Home arrow The Blogs arrow Letters/Surat arrow Are Indians all Pariahs?

Are Indians all Pariahs? PDF Print
Saturday, 04 October 2008 14:45

In 1998, we hosted the Commonwealth games in Malaysia. That was a very big event. For that purpose, the Bukit Jalil Stadium was built. It was built on land acquired from what was formerly known as the 'Bukit Jalil Rubber Estate'.

Now that we have a grandiose stadium called the Bukit Jalil Stadium, the Tamil School of Bukit Jalil Estate is housed in the former smoke house of that rubber estate!! I read this in an article in the press at around the time the Commonwealth games were due to be held; so this is no hearsay!

We built that stadium, but we couldn't afford to build that Tamil School a proper school? Just how much would it have cost to acquire part of the Estate land and build a school for those pupils? The many Tamil schools in the country are in this category because the government has been most reluctant to acquire estate land and build proper schools for these pupils, even after 51 years of Independance. And some still with blind loyalty to the MIC in the Barisan National government hoping that in the next 5 years they will begin to see the light at the end of the tunnel!

HINDRAF is trying to change all this, by taking 'the road less travelled'.

I have, in my years of Government service, seen this blatant discrimination for myself! When the Sekolah Kebangsaan in a small town receives new desks and chairs for the pupils, the old desks and chairs are given to the nearest Tamil School!

In Temerloh, a new 3 storey school building was constructed for the Sekolah Kebangsaan, and the old building that was vacated was given to the Tamil School, that was squatting on Railway land in Mentakab, Pahang!

The MIC and Samy have been rejected as "Irrelevant" by the COMMUNITY. The proof was in the March 8th Verdict!

Wither a place in the Malaysian Sun for the poorer Indians who have been displaced by Indonesian labour in the Estates in this Country?

Do you know that UiTM has an enrolment of about 105,000 students whereas our premier university, University of Malaya, has only a total enrolment of only 23,000 students? Furthermore, UiTM has more 1000 PhD holders in their Academic staff. Today, I saw on TV that UiTM has been offering an equine (horses related) course for some years now, complete with a paddock, stables and 15 horses!

There are plans to increase the total enrolment UiTM to 200,000 students within the next few years ... and yet they organised a huge protest when the MB of Selangor Tan Sri Khalid suggested that 10% of the students admitted to UiTM be non-Bumiputeras!!

So where do you think the Indians fit into this Malaysian Equation? To be offered approprite opportunities to acquire skills for Social Mobilty, to enhance their economic status? Or are they destined to remain 'pariahs' in their own Country? Destined to be fodder for the Police Detention Centers?

Nathan

Comments (85)Add Comment
written by captmarco ramius, October 04, 2008 14:52:10
Dear Brother Nathan,

Another gem of an artices.Keep it coming.
agree 146
written by captmarco ramius, October 04, 2008 14:52:58
sorry typo,should read article
written by ahmadneil, October 04, 2008 14:59:11
Yes,quick! join MT for this is the best of the very best place ,to unleash you feelings,laugh,show how great you are,how good your English is like sjs,for all the good ideas.Register before the membership close again.The more the merrier!
written by ahmadneil, October 04, 2008 15:04:47
Let us be roses among the thorns.You can be the very best if only you try to be the best.I was the worst but now I'm better becos I have my dictionary with me.Ya!
written by Sudahlah tu, October 04, 2008 15:07:29
Saudara Nathan , bukan Indian sahaja pariah ...
Kita semua pun pariah..lah .Semua yang ingin hidup senang ..
Yang mendapat bantuan , kaum Melayu pun bukannya boleh berdikari ...
mereka harus sanggup diperalatkan oleh umno sebelum boleh berjawat dalam kerajaan ..
mereka ini terpaksa buang maruah keluarga agar dapat berhidup gaya dan berada ..
Biasa berkulit Melayu dan beragama Islam ..tetapi berperangai untuk umno ..
Kaum lain pula . tidak diberi bantuan ..terpaksa bekerja keras untuk terus hidup ..
Semua pun pariah lah ...
Jangan terasa 'tersekat' ataupun ' benci ' .. sebab kita semua pun sama ..
Dipariahkan oleh umno ....
selagi kita tidak berani bersatu hati .... selagi kita tamak akan kehidupan senang dan bergaya .... selagi kita bercakap-cakap kosong ...
umno tidak akan menhiraukan kita ..sebab kita dipariahkan oleh mereka selama 51 tahun dan seterusnya tetap dipariahkan lagi ..
sabarlah ...
agree 134
written by maran08, October 04, 2008 15:09:46
All indian,

We are not beg with anyone here this is our right to ask? all other party's in BN do the best for their community but MIC always with their own personal interest.
So we need real people work for our community we have hindraf we will hold together & move together.

Makkal Sakthi
written by avj, October 04, 2008 15:10:27
MIC,semi-value can you explain the above? No you can't, but you will talk to the PM and see what you can squeeze out of it for yourself.Enough is enough please do honourable thing and get lost.The whole lot of you,makes me want to puke.
written by ahmadneil, October 04, 2008 15:13:46
I'm crying,shamelessly in front of my family,now.Another letter to be urgently E mail to my friends abroad.It makes those bastards more bastards.
written by cheekhiaw, October 04, 2008 15:16:35
"It has always been a mystery to me how men can feel themselves honoured by humiliation of their fellow-beings." said Gandhi.

That's because Gandhi did not get to meet the kind of arrogant idiots in this land that think it is their god given special right to have first claim to everything around them.

To such people the only honour they find is just that - when taking from and humuliating others.

written by teo siew chin, October 04, 2008 15:17:14
Dear SJS

Your posting "To All Women of MT" gave me goose-bumps!
Your clarion call is for all the strong, the brave, the dedicated,
whatever creed race color age or sex!
Keep your calls, your shouts, your yells coming - PEOPLE POWER!

written by Lim Lim, October 04, 2008 15:19:45
Are Indians all Pariahs?
samy velu is ONE !!!
written by teo siew chin, October 04, 2008 15:24:45
this race discrimination issue needs to be urgently addressed.
hows about chinese ADUNs/MPs only take care of non-chinese communities
malay ADUNs/MPS only take care of non-malay communities
indian ADUNS/MPs only take care of non-indian communities
the elected reps need to lead by example lah!
written by ahmadneil, October 04, 2008 15:33:09
RPK with 'Dear Pete'makes me and my family laugh till we all drop to the floor and sjs with the above make me and my family have teary eyes.What a letter!It's saturday and after reading this letter I'm not going out for beer.
written by cheekhiaw, October 04, 2008 15:35:42
teo siew chin,

That's a brilliant idea.

They should change the election laws to mandate that each constituency with a majority of a particular race cannot have any candidate from that race.

E.g. Chinese candidates cannot stand in a Chinese majority area.

Then we will see people really serving beyond their race.

Then we will see how idiots like Mad Dog Ismail and Hisham Crooked Kniefuddin survive.

written by smpadayachi, October 04, 2008 15:38:55
To answer a rhetorical question that was posed or to generalize the mass Indian population to be an outcast, is like an overshadow of a racist Malay policy that clearly outlines social engineering should and must not be motioned to any Indian population in Malaysia. The word pariah is basically the dictionary definition or translation as an outcast, but here in Malaysia with Indian migration that came under the indentured system use these terminology amongst one another, until the word outcast had lost it's true meaning and become part of the Malaysian vocabulary to put someone down.

In fact all Indians in Malaysia are not an outcast as mentioned by the writer, because they had realized that to attain the common goal we've to think as one people, and not having to carry any baggages or faction amongst us. The world in the Indian diaspora is moving very rapidly into websphere that our roots are from different parts of Bharat, and clearly indentifying with surnames is the best way as to which mother tongues we can speak. In fact in Malaysia there're Tamil dailies like the Malaysia Nanban which still writes their pieces and published their articles with the Malay way of indentifying like in the infamous wording.. anak lelaki or anak perempuan to their articles. If they're going to make a change, why follow a naming scheme which strictly follows the antiquity way of calling ourselves? No naming sequence has been established except a mile long name that was written and becomes a major problem in any port of entry to have al in their Malaysian Passports, so having to be called a pariah or an outcast, and also to establish a muslim way of calling ourselves with son of and daughter of what else is new with the racist Malay government that does not want to value the Indian contribution?
written by axeltung, October 04, 2008 15:59:14
Indians are not all pariah...most of the intelligent lawyers, doctors, engineers etc are Indians!!! But they are just a minority group among the whole Indians race! Many of them can't even make ends meet..due to lack of proper education, opportunity of jobs, they are being marginalized by the advance and hi-tech society...it's the duty and responsibility of ruling political party MIC who represented Indian to do something to improve the Indian population...MIC stop doing the things that benefited yourself only!! Think of millions of Indian outside are really suffered and struggled. Good Luck to all Indian!!!God bless you!!
written by No nonsense, October 04, 2008 16:00:10
I feel that Hindraf should become a political party or join PR so that we can fight your fight together. If you always do things as an indian group you will be dealt as racist. Look at Datuk Zaid and see how he sacrifice and speak out against those who bring injustice to the people. If only you people will realise that MIC cannot help you much these days. Have they ever come out and fight for your cause? Hey brothers, it is time for you all to make a decision for the better not only for the indians but for all Malaysians. Sincerely hope you guys got the message.
written by non conformist, October 04, 2008 16:57:27
WHY DON'T the Hindraf sue the Ministry of Education for this blatant discrimination?

Bring the issue to the UNESCO...
==============

Read this in Rocky's blog:

http://rockybru.com.my/2008/10...-come.html

Paris, here we come

How much, for an 8-min Unesco fame? Education Minister Hishammuddin Hussein leaves for Paris today for the executive board meeting of the UN Education, Scientific and Cultural Organisation, or Unesco. Cool.
written by ChrisLim, October 04, 2008 17:17:04
Samy Velu is the ultimate PARIAH!!!
written by Shimshon, October 04, 2008 17:35:31
written by ChrisLim, October 04, 2008 17:17:04

Samy Velu is the ultimate PARIAH!!!

What about Mahathir s/o Mohamed Iskandar Kutty ?!!...the Ultra-Malay??!
written by gyyr, October 04, 2008 17:39:47
Thank you SJS for Nurul’s touching speech and thank you MT for a job well done. Keep it up. I’m so happy that MT has opened its membership registration and here I am. I’ve been reading MT for the past couple of months and now am a follower. I was once blind but now I see. I never saw the urgency in registering myself as a voter but since following MT I went and registered myself a couple of weeks back at the post office. Hoping to encourage more of my generation to do the same. Am so sad for RPK and his family. I pray and hope he gets out soon. Will continue to support MT and do what I can from my end.
written by Dhan, October 04, 2008 18:05:20
We Indians are better off in our own way , we don't need MIC or Semi-value. Infact , we just threw them out, ditched them more like .
And all we need is the others to do the same and we got a better Malaysia.

And clearly we're running , all Indians under one banner , And that is Makkal Sakthi- and we'll achieve what we're aiming for with or without the present political leaders !

So don't worry Nathan , this ain't no big deal . If they can't bother with our schools , heck we'll go and make our own better ones. After all , this is Our country too.

Our leaders in ISA had better come out quick , Deepavali is nearing...
written by hckit, October 04, 2008 18:08:10
i quite agree with The dragonheart, if we are still building separate schools for the chinese, tamil, muslim, when can we get rid of racism ?
All of our children should just go to the same school, but there is separated or optional classes for chinese, tamil, and muslim teaching
written by johntyc, October 04, 2008 18:08:30
Not just Indian. Malay and Chinese too also suffered because some trusted MIC, Umno and MCA. But, be optimistic because most already 'changed'. Time will tell.
UM produced higher standard graduates!
written by LC Tang, October 04, 2008 18:15:18
Dear sjs,

Please keep up the good work! Thank you (all 15 of you).
written by cruzeiro, October 04, 2008 18:30:30
All these advocates of "tamil" schools need to get a reality check!

They don't know the meaning of "integration" nor "economic viability" - they insist on the psychological ghetto, then scream about the ghetto that they live in!

There are better ways to succeed that harping on "Tamil education" and "pride" - whatever that means.
They should get a little more creative ..... jgn tepuk sorak, kampung tergadai, all you ammas, mamas, chittis, annehs, tambis, akkas and papas .....
written by Uncorruptible, October 04, 2008 18:32:39
Hindraf or whatever, don't delude yourself.
the EVIL axis of umno/mca/gerakan/mic is not the answer.
Pakatan Rakyat is the answer. smilies/wink.gif
written by cillipepper, October 04, 2008 18:52:45
...see how Samy Vellu took care of the Indians of Bukit Jalil. Shame on you!
written by PeacefulMalaysia, October 04, 2008 19:00:10
Dear Nathan and fellow Indians,

I wish to thank the writer for being true about the Indians.

Let me tell you a sad story that happened to me.

I had applied for a a senior position with EXIM Bank as I was recommended by one of the directors. I am an accomplished banker with high intergrity, prudency, honesty coupled with the expriences both banking and the corporate exposure. I was called for an interview and its almost 2 months since I heard from them.(They are stalling in offering me this position.
I know for a fact that I was the most eligible person for the job BUT I am NOT a cronnie for corruption or free handouts and this is why I am not being recommened for the position.
The Management knows that I will NOT play ball with them as I have a religion (not Islam)which does not allow me to be a crooked or corrupted. To add to this I know more so of the irregularities within EXIM Bank and how they are giving loan and receiving.......Its all from the top.
The whole of EXIM bank's Management are Bumiputra's.
Dont you think that there should be a check and balance. I personally feel that if EXIM Bank what to eridicate and reduce its non-performing loans they should and MUST bring in more non Bumi's at the TOP Management.

Samy Vellu and the MIC what have you been doing or what can you do.
If you want to help me you can email me at : This e-mail address is being protected from spam bots, you need JavaScript enabled to view it
written by sjs, October 04, 2008 19:08:53
ahmadneil,teo siew chin,gyyr,L C Tang and all, and the MT team,

Firstly let us thank you guys for your comments and kind words.

As MT has taken out our well-received posting in this section, for a reason only known to them, we will not continue our posting momentarily, pending their reply to us, an email of which has been sent to Kasee, a while ago.

We are disappopinted that depsite alot of work from our team members have gone into that article, it was taken out!

That was a general posting, and no sensitivism involved.

Thank you for all your past support.

written by sjs, October 04, 2008 19:12:04
sorry for the spelling error. it should be disappointed
written by cillipepper, October 04, 2008 19:21:05
The only Pariahs I could think of are Samy mutal and the whole bunch of loosers in MIC
written by malaysian, October 04, 2008 19:23:02
Sat 041008 7pm
Singapore's ChannelNewsAsia just reported a Filipino lawmaker's claim that thousands of Filipinos, including women and children, are currently being brutalised by 'Malaysian Police' in dentention centres throughout the country.

Malaysian boleh!

"Satu lagi projek Kerajaan Barisan Nasional"
written by Sining83, October 04, 2008 19:34:05
Dear No nonsense,

Personally, I don't agree with Hindraf of becoming another political party. Although the intention is good, but Malaysia as a nation doesn't need another racial based party. It's already a painstaking task for PR to maintain each others' interest among the 3 parties with PAS a Malay majority and DAP a Chinese majority. It's better for Hindraf to join PR as an individual maybe with PKR or DAP as individual.
written by sjs, October 04, 2008 19:37:34
cruzeiro,

Our message was for the parties concerned.If you are a member of the MT Team, we respect your views.

We have limitations to do that for certain reasons which we have disclosed previously. Since you have replied on behalf of the MT Team, we take note of your final decisions, on behalf of the MT Team.

We will refrain from further postings in order not to create unhappiness amongst MT members.

Thank you for allowing to post our comments in the past.

We appreciate it.
written by sjs, October 04, 2008 19:41:41
cruzeiro,

We are not crying foul.

Thank you again
written by sjs, October 04, 2008 19:56:34
cruzeiro,

We take note that you are not member of the MT Team.
Once again we are not crying foul!

We have explained and condemned previously any suggestion of us to start our own blog. We will not repeat our reasons.

Once again, we thank you.
written by PeacefulMalaysia, October 04, 2008 19:58:10
Refer to my article earlier.

Where are the Indians in Banking Institutions - Senior positions
MIC you need to do something otherwise - Shut-up
written by dassky2000, October 04, 2008 20:19:12
Mr.Nathan, well done on your observation on the way the Indians been treated in this country the past 50 years or so.

If I am called a pariah, I'll just brush it off and continue what I am doing and keep on going with my life. We Indians don't depend on government droppings to servive, unlike some who wait for handouts from the government,

I AM PROUD TO BE AN INDIAN.

We Indians have progressed in many ways without BN UMNO charity.
written by cruzeiro, October 04, 2008 20:25:04
You said it dassky!

Some guys just don't get it ......
written by sonofmalaysia, October 04, 2008 20:56:06
Cruzeiro,

I do not understand the strict need for any posting to be relevant to the subject, as long as it serves the wider context of informing Malysians of political, cultural, economic or social development in Malysia. MT came about because we do not have a good platform to allow people to discuss these issues that affect gravely our country. sjs's postings are definitely relevant to the wider context of MT.

I believe many people, like myself find sjs postings highly informative, I would like to read more of sjs postings.

I hope the MT team can exercise some flexility. Seriously, I do not see a tiny bit of harm or inconvenience is caused to MT or its readers at all.

Btw Sjs, I did not get to read your article, could you post a lead here to link to your posting somewhere else ?
written by Engineer, October 04, 2008 21:18:29
If a good indian is being thought as a pariah, it is the doing of Semi Value, the running dog who sold all indians soul to Old Man TDM.
written by harryo, October 04, 2008 21:23:05
It is so saddening to hear the story and it has been like that whether Razak, Mahathir, Abdullah or worst still Najib and it will continue for generations unless Anwar takes the rein and steer the way towards progress. Sir, your article has really put the message clearly but who has ears to listen. Most are deaf.
written by sjs, October 04, 2008 21:25:51
sonofmalaysia,

Thanks for your kind words.
We are surprised that we are dealing with a male-chauvinistic society.

We will not compromise our principle. We will post it again and prepared to get banned. If women are deprived from coming out into the open to contribute meaningfully to the society, then we are ashamed that we are here in the first place!

Our team members were dispppointed overall. But we will respect whatever decision MT takes! And we know we will be banned this time. But we will leave gracefully, at least knowing that we fought hard for our daughters and sisters out there! And we fail.

We are drafting a joint statement currently, and we will post together with the article soon.
written by lynn, October 04, 2008 21:30:09
I support Hindraf's call - as a Chinese, I strongly agree the Indian community have been left out - they are terribly marginalised for decades. 8 yrs ago, I told Indian voters, pls don't support MIC - fcuk samy velu - he didn't do enough for you people. They gave me dirty looks & badawi's bn went on to a big win.

Fortunately in 2007 Hindraf was born & finally Indians are waking up to the truth. It took body snatching & temples demolition to open their eyes.

Umno shld thank khir toyo for having caused the loss of Selangor to Pakatan Rakyat. Khir toyo is one of the most hated umno guys that we spat on. If Umno wants to lose more support, pls keep & preserve all these hated umno guys like this indon immigrant, ali rotten, kerismuddin, & other keris wielding loser, and many more of these racist creeps.
written by Hakim Joe, October 04, 2008 21:43:56

Let's put it this way...you vote MIC, you get what you deserve.
You vote UMNO knowing that these racist are going to marginalise you, you get what you deserve.
You want change for the better? Then you know whom to vote the next time around.

written by Concerned_Citizen, October 04, 2008 21:45:37
One thing to be blamed, the leaders that represent your race. What had he done in the past????

Every thing concern the particular race is the responsibility of the leader. Instead of taking care peope, he (or them) find ways to be taken care of.
written by LC Tang, October 04, 2008 22:02:02
Dear sjs,

Be persistent like RPK, & you shall previal!
written by No nonsense, October 04, 2008 22:05:01
Dear brother Sining83,
I would agree totally with you if Hindraf will to join PR but at the mean time I do not foresee such thing happening. Dont you think it is better for them to form a new party instead of sticking to MIC? They can join PR later if need be. As long as they get out of MIC that is what we really want. Dont you agree?
written by Man In Black, October 04, 2008 22:05:40
Hi Sudahla, Very nicely said!!! I am a non-muslim but my fellow muslim brothers also feel the sama way in their own country...So Nathan, i think we as MALAYSIANS should not be thinking of race anymore..Lets all work for the betterment of the RAKYAT regardless of the skin colour..race or religion!!!
written by arazak, October 04, 2008 22:21:55
Read my comments/posting in the "Zaid: Chinese Malaysians have made great sacrifices", about an Indian family, a Malay girl, and a Chinese factory owner - "PAEAH, SHANTI AND, TAUKEH AH LIONG . . . RACE AND SKIN COLOR BLIND!"
written by sjs, October 04, 2008 22:25:08
L C Tang,

Give us liberty or Give us death! This is not death after all! It is just getting banned. We will not allow ourselves to see the rights of our sons and daughters be raped by any! They are all individuals of their own! We have also send sms to relevant people who are close to MT of our decision. We will repost that article soon. If we cannot, then we have been banned!

We will not back track.

We would understand if the posting is sensitive.

We were all in tears after writing the article, Let me ask you as an Indian, and in my personal capacity, to a Chinese,L C Tang, were you overcome with emotion after reading the speech of the Malay lady, called Nurul Izzah? Please answer truthfully! Ahmadneil entire family cried!

Thanks
written by LC Tang, October 04, 2008 22:55:36
sjs,

Nurul's speech at the UN had done her family & our country proud.
She should be heading for greater things, with or without her father.

written by Fart Fart Wah, October 04, 2008 23:06:56
This derogatory term should only be applied to suckers, leeches ,RACISTS and those who squeeze others to get ahead free.

I am of the opinion that in our country thAT EXIST ARE PARIAHS IN UMNO..

THEY HAVE MADE THEMSELVES THE 'UNTOUCABLES'
written by merchant222, October 05, 2008 00:07:14
No need to fret about the 200K students they are going to recruit. As far as many private companies are concerned, we will "SOCK IT TO THEM". Only 0.1% of their graduates will be recruited by us, if any at all.

That is all about KetuanaLAN Melayu, OK? PREIOD!
written by onnetline, October 05, 2008 00:13:18
There are no pariah races ......... just pariah UMNO-BN leaders !!!
written by sjs, October 05, 2008 00:46:03
cruzeiro,

You can make thousands of accusations of us. Your failure to read our comments to all the bloggers query, and your failure to digest and decipher basic explanation cannot be blamed upon us.

None of your statements are true.

1) We said a joint statements together with the same article to be reposted.We are corresponding with MT.

2) We are not bloggers trying to catch some big news or some big fish from other websites, we are serious minded individuals who have teamed up for a good cause. We are not paid for our work. We are all employed in respectable organizations worldwide. We do not need to derive income from opening blogs.

3) We will not allow ourselves to be bought by any monetary-oriented individuals.

4) Your making mockery of Ahmadneil's family in tears is disgusting by any standards.

5) Are you a spokesperson for all comments we make to others. You have already denied one!

6) Your failure to connect Malay, Chinese and Indian in true multi-racialism context of the question asked, is deplorable. It is deplorable because we notice your uncanny style of asking that questions.

We do not wish to engage any individual who belittle our cause. They are traitors to our cause! Please refrain from further comments about us. We have never engaged you in any of our comments.
written by johanssm, October 05, 2008 05:31:27
Please have separate forum as multiple comments from same commentator is highly confusing and bad for my old pair of weak eyes.
Suggest to write full article and have it posted decently in MT instead of having to endures long comments in small fonts.
There are pros and cons in everything.
But lets not turn into chit chat.As thats a differnt avenue
written by lakshy, October 05, 2008 07:04:57
It is from great difficulty that great people arise.

fyi....Carbon changes into diamond under very high pressure. Hence also it is from these discriminatory and unfair and difficult conditions, that Indians have arisen. You have today many Indian professionals in Medicine, Engineering, Law etc.

If they had it easy, would they not have become more like the bumiputras? Dont you find that the malays have become non-competetive due to the policies that favour them? Can they survive in the highly competetive world today?

Another solution for those who feel they are marginalised, is to seek employment and opportunities elsewhere. The world is becoming a smaller place. Go seek your fortune in UK, America, Australia and work hard. I am sure you will do well.

Which holy book is it that says, "God helps those who help themselves." Well dont just sit there and complain. Do something about it.

Hey and by the way, India is booming too. They are beginning to attract some of the greatest talents. Why not go seek a fortune there?

The worst thing one could do, is to complain and do nothing about improving ones' self and situation.

Who did you vote for for instance? Are you registered to vote? Have you convinced your family members to register and vote wisely?
written by gyyr, October 05, 2008 07:56:19
I agree with SonofMalaysia. Don't be dishearten SJS. I don't think cruzeiro meant to discourage you just offering some practical suggestions. I am lucky to have read Nurul's speech and would like to see it posted again so that my husband has a chance to. Have a great day now guys.
written by sonofmalaysia, October 05, 2008 11:29:38
cruzeiro,

why not you waste your pen power on some other issues rather than keep bugging sjs.

Most readers here are positive about sjs's posting. Their postings are relevant to MT wider context and MT readers, polar ice cap is not lah, dude !!

written by coolandy, October 05, 2008 11:32:03
Not only Indians lah. China Schools also the same treatment from UMNO except that the China community make up for the short falls.

TRUTH is, Semi Value, Ling LS OKT, Lim K Yaik have not done enough to serve their community in education. They all make big claims but in reality, what they have accomplished are just tokens to hoodwink their own people.

I have ZERO respect for them as Leaders.

written by SCM, October 05, 2008 11:40:46
The problem is not with the Indians at large. The problems are:

1. Indians have been kept poor and in fear of the authorities. When someone speaks up, they are thrown in jail and even that meagre income is lost for that family. So, others dare not speak up against UMNO.
2. The few educated influential Indians have been "bought over" by UMNO as their koolie-boys to suppress the under-educated Indians. They are bought over with some government contracts. These are the spineless Indian pariahs.
3. UMNO has put their Indian puppets like Samy Vellu and now Nallakarupan in political positions to suppress Indian voices.
4. We have morons as Ministers, especially our Education Minister Hishamuddin, who is a racist and who is only interested in politics and not education.
written by kavidibaku, October 05, 2008 12:33:35
Dear saudara/saudari dragonheart,
It takes one to know one. You said that chinese donate to chinese schools. Precisely. Donation is meant to equip schools with some luxury necessities and not basic needs. Do you think that without gomen's finance aid, SK and sekolah agama can be built? Who's money is that? You think it merely came from donation? The answer is a BIG NO. Then why tamil schools have to get help from ananda krishnan? WE INDIANS ARE NOT PAYING TAX TO ANANDA KRISHNAN. WE ARE PAYING TO THE GOVERNMENT. SO THE GOVERNMENT SHOULD LOOK AFTER US. PAHAM?

Same goes to places of worship also. the gomen won't give a single cent to build our temples even we have all the right to ask for coz all the other facilities in this country are being built by using rakyat's tax money. AT LEAST DO NOT DEMOLISH OUR TEMPLES AND CREATE TENSED AND INSECURE ENVIRONMENT FOR MINORITIES. BAGI ENGKAU AGAMA ENGKAU BAGI KAMI AGAMA KAMI. PAHAM?

If you say that Nathan is racist, then you are even worst. You know why? Do you know the real scenario in SKs? How do you expect nons to send our kids to SKs. SKs should resemble the national identity of this country. But do they? Do not see from your race view only. What is the ratio between the teachers' race. Many SKs and SMKs do not have any non teachers. And what actually happen in SKs? My kid told me that they conduct bacaan yassin every day during ramadan.And the non students have to sit separately idling. Does this resemple something "kebangsaan"? Religion should be left at home. SKs and SMKs are places where ONLY knowledge should be given priority and nothing else regardless of race and religion.
written by MalaysianUnited, October 05, 2008 13:03:24
kavidibaku kavidibaku kavidibaku,

What is the ratio between the teachers' race. Many SKs and SMKs do not have any non teachers. And what actually happen in SKs?

_______________________________________________________ _____________________

do u know the ratio??..

My kid told me that they conduct bacaan yassin every day during ramadan.And the non students have to sit separately idling. Does this resemple something "kebangsaan"?

it resemble unity and tolerant bro/sis. Don u see, for Muslim..we have to take extra paper for Islamic subject. It compulsory. At what time they read yaasin??..its in lunch time during Ramadhan?..so what its the problems?..if they do in classes time, u should see the guru besar. its not right.

Kavidibaku,

As parents, we need to be acknowledge in SKs policies, surat pekeliling and schools systems..that will be the number ONE if u want to secure ur kids future. Don tell me u do not know what is going on with our national school policies?..

Then, if u don know..plz throw all of ur degrees cos it didnt show the altitude of 'orang berilmu dan beramal dengan ilmu yang dituntut/dipelajarinya'..

i totally agree with dragonheart. Nathan hanya cakap tentang kaumnya sahaja. Ini kebenarannya. Banyak lagi sekolah2 luar bandar dan pedalaman di Sabah dan Sarawak yang jauh lebih daif..kenapa tak diperjuangkan?..
written by cheekhiaw, October 05, 2008 14:22:55
MalaysianUnited,

Perhaps Nathan wanted to leave that 'perjuangan' to you...

written by Joe, October 05, 2008 20:33:21
Dey St Low/Nathan,

U know why the Tamil school is in the smoke house? Cos all the land given by the govt for the indians, already used up by Samy Vellu.

So if the allocations (funds) for the Indians of the country already given to the leaders of the Indian people, why should the ruling party give some more?

By giving used chairs and tables ON TOP of the funds AND the lands to the indians the ruling govt is already over doing what they promised!

March 8th they were irrelevant, true, but Bukit Jalil stadium was built when they were still relevant, your "years" in govt was during the time MIC still relevant.

Uitm, buying houses at discouted rates, better credit facilities, preferential treatment, I also went through all of that la, it didnt stop me and I am just as much a Malaysian Indian as the next guy who isnt from a gifted family! I can do it, why cant the rest of you ****ing tamilans do it? You go to Bukit Jalil now and see la who is there, 60,70,80,90 year old chinese people using the park facilities for jogging, and trying to live healthy lifestyle. If us 1 Indian there exercising, go buy lottery ticket its your ****ing lucky day. The only Indians you see there are young couple making out on the bench!

Malaysian Indians DO NOT fit into the Malaysian Equation. We dont have "Pan-Asian" looks unless u marry a chinese then your kids may have a chance to appear in television adds.

The title of social "pariah" is what all Malaysian Indians are gifted, but its not necesarily who we are! Its up to us to pick ourselves up and survive or die trying! Either by working your ass off, or stealing handphones for racist chinese girls! We need to feed our growling stomachs damn it cos nobody, and I mean NOBODY, is gonna give a shit about some Pariah!

Hindraf - go after Samy Vellu and his son! Do your job or u share a cell in Hell with them when u all die!

From a member of:
The Oppressed, Misunderstood, Pariah of the Nation - The Malaysian Indian

written by uncleleow, October 05, 2008 21:45:38
Very well written article. But mind if I question the rational of the article? They are already hundreds of articles detailing the plight of the Indian in Malaysia. The answer is not for other community or Gomen to help you but the answer is "SELF HELP". There are so many professional in your own community. There are more Indian doctors, lawyers, scientist, computer programmer, politician,DJ, teachers, money changer, restaurant operator than other race. The Indian community should approached these professional for help. You think the gomen give and support chinese schools? No we did that be self help. If the majority of Indian cut down on booze and fags and donate the money to the schools, I think the Indian school can be as par or better than chinese or kebangsaan school in Malaysia.
written by Susanna, October 05, 2008 21:58:39
Before March 8, community schools never rely on government for help because it would be hopeless and waste of time and effort because experiences confirms that the gomen does not care. Hence Self help was key to get things done. I was most impressed by the Chinese Community who include hawkers who support their daily cash intakes all dedicated for the building of Chinese community schools. Uncleleow is right .... where were the Indian professionals and the rich Indians? We have seen Chinese school halls dedicated to those who richly contributed to the success of the schools establishment but never seen one for Indian community yet? Spot on Uncleleow about the cutting down on booze too. I hope Hindraf and the new gomen after March 8 will help raise the cause about Indians having to do their part for the success of their community too because all these years MIC and particularly Samy Vellu nothing done although much lip service given
written by joeawk, October 06, 2008 17:13:13
The truth was that the Indians entrusted your whole future on the MIC or Samy Vellu. Election after election, the indians kept returning the BN. It is hope that the Indians will stay away fro the BN from now on. The Indians must see the BN as skunks, and stay away.
written by MalaysianUnited, October 06, 2008 18:30:31
Dear Bro Nathan,

I took this article today in Utusan Online..

JASIN 5 Okt. – Masalah kekurangan bilik darjah dan kemudahan lain yang melanda Sekolah Kebangsaan (SK) Parit Gantung, Sungai Rambai, di sini telah beberapa kali dikemukakan kepada kementerian terbabit termasuk Jabatan Kerja Raya (JKR).

Namun, menurut Ahli Dewan Undangan negeri (ADUN) Sungai Rambai, Hasan Rahman, masalah berkenaan masih berlarutan sehingga kini biar pun peruntukan telah tersedia bagi membangunkan projek berkenaan.

Katanya, beliau sendiri sudah lima kali mengemukakan perkara tersebut kepada pihak berkenaan namun semuanya masih tidak berhasil.

‘‘Kerja-kerja tersebut sepatutnya dimulakan Ogos lalu kerana peruntukan untuk menaik taraf SK Parit Gantung sudah diluluskan oleh kementerian.

‘‘Kemudian, saya dapatkan penjelasan JKR tetapi agensi tersebut mendakwa peruntukan pula tidak sampai kepada mereka,” katanya kepada Utusan Malaysia ketika ditemui baru-baru ini.

Beliau diminta mengulas gesaan ibu bapa dan guru SK Parit Gantung mengenai masalah kekurangan bilik darjah dan beberapa kemudahan lain seperti tempat letak kereta dan surau sekolah tersebut yang didakwa tidak dinaik taraf sejak dibuka sekitar tahun 1950-an.

Katanya, beliau kini runsing berhubung perkara itu memandangkan kedua-dua pihak terbabit dilihat seperti ingin melepaskan diri dan tidak mahu bertanggungjawab menyelesaikan permasalahan yang berlaku di sekolah terbabit.

‘‘Bila saya kemukakan perkara ini kepada kementerian terbabit, bertanyakan peruntukan, pihak itu memberitahu, peruntukan sudah disalurkan kepada JKR dan bila soalan yang sama ditanya, mereka pula jawab, peruntukan tidak dapat lagi,” katanya.

Hasan memberitahu, tender kerja untuk menaik taraf dua sekolah di daerah itu iaitu SK Parit Gantung dan Sk Parit Penghulu telah dibuka sejak April lalu melibatkan kos sebanyak RM10.7 juta.

_______________________________________________________ _

For myself, soal kaum perlu diletakkan jauh apabila kita bicara tentang soal pendidikan negara.

Umumnya, bukan hanya sekolah Tamil yang daif. Perkara satu sekolah menerima kemudahan meja, kerusi dll dari sekolah lain pun bukan satu perkara luar biasa. Rasanya Nathan perlu letakkan skop kaum ketepi dan fokus kepada soal pendidikan negara kerana isu ini sahaja memakan masa untuk kita meneliti sebelum mengambil apa2 tindakan atau memberi sebarang komentar/pendapat.

written by hakuna, October 08, 2008 14:11:34
sjs - good to have you back, at one moment you thought of retiring temporarily.

MT gives us a avenue to comment but if someone does not like our comments or articles we write - they have the right to do so and we should respect this freedom. thoughts are meant to be exchanged no matter how bitter it may be.Gender should never be a question and MT members do not alienate on this. Try to lay back and think what others say when they comment on your articles and if you think there is some scope in it then accept it, if not spar with the person on it.

Life is all about learning - both good and bad - only then will one know the difference.
written by kavidibaku, October 08, 2008 22:02:58
Malaysianunited,
You berjuanglah untuk sekolah sekolah kat sabah dan sarawak. Bukan itu saja. berjuanglah untuk mereka kerana mereka akan kehilangan status mereka sebagai pribumi kat tanah air mereka sendiri kpd orang dari semenanjung. all the best.