Home arrow The Blogs arrow Special Reports arrow Why Teresa Kok is the target

Why Teresa Kok is the target PDF Print
Saturday, 04 October 2008 09:44

The attacks against Kok and the attempts to portray her as a Chinese chauvinist who is anti-Islam represent a crude attempt at undermining the credibility and viability of the opposition coalition, Pakatan Rakyat, as a viable multiracial alternative to BN.

TODAY

She has been vilified as a Chinese chauvinist and portrayed as anti-Muslim. She was detained one week under the Internal Security Act for allegedly stirring up religious sentiments. And last week, unknown assailants threw a Molotov cocktail into the compound of her family home in Kuala Lumpur.

But ask DAP Member of Parliament Teresa Kok why she has become the target of a smear campaign in recent months and she will probably be hard pressed for an answer.

And those who know her insist she is anything but a chauvinist or an enemy of Islam that her detractors claim she is.

When Kok was detained under the ISA, even Datuk Zaid Ibrahim, who quit the Cabinet as de facto Law Minister partly in protest against the use of the law, said of her: "I know Teresa personally and I cannot see her as anti-Islam."

While Zaid was the only Umno member who spoke out publicly, he was not the only one who viewed the recent ISA detentions of Kok and a female journalist, who was released after 18 hours, as unwarranted.

"Look, everyone who knows her (Kok) knows she is not a bigot or a chauvinist. This makes the government look bad," one MP from Umno said.

In fact, it was some of Kok's political opponents in Parliament — from the ruling Barisan Nasional — who met with government officials in private to plead for her release. Such is Kok's popularity that when she made her first public appearance at a press conference hours after her release on Sept 19, she received a standing ovation from reporters.

It is probable that Kok, who won her Seputeh parliamentary seat in Kuala Lumpur with a 36,492-vote majority — the biggest — in the March elections, could win with an even bigger margin if polls were held today.

To her supporters, she is a hero who has been wronged.

It was alleged that she had abused her position as an MP and a member of the Selangor state government to direct a mosque to reduce the volume of its public address system during prayer times because it was disturbing non-Muslims living nearby.

The allegation, made by former Selangor Menteri Besar Datuk Mohd Khir Toyo, and highlighted in the Umno-owned Utusan Malaysia newspaper, was found to be untrue. Even the mosque committee came out to publicly deny the allegation. Still, she was detained by the police.

The attacks have not stopped despite her release. Utusan Malaysia has made her, in her own words, a "cover girl" since her release. After she complained about the allegedly low quality of food served during her detention, comparing it to dog food, she has been chastised repeatedly in the newspaper.

Kok, known for her multiracial stand, has been determined more than ever to flaunt it since her arrest.

Following her release, she has been attending breaking-of-fast functions almost nightly during the just-ended fasting month of Ramadan.

But even that has become the subject of attacks by Utusan Malaysia.

Last week, Kok was criticised in the newspaper for "wearing a skirt to a mosque". The article appeared to suggest that she was wearing something outrageous and that her attire caused serious discomfort among Muslims present at the function.

However, facts suggested otherwise. Kok wore a long-sleeved dress which came down almost to her ankles. She also did not enter the mosque, remaining instead in its compound.

One of Kok's Malay-Muslim supporters said: "I don't understand why she is being targetted. She is usually so sensitive to the religious obligations of Muslims it is almost ridiculous. She usually takes great pains to tell me what I can or cannot eat when we are out that I find it hard to believe she would be anti-Islam."

Ultimately, the smear campaign could be attributed to the fact that Kok and a number of leaders from the Chinese-dominated DAP have taken pains to reach out to Malay-Muslim voters.

As a member of a party who is part of three state governments — along with its Malay partners in the Parti Keadilan Rakyat and Pas — DAP leaders like Kok have been reaching out more than ever, and successfully, to Malay voters.

This is undoubtedly a political threat to the ruling coalition led by Umno.

The attacks against Kok and the attempts to portray her as a Chinese chauvinist who is anti-Islam represent a crude attempt at undermining the credibility and viability of the opposition coalition, Pakatan Rakyat, as a viable multiracial alternative to BN.

But targetting Kok, known for her congeniality as much as anything else, may well backfire.

Comments (43)Add Comment
written by ahmadneil, October 04, 2008 09:51:27
She is speaks fluent Bahasa Melayu,got the most number of votes,daring and a obstacle to the political ambitions of Racist Khir Toyo and Racist Ahmad Ismail.
agree 461
written by alpha100, October 04, 2008 10:00:43
Help pray that those who target Teresa Kok for some reasons be caught and repent. Pray that circumstances of life and operation of the perpetrators expose them to be caught, punish and repent of their action!
agree 212
written by avj, October 04, 2008 10:02:42
When you are losing ,hit below the belt.Why else,they are not bold enough to face her head on.All this is only going to make a mrtyer out of her and she is going to win even bigger. Theresa you are my hero,way to go Ma'am.
agree 196
written by Highway16, October 04, 2008 10:07:30
She was made a scapegoat during the time when there was alot of heat on Ahmad Ismail, the racist.
By doing that, she got all the attention, and Ahmad Ismail kept a low profile in the meantime. And we all know, Malaysians forget very easily, everyone will soon forget about Ahmad Ismail!
Simple like ABC!
agree 203
written by johanssm, October 04, 2008 10:12:57
This made Teresa and DAP more well known and more successful.
And all the KL folks agreed that if we have another election this year.
The entire KL and Selangor will be PR territory. Bn will be washout.
agree 182
written by ahmadneil, October 04, 2008 10:17:56
They have tearing Dr Koh's photo,tearing Theresa Kok's poster,ISA Theresa Kok and Ms Tan,calling chinese 'squatters'etc.Now what is it that they want.We are losing our cool.We have been patient for 51 years but not anymore.Come out into the open and declare your stand so we know what to do.Son of a bitch!
agree 148
written by ahmadneil, October 04, 2008 10:21:22
I don't know which race they belongs but whatever they are , we take no prisoners.
written by PAKRAK, October 04, 2008 10:24:45
This is all the work or 'batu api' by Khir Toyo and Utusan Malaysia. I hope Teresa is proceeding with her suit against these two blighters and give the daylights out of them.
agree 175
written by ChrisLim, October 04, 2008 10:30:17
UMNO should seriously grow up. THey has been in control for more than 50 years yet they fail to understand what people want. After loosing painfully in he GE, now they just know how to BLAME, ACCUSE, CRITICISE. Instead of rectifying their mistakes, they choose to continue their current saga. Teresa could be their first target and there will be more to come. There will be more UMNO hero will follow Ahmad Ismaiil's footstep and they will continue to play the racial cards. UNNO must understand that Teresa got the highest majority and you cannot deny that she got the supports from Malay, Chinese, Indians and other races. People wants her to serve the community and please stop all this nonsense!!!
agree 151
written by temenggong, October 04, 2008 10:42:05
They are demonising her to wake up the malay community into racial politics, as well as try and force her and Pakatan to make mistakes as a response, or act defiant!
written by Delima25, October 04, 2008 10:44:23
Do you think it is right for Utusan to use its pages to smear the name of Theresa and filling its pages with lies that are meant to create hatred among its Malay readers. Why target Theresa when she did no wrong so much so that she had to be protected by Syed Hamid Al Blur under the ISA while a racist spewing hate at the pendatangs and an evil toyol are not mentioned for their evil deeds.
To show that we do not tolerate Utusan's role in trying to divide Malaysian's into the various ethnic groups, let us all BOYCOTT Utusan thrashpaper and as for all business owners who feel strongly about his whole episode, please stop advertising in Utusan. I think Allah/God will not fault us if we boycott these messengers of the devil.
agree 146
written by justme bc, October 04, 2008 10:59:14
To hell with Utusan Malaysia(Urutan Media), Khinzir Toyol, Ahmed the Idiot, your racial cards are no more workable as all the right minded malaysians will not buy any of your dirt anymore. You are no more than a rubbish inside the dump waiting for disposal into the scrap yard. Hidup bangsa Malaysia, hidup RPK, hidup PR!
written by Sudahlah tu, October 04, 2008 11:01:23
Memandangkan kepada kebolehan YB menyandang jawatan ADUN dan MP sudah cukup menakutkan semua anjing umno tentang kepekaan rakyat tentang perpaduan serta keharmonian negara.
Beliau juga berani turun padang setiap hari jikalau tiada urusan rasmi negeri mahupun negara sedangkan mp umno pula akan keluar negeri melancung ..
Kini umno terpaksa menggunakan taktik kotor dan menjijik untuk mengelirukan pendapat Orang Melayu tentang kebajikan serta keagamaan mereka akan tergugat jikalau PR menjadi kerajaan ..
Kini cuma Orang Melayu sahajalah yang boleh menentukan mesa depan sendiri serta negara. MEreka harus bersifat persaudaraan serta bermaruah nilai Melayu tetinggi dengan segala kekayaan adat resam mulia mereka.
Kini kebanyakan "Orang Melayu" yang berjawat tinggi dalam umno sebenarnya bukan Melayu jati... mereka sebenarnya datang daripada negara jiran yang diberi kuasa kerana mereka ini pandai menggunakan wang serta 'perempuan' untuk memperdayakan Orang Melayu menyokong kerajaan umno ...
Jadi, segalanya ..terpulanglah kepada Orang Melayu untuk menentukan yang mereka bukan kaum OKU yang selalu dilaungkan oleh umno ..
Mereka boleh berdikari.
written by Hello Keithy, October 04, 2008 11:21:57
Always using religion as their last defence. Same as with RPK, they used ISA to detain him on the same grounds.
written by Midvalley, October 04, 2008 12:21:39
Boycott products that advertise in Utusan. Teach these liars a lesson.
written by Ulan Benson, October 04, 2008 12:53:07
written by Midvalley, October 04, 2008 12:21:39

Boycott products that advertise in Utusan. Teach these liars a lesson.

I fully support the call to boycott all products and services advertised in Utusan Monyet...without advetising revenues, these monyets will eat bananas!!! smilies/grin.gif
written by anak penang, October 04, 2008 13:05:14
the people responsible is
bastard no. 1 : khir toyol
bastard no.2 : big bastard albar
bastard no.3 : utusan malaysia

and a few other moth...ers
written by justinlian, October 04, 2008 13:36:55
Yep, Boycotting is a good idea for them to learn a lesson...
written by ahmadneil, October 04, 2008 13:56:42
Maybe those pea size brains think that Theresa Kok is a easy target becos she is a lady. Lets be clear,Bustard,touch her skin, you all will be in trouble.Be brave, come out in the open,not throwing petrol bombs,tearing posters in the early dawn,hiding here and there like a rat.These are balless bustards!
written by alarcarte, October 04, 2008 14:09:20
Can someone go through Utusan and compile a list of advertised products to inform all MT readers to boycot? Not all MT readers read the Utusan.
written by ahmadneil, October 04, 2008 15:45:32
My friends and I,even though we are malays,never read this fuking racist paper,toilet paper if you may call it.
written by Lim Lim, October 04, 2008 16:51:08
umno can't sleep at all on the fact that DAP is reaching out to the malay community,hence;they hav to start demonise n paint a bad picture on DAP...teresa is picked becos she won it with the biggest majority on 8-3-08 n the place hav to be selangor becos u can find the type of lowlife creature,TOYOL then n there only!
written by DontPlayGod, October 04, 2008 17:28:06
UMNO will use all its media, Utusan Malaysia to propate is racist ideology, and also Islamic credentials to win over the Malays, and also turn the Malays into racists, turn them to hate the non-Malays. This is the only way UMNO knows how it can perpetuate its support from the Malays and rule the country.

They have been using this method for the last 3 to 4 decades and it has worked successfully for UMNO. But something happened during March 8 and it didn't quite work out in favour of UMNO. Hence it is continuing to re-inforce its race supremacist card, the only way UMNO knows how to win over the Malays.

UMNO is now trying to portray Teresa Kok and other DAP and non-Malay MP's as racists and chauvinists, hoping in this way, to swing the Malay voters back over to UMNO. But the Malays have gotten much wiser than they were 3 to 5 years ago. Many of them do not buy UMNO's(utusan Malaysia) propaganda anymore and that explains why UMNO/BN lost 5 states in the last election.
written by Jit Dharma, October 04, 2008 20:37:24
Now we are more aware about the lengths these lying scum can go to try to protect their power while attempting to destroy the country.
written by panca, October 04, 2008 21:05:24
Molotov throwing guys...resemble mentality of those in the cave civilisation!
written by Mirage, October 04, 2008 21:22:59
Its for the low mentality and chauvinistic ppl who bring this type of politics to play.
written by Mirage, October 04, 2008 21:25:47
Its this type of politics by the incumbent BN that made Malaysia still where it is. They are not interested in making Malaysia a better country but for their own political agenda.
written by kinistau, October 04, 2008 23:13:17
I said it, and I will say it again, STOP buying non-credible News Paper.

Tell,

your friends and family,
your boss,
your colleague,
your enemy,
your mother-in-law,

to STOP BUYING NON-CREDIBLE NEWS PAPER.

written by Fart Fart Wah, October 04, 2008 23:14:45
AND SO AHMAD ISMAIL IS NOT A RACIST, AND THE TOYOL IS NOT A RACIST AND THOSE UMNO BUGGERS WHO REMAIN SILENT ARE NOT RACISTS AND THOSE BN WAKILS AND PARLIAMENT MEMBERS ARE NOT RACIST...AND THOSE BLOODY FOOLS WHO STOPPED THE INTERFAITH DISCUSSIONS ARE NOT RACISTS...

ONLY TERESA KOK IS A RACIST...MAY ALLAH BE A WITNESS TO THIS.

UTUSAN MALAYSIA SHOULD HAVE ITS PRINTING LICENCE WITHDRAWN...BUT OF COURSE THE BOTAK ALI BABA WILL PRETEND ..HE NEVER READ THE PAPER...AND HE WILL JUST KEEP QUIET LIKE A BLOODY COWARD AND TALK SOME COCK WHEN QUESTIONED UTUSAN'S MOTIVES..

written by kinistau, October 04, 2008 23:17:06
Tell your Business Partner to

STOP ADVERTISING

in

Non-Credible News-Paper.
written by countryman, October 04, 2008 23:54:44
To the scumbags in Utusan : carry on this way with your false reporting, lies and deliberate stirring of racial issues and the day will ocme when you will be made to fully pay for all your misdeeds. I hope when Pakatan takes over, they'll jail all of you under ISA and shut the paper down. Then you fellas will look back and realise maybe you should have been more decent and honourable people.
written by my oumrie, October 04, 2008 23:57:45
What I can't understand is why that Khirzir Toyol is not questioned at the local cop shop. It's true then.....one law for BEE END officers and one law for the "parahadirin". BEE END officers make police report - they take it seriously. All non supporters of BEE END make police report, they get banged up for telling the truth. How dare Bodowi claim that we are a democratic country. PORRAH!
written by Rozlan, October 05, 2008 11:39:18
UMNO shot it foot again it seem..Nothing favoring UMNO anymore... smilies/grin.gif smilies/wink.gif
written by ladasiber, October 05, 2008 13:11:13
Actually these two goons SOB, namely Khir (supposedly means Good in Arab) Toyo and Satim Diman (Ketua UMNO Pocong or Hantu Bungkus), not only racist but chauvanist. Thay did this because Ms Kok is a lady. Try to do this to Mr Cock, then would had had it.
written by Taiping60, October 05, 2008 21:39:05
Theresa Kok was caught under ISA and now subject to smear campaign is because she is one of those few non mulsim leaders accepted by all Malaysians at large and it scare the hell of those in the ruling party.

She is the proof that Malaysia is ready for multi racial parties. Malaysians can accept leaders of different race and religion.
written by SiHangChai, October 05, 2008 22:32:53
the work of bastard UMNO members, and those who have nothing to do by lodging false police reports. I am wondering what police will do on those especially those who proudly appeared on Utusan Malaysia paper posing and who made false reports? Abang Polis, pls answer.
written by elmo world, October 06, 2008 00:40:42
whoever planned this... thank you for making us Malaysia looked such an idiot,
written by carribeanking7, October 06, 2008 11:44:56
Why is she been targetted ?
Simple , lies published by Utusan and dim witted morons who read and believe them.

I met this lady (Indonesian) married to a staunch UMNO supporter, who calls Teresa- Orang cina jahat dari KL, she proudly claims she got her info from Utusan, and she had the audacity to ask me wheteher I had read it...
awak tak baca ka ?

Yes thats the quality of people who read Utusan,
I hope Teresa successfully sues them and Tempe Toyo.

written by allmenarebrothers, October 07, 2008 09:57:51
Blessed are those who are righteous & cursed are those who are evil & "busuk hati".
written by dkkl, October 07, 2008 10:35:00
To those UMNO malays that wrongly accused or 'fitnah' Teresa Kok will definitely living in hell when they die, even though they had to pray 10 times a day to ask forgiveness from Allah. in Islam, 'fitnah' is the most sinner than a thief or burglar.
written by limengseng, October 08, 2008 17:04:54
She is the soft target. They dun have balls to touch a hard one.