalangan saudara-saudara seperjuangan kami di Malaysia - walaupun bahasa pemikiran pertama saya adalah sebenarnya dalam Bahasa Inggeris.
written by johanssm, October 05, 2008 12:55:00
I was anticipating that the Hindraf5 will be freed along with RPK on hari Raya day! My mind works like this you see, since it is hari raya might as well our royal Agong will lift his little finger and decree a "royal pardon".
Although Hindraf and RPk and many more inside kamunting really dont deserves any pardon as they have dont nothing wrong in the first place.
Its hari raya ...and thats what i though.If i am the Agung, i will grant them a passage home. Afterall the Agong is the supreme commander of the entire Malaysian polis,army,navy,air force , religion and whatever that have the word " urusan sri paduka baginda" and "diraja" on it.
Sadly nothing happens, not even a whisper.
Do we the public need to remind that they the royals draws monthly salary and the public expects to see some work?
Before suing me for libel , sedition or disloyalty, i am just an ordinary joe here. And this joe speaks up.
Okay, whose with me on this one.
written by TwilightYears, October 05, 2008 12:58:14
Oh, Allah SWT. During this time when Muslims celebrate Aidil Fitri, and give thanks to YOU for a successful 30 days of fasting, the Political Powers continue to hold prisons to hundreds of your faithful. We fast, for the 30 days, not for wealth nor for health nor for long life. We fast, for a month out of the 12 months, for the sake of Allah SWT. And during these 30 days, Muslims would endeavour to think of loving thoughts, and emanate loving kindness and metta to all sentiant beings, irrespective of colour, creed nor race. During these 30 days, Shaitan is in chain. The only evil that arises, arises out of our human weaknesses, having harboured evil thoughts for so long. It saddens me, My LORD, when the leaders in BN, specifically, our PM, DPM and the "GREAT and MOST POWERFUL" Syed Hamid - acted, against your Holy Words enshrined in the Holy Quran.

All power and strength belongs to you, MY LORD. And I could not fathom the logic behind such atrocity committed by your creature- human being to another human being. I can only pray for the strength to help these ISA prisoners to go through these period of trial. I can only pray that we learn to forgive those who put and use a law which go against Islamic teacher. But, ... But... we shall never forget the atrocity. We shall never forget the crime against the heroes who have fought for freedom and, in spirit, we share their sufferings as much as we share the sorrows with their families.

written by cheekhiaw, October 05, 2008 13:00:01
Sure, Malaysia is not the first to imprison decent people just to shut them out.

Malaysia is not the first country to be ruled by thieves, liars and murderers...

written by fergie, October 05, 2008 15:02:42
It's those that put RPK and other innocents behind bars that need serious religious rehabilitation, not the other way round.
written by Clgnow2005, October 05, 2008 15:09:36
Most of us do admire RPK, for he has done what many of us fear to do openly. He is a source of inspiration. Over the years, heroes have endured the worst and be the best for us, like Nelson Mandela etc.

RPK will always be remembered as one of the one that changed Malaysia towards a better country.
written by novrising, October 05, 2008 16:55:36
If all this injustice was done during the holy month, now that it is "over", I cannot even imagine what other act of tyranny they are capable of.....
written by educationist, October 05, 2008 19:12:33
As usual, Dr Farish's views are a refreshing breath of fresh air.
But sadly, they will be ignored by the UMNOputras.
However it is individuals like him who gave forth hope that all is not lost in our country, that we will yet rise from this quagmire created by the UMNOputras and eunuchs to be a really united nation.
written by Limang, October 06, 2008 00:05:47
I am glad I am not a Muslim!

What shame these followers of Muhammad have brought upon his faith! They have defiled the name of Islam and make it a religion of the crooks, evil-doers, slanderers, rapists, murderes, thiefs, robbers, courrpted, schemers, bigots, hypocrites - you name, they did it!

As someone right said, they have taken the banner of Islam and hurled it to the ground, yet claiming to be believers. Indeed, they are the "unbelievers" mentioned so many times in the Qur'an.

I AM GLad I AM NOT A MUSLIM AND NEVER WILL BE. THANK GOD FOR HIS GUIDANCE AND PROTECTION!

written by Garend, October 07, 2008 09:22:45
written by Limang, October 06, 2008 00:05:47
I am glad I am not a Muslim!

Dear Limang... actually it has totally nothing to do with the Good Muslims.. it is the Corrupted Human nature at work here. It is these ppl who hide behind the facade of Islam.. trying to deceive ppl. It is not the fault of Islam.. but rather.. it is the fault of ppl trying to act and facade as Muslim..

This is just as prophesied..

"Who is guilty of more wrong than he who forgeth a lie against Allah (God), or saith: I am inspired, when he is not inspired in aught; and who saith: I will reveal the like of that which Allah hath revealed? If thou couldst see, when the wrong-doers reach the pangs of death and the angels stretch their hands out (saying): Deliver up your souls. This day ye are awarded doom of degradation for that ye spake concerning Allah other than the truth, and used to scorn His portents. (Qur'an 6:93)"

May they receive their so well-deserved punishment.