Home arrow The Blogs arrow Guest Columnists arrow JOHAN JAAFFAR: Racial harmony has to begin with the young

JOHAN JAAFFAR: Racial harmony has to begin with the young PDF Print E-mail
Posted by St Low   
Saturday, 04 October 2008 10:56

By : JOHAN JAAFFAR in nst 

LET us be realistic: No amount of acts, laws and regulations can ensure better ties among our people.

Race relations are about people, not punitive measures, sanctions or court rulings. It is all about how we accept, tolerate and live with each other.

Perhaps too much emphasis has been given to the role of politics and politicians in ensuring harmony among the races. Perhaps we are expecting too much from them. We are disappointed with them for playing the race card. We criticise the race-based politics that has redefined our existence as a nation. We all know how racial issues are being played up unashamedly by some, sometimes without even realising the consequences of those actions.

We ought to look at ourselves: we the people. We have to find a people's solution to the problem. We matter. We can decide the destiny of this beloved nation of ours. We can make the difference. Where politicians failed, we must take the initiative. Let's call it People's Initiative. We have to look beyond politics and politicians.

We have to admit that our people are drifting apart. We have been talking about it quite a lot of late. We even mooted the idea of a Race Relations Act. Again we are resorting to acts, laws and regulations. We must not fall into the trap of using laws and regulations to manage everything, more so race relations in this country.

Perhaps we should be asking ourselves why we drifted apart in the first place? Why were we more successful before? We pride ourselves as the poster boy in managing race relations among developing nations. We have done remarkably well actually. Our track record is commendable. It's just that we need to do more.

Things have taken a turn for the worse. Sensitive issues are being raised to fever pitch. The 2008 general election saw the rearing of the ugly head of racial politics.

We must heal the divided nation. We need everyone's contribution to make this place a harmonious one -- I don't mean the political definition of it, but the people's.

Let us look at the big picture. For one, we are segregated. Our children do not go to the same schools. That is one critical element to begin with.

We can argue about diversity and uniqueness, but in the end we miss the opportunity for our people to integrate from a very young age. They live in their own enclaves, with very little or no contact with others. Interactions are kept at a bare minimum.

The role of Bahasa Malaysia, the language that is supposed to bind us, is often taken for granted.

I have my own story to tell. I went to an English school in the 1960s. There were 24 of us in the class -- 16 Chinese, seven Malays and one Indian. It was the only English school within 40km of the nearest town. We were pioneers.

The village itself was a portrait of harmony. A row of Chinese shophouses had existed for as long as one can remember. The Chinese boys and girls went to Chinese schools while all my friends went to Malay schools.

But outside school, we were friends. Childhood in Sungai Balang Besar transcended race. Malay, Javanese and Chinese boys played together.

When the Chinese and Malay orchard owners found that their durians and rambutans were stolen, they knew the culprits were Chinese and Malay boys.

There was in fact the legend of Wak Samad, the gravedigger who saved Chinese families in my village when a parang-wielding mob rampaged through the area in the 1948 race riot in Parit Jawa. Led by one Pawang Salleh, they came from Batu Pahat.

When they reached my village, the remaining Chinese families were at the mercy of the mob. Wak Samad stood in front of the shops warning them that those people were his anak buah (wards).

The gravedigger's words carried a lot of weight. There was no untoward incident in the village. The story of Wak Samad is part of the local folklore remembered fondly by Chinese elders.

My father was a barber in the afternoon, a rubber tapper in the morning. He rented a small shop in the village. His neighbours were all Chinese shopkeepers who called him Jakpo Gunting (Jakpo the Barber). I spent lots of time with the shopkeepers' sons and daughters.

I remember my father told me the Chinese even bought pork discreetly by special delivery so as not to offend the Malays.

One of my best friends at school was one bubbly Chinese boy, Wong Chin Hock. The other boy, Jumadi was the son of a movie theatre owner in Semerah. We were so close that we called ourselves Panglima Tiga Serangkai (Three Warriors).

We parted ways after Form Three. But we made a promise -- every 10 years we were supposed to meet at a specific place, just for old times sake, regardless of what we do and who we are.

In 1978, 10 years after we made the promise, I went to the place that meant so much to us. I waited but they didn't turn up.

I was there again in 1988 and 1998, and I was alone. Early this year I did the same, and they were nowhere to be seen.

I met them a couple of times over the years. But I never reminded them of the childhood promise we made. Perhaps they have forgotten all about it. Perhaps I am being too nostalgic. But I wanted to keep my promise.

When I wrote a children's book entitled Tangan-tangan Kaku (published by Dewan Bahasa dan Pustaka in 1974), I immortalised Chin Hock as one of the three major characters in the novel.

My encounters with the various races since my childhood days have helped me tremendously in understanding others. Malaysians need that. We must begin from a young age.

Harmony is not just about going to Hari Raya, Chinese New Year or Deepavali open house. It is not just about superficial encounters. It is a socialisation process that takes time, patience and lots of understanding.

Comments (56)Add Comment
written by Motherchell, October 04, 2008 11:20:18
Umno just couln't be bothered if there is Unity in this Country. To them , they have the race and the religious cards as trumps to make their "robots" to go berserk and protect their cash registers. If EU and the US were to freeze all the funds of these thiefs, they can solve their current financial mess.

We never had an Education Minister who was ever interested in educating and instilling all that we should into the young mind. In a Pariah state what best can we expect??? ---- mullahs have to rehabilitate RPK???--- shouldn't it be the other way around??--------before i end-------
MSM should also take the blame to be in cahoot with the Powers that be in the -divide and rule concoction--I rest my case!!!!!!!!!
Votes: +31
written by hakuna, October 04, 2008 11:21:58
Johan - nice article. But you failed to see the reality here. It should all start from the young no doubt but haven't you read about segregation of pupils in classes according to races and the absurd reasons given by the school authorities and the education department.

Things have to be a top down approach here. Kids need to feel they are being treated justly and not alienated. The authorities need to act rather then to turn a blind eye to it.

Votes: +39
written by hakuna, October 04, 2008 11:24:32
It is nice to talk about harmony but act contrary to it.
Isn't this a reality here?
Votes: +17
written by avj, October 04, 2008 11:25:22
Our people are drifting apart thanks to the Ahmad Ismails and Khir Toyos and their handlers.We were successful before because race was not an issue that was exploited by racist politicians.We must go go back to basics J.J. and treat one another as fellow human beinga and not catogerise them into races,which is something that we inherited and not something that we became.
What sensitive issues are you talking about J.J.? All I can say is, this is another fine spin for BE END by the MSM.It won't work. Do better next time.
Votes: +26
written by sonofmalaysia, October 04, 2008 11:46:01
harmony has to begin with the young...

The sad thing in our country is racial DISHARMONY began with our young, fed to them, taught to them , indictrinated to them by governement policies !! All from same ones who rule and espouse racial harmony and declare to outside world we have racial harmony ! Hypocracy reigns in Bolehland !!

written by The dragonheart, October 04, 2008 12:00:01
why people only talk that Malays are only racist? i see majority of the non-Malays here are worst racist. They want UMNO to be a giver but I don't see the other race are willing to do the same.

Yes, social integration must start from young but are they willing to let go of the Chinese and Tamil school? I doubt.

I been looking around and i see the scouting movement is the best platform to do it but yet if the scout group is done in a ethnic group, still it will not solve the problem..

If the people themselves do not want to let go and change nobody can change them, not even God is interested to change them..

Malaysia will be like this for the next 100 years... even USA cannot change the racial problems ever they have been independent for more than 200 years...

Maybe we need a civil war, maybe we need to be poor, maybe we need to be attack and colonized by some foreign powers before we can realized that we need to be together as a true Malaysian...

GOD BLESS MALAYSIA!
disagree 38
Votes: -30
written by lembu susu, October 04, 2008 12:22:27
I don't agree that racial harmony begin with the young; true racial harmony begin with the adults. We are the cause, or to be specific, the abused of NEP is the cause of racial disharmony today. The blatant discrimination, in the name of NEP, causes much hurts and resentment! How can we expect our children to accept other races if the parents themselves are resentful against these races??
Votes: +15
written by Lim Lim, October 04, 2008 12:22:48
talking about racial harmony would be jus a bunch of bull if one race is continuously talking n claiming about more supreme than the others!this would be fruitless if we are enduring the sort of gorverning regime of umno be end which only survives on racism,racial profiling doctrine , divide n rule rhetoric !!
Votes: +21
written by ahmadneil, October 04, 2008 12:36:05
It begins at home ,not in UiTM,not in umno,not in racist schools,not under Mahathir and Ahmad Ismail.
Votes: +20
written by archie, October 04, 2008 12:58:16
"The 2008 general election saw the rearing of the ugly head of racial politics".

As far as I can remember, it has been the case in every election in varying degree, especially since the 1969 general election. As long as there are race-based political parties, it will remain so.
Votes: +12
written by Ben, October 04, 2008 13:03:02
Please understand that the gomen policy, whether written or not, has done all that we see today. Is it good or bad? We need to decide. For me it is not good and I still see the effects in my children's generation. Racism manifest itself in many ways and situations. The status quo is the rot has set in.

To highlight why it will not get any better, allow me to relate one incident that is etched in my daughter's memory forever. She was a committee member of their Chinese club in school and was required to organise a co-curricular activity. After they received the permission from the principle to organise the event, they planned and collected money to hold this event without any help from the teachers or principle. Shockingly, the principle suddenly decided to withdraw his permission. The students, all 60 of them decided to march to the office and get an explanation from the principle after failing to get any idea from their teachers. The principle gave some flip-flop excuse aka smokescreen which the students cleverly expose as nonsensical and also the fact that they had done all the necessary groundwork upon his permission. After a while seeing that the students will not backdown, the principle agreed to withdraw his withdrawal of the permission granted.

On the event's day, which was held in the school, the students had a talentime show and encouraged all the students to participate in games as well. About halfway through the program, teachers came and advised them to pack up and go home as the principle was against the idea because they were disturbing another event which was organised by the Malay club at the same time. The students objected saying that they did not even eat the food that they had prepared for the event. They agreed to leave after they have finished their food. The teachers busy answering the mobile phones and giving the latest updates to the principle as instructed. The teachers said the principle wanted them to leave immediately. It must have been hard for the teachers to disappoint the students as they gave them 15 minutes to gobble up their food and leave. The students did as they were told but will never forget the incident. The next day they wrote a letter of protest against the principle after seeking advise from their parents. They had asked the principle why they had to leave to make way for another club's event when it was held at 2 different location in the school. Nothing happen except the students applied for transfer to another school.

If the gomen really wanted to instill harmony and reject racism, they must be able to see beyond the skin color. Its that simple.
written by krising1, October 04, 2008 13:23:10
Johan, I missed your message completely. What is the message? Race reared its ugly head after March 8, 2008?
Votes: +9
written by alarcarte, October 04, 2008 13:35:20
If the people themselves do not want to let go and change nobody can change them, not even God is interested to change them..
===============================================

Hello Dragonheart,
GOD is definitely not interested to change anybody! In the first place GOD purposely created different races and languages so that we do not understand each other, otherwise we would gang up and go against GOD!

From what I see, this genaration of Malaysians are much more polarised than the generation of the fifties and sixties, ever wonder why? Look at the football and rugby stars of the sixties and seventies, the Malayan team mostly consist of mixed races, and they have no qualm in sharing the orange squash from the same pail and also sharing the cups during half time break, unlike today even using the cups, pots and pans of the non Muslims is a taboo!

Some people suggested everybody attend the same type of school will solve the problem, I would think not, beside school system there are just too many things dis-similar between the races in term of culture, food, religions, however I do believe if we let people have the full freedom to choose whatever religion they want to practice, then there is hope for the future integration of various races. Is the government of the day dare to endorse that everyone is free to practice any religion they like?

Votes: +11
written by omarkhayyam, October 04, 2008 13:41:23
well in Malaysia everyone talks like Johan then goes home and forgets wat he preaches ..... i had been hearing this "c-talk" for donkey years

can u start to walk the talk man ! stop preaching .... like a preacher

Votes: +7
written by drarasu, October 04, 2008 13:44:10
actually johan jafar is right. Actually any foundation is built from small.Whts the point of talking about unity when the schools are segregated.If from young age you are segregated do u think suddenly you can be united , thats utter nonsence.They should just have one schooling system , instead of just trying to pls everyone. You can win everything . Make teaching your language a subject in school. Even in the great annamalai n MGR university in Tamil nadu they teach medicine in english. Well we need to open up. Thats my opinion.
Votes: +6
written by drarasu, October 04, 2008 13:45:08
error:sorry you cant win everything. they dont teach in tamil
Votes: +0
written by c53k, October 04, 2008 13:59:56
The dragonheart,

What's wrong with the vernacular (Chinese/Tamil) schools? Every time when voice of race integration comes up, these schools get bashed! Can U people look NO further than yr nose? These schools have produced a lot of Malaysians who have made many contributions to the well-beings of Malaysia, both socially & economically within & without the country. They have not asked for anything except to be recognized as Malaysians!

‘Yes, social integration must start from young but are they willing to let go of the Chinese and Tamil school? I doubt.’ What a load of sweeping statement! As Johan Jaffar has testified that the harmony of the village has not been hampered with the children going to different schools!

‘For one, we are segregated. Our children do not go to the same schools.’ ‘The village itself was a portrait of harmony. ... The Chinese boys and girls went to Chinese schools while all my friends went to Malay schools. But outside school, we were friends. Childhood in Sungai Balang Besar transcended race. Malay, Javanese and Chinese boys played together.’ So what takes then & not now?

The reason is UMNO & their ketuanan policy! The ordinary Malays are not racists. The umno Malay are! & Btw the umno was/is never a giver WHILE the non-Malay who had/has been giving have never been acknowledged. Just check with “ Sepuluh Tahun Sebelum Mederka” to enlighten yrself if U has not. The high-handed Malay chauvinistic educational policy, coupled with the wholesale religious approaches, contributes to the fact that the non-Malays are moving away from the national schools. The EASON non-Malays go to vernacular schools IS not because of B Malaysia! Period. Blaming the vernacular schools for our current stage of nationhood is like seeing the trees but not the forest. There is nothing wrong for the non-Malays to go to vernacular schools. Mother tongues are the basic of their cultures. Just like being Muslim is part of Malay! There can be diversity in unity, just like the olden days of pri-NEP era.
Votes: +14
written by drarasu, October 04, 2008 14:26:26
If we want answers we should not be too emotional , we have too reason out the pros and cons. Im a non bumi , but im against the vernacular schools , that is partly the problem we are facing. wht worked in the past not necessarily will work now, The foundation is built when we are young. If someone can prove that they do exist a system of schools like malaysia in other part of the world that is successful pls do highlight. Can we see why it all started like this divide n rule , thats how the british conquored and rules the world , by playing with sentiments . Thank you
Votes: +1
written by drarasu, October 04, 2008 14:31:34
but at the same time the goverment should seriously do something about our pathetic education system to attract everyone and produce world class students
written by cheekhiaw, October 04, 2008 15:26:06
The young are groomed and guided by the older ones. The old are who they follow and imitate. Racial harmony begins only when the old practice it. The old can put that into practice only when they dare to stand up to the thieves, liars and murderers that lead them. Racial harmony starts when we see the end of those thieves, liars and murderers that now run the country.
Votes: +7
written by qwerty, October 04, 2008 15:48:54
Dato Johan,

Yes I agree with you partially. Unity starts with the children, but the caveat is that they learn from the adults!

I've sent my kids to sekolah kebangsaan hoping that they will mix around ethnically, but the truth is, they are segegrated by race for class streaming, sporting events etc. & after a couple of years they've now memorised BISMILLAH HIRRAHMAN NIRRAHIM. ASSALAMUALAIKUM WARAHMATULLAH HIWABARAKATUH & other doas.

That's why state & religion MUST be separated. Look around the world. Wherever the line of separations of these two elements are blurred you'll have chaos. Sad to say, Malaysia as you & I of the older generation had known her, no longer exist! The new racially politicised Malaysia is slowly but surely heading down the slope of self destruction!!

At the end of the day a single race may dominate but at what price?
To borrow a Malay saying:-
"Bak Pak Kadok, menang sorak, kampung tergadai!"

Salam sejahtera.

PS: A good read on the matter will be Syed Akbar Ali's "Malaysia & the Club of Doom"
Votes: +15
written by mucking fuddled, October 04, 2008 16:56:04
qwerty, you are absolutely spot on !

if religion is solely and only taught as a subject and not pervaded or perverted into our national education system, i dare say more malaysians would enrol their children in our national schools, then and only then will racial harmony begin at a tender age, when parents of other faiths are comfortable that religion will not be perpetrated into our sekolah kebangsaan....
written by Limang, October 04, 2008 17:54:03
The writer is such a racist hypocrite - an UMNO Malay that is for sure.

Don't try to fool us with your twisted logic, for we are smarter than you think. Your example of Samad the barber and Chinese discreetly buying pork are nothing compared to what I experienced when young. Back in the good old days my hometown, the Chinese would be eating pork on the same table as the Muslim who would be eating cow meat and we never even thought of each other as being wrong, insensitive or disrespectful, or remark such thing as "insult to my religion" - we just accept each other without condition or divide. This was before UMNO exported its brand of Ketuanan Melayu and Islamization agenda and in one generation, destroyed everything we have built over the centuries.

Such is the stinking shit of UMNO's evil policy and the brand of Islam - one that is revulsive and loathsome, and one that creates suspicion, bigotry and hatred. Now you Jaaffar fellow is trying to tell us we should accept such a policy, and asking other races to give up their rights, language and culture. Would you be willing give up yours? Don't ask others to do what you won't do!

Let me ask you, Jaaffar, if you truly are what you said, that since you ask the Chinese and Indians to give up their culture, language and beliefs, are you willing to do the same - give up your Malay language, culture and special rights and privileges, for the sake the national unity? Then we all learn English only, become Christians, and wear western clothes? Are you willing? Because I am willing and will have ABSOLUTELY NO PROBLEM, because I know that these superficial and worldly things will not affect my sense of fairness, honesty, integrity, compassion, frierndliness, etc. and my acceptance of others as my human brothers and sisters, irrespective of their beliefs and cultures.

FYI, I believe in Islam, Hindusim, Buddhism, Christianity, Baha'ism, Confucism, Toaism, etc, and all the idols, dieties and gods worship by others, and have no problem at all with whatever they eat. I believe God, Allah, or Shan Ti or whatever He is called, creates me on earth to do all the good I can, to whoever I can at whatever place I can. I accept each person as different and should be allowed to believe as they like, wear as they like, eat as they want, so long as they do not criticise others, force their beliefs on others, cause injury to others, be respectful, kind, friendly and ethical and treat others as equal, without any special rights or privileges.

Can you, as a Muslim, do the same? Will you, like me, enter a temple, church, synagogue, shrine, etc. and pray with your non-Muslim friends at their houses of worship, irrespective of your religious beliefs?

IF YOU CAN, I SALUTE YOU. IF YOU CAN'T, THEN STOP WRITING RUBBISH AND GO BACK TO YOUR SMALL COCONUT SHELL AND YOUR UMNO KETUANAN MELAYU AND BRAND OF ISLAM, AND SHUT UP, HYPOCRITE!
written by BennyG, October 04, 2008 18:26:18
Interesting subject, this education thingy. Chicken or egg, which one comes first.

Speaking from personal experiences. I was schooled in Missionary school in Sarawak where all races goes to. Even then, there will be one subject in Chinese & Bahasa Malaysia and then there will be religious studies separately.

Going to coffee shops, there will be Malay & Chinese stalls. Cutlery would be separated but all races will share the same table.

Even after 513, Sarawakians could not relate to the West Malaysians. Why the hatred and intolerance. Even now, they don't although I must admit most still do not stand up to corruptions especially by Taib & his family.

There seemed to be two points raised by commenters I fully support. Education and the adults are key to reducing racism.

I sent my kids to Chinese schools in order to gain the competitive advantage. Globally, China (India is a close second as well) will be the booming market. Please do not make this a racism issue (nor a patriotic issue since the fittest will survive & of course, another lengthy topic to discuss on) especially since more & more non-Chinese parents are sending their kids to Chinese schools as well even to the point where Chinese parents who already are worried that there are not enough places to cater to the existing demand and yet the new demand is coming fast & furious.

To cut things short, if national schools could prepare my kids for the future, I will definitely send them there provided that meritocracy is the deciding factor & of course, religion should be a separate subject and not integrated into everything.

Then the adults. Hmmm... sensitive ones, rarely we are able to practise what we preach. Nevertheless if we make a conscientious effort to be sensitive to racist thoughts & remarks, we could make a difference.

Simplistic as it may sounds but it will be at least in the right direction.

Finally, get rid of BN first and half the job is done.
Votes: +14
written by Siapabohong, October 04, 2008 18:45:01
Dear Dato' Johan,
Don't really agree with you that unity must start from young. It's matter of attitude and willingness to do it. Adults can achieve true unity if they are willing to accept each other no matter what one's background and a two-ways street. The problems are everyone like to look at diferences, think oneself superior and perceive others inferior. Implementation of government policies directly enhanced and encourage the perception of differences among races. In schools young children are directly and indirectly told or made to feel differences through implementation of programmes carried out by the schools. Every time when the subject of unity is talked about, the non-Malays must be made to let go their values and accept the Malays values. When this was questioned, the subjects that related to Constitutuions, Malays' rights, Ketuanan Melayu, social contract, so on and so on.. were made the basic of reasoning and arguemnent... the non-Malays got nothing else to say because if you say, your arguement will be killed by those things, so what unity to talk about? Therefore better isolate among the same kind rather than mixing together and bare the bitterness submissive environment. For unity to proceed, it must be a two ways street,can't be a one way street.
Votes: +11
written by qwerty, October 04, 2008 19:23:16
A rejoinder...

Dato Johan,

Let's put the government's unity drive to a simple test.
Please suggest to the NRD to have only two categories in our IC for "Bangsa" either you're Malaysian or you're not.

Habis cerita. Malaysia Boleh??
Votes: +8
written by SamYap, October 04, 2008 21:11:22
Johan, YOU are the one who needs to be realistic. I'll tell you why we are not racially integrated in simple language.

1) ITS THE WAY THIS COUNTRY IS BEING RUN...LOOK AT BN...ITS MADE UP OF DIFFERENT POLITICAL PARTIES WHICH ARE RACE BASED.

2) LOOK AT THE WAY THE PARTIES IN BN PROMOTE THEMSELVES, WHICH IS BASED ON RACE. WHO CAME UP WITH THE IDEA OF SUPERIOR MALAY RACE?

3) LOOK AT YOURSELF, JOHAN, ITS PEOPLE LIKE YOU WHO PARTICIPATED IN RACE BASED POLICIES WHICH IN TURN PERPETUATED RACISM.

SO I SAY, TWO FINGERS TO YOU - JOHAN!
Votes: +8
written by ohie, October 04, 2008 21:35:46
if the dream of malaysian children going to only one kind of school, then we have to dream that we really have a world class education system and syllabus (sorry, I might spell it wrong)..and without a touch from UMNO or politician!!
written by Malaysiaputra, October 04, 2008 21:36:38
You see, Dato Johan, race relations were fine until the Umno "thugs" came preach their "divide and rule" ideology for their wicked personal gains .
Votes: +4
written by lynn, October 04, 2008 22:01:34
Johan, in those days, prior to 1969 Malays Chinese & Indians got along fine. We were not even conscious that we were different races, different religion.

Politics & religion succeeded in dividing the people, suddenly the haram word was brandished so frequently, we stopped mingling with our Malay friends for fear that we "hurt" their sensitivities.

Johan, this country has been irrevocably damaged by 50yrs of bn rule, damaged in every sense. If the govt holds the elections now, fair, no cheating, no postal votes, the govt will lose more states. Why not give it a shot?
written by Mag M, October 04, 2008 22:37:13
Great artcile by Johan. Indeed, it is so true of those days. I used to play with my Malay neighbours everyday without fail without looking at the colour of our skin. We had open house for Chinese New Year and all our Malay friends would come for dinner. My parents made sure food was halal. I went to stay with a Malay family in Muar for week and my father's colleague's son (Azhar) came to live with us for a month when my dad was transferred to Kelantan. We ate halal for the whole month. We never had a problem. We must start with the young children.

Read my blog about this too.
http://malgal128.blogspot.com
Votes: +5
written by DontPlayGod, October 04, 2008 22:54:29
To Dragonheart,

We do not need one race to give up its language, culture, etc. to promote unity. Where did that idea come from? UMNO? Even if all the non-Malays convert to Islam, give up their language and culture, will they be considered as bumiputeras, and treated as equal? Can they become the PM's, DPM's, etc? Will the government then treat all her citizens as equal?

For your information, there is such a thing as unity in diversity. Even in the U.S.A, we can still see peoples of different cultures and languages living according to their lifestyles. Nobody is forced to give up anything, unlike some countries in the world, particularly countries in South-East Asia like Indonesia, Thailand, and now Malaysia is trying to emulate these countries.

The UN Charter states that no peoples(minorities) language, culture is to be clamped down or destroyed. In fact, the minorities language, language, and way of life are to be preserved.

In China, as an example, there are 55 minority cultures, and all their languages and cultures are preserved. In fact, all over China, each province's dialect and cultures peculiar to that province/district are preserved, often with aid/finance from the Government. In other words, the unique cultures of each culture is encouraged and preserved. As stated earlier, this is according to the UN Charter. One can see them going to their parliament dressed in their various cultural clothes, unlike here where they must be dressed in the culture of one race.

But the biggest dis-unity action must surely be from UMNO, which have promoted "ketuanan", NEP, khas istimewa, and their BTN, which has become an official UMNO propaganda machine, but part of the the country's Government department, and of all things, under the PM's department. It is of course, UMNO's wish and intention that the races become disunited. UMNO has intensified their racist and discriminatory policies from the 70's onwards, but it became worst under the rule of Mahathir.

All in all, UMNO is not interested in unity. In fact, UMNO is the party promoting racism and enmity amongst the races.
written by miwaki, October 04, 2008 23:04:11
If we are not drifted apart,UMNO-led BN government would have been defeated long time ago.Our governmet,especially under the leadership of mahathir has been trying to divide us so that UMNo-led BN government can continue to rule this country.Without this "divide and rule" system,BN cannot survive and the stake is too high.

The wise of the east said,"nothing is permanent" and "the thing that is permanent is change".So BN can never be there for ever and the time now is to change.
written by temenggong, October 05, 2008 00:37:11
It was decided way back in 1956 that all the races shall keep their identities as they see fit, including language and culture, for all time!

This subject should not be up for discussion!
written by renoir, October 05, 2008 03:28:55
I'd touched on the topic of vernacular schools on other websites nearly a decade ago, and on M-T as well, the last one perhaps just a couple of weeks ago.

Let's ask questions beginning with "what kind of schools...":

1. ...produced the guy who would drenched his keris in Chinese blood

2. ...produced a minister who waved his keris at an UMNO meeting, and still refuses to apologise for that behavior

3. ...produced a PM who used to call non-bumis "orang asing" and "pendatang"

4. ...produced the people who said Muslims shouldn't wish their Hindu friends Happy Deepavali

5. ...produced the guy who advised Christians not to mention the word "Jesus" during Christmas carolling

6. ...gave birth to the idea of having BTN people going around institutions harping on the Ketuanan Melayu ideology

7. ...instilled the idea of dividing Malaysians into bumiputras and nonbumiputras

8. ...taught the folks who thought they'd the right to 30 percent of other people's businesses because they are - they claim - "bumis" and that the NEP should be continued EVEN THOUGH THE POLICY HAS OFFICIALLY ENDED DECADES AGO.

9. ...produced people who burned down an Orang Asli Church near Christmas time and, among other acts of arson, a century-old Indian temple

10. ..produced people who threatened to burn down the Chinese Assembly Hall and also the guy who called the Chinese "squatters"

I dare say that none of them are from vernacular schools. It's also unlikely that they were from sekolah agama.

That does not mean that only those from national or international schools are likely to produce racial or religious extremists, but so far the track record isn't good for such schools. Indeed, if a single school system can unify people, there would've been no civil wars in France, Russia, China, and hundreds of other countries. If a single school system can produce racial harmony, Russia and many other countries wouldn't have ethnic problems. The root cause of ethnic conflict, from the black riots in LA and Detroit to the grisly massacres of the Biafrans in Nigeria and later the Tutsis in Rwanda, is poverty and social injustice. Their immediate cause, however, is often due to some shadowy group of people who sparked the conflicts for their own selfish ends. We know, in this country, who are those people.

Votes: +13
written by nrama, October 05, 2008 04:28:29
No amount of legislation can bring about a change of heart. It is only through Self realisation that true change can take place. The evolved state of a society can be ascertained by the number of laws required to regulate it. The existence numerous laws is not flattering to the society. Highly evolved beings regulate themselves.

Is legislation required to do what is inherently right and good?

I am not advocating a repeal of all laws: the human race has a long way to go yet. However "the abolishing of certain laws would go a long way toward the growth process. When humans, the flower of all creation, are treated with disrespect it is an indictment of all humanity. When an individual cannot get the justice that was afforded to a donkey, according to a story attributed to Harun al Rashid, Caliph of Baghdad (remember him?), one must wonder at the lack of progress from those heady days! BTW it may be of interest to note that under the influence of early Islam the world knew peace that it has not known before nor since. Yes I am making a point about Islam, for much has been said about the effect of the religion and practices thereof.

Religion does not make the individual. The individual uses the religion in a personal way. Take any religion. There are those who are loving and then there are are those who fear, portraying two diametrically opposing conditions of the Soul.

The situation in Malaysia is symptomatic of the global situation. I believe that we are on the verge of a leap in consciousness where one of the worst ideas to come out of human minds, The Us versus Them shall be replaced by WE ARE ALL One. We can truly then say "Whatsoever you do unto these the least of my bretheren you do unto me also."

Blessed be,
Rama
written by truthbespoken, October 05, 2008 05:15:24
Johan,

You know it, we know it. Go back to the English medium of instruction in schools. Work hard to promote it. Then in time you'll see the changes in our social behaviour and once again feel those nostaligic moments which you and we so longed for. Just look no further than our smaller twin brother Singapore as a pointer. It's better to have grudging respect than to stay with stubborn stupidity.
written by MalaysianUnited, October 05, 2008 07:16:18
Bro,

salahkan UMNO la, polisi ketuanan Melayu la bla bla bla..

First, u have to agree with our nation using vernacular schools..our children have been divided.

renoir,

saya sendiri dah menyaksikannya. Orang daripada sekolah jenis kebangsaan lebih cenderung untuk bergaul hanya dengan kaumnya sahaja bila di U etc..anda dan semua patut TAHU DAN JANGAN NAFIKANNYA LAGI!!

Anda gariskan point, sekolah kebangsaan lebih banyak hasilkan racist. Ok, tapi apa puncanya?..sebab tiada pergaulan dengan kaum lain di peringkat sekolah lagi!! Ini punca terbesar!!

WE ARE TOTALLY DIVIDED SINCE WE ARE KIDS!!! DONT U SEE THIS???..

think bro,

-how many years our kids in vernacular school been divided? Such a waste.

Votes: +4
written by MalaysianUnited, October 05, 2008 07:32:49
limang,

Let me ask you, Jaaffar, if you truly are what you said, that since you ask the Chinese and Indians to give up their culture, language and beliefs,...
_______________________________________________________ ________________________

I dont see any of his writing refer to Chinese and Indian community have to give up their culture..jangan la putar belit saudara. Tak elok..

Saya pernah jadi guru sandaran di sekolah rendah (Klang Valley). Kebanyakan sekolah kebangsaan terutama di kawasan sub-bandar dan bandar amat toleran kepada budaya masyarakat lain. Tarian kipas misalnya antara yang popular selain daripada zapin etc.

Sekolah kebangsaan di kawasan luar bandar tidak dapat berbuat demikian atas banyak sebab..
-guru yang majoriti hanya satu kaum sahaja. Kurang guru2 yang boleh mengajar seni kaum minoriti.

Contoh: anda boleh lihat amat kurang tarian budaya masyarakat Iban atau Kadazan dipersembahkan di sekolah2 kebangsaan semenanjung. Anda boleh kaji selidik sendiri kenapa..

Ini yang kebanyakan GOLONGAN YANG KONONNYA CERDIK PANDAI DALAM M2DAY TAK PERNAH NAMPAK..

Realiti adalah suatu kebenaran. Jangan tutup mata sebab nak menang.
written by MalaysianUnited, October 05, 2008 08:12:54
DontPlayGod,

bro and the rest..

I wonder why the non-malay are so paranoid about assimilation in Malaysia.

Anda tak nampakkah melayu sendiri telah berasimilasi dengan budaya kaum Cina dan India sejak zaman Kesultanan Melayu Melaka lagi?..

1) Orang Melayu pakai songkok, makan roti canai, kari (asal budaya kaum India)
2) Orang Melayu berprinsip seperti kaum Cina dan mempunyai susur galur yang begitu besar dengan ketamadunan Cina.

Sekarang, anda boleh lihat banyak stail pakaian melayu islam ketika sambutan hari raya yang mempunyai gaya atau corak pakaian kaum lain. Kain Pua juga dibuat baju kurung. Hal ini anda boleh saksikan di kawasan2 anda sendiri, tepi2 jalan etc.

Saya amat2 jarang lihat kaum Cina atau India yang mempunyai pakaian gaya moden yang diselitkan dengan gaya pakaian orang Melayu.

Kepada saya, dari budaya ini sahaja..orang Melayulah yang paling toleran dan tak kisah nak asimilasi dan mencorak serta berkongsi budaya masyarakat lain.
written by MalaysianUnited, October 05, 2008 08:31:24
qwerty,

I've sent my kids to sekolah kebangsaan hoping that they will mix around ethnically, but the truth is, they are segegrated by race for class streaming, sporting events etc. & after a couple of years they've now memorised BISMILLAH HIRRAHMAN NIRRAHIM. ASSALAMUALAIKUM WARAHMATULLAH HIWABARAKATUH & other doas.

_______________________________________________________ _______________________

Inilah dinamakan sebagai integrasi saudara. Saya juga mempunyai rakan2 Muslim dari Malaysia Timur yang pernah bersekolah di sekolah2 missionary..mereka juga mempunyai pengetahuan asas tentang agama Kristian dan mereka tidak pula merasa takut dan bersikap jumud (tidak berilmu)?

Anda cuba bayangkan dalam masyarakat majmuk Malaysia dan majoriti adalah penganut agama Islam..tapi orang bukan-muslim tidak tahu langsung asas2 tentang ajaran Islam..apakah ia baik untuk perpaduan Malaysia?????...

Sebab itu kita boleh lihat sendiri dalam M2day, ramai yang begitu cetek ilmu dan amat2 kurang pendedahan tentang Islam..ini adalah satu yang merugikan!!..

Pendedahan tentang agama lain baik untuk kita memahami budaya dan sikap seseorang itu saudara. Ini kerana agama mempunyai kaitan rapat dengan corak budaya kehidupan seseorang itu..

Saya hairan, yoga diterima ramai walaupun senaman yoga mempunyai kaitan dengan agama Hindu..tapi bila sahaja disebut senaman silat, orang takut..cakap banyak perkara2 buruk, ini propaganda nak jadi melayu, nanti kena sunat la bla bla bla!!!

janganlah paranoid..
Votes: +3
written by qwerty, October 05, 2008 11:43:18
Sdr. MalaysianUninted,

Saya sendiri juga pernah melalui alam persekolahan selama 11 tahun disekolah missionary seperti jua rakan2 sdr. dari Malaysia Timur. Sepanjang masa itu, kami warga sekolah bukan beragama Kristian tidak pernah sesekali diwajibkan berdoa secara Kristian, kerana paderi-paderi yang juga merangkap sebagai gurubesar, berprinsip bahawa tiada unsur paksaan dalam agama.

Sdr. MalaysianUnited mungkin telah tersilap faham tentang komen saya. Apa yang saya hendak bentangkan pada komen saya dan ia disokong oleh Mucking Fuddled serta komenter lain yang sepandangan ialah, agama harus diasingkan dari sukatan pelajaran sekolah2 kebangsaan. Agama adalah seperkara peribadi dan bukannya satu paksaan. Bahkan, jika cara paksaan digunakan, ada kemungkinan besar ia akan mendatangkan hasil yang bertentangan! Islam bukan sajalah agama yang diredai Allah swt bahkan ia adalah satu cara hidup yang cukup sempurna yang merangkumi lebih dari Fardu Ain dan Fardu Kifayah. Untuk pengetahuan Sdr. MalaysianUnited, amalan Amar Maaruf,Nahi Mungkaradalah pegangan kepada ramai yang bukan beragama Islam!

Andai kata saya hendakkan anak2 saya mendalami ilmu agama maka saya akan menghantar mereka ke kelas agama yang memang saya lakukan pada masakini, dimana mereka didaftarkan untuk mengikuti kelas cathechism di gereja setiap hujung minggu. Begitu juga pada ibubapa2 Islam yang menghantar anak2 mereka ke KAFA, SAR dsb.

Pokoknya, pendedahan kepada agama2 lain memang adalah sesuatu yang berfaedah, tetapi cara ia dilakukan haruslah kena pada tempat dan masanya, terutamanya tiada unsur paksaan secara langsung ataupun tidak langsung.

Sebagai simpulan, biar kita lakukan satu ujian secara hipotesis.

1.Bayangkanlah agama rasmi diMalaysia ialah Kristian/Buddhist/Hindu.(pilih mana2 satu)
2.Sdr.MalaysianUnited yang beragama berlainan telah menghantarkan anak kesayanganmu ke sekolah kebangsaan untuk menimba ilmu. Tetapi sdr. mendapati bahawa unsur-unsur agama rasmi telah pun diselitkan kedalam suasana persekolahan anak sdr.

Apakah tindakbalas sdr.? Paranoid?

PS:Harap maaf, kerana terpesong dari tajuk posting asal yang berdasarkan perkauman dan bukannya agama.
written by renoir, October 05, 2008 11:45:24
Malaysianunited wrote:
>saya sendiri dah menyaksikannya. Orang daripada sekolah jenis kebangsaan lebih cenderung untuk bergaul hanya dengan kaumnya sahaja bila di U etc..anda dan semua patut TAHU DAN JANGAN NAFIKANNYA LAGI!!]]

If I were to base my conclusions only on what I'd witnessed, then I think I would still be more credible than you, as I'd gone through mission schools during the 50s, taught in national schools during the 60s, including some time in an all-Malay residential school as well as in Malay-medium schools. I'd also seen how Malay students, many of them on Mara scholarships, kept to themselves in the United States, where I'd lived for several decades until my retirement.

Two points.

1. Why did the Malay students stick to themselves in the US, even in universities where there were substantial numbers of non-Malay Malaysians? It would be safe to say that most of these Malay students were from national schools, yet there they were, huddling to themselves when, given their alleged "mixing" during their secondary education, they should be reaching out to the non-Malay students. There was even a time when, at a certain state university, a Chinese Malaysian on government scholarship was told NOT to attend a meeting by a visiting government official as that meeting was meant ONLY FOR MALAYS!!!

But I do understand why so many Malays preferred to keep to themselves. The obvious reasons were of course a common culture and religious belief. This made them stay away not only from non-Malay Malaysians, but also, quite often, from white Americans. Hence their generally poor English even after graduation. But I think the main reason, when it comes to NOT mixing with non-Malay Malaysians, is the kind of "education" they received during secondary school. The sort of "history" they learned, the "civics" lessons, the "religious" instrucions ala UMNO during their formative years had served to divide them from the non-Malays. The attitude of us v them, painstakingly nurtured from childhood onwards, remained with them for the rest of their lives. That's why, despite all the "mixing" in national schools, these people continued to talk about racial supremacy, continued to threaten other races with the keris and visions of May 13. Non-Malay students were and still are generally aware of such mindsets, and of course they reacted accordingly. It would be meaningless to invite people who cannot eat with my forks and spoons, even when the utensils are washed, for dinner. (Here another hypocrisy arises: when Malay Muslims go to American restaurants, don't they eat with utensils used by pork eaters?). And all talk of unity breaks down when non-Malay students know the likelihood of getting admitted to local colleges (largely funded by non-Malay taxes), the chances of getting government contracts, business licenses, etc. The real world out there, out of the school setting, is too harsh to be glossed over by multi-racial school settings.

2. This is a corollary of the first point. I taught in an all-Malay residential school during the 60s, and some of my fondest memories are from that period. This was before the Ketuanan thing became the vogue, before the idea of robbing Peter to pay Paul became acceptable. The Malay students were not only bright, but VERY sociable and - boy! - how I wished they were my own children! Generally hardworking AND honest, they must have been the cream not only of the Malays, but of Malaysians in general. This was a time when they were expected to compete with the other ethnic groups, when government news, announcements, white paper, etc., were issued on the basis of a common Malaysia and not a Malay Malaysia. Despite their mono-ethnic setting - there were only a couple of non-Malays - these students were broadminded and delightfully intelligent. About twenty years later, when I was at an American university library, one of them hugged me from the back and called out "Cigku!" I turned around and saw someone almost as bald as I was! I couldn't remember his name, but he could and complimented me of my teaching methods, etc.

In short, the rot we've in this country arises not from different school systems, but from the way students were taught AND the malignant divide and rule policies of the ruling party.

>Anda gariskan point, sekolah kebangsaan lebih banyak hasilkan racist. Ok, tapi apa puncanya?..sebab tiada pergaulan dengan kaum lain di peringkat sekolah lagi!! Ini punca terbesar!!]]

Puncanya? UMNO. Get rid of it and Malaysia will become a normal, united nation almost overnight.

In the meantime, FREE RPK!!!!

written by tan_eng, October 05, 2008 12:15:41
You know most of us are hypocrites here. You want equal right but you don't want to become true Malaysian like RPK. You are happy when RPK bashes the Malays for their wrongdoings but goes to defensive mode when one of your own community member makes a mistake but yet you have the guts to call yourself Malaysian.

Let me declare one thing first before i continue ... "I am a Non-Malay" so you don't start blaming my malay brothers for being truthful here... ;-).

I fully agree with MalaysianUnited in some of his argument that it is alright to know and appreciate other religion. Despite being a Non-Muslim, i can recite some of their Doa(s) completely and i am proud of that because that is what makes us Malaysian isn't.

You see, the reason why Chinese schools, Tamil schools and Agama schools needs to thrown out of the window is because they don't contribute to National Unity. One famous guys once said that we don't go to school to learn but to socialise with people from different background. If learning was the only objective i guess you could bought books from library and learn it yourself. Secular schools don't contribute to Malaysianization

I also believe that all malaysian should speak minimum of four languages, namely English, Malay, Mandarin and Tamil. We then could use the language to unite us and at the same time giving an extra advantage to our children to succeed in China and India. Our education system needs to be revamped no doubt and perhaps we could start with taking away religion classes in school and replace it with a Moral class with doesn't bore us with 26 Nilai - nilai murni but rather assimilation of all good values and stories that is hand picked from all religion in this world. I sincerely believe that racism is something cultivated in our heart through our retarded education system. Ahmad Ismail and Sammy Chan are the product of this retarded system.

So to my friendly bloggers out there who seems to stuck in their hypocrisy about wanting equal rights, let me give you a piece of advice. Don't be a Chinese or a Indian or a Malay but become a Malaysian First before asking for equal rights, if you can't get out of your ancestry origin then for god sake go back to where your ancestors came from whether it is from China, India or Indonesia, i don't care much.
written by mucking fuddled, October 05, 2008 14:43:04
my my mr tan_eng

we are so proud for you for being able to recite the doas completely...
i wonder what your muslim friends think of that? i also wonder if it will be appreciated in a surau or a mosque?
are you by any chance contemplating to become a convert?
anyway, what has equal rights got anything to do with racial harmony?
equal rights is fundamental regardless of your race, religion or culture
written by tan_eng, October 05, 2008 16:41:01
Hi mucking fuddled,

Thank you for being proud of me. smilies/grin.gif

Do you need appreciation all the time to do something in you life ? I don't.

Am i trying to become a convert ? Well that's the funny one. Well my friend, first of all i don't believe in religion. I think they just a tool created by some humans to try to teach us how to live in this world but too many people takes it literally and fails to understand the logic behind it. So my answer.. No my friend i am not thinking about converting to Islam.

What equal right got to do with racial harmony ? Everything my friend. Everyone is so pissed that they are not getting equal treatment as the Malays isn't and given this situation do you seriously believe racial harmony is possible ?

You said "Equal rights is fundamental regardless of your race, religion or culture". Well you are partial right. smilies/grin.gif
Why , say for example today you leave to America. Will you be offered all the privileges as the American ? No right....and Why is that ? There are alot of definition of rights and equality my friend. You don't get all the right in the world just because you are a homosapien my friend.
Votes: -1
written by DontPlayGod, October 05, 2008 21:40:38
To MalaysianUnited,

Please re-read my post carefully. And can you explain clearly what is meant about being paranoid about assimilation or integration? Does it mean one has to give up one's language, cultures, way of life, and even their own's ethnic name like in Indonesia, Thailand, etc? And will that mean we can all be called bumiputera if so?

Let me repeat, the UN Charter decrees that all minorities' languages and cultures are to be protected and, in fact, encouraged to prosper. Got it?

Now can you please explain what you mean about being paranoid about assimilation or integration?
Votes: +2
written by dassky2000, October 05, 2008 21:58:39
St Low, you are absolutely right. Racial Harmony starts at home. It is how we teach our children to respect and address the other of a different race.

When my friends ( chinese, malay ) or anyboby comes calling, my children will come shouting to me, " pa uncle lim or untie yati is at the gate" not that malay woman or the chinese man is at the gate asking for you.

So you see, when you teach your kids to respect others, they do as you say and not otherwise.

We do not need an act to racial harmony. All we need now is, racist politicians to be rid off.

Have nice day bro's and sis's
written by DontPlayGod, October 06, 2008 09:33:43
renoir wrote,

"1. Why did the Malay students stick to themselves in the US, even in universities where there were substantial numbers of non-Malay Malaysians? It would be safe to say that most of these Malay students were from national schools, yet there they were, huddling to themselves when, given their alleged "mixing" during their secondary education, they should be reaching out to the non-Malay students. There was even a time when, at a certain state university, a Chinese Malaysian on government scholarship was told NOT to attend a meeting by a visiting government official as that meeting was meant ONLY FOR MALAYS!!!"

This is the result of UMNO's philosophy and ideology, through their brainwashing department BTN. I hope you know what is BTN. It is UMNO's propaganda machine, but dressed up as a Government Department under the PM's department(in other words, UMNO's propaganda machine paid for by the rakyat). In case you are not aware of the functions and aims of BTN, just look around at all the brainwashed and zombie-like Malay University students. Your quoting of those Malay students in the U.S. is a good example.

In other words, friend, UMNO preaches the Master Race theory, and racist discrimination. I have seen this happen all too often. Don't worry, you will see more of this in your life in Malaysia and elsewhere where there are a sizeable number of Malay students. I have been writing this very often, UMNO does not believe in unity and integration. So to those non-Malays who still harbour ideals of integration and unity, think again!
written by renoir, October 07, 2008 01:27:22
DontPlayGod wrote:
>I hope you know what is BTN. It is UMNO's propaganda machine, but dressed up as a Government Department under the PM's department(in other words, UMNO's propaganda machine paid for by the rakyat)]]

Yeah - I know and heard of the outfit while in the states, though the thought of BTN involvement didn't occur to me. You're probably right about this. Regarding UMNO's Master Race theory, it's not an easy sell because of the inherent contradiction: a great race - if there's such a thing - doesn't need the NEP to compete with other Malaysians. As more and more Malays become educated, the cognitive dissonance must correspondingly increase. Perhaps that's what happened on March 8, when educated Malays started to realize that the whole idea of a Master Race and its incongruous NEP twin was to enrich some UMNOputras. During TDM's rule, I sneered at his "tears" when he said Malays shouldn't have to depend on crutches. That act, I felt, was to divert attention from those who'd really used the crutches - the multimillionaires of UMNO Inc. Beyond giving the ordinary Malays an inferior tertiary education, the NEP crutch has meant little to the average Ahmad.

written by tan_eng, October 07, 2008 17:12:29
Hi guys,

Thanking you for voting me down. smilies/grin.gif . It actually says that you guys took the time to read what i had to say.

Well, before i move on to the next topic of discussion, let me put one last thing for your perspective again. Well its about UMNO.

You know, it is well established truth that UMNO did indeed foster racism for its survival but so did MCA and MIC. The surprising fact is that the Mastermind is a "CELUP" as malaysian like to call it ( Malay mixed with Indian blood ), he is not even a Malay. I hope you know who i refer to. The saddest part is that we have allowed him to do so. We can clearly see how racist we have got and how racist the Umno has got don't we.

My question is are we going to continue being like this ? Whinning and complaining till death do us apart. People like "DontPlayGod" seems to have lost hope in Bangsa Malaysia and seems to more interested in keeping us apart that finding ways to bind us together.

You know it is said that if you want to achive something in life, first you got to Believe It Is Possible. You might call that guy idealistic but i would say at least he believes that change is possible. We have got to first believe that Bangsa Malaysia Concept is achievable then become one first before advocating the concept to others. Perhaps we might not be able to change UMNO right now but what is UMNO anyway ? It is an organisation that comprises of our Malay brothers and sister. Why try to change UMNO when we can change ourselves and our brothers.

You know , Gandhi did not win freedom by whacking the British, he won because despite the pain and suffering he had to endure, he believed that freedom is achievable and if he persist enough the British will give it to him.

So my brothers here, let us all believe that Malaysia for Malaysians is possible and lets become a true Malaysian. We can then change one person at a time and when everyone does that we would have achieved Bangsa Malaysia without even realizing it.

written by apanama, October 08, 2008 13:23:43
YET ANOTHER DUMBASS COMMENTARY, AND OLD JUNK SITTING ON HIS HANDSL, WARMING UP THE EDITORIAL SEAT TO CORRUPT THE FOLKS.

does it mean that the old ones are NO LONGER CAPABLE OR TRUSTWORTHY to bring about unity? have they all, who now hold the seat of power, become USELESS?

if unity and harmony must start from the young, let the young ones run this country. the old ones? what are they? BATU API?
written by tan_eng, October 08, 2008 16:06:02
Dear Apanama,

You are either too ignorant to understand what i am saying or as you like to put it, probably you are just too dump to understand anything.

Well, the old one are useless aren't they ? At least that is what you have been screaming all this while isn't. I am surprised that you are now asking whether they are useless and batu api now when it was you who have been accusing them as useless and batu api all this while....

Think before you talk my brother. Its easy to be racist.. Its easy to blame the everyone else except yourself but it takes wisdom to understand that at the end we are all humans. I preach Humanity only unlike most people who preaches Religion, Race, Skin Colour and practically everything else that keeps us apart and divided.

So my friend, if you understand the universal law, despite our differences in our upbringing and our skin colour, we are all humans.
Votes: -1
written by MalaysianUnited, October 08, 2008 23:55:41
renoir,

Saya hormati point yang anda berikan kerana ia adalah pengalaman anda. smilies/smiley.gif

Tapi, kita tidak boleh menolak banyak sebab kenapa ramai Melayu yang hanya akan mnecari kaumya sahaja apabila berada di luar negara. Anda juga telah nyatakan di dalam komen anda..

Tapi saya mahu tambah beberapa sebab..untuk kita sama2 renungkan..

- Sekolah Kebangsaan terutama luar bandar, di estet2 atau kampung2 baru..kita akan temui satu pola satu kaum menjadi majoriti atau dua kaum menjadi majoriti.
Pola ini banyak mempengaruhi pergaulan para pelajar kita. Berbanding dengan Sekolah Jenis Kebangsaan, kita tidak boleh menyalahkan komposisi kaum ini berlaku di Sekolah Kebangsaan kerana ia mengikut kepada komposisi sesuatu tempat.

- Jangan lupa sentimen negeri dan daerah. Sebilangan kita masih mengikut sentimen ini.

Pada saya,untuk mencapai agenda nasional dan Bangsa Malaysia..kita perlu satu sistem persekolahan..

Apa pandangan anda renoir?..

written by MalaysianUnited, October 09, 2008 00:20:54
DontPlayGod,

Please re-read my post carefully. And can you explain clearly what is meant about being paranoid about assimilation or integration? Does it mean one has to give up one's language, cultures, way of life, and even their own's ethnic name like in Indonesia, Thailand, etc? And will that mean we can all be called bumiputera if so?
_______________________________________________________ ______________

Asimilasi bukan satu perkara bahawa anda perlu KORBANKAN budaya, bahasa dan cara hidup anda..ia juga bukan satu penerimaan TOTAL budaya orang lain.

Anda lihat DontPlayGod apa yang berlaku di Barat sekarang ini?..begitu ramai yang mengambil bahasa Mandarin untuk menjadi seorang yang competitif dalam dunia..bukankah ini juga dipanggil asimilasi?..

Anda lihat juga dalam kebudayaan Melayu..begitu banyak sekali pengaruh kaum2 lain terutama Cina dan India. Tapi ramai dari bukan melayu yang bersikap prejudis bila bercakap tentang baju kebangsaan, rutin kehidupan dllnya.

Saya hairan,

1) DAP yang mengetengahkan polisi parti pelbagai kaum mempunyai sebilangan pemimpin2 yang begitu takut dengan identiti melayu. Contoh terdekat, 'songkok' dalam acara2 kerajaan..kenapa begitu?..songkok adalah fesyen, bukan satu identiti yang wajib bagi muslim untuk memakainya seperti Sikh memakai Serban. Bagaimana pemimpin2 ini boleh diangkat sehingga menjawat jawatan penting dalam parti yang berbilang kaum?..takut dengan identiti melayu tapi lebih sanggup pakai pakaian Barat..inikah Malaysia?..

2) Ada juga guru2 dan segelintir bukan melayu yang takut untuk bersalam dalam acara2 rasmi..sebab takut bersalam cara melayu iaitu yang muda akan mencium tangan yang tua. Kenapa sampai begitu prejudis?..mencium tangan yang tua adalah simbol penghormatan.

Anda mahu budaya anda dihormati, tapi bagaimana budaya orang lain?..takut untuk terima kononnya akan pupus nanti?..

written by DontPlayGod, October 09, 2008 00:53:48
tan_eng wrote:

"My question is are we going to continue being like this ? Whinning and complaining till death do us apart. People like "DontPlayGod" seems to have lost hope in Bangsa Malaysia and seems to more interested in keeping us apart that finding ways to bind us together."

I don't know where in my postings I sound like I have given up hope of a bangsa Malaysia!! Maybe you can point it out to me. All my postings have pointed out to the reality of the present state of things in Malaysia, brought on by UMNO ultras, racists and the BTN. It is a fact that UMNO has turned the UMNO Malays and their supporters into racists and also to hate the non-Malays. UMNO have trained their University graduates to regard themselves as the Master race and bumiputeras and all others as only squatters and deserved to be chased out of the country. You can see writings and talks by these racists. I remembered a short while ago, in M-T there was a posting on the speech of the head of graduate of a Malaysian University to the Malay graduates. Did you remember that posting? And did you remember at UMNO's AGM, how the hate speeches and threatening tone of the speakers brought dismay to the non-Malays? This is the reality I am talking about. Of course, this is not something that the non-Malays like to hear or read about.

This is the reality I have been referring to in all my writings, that UMNO has turned the Malays into racists and into believing that they belong to the master race and are the rightful rulers of this land and all others are just squatters who deserved to be chased away, and therefore do not have any rights.