Home arrow The Blogs arrow Guest Columnists arrow The Making Of A Prime Minister

The Making Of A Prime Minister PDF Print
Friday, 03 October 2008 18:01

Where does a Prime Minister come from?

-- The Umno President is the Prime Minister (it is taken for granted).

Why is Umno President the Prime Minister?

-- He is the leader of the main ruling party (it is taken for granted).

Why is the leader of the main ruling party the Prime Minister?

-- Because it is the biggest, nope...because it has always been the case, nope...because...it is taken for granted.

Such an important question is still looking for an answer. Usually, "it is taken for granted"is not the best answer.

In the current political mode, the Malaysian Prime Minister is decided by a very small number of people. In reality, the people and BN member parties have no voice in the fate of PM Abdullah Ahmad Badawi.

"Other member parties will have to follow what it says, including the Prime Minister candidates."

More than a million of Umno members and over 2000 party representatives are not involved in the decision making.

Only about 40 Umno Supreme Council members, more accurately, the core three to five people are making the decision. The lack of broad participation in deciding the government's top leader is an unhealthy phenomenon in a democratic nation.

Moreover, the BN government is a coalition government. The Prime Minister of a coalition government should be born through elections, negotiations and discussions. Only with voices from different parties and by accommodate different ideas, the coalition government is widely representative.

However, the recent power transition plan keeps changing and outsiders do not know what is actually going on. Even Cabinet members, who are not Umno ministers, are confused.

BN member parties can only be bystanders in the recent change of Umno. But, as they are part of the coalition government, they should not keep themselves out of the problem. Any change in Umno will have an impact on the member parties and the government.

The characteristic of a coalition government is that none of the member party holds the vast majority of the seats and thus, they have to rule the country together.

At present, Umno has 79 parliamentary seats, which is equal to about 35%. It must rely on MCA and member parties from Sabah and Sarawak to keep its regime. But Umno was too strong in the past and thus, it is the key to many important matters. Other member parties will have to follow what it says, including the Prime Minister candidates.

What will the member parties do if Umno makes backbenchers Club Deputy Chief Datuk Bung Mokhtar Radin, Pasir Salak MP Datuk Tajudin Abdul Rahman or former Bukit Bendera Umno division chief Datuk Ahmad Ismail the party's president and becomes the Prime Minister?

The French Government is a typical multi-party coalition government whose Prime Minister is born through negotiations. In most of the countries ruled by a coalition government, including our neighbour Thailand, their prime ministers are nominated by the majority party and agreed by other member parties.

Abdullah made a progress in BN's history as he is ready to explain the progress of the power transition plan to BN members. However, it is only a small step taken towards a truly democratic coalition government.

BN member parties have no right to interfere in Umno's internal affairs, this is very clear. But when it is about the Prime Minister candidates, BN member parties should prepare themselves and discuss about it.

The Malaysian political structure is gradually transforming. More competitions and checks and balances can now be found in the political arena. The BN structure should as well be changed, the status of BN member parties should be adjusted and power distribution must be balanced in order to allow more active participations.

Who shall be the Prime Minister should not be "their" matter, instead, it is "our" matter. (By TAY TIAN YAN/ Translated by SOONG PHUI JEE/ Sin Chew Daily)

written by kislean, October 03, 2008 18:17:37
Right said
written by countryman, October 03, 2008 18:22:43
As we all know,BN has never been a coalition of partners but a mere marriage of convenience to serve each party's interests --- and UMNO gets the biggest slice of the cake.
In fact, who becomes the Prime Minister is not only the say of the BN component parties. The rakyat has a say in it and the rakyat does not think that Najib is a good option at all !!!
written by Tok Din, October 03, 2008 18:27:21
The process of selecting the Prime Minister of Malaysia should be included in the textbook for every citizen of Malaysia. If the Prime Minister is to be the chief executive of the nation, shouldn't we look for the most qualified and most capable candidate to do so.

Without a proven selection process and without rigorous competition to demonstrate his leadership capabilities, we will have many more Abdullah Bawadi in the future.

So far Malaysians have been very lucky. But don't count on luck for the future of this nation. We need to have a process to select our Prime Minister. The gene pool for the top job of the nation is too limited.

According to the Darwinian law of survival for the fittest, this selection process will lead to inbreed and genetic problems and it is prone to birthing of morons and brain dead individuals. A scarry prospect indeed.
written by ahmadneil, October 03, 2008 18:53:23
Now,malaysia have too many PM.Today there are too many voices and we don't know which one to listen to.
written by KUMON, October 03, 2008 18:57:08
Well analysed,
But that is the arrogance of it all. They insist that becos they are the majority, that they should elect a PM among them. having component parties is just 'sandiwara' to show that that we are all united as different races,on the surface.

Under 50 years of BN rule, a wedge have been driven between the malays and non-Malays. This is all the work of politicians under 'ketuanan Melayu' to enrich themselves.

Political ideologies are screwed in Malaysia. People go into politics only to enrich themselves, more than for the enrichment of the country.

Very sad indeed.

http://passiveincomekings.********.com
written by jeagerlange, October 03, 2008 18:58:40
We cannot and should not allow 40 plus morons, opportunists and racists to decide the faith of Malaysia. What rights have they to decide who is the PM for the millions of Malaysian? This feudal way of selecting the most important post for the country should be left for ALL Malaysian to decide. Umno cannot be our proxy as they only represent Umno and NOT MALAYSIA!
written by lampard, October 03, 2008 19:01:19
Brilliant, accurate, immaculate...
written by mikewang, October 03, 2008 19:05:25
Please refer to the federal constitution on the selection of a Prime Minister.

It's the sole discretion of His Majesty the King to appoint someone among the members of the lower house whom he thinks commands the support of the majority of the parliamentarians in Dewan Rakyat.
That is the only constitutional criteria.
The person so appointed need not even be the leader of the majority party.

Thus AAB basically need not resign from PM ship even if UMNO forces him into early retirement from the presidency of the party.
written by jereylow, October 03, 2008 19:28:42
Voting for the PM and DPM should be by the rakyat not by UMNO Supreme Council. Each citizen should be able to cast their vote for these two positions. Yes! that involves the changing of the constitution but it is the best interest of the nation and its rakyat.
written by educationist, October 03, 2008 19:34:08
Fat hope that the UMNOputras will give up their dominant role in the political structure of the country voluntarily.
If only the other BN mosquito parties team up and flex their muscle, the UMNOputras will not be so arrogant as to expect the PM & DPM posts to be their property.
But as it stands now, what is stated in the constitution is no consequence -UMNO will decide the next PM & DPM.
written by ChanRaj, October 03, 2008 19:49:18
All very logical from the non-malay point of view but this requires the entire Malay community nationwide to change their mentality. That may be a tall order at this moment perhaps for the next few generations. At the moment it is nothing but wishful thinking.
written by Abajawi, October 03, 2008 20:05:45
The selection of PM in Malaysia is through the 'negotiation' route--just like the award of major contracts given out by the BN govt. The people involved in the negotiation is small and elitist. Yes, it's made up of just a handfull of UMNO elites. This has just got to stop. It's now 2008. Just look at how the American elect their president. How rigorous! How daunting for the candidates. Even tho' at the end of the day they might elect idiotic men like George W Bush, at least it's transparent. The Americans can only blame themselves. But in Malaysia, Malaysians can't blame themselves if people like Bedawi is made PM!
written by Sabahfan, October 03, 2008 20:46:15
BN is not a coalition. all the other components, MCA, MIC, Gerakan, SNAP, SUPP, UPKO, PBS, PBRS (oops the mosquito party with no MP-kurupan cheated) are all nothing but led by the nose like a buffalo.

WHat if MCA pull out? oops ACA opens file, some goes to kamunting what if Gerakan pull out, same thing lah what if SUPP pull out, ha ha ha chief minister of Sarawak will be in jail withing a minute. must have pockeeted lots of wealth for being toooo long as CM of Sarawak.
and sabah? the land of the first frogs and toads. And UMNO? wauuu divide and rule.

UMNO says jump, everyone jump But if UMNO got internal problems, top leaders wanna be PM, waaaa its Teresa KOK that will become the bogeyman or bogeywoman and goes to jail, remember operasi lalang?

tiap tiap tahun rayakan aidil fitri tiap tiap tahun. Tuhan Allah pun menangis melihat gelagat UMNO purah purah Alim.
written by brunostatia, October 03, 2008 21:53:07
well..this is democracy "made in Malaysia"..time is changing..slowly..more n more people in our country will demand changes in the system..and this is why..more n more people were detained by ISA...Imagine one day..there will be a debate of PM N DPM candidates in our country...just as the recent debate in USA...we can't wait until the next election..Dear Mr Anwar, we still have hope in your Pakatan Rakyat..pls. bring down this arrogant BN..
written by penangboi, October 03, 2008 21:59:13
Well, at least I know, and a few others know too, how our PM becomes PM in our country. But like most other things there is nothing we can do about it, that is until now. Now, we have a choice. And the choice is Pakatan. Again, I beseech all anak-anak Malaysia, do not forego this really golden opportunity to create real change. If we maintain the status quo, then we will forever remain non-master of our own destiny.

Malaysia proclaims to the world that we are democratic. This is the biggest lie told by the government. The position of PM is like the passing of the baton from 1 guy to another. Whether the rakyat has a say or can have a say is not relevant at all. Heck, even the BN component parties are told to shut up, and the ordinary UMNO members are expected to clam up. There, that's democracy for you in Malaysia !!!
written by Motherchell, October 03, 2008 22:28:25
Well said !! there has never been an instant where UMNO was ever interested in it people but their pockets . Their lifestyle will tell you a tale . The Civil Servants attitude and the way Govt depts are run , dont give the impressions for Nation building at all.
This Country is on Automode , thanks to Petronas . Lets see the diatribe once the wells are dry!! I want to see who they are who ask for more. Also by that time the current batch of so called cronies will be sipping champagne in Monte Carlo, Perth , Caymans. The Mat Rempits may have become the Blade Runners here.
written by Alice, October 03, 2008 23:03:46
LETS SAVE MALAYSIA BEFORE IT IS TOO LATE
written by Kaneeneh, October 03, 2008 23:58:53
I think you are in trouble, Sin Chew Daily Reporter.
Actually I think you are in double trouble.
Once you open your mouth, trouble # 1
You write about this UMNO people, trouble #2
Actually you are triple trouble. Triple because the paper published your writing. Better run, trouble maker.
written by Fart Fart Wah, October 04, 2008 01:25:21
The prime minister's job should be given to a qualified person..Malaysian.
He is not to be seen as a Malay. Chinese or Indian.
Now this proposition will challenge many of UMNO or ultra malay retarded brains.
for it will be totally impossible for them to accept this concept.

and who is to state this? it has to be the voice of the people..not a mere 40 members...will the time come??? Not in this century because we have too many Ahmad Ismails, Toyols and Mat Darus and NGO's that are still stuck on the narrow path of racial thinking with retarded brains. After 50 years of inward looking and stuck on ethnically morbid existence...I do not expect Malaysia to do a Obama dance...

We still have to accept some supposed PM who is supposedly take over because of the supposedly majority party ruling...
and we have to suffer the consequence of PMs who portray themselves as heroes fighting for their race, dictator ,lame duck PMs or PM's taking over riddled with scandals of womanising, alleged murders, power abuse, police brutality, ISA abuse, corruption and being deaf to the rakyat.

Now I wonder which of the above categories will Najjib fall into..
we had the 4th floor boys running the country with a lame duck PM
will we have a woman running next while he plays the next puppet???
written by MAMR, October 04, 2008 08:57:34
To avoid all the UNFAIRNESS AND INJUSTICES AS CLAIMED BY MOST OF RAKYAT the present PM has to ! DISSOLVE THE CABINET AND CALL FOR FRESH ELECTION AND MANDATE FROM RAKYAT ! By doing that EVERYTHING will be DECIDED by RAKYAT and NOBODY should question the outcome. THAT IS TRUE DEMOCRACY. I hope and pray PM will do this soonest.
written by ladasiber, October 05, 2008 13:17:38
Well guys, Tiga Abdul said it way back in 1962, it is Demokrasi Terpimpin. The word came out from Abdul Wahib who was known to be very greedy. So there you have it. Demokrasi ala UMNO is Demokrasi Terpimpin, came from a party who is very (indefinite times) greedy.
written by DontPlayGod, October 06, 2008 18:49:58
Gee, we are worst than Zimbabwe. At least there, the whole nation votes who is to be the President. But over here, only about 40 people, and all from one race at that, who decides who is the PM. And worst, this PM claims to be the PM for all Malaysians. But then, I most probably could be wrong! The present PM is selected and appointed by one man only, (TDM), and not 40 people from one race!!! Yes, I am right, we are worst off than Zimbabwe. If the PM is to be the PM for all Malaysians, how come even the BN component parties don't even have a say in who is to be PM, let alone the rakyat? I may have to correct myself. Even UMNO supreme council members don't even have a say as to who is to be PM, let alone their own members. Again it is the decision of the present PM to appoint/select his successor. So much for democracy in our fair land.

Not only is the PM deciced by one man. Everything is put in the way of anyone who wants to challenge the incumbent for the position of President of UMNO. One must obtain at least one third of the divisions' nominations to qualify to stand for elections. Alas, democracy a la UMNO. One can now see what type of democracy our country to.