Home arrow The Blogs arrow Guest Columnists arrow Malaysia: Outrage at racist blogger

Malaysia: Outrage at racist blogger PDF Print
Friday, 03 October 2008 22:33

Blogger Sammy

The Hindu Rights Action Force (Hindraf) has since called on the police to take action against the blogger for her racist comments. Hindraf’s Penang coordinator, MN Anbalgan, and information chief, S Vadi Velan, lodged a police report in Butterworth against the blogger’s posting. Anbalgan was reported to have said:

Sammy’s racist remarks were totally uncalled, unacceptable and unbecoming of a true Malaysian… Her posting insults Indians, embarrass her own community and reflects badly on the polarisation of Malaysian society.

Blogger Sammy has since removed her racist postings, and wrote what appears to be an apology on her blog:

Yes yes i am racist, but not all times. It doesn’t help the fact that most of the phone snatchers i heard are Indians. Or Malay or Indons…

… Sorry if I offended any Indians. You should know that if you’re one of the good, educated ones then you shouldn’t be disturbed by what I say.

Malaysiakini, Malaysia’s leading online news portal, managed to get a copy of her original posting, which was reported to have included comments like:

I hate Indians. It’s bad enough they are famous for being drunk and rude (most of them anyway). Now they carry the reputation of being stealer, robbers, rapist, idiots, morons, drunkard bastards and list goes on…

I am not trying to be racist but it always Indian. It’s Indian fault. I don’t care if I am sued for racism.

Published reports of racism and comments sensitive to religion have made headlines this year, with consequences differing from situation to situation. Politician Datuk Ahmad Ismail was reported to have made racist remarks during the lead-up of the recent by-elections. He was suspended from his political party for three years, while the reporter who had reported his remarks, Tan Hoon Cheng, was detained without trial under the Internal Security Act (ISA) for 18 hours. The newspaper for which Tan reported, Sin Chew Daily, was given a show cause letter. On the other hand, Raja Petra Kamarudding (RPK), is said to be in detention under the (ISA) because his writings ‘ridiculed Islam’.

While some of these - like Sammy who herself admits she’s a racist at times -are genuine cases of racism, others have been used by the authority to curb dissenting voices. The concern on racial polarisation and anger on incidences of racism has caused the government to moot a Race Relations Act.

Butterworth police was reported to have said that the case would be investigated with the Bukit Aman national headquarters, since the alleged posting was made in the capital. It is unclear what charges will be filed against Sammy, if any, although her remarks appear to have a seditious tendency under Malaysian law.

Comments (64)Add Comment
written by binarytan, October 03, 2008 22:38:22
Sammy, you have to be very careful in writing as you are a blogger.

A blogger has to be responsible and write the truth, not with racist statement in this multi-racial society.

Please do apologize sincerely to Hindraf as they are having their brothers under ISA detention.

Do you really think and believe the tai-ko gangster Semi Value is doing any good to Indian society? never ever as his own pocket is more important than the complete Malaysia Indian.

He is the sin and the shame of Indian society. The poor level of Indian community is because of his good effort as he is good at rapping his own race.

Just like UMNO the sinful party is good at marginalize majority of Malaysian.

written by cheekhiaw, October 03, 2008 22:39:19
Looks like we have a Chinese moron on the blog.

What a pity. Not drunk but yet an idiot...

disagree 17
written by patycy, October 03, 2008 22:44:16
Get a grip you peeps. That's just some rants by some blogger on a bad day. As much as you all don't like the blogs you like to be scrutinized, why make it such a big issue when it is just a personal rant?

Wake up guys, this is just a blog not main stream media. Whatever you all are doing here is no different than the ruling devils.

disagree 27
written by forubabe, October 03, 2008 22:54:07
A few bad apples dont mean that eveyone is bad. Would you like that if the tables are turn !Please grow up. We do not have a place for racist like you in here.
written by cheekhiaw, October 03, 2008 22:55:46
patycy,

Like you we are just trying to add some drama to Sammy's life...

written by captmarco ramius, October 03, 2008 22:58:00
Dear Brothers & Sisters of Malaysia Today & Makkal Sakthi,

Let's just forgive this bloggers for the shallowness of her thoughts.
Even her so called apologies doesn't seems to be sincere.Note the below
posted quote:

"Yes yes i am racist, but not all times. It doesn’t help the fact that most of the phone snatchers i heard are Indians. Or Malay or Indons…"

So i am only a racist SOMETIMES heh ?.You are either a RACIST or NOT A RACIST.Period.There's no SOMETIMES or KADANG-KADANG here.

There are bound to be some bad apples out there.So let's just forgive her and move on.

VALGHE MAKKAL SAKTHI !!! VALGHE HINDRAF !!! VALGHE MALAYSIA !!!

written by patycy, October 03, 2008 23:00:45
Hey.. why don't you guys ****** up any racist remarks around the blog sphere, then alert any parties that are offended by it, post it in main stream media. I'm sure that will help to improve all Malaysians' life. smilies/grin.gif
written by Pangkis Pangazou, October 03, 2008 23:01:05
She has since apologized and HINDRAF has accepted her apology. She blurted that comment on the spur of the moment... this is no excuse... but she apologized (please read her latest statement), so let us put this matter to rest. Unlike that someone from Penang... who is too proud to even offer an apology...
written by Joelim, October 03, 2008 23:04:28
Sammy...can't believe you said that about the Indians in Malaysia. They are the bravest people I know. There are bad people in every race. In the first place you should blame yourself for being careless in losing your phone.

My Indian brothers and sisters please ignore her comment afterall she is just a nonentity. Definitely not worth getting worked up. HINDRAF, 90% of the people of Malaysia are with you. I, in particular, have a lot of admiration for what you stand for.
written by renoir, October 03, 2008 23:07:20
Sometimes lack of knowledge, life experience, and critical thinking can indeed result in idiocy, a trait of all racists. Sammy's comments reflect poorly not only her level of intelligence, but also her upbringing. We can forgive her if she'd really made a proper apology, but it's not so easy to forget what she said. Let some of us monitor her blog and see that she really behave herself in the future.

Bitch.

disagree 18
written by captmarco ramius, October 03, 2008 23:13:47
Brother JoeLim and LChuah,

Thank you for your kind words.May GOD bless you always.

VALGHE MAKKAL SAKTHI !!! VALGHE HINDRAF !!! VALGHE MALAYSIA !!!
written by hckit, October 03, 2008 23:20:42
She is not 100% wrong. She hates Indian because simply because she saw and read too many of the criminal cases were done by Indians. If there is criminals statistics/records to refer here, she could be half right.
Why Hindraf outraged by her comments? Instead, Hindraf and other Indian organizations should feel ashamed of how badly other races see them. And they should work harder to help and give counselling to low income Indian community in order to reduce criminal rates by them.
disagree 40
written by hckit, October 03, 2008 23:31:39
Of course all Indians who read blog, who write blog are good human. But how well do u, Indian netizens bothers know and understand the life of low income and uneducated Indian community in Malaysia?
written by shamadz72, October 03, 2008 23:35:55
hckit,

I am pretty amazed by some Chinese who is trying very hard to justify what Sammy did just because she is another Fu*&ing Chinese. Just admit that the statement uttered by her is a racial slur against another races. I bet you are also the type who would scream against NEP preferential treatment and at the same time will conveniently close one eye when you see job advertisement looking for 'female Chinese" or "Chinese only".

Imagine how the Chinese would feel if other races started to call Chinese as "Communist" just because 99.9% of CPM members used to be Chinese. Or how about 99.9% of those involved in pirated VCD are Chinese, prostitution business, along etc?

Come on lah guys, we have to denounce racism as it is when we see one. Then only we can move on as one nation
disagree 24
written by FFT, October 03, 2008 23:38:04
When you have an UMNO man threatening to bathe his keris in the blood of minorities, and who then gets away scot free only to become the DPM of the country, why are you all acting so surprised that a 22-yr old little Miss Daisy Duke harbors negative racial sentiments....she's a retarded product of a broken system. Look into her background and she is probably running for a position in MCA or Gerakan women's wing and trying to enamor herself to Najib.
written by trublumalaysian, October 03, 2008 23:51:56
Let's give Ms Sammy's comment a miss, dear folks and Hindraf brothers and let's move on.

It is said; Anger is never without a Reason, but seldom with a good One.

Perhaps, someday, she'll come out of her shell of ignorance and learn her lessons in life.

written by dassky2000, October 03, 2008 23:53:54
Sammy, just because an Indian snatched your mobile phone, does not warrant you to call another all that you have written. Sittuation makes one do the unhealthy thing that everyone dislikes, including you.

Wake up girl. Not only an Indian does all that you have written. It runs in many others too. So watch what you write and say. You are adding fuel intp fire ri9ght now.
written by box, October 04, 2008 00:01:12
Sammy is one big idiot, full stop. She is almost in the same league as Ahmad Ismail. The only difference is she apologized. Hey guys, stop trying to justify what she said. NO DOUBLE STANDARD !!!
written by trublumalaysian, October 04, 2008 00:07:35
Dear Sammy, some words of wisdom to share, in your tender age of ignorance.

"Learning acquired in youth arrests the evil of old age; and if you understand that old age has wisdom for its food, you will so conduct yourself in youth that your old age will not lack for nourishment."

may god bless you in this age of ignorance, dear child. For, education is what remains after one has forgotten everything one has learned in school.

written by acks160, October 04, 2008 00:14:51
Wahh FFT, you brought up a good point. Politicians from a certain political party tend to get away with all kinds of racist comments. They can wave weapons, they can threaten to kill minorities (there should be a new census so we know that the playing field is leveling as we speak), they can call us squatters and still be involved in politics even though they've been barred from doing so, and can hide behind a policy that grants them rights to get ahead at the expense of many.

I'm not condoning Sammy's comments. They are boorish (coming from a petite individual does not make it less so), ethnocentric, and extremely uncalled for seeing as how they can create racial disharmony. Sammy, you should know better and I hope you think before you write next time! You have inadvertantly stolen the thunder from a very racist political party...

Nevertheless, let us aim our accusing fingers at bigger fish and not this nobody blogger (sorry Sammy but it's the truth).

ps: what happened to the Lingam thingy? and where have all the SD people gone? bermuda triangle shifted to Malaysia?
written by johntyc, October 04, 2008 00:29:54
I guest Sammy now learnt her lesson the hard way. smilies/angry.gif
written by SL Chan, October 04, 2008 01:00:37
Sammy..You are a moronic idiot...There is a chinese saying" You can eat anything you like but you cant speak what ever you like" ..Does your parents taught you??????????????? Where is your sense of consideration about others????
Think you are ignorant,proud and never know the seroius not of slandering other race and do you know what is sedition act????? Think you better be put under ISA then you will learn....Do you want that???? Let this be a good lesson to you and better learn and realize the mistake you have made!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
written by ChanRaj, October 04, 2008 01:05:53
Aiya, you people are all over reacting over this blogger. You all make her sound like a rare citizen who just committed a capital crime. If you guys say that there should not be racists in a multi-racial society then we all need a reality check. We are all racists to some extent when we comment about the Malays, the Chinese and the Indians. We generalise our statements and apply it to the whole community like “Malays are lazy and the youths are drug addicts who just lepak and do nothing” OR “The Chinese are unscrupulous, arrogant, greedy and cheaters”. We make fun of each other, we hate each other and we ridicule each other but in the end we are all Malaysians. At least that’s what my MyKad says. But I have very good friends and associates who are of all races and they have my admiration and respect. I think we need RPK to help educate all of us further and to remind us what it means to be a Malaysian.

Sammy is entitled to her opinion based on her own observation, assessment, up-bringing and within her own circle of friends and community. Did anybody take the trouble to explain that she was wrong in making her statement? No, we are ready to jump on her and tear her to pieces. So much for the re-education of Sammy! We have just fuelled her hatred more. What is accomplished? Hey, if Ahmad Ismail can tear up Koh’s photo, maybe we should try tearing up everybody’s photo whom we have grown to hate. Racialism is alive and well in Malaysia and it is growing. We can’t rely on the BN/UMNO to solve this when they have been breeding racialism for 50 over years. They were the cause of segregation and polarisation of all the races. Instead of understanding each other more over the years, we understand each other less and we are Malaysians. MyKad says so. We as a community must put a stop to this. But not the way some of us are handling Sammy’s issue now. How different are we from her? Really not much…that’s the sad part.

Heck, don’t talk about Sammy, look at me. I made unkind remarks of all Indians as drunkards, wife beaters, thieves, murderers, gangsters and con-artiste. You can’t call me a racist because I am an Indian (since I last checked in the mirror). So if I can think like this, it’s not too difficult for Sammy to make the same assumption. It’s a perception that has been generalised and expressed at the moment of anger or frustration. Don’t over react over this when the racial divide in this country is far and wide. We have bigger problems to attend to and we can solve this problem by throwing the BN/UMNOputras out.

The Indian community is facing a lot of social ills, thanks to the Malaysian Indian Congress (MIC) headed by our dear Samy Vellu. The community has been categorically marginalised economically by the BN and Samy the Vellu and his gang of thieves, who stepped on is own community to enrich himself. I certainly hope he burns in Hell for this! Without help or support for the community, these social ills have become a stigma but then again who is there to help? Everyone have their own agendas. I must note here that the MCA Public Complaints Bureau did come to the aid of some Indians who sought their help. Can you imagine that? We have the MIC and some Indian went to the MCA to get help. So Sammy, we Keling Quis have a lot of problems to sort out as community and we need your help. For starters try and make an understanding of this. It will only enrich you. Sorry about your hand phone. Be more careful next time.
written by box, October 04, 2008 01:30:35
MalaysianUnited,

Politician or non-politician should be subjected to the same set of laws. We should condemn all racist remarks and move on. We should educate the person making such remarks, not those condemning it. When you see so many people trying to justify these racist remarks in one case but not the other, this is called double standard.

Yes, she is entitled to her opinion. However, her blog is not similar to her dairy as someone wrote. Nobody can see the content of your diary unless you show them. This makes it personal. However, everybody can see the content of your blog. It is like putting a huge banner in front of your house stating you hate certain race and you cannot tell people not to look at your house.
written by sarawakian, October 04, 2008 01:37:52
isn't it wonderful how hardworking the PDRM and public and media would go after the victim instead of rehabilitating the perpetrators??

written by Steven Tan, October 04, 2008 01:40:46
Dear Brothers and Sisters,

This is ONE isolated issue. Please don't let anybody exploit this issue and create unwanted situation among us Chinese, Malay and Indian. Don't let other pour petrol in the fire.

We have other important issue that need our full attention. So just forget the Sammy issue smilies/smiley.gif
written by Fairminded, October 04, 2008 02:04:36
Please not be distracted. Everything had been drawn on racial lines for 50 years. Let's focus our energy into changing the system rather than be distracted by a small incident. To be fair, why dont the two Indian "thieves" return the phone after the apoloyg? Is not HINDRAF it self racially oriented? Why not MSIANRAF (Malaysian rights action force) for all marginalized Malaysians? Let us stop casting stones when we live in a glass house. Move on. And fight the right fight.
written by The dragonheart, October 04, 2008 03:55:01
A Non-Racist person never thinks which race he/she is coming from but a citizen of the beloved country. He does not condemn a race when a policy is discriminating in nature but condemn the person who did the wrong.

By just saying bad things about UMNO or the Malays for disagreement of the NEP for example is also a bloody racist person.

If a person party leaders from their race says something racist, every one of that particular race will be trying to forgive that person.

Don't condemn a particular race but say it with facts or by name...examples:

X% of XYZ race prefer to have their own race school and lives in their own community...
Y% of Mat Rempit comes from ABC race...
P% of Gangster comes from QWE race...
J% of Kongsi Gelap members are from XYZ race...
Dato PYM (Not his race) is a bloody racist leader...
written by roadbarra, October 04, 2008 03:59:24
agadam magadam,

looks like your comments are no better than hers...pity...
written by billyong, October 04, 2008 05:55:40
I say this, and I will say it again. Sammy is nothing more than the end product of our racist education. Family may play a role in moulding the character of a child but the long hours spent in school can be psychologically threatening. There were days when my two boys would come back from school muttering cursories under their breath for something a teacher had said, and I have to tell them to think critically about the subject and weigh its pros and cons before making any judgment. So how much do parents have to morally educate their children? Very little. Anyway, racial issues are not confined on an inter level but intra level as well. I am a Chinese Malaysian and there were times when a fellow Chinese did not show some sense of road courtesies, I could feel myself almost going ballistic and would have probably use the statement, "that moronic **@@@!!! chinese!". We are living in a stressful & bottled-up society and any unfortunate mishap, like Sammy's, could easily trigger off some negative emotions, and it could have happened to us as well.
written by AsamLaksa, October 04, 2008 06:22:12
So we have another racist coming out of the closet. Wow-ee. What's the big deal?

Oh, it's a big deal? Well, so so so sorry. Why so serious?

Ain't the first racist I've met. Sure I don't like racists but they are mostly all talk. What damage do they do? Talk talk talk.

If not happy, call them idiots or stupid, go ahead. But if you say need to bring the law down on them, I say what the heck are you thinking??? Wanna kill a mosquito with an AK-47???

Those who scream freedom of speech, freedom of speech, no censorship, no censorship, free RPK.... well... what say you to this?

I say freedom of speech is not just about saying what you like but also allow others to say what they like no matter how offensive. Deal with it like a grown up. If she wrong, tell her so. Ask for an apology if you like. Unless you see real violence resulting from what they say, don't go running to the law to sort out people like this.
written by Engineer, October 04, 2008 06:44:26
Let us not politicize this matter as it will give Botak opportunity to twist and spin the issue against fighters of Ahmad.

For those of you who label the person negatively is not much better if you try to politicize this issue.

Plucking a few commenters eg

cheekhiaw used "chinese moron"

renoir used "bitch"

shamadz72 used "Fu*&ing Chinese" & "Or how about 99.9% of those involved in pirated VCD are Chinese, prostitution business, along etc"

SL Chan used "do you know what is sedition act"

agadam magadam used "etter ask that Botak Syed Hamid to do somethig 'bout this yellow Chinkeeee..ISA...Or else..?? F@#k Sh*t Cu@t P*ss"

Tell us, what make you made these comments; impulsive defence or impulsive hatred or pure racism or pure sexism.

She had apologized, now its your turn.

Tell me your stand if she is charged under sedition act.
written by mikewang, October 04, 2008 07:17:37
Dear AsamLaksa.

You got the point where many others don't.
Freedom of speech, no matter how offensive, should be respected.
Poor girl is not a public figure.
Neither is she some policy maker.
She is just a ordinary folk like you and I who was extremely disturbed when someone snatched or stole her handphone after a bad day.
For making an entry into her blog expressing her mood and anger that day, she had a whole community (perhaps a whole nation) bearing down on her and calling on the authorities to throw the harshest laws on her.
They probably want to see her in a cell next to RPK.

She did not invite anyone to view her diary and she did qualify her blog as a nonsensical rant.
(She has, since last night, restricted her diary to friends only)

She is just one of those millions in our country who sometimes, like us, curse and want to see the illegal Indonesians or the dog eating Vietnamese chased out of our neighbourhood every time a crime is being committed by one of their kind.
Never mind that there are Indo-Malaysians among our midst.

Not that it is right to stereotype community but when such references are made in the confines of distress, we, as a people, must know how to forgive.

So let those who have never uttered any bigotry in their lives before start casting the first stone.
written by cocomomo, October 04, 2008 09:41:37
She and Ahmad Ismail are in the same racist category.
The difference is that she apologised - whether sincere or not is not something we can judge. So for now give her the benefit o doubt.
However, as somebdy mentioned above , she is a non-entity and let us not give her more publicity . Just ignore her and let us concentrate on more important matters
written by Apek, October 04, 2008 09:44:44
Dear Sammy,

You must have been outraged by the loss of your handphone but that does not allow you to rant and rage against a race. The acts of foolishness by one does not classify the whole just as your acts of foolish race rage finds no consonent from your race. Be more responsible with your publications and keep your temper in check.

Now, grow up.

To Hindraf,

Cool it.

I did not know that you were the protector of the chastity, sanctity and honour of the entire Indian Race in Malaysia. By the way, who appointed you thus? I am afraid that you are begining to look like UMNO that claims to be the defender of ALL the Malays - when they don't.

These are childish matters that you should let by. Organise yourself quickly and come up with a manifesto of political change in the country. What's your concrete actions on Samy Velu's "theft" of the Bandar Utama Land? Shouldn't you be more concerned of National issues instead?

You too, grow up.
written by JJFoo, October 04, 2008 10:54:31
I am alarmed and ashamed at some of the comments posted. What happen to “COMPASSION”?

She is entitled to her own opinion. That what MT is all about. You readers out there have the right to disagree. If need to be condemned, please do so with compassion.

Most importantly, she apologised and removes the offensive articles from her blog. I think we shouldn’t be petty in trying to gauge whether her apologise was made profusely or grudgingly. Bottom line is, she learn her lesson.

In Malaysia, who is not racist? We have been programmed to be racist for the past 50 years. So, it is high time to get over it and move on.

For those who think she should be jailed or ISAed are no better than those suckers who put RPK behind bars.
written by hakuna, October 04, 2008 11:03:58
"I hate Indians. It’s bad enough they are famous for being drunk and rude (most of them anyway). Now they carry the reputation of being stealer, robbers, rapist, idiots, morons, drunkard bastards and list goes on…

I am not trying to be racist but it always Indian. It’s Indian fault. I don’t care if I am sued for racism."

Sammy - guess you have a lot of growing up to do and you do have age as a leeway but if at your present age itself you have discrimination in your thoughts then I really feel sorry for you.
All the above mentioned acts are rampant in all ethnic groups here except the level it is practised - and you failed to mention organised crime - I leave you to think which ethnic group controls it here.

written by temenggong, October 04, 2008 11:06:03
Sammy Chan, the recent UKM grad working in the advertising industry is now the most famous chinese girl in Malaysia. Step aside Michelle Yeoh! Thats putting 'mass communications' to good use! Someone should give her a Ph.D. right away.

Unfortunately the Miss Chinatown contest is now out of her reach! smilies/grin.gif
written by teo siew chin, October 04, 2008 12:23:56
Sammy being in the industry should be well aware of sensitive racial sentiments. Looks like she is a politician in the making BUT she is soooo starting on a wrong footing! pity.

And if she was gunning for cheap publicity ...duhhhh (cos heh, how many of us have had our fones stolen more than once even but dont bitch about it?). smilies/grin.gif
written by cruzeiro, October 04, 2008 12:58:50
Aisehman guys ... relax lah!
This is just a 22y.o. shithead from some godforsaken place, letting out her sentiments on a blog. Cut her some slack, huh ....
You'll find many of these kinds - that too grown ups - in all the "kampung baru", SJK (T) or SJK (C) ghettoes that dot our racist landscape - thanks to BN social engineering (aka 'social contract') and the NEP.
Just walk into any of these areas (regardless of whichever ethnic group) - you'll see what I mean.
There'll be more whispers and side glances behind the grins you see, than you may realize - and it can even be a scary experience at times.

Most probably she's never met any other "skin color" outside her circle of acquaintances - just like many others from other ethnic groups.
She isn't a public figure or politician for Gottsakes!
Let her let out her steam lah ...

Makkal Sakthi is Makkal Sakthi - but Hindraf should grow up and try to educate these people by not trying to victimize the victims of a racist upbringing or unfortunate incidences repeatedly from a certain sector of the "indian community"....
You Hindraf, should stop nitpicking or acting like a racist, dammit!
I hear "indian" speaking of "stinking sadayans" all the time - you wanna go after all of them?
In fact they could do a lot to set a good example by not resorting to cheap publicity like this! By going after some obscure blogger like this, you're simply fueling the racist sentiments that you seem to live and breathe on!
Have you tried to approach her? I bet not ...

Whatever said and done, there is an element of truth in her comments - many underprivileged and neglected of a certain sector of the "indian" have resorted to these activities (under the "guidance & leadership" of the a certain toupee-wearing politician/"thalaivar"). This has definitely given the "indian" community a bad name ......
That, I can vouch for - I've experienced it to a certain extent in my line of work.
These "indians" she speaks of, belong to the category that has very poor control over their minds/ emotional states - they definitely are quite common among the "indians" she speaks of.
To all you worked up "indians" - admit the truth in this!

Despite being "indian" myself, I'm tempted to say some of the things she says!
To the Idiots out there,
"Don't freakin' come after me for belittling "indians", you shitheads!
I'm more Indian than most of you guys - I've lived in India almost half my life, and I know more about my heritage than most you guys! The India I know doesn't show in the least bit in these kind of idiotic behaviour!!
Mother India would be ashamed of these guys!"

Chuah - relax man .... never thought you'd be so outspoken (although it's true)
Apek, Engineer - I'm with you on this.
And JJFoo - any idea if she's contactable? I'd be please to show her some very "personal compassion". smilies/grin.gif

As for agadam papadam and his/her ilk -
Hindraf should lodge a report on these dungheads too, or forever STFU!!
At least this sexy but racist female in the pic didn't use language such as these commenters!
written by box, October 04, 2008 16:28:10
I still can't believe why there are so many people trying to justify Sammy's remarks. OK, she is young and yes, she is angry at the time and naive. These do not give her the right to curse another race.

Well, now i'm gonna try to justify Ahmad Ismail's racist remarks.
Ahmad Ismail panicked when the support seemed to be swaying towards DSAI.
His party is going to lose a very important by-election.
Yes, he is a politician and he is a matured man.
However, he grew up in an environment where everyone told him the Chinese are just squatters.
He probably attended those brainwashing sessions by Biro Tata Negara (BTN).
It is the system that is producing people like Ahmad Ismail.
No one is born racist. So, please forgive and ignore him.

For those of you (seemed) defending her, will you accept the above and be more lenient on Ahmad Ismail?

Again, a blog is not similar to a diary and it is not personal. The content in your blog is like a huge banner in front of your house which can be viewed by the public. Now that Sammy has restricted her blog, it becomes personal and she can curse anyone or any race.
written by cruzeiro, October 04, 2008 17:12:56
box,
Next, you'd equate kindergarten kids' quarrels to the American Civil war!
That's as good as your argument gets?
written by mikewang, October 04, 2008 17:18:05
Dear Box.

You've got such an angelic argument in justifying Ahmad Ismail who refused to apologise.

There are just too many hypocrites and angels here.
You'll have to wait in line to cast stones. smilies/smiley.gif
written by box, October 04, 2008 19:31:43
Hey guys, my justifications for Ahmad Ismail's are made up on the fly just to give a different point of view.

I condemn both Ahmad Ismail and Sammy. They are both racists. However, i forgave Sammy because she apologized.

I am just hoping everyone will be consistent when dealing with racism. We should educate the person making racist remarks NOT the ones condemning such remarks.
written by renoir, October 04, 2008 22:17:03
Cruzeiro: Your words already contain the answer - I'm outspoken BECAUSE what I said of Sammy is true. Those who'd been here in M-T during its first year or so know that I'm basically a Kantian - rights and wrongs must be placed within a universal perspective. If it's wrong for person A to generalize on community B, then it's wrong to do the same thing on community C or on any other community in the world. Some readers have, rightly, brought up the case of Ahmad Ismail - if he's wrong in what he said about the Chinese, then Sammy is also wrong in what she wrote about Indians. So if we condemn Ahmad, we must also condemn Sammy. Now I do allow for degrees of wrongdoing, which is why I said we could forgive the young Sammy (though not forget), an allowance that cannot be given to a matured person like Ahmad Ismail.

Reprimanding Sammy does not invalidate the crimes of BN or the racist environment that has been imposed on this country for over 50 years. Also, while it's true that many people are racists, that fact cannot excuse racism. So to people like Sammy, a harsh reprimand is needed. To those with the POWER to enforce racist acts (which is the textbook definition of racism), my reaction would be much more extreme: I would work with fellow Malaysians to put such a regime out of circulation.

written by cinapek, October 05, 2008 00:18:15
I dare say that in the privacy of our minds, we often silently think the way Sammy does. In the quiet of our homes and cars, we all teach our children to be careful of certain races because of this weakness or that weakness.

Please understand that I don't support the way Sammy (allegedly) made those remarks. But look around you. Can we really say honestly that we DON'T understand why Sammy wrote the things she wrote? Indians have long had their own peculiarities, and so have the other races.

Perhaps Sammy is the product of continuous teaching from her parents and peers.

Perhaps her views and feelings are a genuine product of real experience with Indians.

Perhaps she was pushed to hatred by circumstances that we cannot fully understand.

Perhaps by fate, she never had the opportunity to know the many gentle, peaceful and lovely Indians that we have.

Perhaps she is the product of 51 years of racial polarization.

Perhaps she is the product of a segregated education system.

I must be honest. With all that's happening these days I even find myself continuously battling a feeling of bigotry and prejudice and yes - racist hatred. Can you really say that you don't?

Maybe the only difference between Sammy and me (us) is that time pushed her first over the edge of racism. We should be careful not to judge lest we find ourselves also unwittingly falling into the dark side.
written by malaysiaunited, October 05, 2008 01:19:36
We should not make a mountain out of molehill. Just forgive and forget. What is more interesting from the comments above, how can we reduce such outbursts, most likely causes being(from comments) environment in the last 30 years, polarisation and segregated education system as well.

We all know mixing at a young age provides acceptance and tolerance of different races, background and upbringing. So why can't we all sent our children to one type of school? The choice of vernacular schools should be eliminated as in Singapore, Thailand, Indonesia etc. We should however make mother tongue as a compulsory subject with the other subjects being in one common language. Are we willing to accept this to be more Malaysians? Or we still want to be Malays, Chinese, Indians, Kadazans, Ibans etc rather than Malaysians?

written by nrama, October 05, 2008 02:37:40
The Buddha taught a lesson. When someone insulted him he asked, "If you gave me a present and I refused to accept it, what must you do? You will have to take it back."
written by shahidan, October 05, 2008 13:55:29
It looks like the “racism” chicken in blogosphere is coming home to roost. For too long the champions of the absolute freedom of speech have been justifying racist commentary under this right.

As a result, blogosphere, an incredibly useful avenue for dissenting views and a platform for educating ourselves with reliable news and analysis has been turned into another variant of the mainstream media. The only difference being one is polluted with propaganda to buttress the establishment while the other has allowed itself to be polluted with incendiary racist commentary, both ends up buttressing the status quo.

Sammy Chan is simply the product of this perversion that now dominates blogosphere in which contributions from racists has been deemed the norm. What gives us the moral right to criticize the racism of the establishment when we do not speak from an anti-racist perspective ourselves?
written by bakarsmoke, October 05, 2008 17:39:16
evil woman she. to all malaysian indians please ignore her remarks..she's nobody.
written by renoir, October 06, 2008 01:43:17
shahidan wrote:
>The only difference being one is polluted with propaganda to buttress the establishment while the other has allowed itself to be polluted with incendiary racist commentary, both ends up buttressing the status quo.]]

True, one cannot fight racism with racism - such a tactic will only strengthen and perpetuate racism. And, in the end, there'll be nothing to distinguish us from the enemy we despise.

written by NRR, October 06, 2008 11:35:59
Her rantings are the sum total of her personal experience. She must have had an Indian boyfriend who is all of those things she said. Grow up girl and stop blogging as you obviously do not know what you are doing.
written by Wisdom above, October 07, 2008 11:29:54
Always and Better to keep nasty experiences to yourself only.

(a)Many bloggers are known to be clumsy with their words..

(b)..These common blunders inevitably spread out and adversely affect people around them.

To avoid 'clash of paradigm shift' please activate "This blog is open to invited readers only".

Be angry, but do not sin.
Blessed your enemy, do not curse them.
If they are hungry, feed them.
It they are thirsty, give them a drink.

Did you noticed most bloggers totally ignored the "hand-phone thieves" ?

My salute to all Peacemakers